We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Royal Palm Way | The UNEXSO Building, Port Lucaya Marina, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number: +1 800-992-3483
Website
Today
8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

WHAT WE DO : SCUBA diving and certification, INTERACTIVE Dolphin Programs...

WHAT WE DO : SCUBA diving and certification, INTERACTIVE Dolphin Programs for all ages, SNORKEL Tours, and 500 sq. ft. retail store. WHO WE ARE: UNEXSO was founded in 1965 as a scuba diving club. Through the years UNEXSO has become world famous and known for pioneering the shark dive and dolphin dive in the Bahamas. UNEXSO offers introduction to diving, certification and advanced diving courses for individuals and superb group packages including hotel for dive groups. Courses are conducted in our 17' deep training pool with observation windows.UNEXSO also offers a variety of dolphin interaction programs, including the Dolphin Close Encounter, Dolphin Swim and Dolphin Dive. Additionally, we are the only facility in the Bahamas to offer an Open Ocean Swim with the Dolphins Program.UNEXSO is also home to Sun & Sea Outfitters, a 4,500 square foot retail store for all your clothing, gift, souvenir and dive equipment needs. Our store has long been the #1 shopping place for tourists and locals alike. Great selection of the newest styles at affordable prices.Don't forget to stop for a cool drink or great meal at the Dive In Bar & Grill, located poolside at UNEXSO, best Pina Colada in town !!!

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$91*
and up
Freeport Dolphin Encounter
More Info
$106*
and up
2-Tank Dive in Freeport
More Info
$192*
and up
Dolphin Swim in Freeport

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 649 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 459
    Excellent
  • 96
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Great Dive !!!

Dive masters were very professional, Shark junction was just as advertised. Jarvis did an amazing job feeding the sharks and the rest of the crew was very professional. 15 min... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday
Brian B
,
Bordentown, New Jersey
Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 595: English reviews
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Dive masters were very professional, Shark junction was just as advertised. Jarvis did an amazing job feeding the sharks and the rest of the crew was very professional. 15 min ride to site and approx 30 mins underwater. I would recommend this dive to any diver. Very safe, and lots of fun.

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I originally went there for the Dolphin excursion and was pleasantly surprised to see things I wanted to buy. We all enjoyed the Dolphin trainers as well as the boat drivers. I would recommend it to anyone, young and old. You will get totally wet, so think about a waterproof camera, (which I couldn't find anywhere, buy it before you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jatana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a great diving experience. Captain was experienced, kept everyone safe and and dive spot was great. Saw lots of sea life, including reef sharks. Great experience, would definitely do it again. Gift shop is incredible too.

Helpful?
Thank Texasmomx2
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the main thing we really wanted to do for our kids. We took out 10 and 7 years old and had a wonderful time. Well worth the money. This was the best part of our vacation. The trainers were great, funny and very knowledgeable about the Dolphins. They asked for tips at the end and I was more... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle H
Malakoff, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first dive in the Bahamas was with Unexso on their 2 Tank Dive. It was a great dive. The first tank was a deep water wreck dive on Theo's Wreck at about 100 feet. It was about a 25 minute dive and got to swim through hold and around the deck. The 2nd tank was another wreck at about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We signed up for the dolphin swim through Unexso. This was the most amazing experience for both of us. The trainer was funny and attentive. The Dolphins were sweet, fun and incredibly smart! It is obvious that the trainer loves the Dolphins and they love her, too. I hope to be back next year to do this again!

Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieMacLean
Berryville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved the Dolphin Encounter.....my only dislike was that we was paid ahead and scheduled for a combo, snorkeling and Dolphins encounter. Because of the weather, the snorkeling was cancelled. (I completely understand that) but we were told we could still do the Dolphins encounter. But wouldn't get any refund for the snorkeling.... and the staff in the store/sign in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzette H
LOUNEXSO, General Manager at Unexso, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I spoke with our front desk supervisor regarding your claim that you did not receive a refund due to the snorkel portion being cancelled. I am sorry you felt our Front Desk staff was unaccommodating as they do remember you and advise that you were offered multiple options, including rescheduling for the next day's program,... More 

Louisa, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I chose to come to the Bahamas to scuba dive. We have never even seen a shark or any fish much bigger than a grouper, so we thought this would be an exciting dive. And it was!!! Oliver provided us with a comprehensive overview of the dive on the way to the site. There were twelve divers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Athena9999
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They really took the time to teach us proper techniques on the beginner dive prior to having us go out into the ocean. What a wonderful experience for my first dive!

Helpful?
Thank smerlinskid
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great experience! I was ambivalent about this excursion but my 18 year old daughter wanted to do it. You take a boat from the dock through the canal for about 20 minutes, which is pretty and interesting. We did the "dolphin encounter" but you can pay more and swim with the dolphins. We were ushered off the boat to a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W

Travelers who viewed Unexso also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Unexso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Unexso and other visitors
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Unexso staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?