We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Havensight Mall, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas (Formerly The Butterfly Farm)
Phone Number: +340-715-3366
Website
Description:

Stroll through a lush tropical garden as exotic butterflies take flight...

Stroll through a lush tropical garden as exotic butterflies take flight around you. Learn about their amazing life cycles during a guided tour. Wear bright colors to attract the butterflies to land on you. Double the fun and take a stroll through the outside botanical gardens showcasing a wide variety of local plants and butterfly species. Bring your camera!

Open daily in season 8:30am - 4pm. May to October schedule may vary so call ahead.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$12*
and up
St Thomas Butterfly Garden Tour with Optional Coral World Ocean Park Admission
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 111 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 35
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Worth the stop

We enjoyed this visit. We were surprised at how small it is but there were a lot of butterflies in there. The staff was very friendly and when we entered they told us to ask if we... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 28, 2016
Angie F
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 104: English reviews
Green Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our visit to this garden was exceptional and breath taking. I learned so much. We could not believe how the butterflies, by the dozen would upon you and stay for quite some time. Would highly recommend this attraction for everyone especially if you have children.

Helpful?
Thank bjcamel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed this visit. We were surprised at how small it is but there were a lot of butterflies in there. The staff was very friendly and when we entered they told us to ask if we had any questions so I was expecting to find info posted or something to tell us about what we were seeing. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angie F
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
201 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were disappointed to miss seeing this attraction on our recent trip after buying tickets in advance. It isn't stated anywhere on the website or our tickets, but note that the butterfly garden is only open on days cruise ships are at port. We happened to be visiting by hotel when no cruise ships were due in.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMLove226
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

The Butterfly Garden is only open when ships are in at the dock. Please send your refund request to me with the name on the reservation and the date you tried to visit to coralworldseo@gmail.com More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Visited Butterfly Garden on a Disney Cruise shore excursion with a 3yo and 7yo. We enjoyed the garden, very pretty with many butterflies. Garden is somewhat small overall so your time may go by quick. You can sit and just watch the butterflies and relax, but can get a little warm. Staff was knowledgable and brought out many newly emerged... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dustin R
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

The Butterfly Garden is located in Havensight right next to Senor Frogs. More 

Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

This place was right next to where our cruise ship docked. The price was reasonable. They have some unusual butterflies and are very aware of invasive species, they have a permit from the US government. If you are lucky some butterflies may land on you for a neat photo op.

Helpful?
Thank MNVikesfan
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

The Butterfly Garden is located right behind Senor Frogs in Havensight More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

I love butterfly's!!! The butterfly's were released while we were visiting and the staff will put them on you and you can get some great pictures. We went after leaving the beach so we were still wet and the butterfly's stay on you a lot longer!! Even my boyfriend enjoyed the trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon D
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We are so glad you love butterflies, so do we! More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

We made the mistake of going mid-afternoon, so the butterflies were not very active. Or maybe we were just there at a bad time of the year for butterflies. We did see many resting butterflies but I only saw about 4 different species. I was with friends who claim they saw 6 different species, but none of us had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Merrileigh
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

The Butterfly Garden is right by the dock and full of beautiful flowers and butterflies. More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

I was quite shocked at the living conditions. Very poor and neglected. Areas need proper shade and demisters for the butterflies. Could do with much improvement. Staff are too busy talking to each other to notice a visitor.

Helpful?
Thank ClariceWhite
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

The Butterfly Garden is full of flora and fauna that create nice shady areas for the guest to sit in the garden and enjoy the butterflies. More 

Glen Burnie, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

We visited the Butterfly Garden while we were on a shore excursion. It was very nice but due to the fact that we were running out of time before we had to board the ship we didn't have time to really enjoy the garden. I enjoyed visiting and seeing all the beautiful butterflys.

Helpful?
Thank Diane D
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

The Butterfly Garden is right by the Dock in Havensight and a nice place to stop on your way back to the cruise ship. More 

New England
Level Contributor
568 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016

We visited here on our recent stop in St. Thomas from the Celebrity Summit. We've been to St. Thomas several times in the past and with the weather not the best, we wanted to have a low key day. The Butterfly Garden is conveniently situated for cruise passengers, located directly next to the ships themselves. We spent about 90 min... More 

Helpful?
Thank lexmiller
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

There is a shuttle that travels around Havensight. It can take you back to the Butterfly Garden. More 

Travelers who viewed The Butterfly Garden also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to The Butterfly Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Butterfly Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?