Sea Saba Dive Center
Sea Saba Dive Center
5
Scuba & SnorkellingShark DivingBoat ToursWater SportsPrivate Tours
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
At Sea Saba, we recognize that choosing the right dive operation can make the difference between a good dive trip and an extraordinary diving experience. The combination of the most experienced dive team, great boats, attentive service and professionalism are the ingredients that allow us to provide the utmost in your underwater experience. Big boats don't mean big crowds. Our 40-foot boats have plenty of sun protection, sturdy platforms and ladders. With 3 boats, we can split our divers according to experience levels and diving styles. For more than 30 years, Sea Saba is the proven dive center in the region.
Windwardside, Saba
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Sea Saba Dive Center
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(51 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles531 reviews
Excellent
474
Very good
39
Average
9
Poor
9
Terrible
1

Diver13
Overland Park, KS12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Couples
Lynn went above and beyond any other dive shop owner I’ve encountered. She was more like a travel agent/ tourist center on top of all she did for our diving experience. She was so flexible when our bags didn’t make it and we couldn’t dive. She was willing to let us rent for free but we didn’t have our contacts. Once we got them she worked with us to try to make up our dives. She was also constantly talking to airports trying to find our bags and make sure they were delivered to our place. She truly takes care of her clients and wants you to have the best experience possible.

Then there was the super helpful dive crew who helped us when both of our regs malfunctioned on the boat before a dive. They were willing to give us their regs and sacrificed their dive for ours. They were very knowledgeable about diving gear and made us feel very comfortable.

They don’t over load the boats so you feel very comfortable and safe with them. I needed help getting my gear passed to me in the water due to back problems and they didn’t hesitate. Amazing customer service all around!
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We also travel and understand our customers work hard to go on vacation so we hope that each diver's experience is the best it can possibly.be. See you again on Saba!
Written January 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paula M
United States4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 • Couples
Saba is one of our favorite places to visit. Lynn and the team at Sea Saba run a top notch dive operation and the diving is world class. The dive instructors go above and beyond to make sure you have a safe and enjoyable dive experience. Lynn really provides full concierge service, assisting with lodging recommendations, arranging taxis, making dinner reservations and providing insight on hiking trails and other Island activities. Saba is a beautiful place with wonderful people, This was our third trip, we discovered Saba in 2014. However, this time we went for a workcation and spent 2 months working remotely, enjoying the island and diving with Sea Saba. I highly recommend a visit!
Written May 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

driftwooddiver
Bingen am Rhein, Germany28 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 • Couples
My husband and I dove with Sea Saba on our anniversary vacation. It was our 1st trip to Saba and we were curious about the diving. The crew was very professional and helpful. My husband is a dive master, and both he and I were very impressed with Kelly, one of the professionals working for Sea Saba. Kelly had the ability to balance finding cool stuff on the reef while maintaining focus on the divers individually. When one of the divers was very uncomfortable with high currents and low visibility, Kelly was able to keep her calm underwater and make it clear she was gonna get her back to the boat. My rating is both reflective of Sea Saba, which was exceptional, and the diving which during the time we were there was not ideal due to conditions. It was our 1st trip to Saba, and we are curious to return and during better conditions. The island is lovely and, if you haven't been, I would strongly encourage you to try it.
Written February 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TTS
United States3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Friends
We found there is only one dive company on Saba called Sea Saba. They also own the previous competitors’ websites so no matter who you think you are booking, it is Sea Saba.
We were underwhelmed. We were asked to prepay and are glad we chose a play by ear approach. The few dives I did were basic and certainly nothing like what I had wanted given my travel to Saba. They do offer the many sites Saba has but only by demanding them.
Night dives are possible but only with at least four divers booked, and at nearly twice the price of a daytime dive.
The crew are amazing. They are fun and like what they do. The owner, however, not so much. There was a tank o-ring failure and a regulator failure on two different dives during the week. The owner happened to fix the regulator but not so much as an apology for the stress caused to the diver. (Apparently not well liked among locals was info after the fact.)
And make sure to confirm whether you are diving with snorkelers. We had to dive in shallow boring sites that accomodated the snorkelers on the boat, rather than Sea Saba focusing on diving destinations. We understand the desire to maximize profit but not at the expense of good dives. We lost our desire to continue diving until someone in our group strongly demanded the Pinnacles as a site or they wouldn’t be diving.
There are several excellent dive sites but you will need to demand confirmation before you pay. This appears to be the only way to ensure you don’t end up on dives you could do anywhere (yet spending your time and money to get to Saba.)
Written March 13, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Lark, This review saddens me, as all of the businesses that you encountered during your trip to Saba have likewise been receiving negative reviews, credit card disputes, and demands for refunds. Let me start by sincerely apologizing that your vacation was not as you had hoped. I assure you that everyone in the hospitality industry on Saba worked hard to show you and your husband a good time on our special little island. You are correct that we were limited on dive sites during your stay, as we were experiencing a North Swell, which happens occasionally during the winter months. During these events, the Wells Bay, Ladder Bay, and Tent Reef areas can get stirred up, reducing visibility to near zero. We repeatedly had to tell you that we are not able to commit to a dive site as we don't know what the conditions will be until the Captains see them in the morning. We then determine what sites are available for the day and match those sites to the skill levels and comfort of the divers on the boat. The comment about me personally, I am sorry that you feel that way. We spoke one time during your trip when I was on the boat on a Saturday taking my 10-year-old son diving. I was getting my son's gear put together when you approached me about how you were getting water in your mouth from the rental regulator (Your personal regulator's high-pressure hose had a bad leak and you were using the boat's spare regulator). I checked the integrity of the mouthpiece, the diaphragm, and the exhaust valve. Everything functioned perfectly, but I was not about to get into an argument with you on a boat full of people while I was trying to spend a Saturday afternoon with my son. I handed the regulator back to you, apologized for it not working properly for you, and stated that it should function properly on the next dive, which it did. The crew did mention that you had a leaky tank o-ring (yoke valve) that was discovered right after you jumped into the water on a previous dive, but that you declined to go back to the swim platform to have the o-ring changed. I assume that is the "o-ring failure" that you mentioned. We do open the boat to allow people to snorkel for the 1 pm dive only, which is not a secret. We generally snorkel at Hot Springs, Torrens Point, Tent Reef, or Hole in the Corner. All excellent dive sites! We go to these sites without snorkelers too. The afternoon dives are when students join the boat as well as more inexperienced divers. The specific dive site you went to is Babylon, which is not typically described as shallow and boring, but you are entitled to your own opinion. I sincerely hope that your next dive trip is more enjoyable.
Written March 17, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ninja9er
Ontario, Canada34 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Friends
I read about Saba about 10 to 12 years ago in Scuba Diving magazine and I’ve always wanted to go there. Fortunately, the local dive shop picked it as one of 2024 ’s destination excursion. All of the arrangements minus the flight were booked through Sea Saba and I highly recommend that this is the way to go. Not only are they the consummate professionals when it comes to diving but also for arranging our accommodation at Juliana’s Hotel; all of the daily transportation to and fro to the harbour; and all of our meals at local restaurants. If you are thinking of doing it on your own, you might want to go through Sea Saba because of their expert knowledge of the local area. Every single one of our dinners at the local restaurant were excellent and the accommodations were fist rate.

As for the diving, we were on a 32 ft boat with 9 guests so there was plenty of room to prep and relax during our surface interval. Captain Aaron, his crew of Vicky, Otto or Lionel were extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist the divers in any way possible. Not only were they attentive but made sure that safety was paramount and a priority. Aaron is very cognizant of surface verses the underwater conditions and always suggested more suitable dive locations as the weather progresses. His extensive knowledge always made for enjoyable bottom time along with great sealife and scenery. Their dive briefs were thorough and left nothing to questions and generally, they always made good on their promise which led to an excellent end result during the dive.

I’ve been to many different parts of the Caribbean and I must say that Saba is one of the healthiest underwater eco-system I’ve seen throughout my dive adventures. If your goal is to see pelagic, turtles, crustaceans and micro organisms, you will not be disappointed because of the crew’s knowledge of the seascape. I highly recommend coming to Saba and particularly, give Sea Saba a chance to deliver an unforgettable dive vacation.
Written January 18, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with Sea Saba and the island of Saba! We're thrilled that you had the opportunity to fulfill your dream of visiting this remarkable dive destination. We take pride in providing not only exceptional diving but also seamless arrangements for accommodations, transportation, and meals, ensuring that your trip is stress-free and enjoyable. It's heartening to hear that Captain Aaron, Vicky, Otto, and Lionel provided attentive and safety-conscious service, always prioritizing the well-being of divers. Saba's underwater ecosystem is indeed a treasure, and we're delighted that you found it to be one of the healthiest you've encountered during your Caribbean dive adventures. We appreciate your recommendation, and we can't wait to welcome you back to Saba for more unforgettable dive vacations with Sea Saba.
Written February 1, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Josh G
Prairie Village, KS2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Friends
Sea Saba is a life saver, literally! Not only did this wonderful dive hub usher some of our crew out to some fantastic dive spots, but they went above and beyond to help us in a time of distress. Chad came out with his dinghy and helped us unload our baggage from our boat, as this was planned to be our last port on our sailing voyage. What we weren't expecting was such heavy winds at the moorings outside of this little harbor. But our hero Chad was there to help guide us to a safer more calm mooring and with little regard of his own safety was there to help us dingy in the last of our belongs. When I got back to the dive shop wet and beaten from the hairy dinghy ride, they had beer in the office which hit the spot. My pals who went diving said they hit a wonderful spot with plenty of fish, sharks and other sea creatures to keep them company. That wasn't our last encounter with the Sea Saba team. We met up with them later that night for an island Halloween party up on top of the island. We swapped stories with Chad and his friends, and they showed us around to some of their favorite watering holes. Saba is a beautiful little gem of an island where all the people are so nice and welcoming. Would definitely recommend hitting this island again, and if you are looking for a dive outfit, look no further! If you need rescue, like we did, you may have to buy Chad and his team a few beers afterwards....well worth it. Cheers Sea Saba!!!

- Josh, Josh, Wes, Chris from the Ad Astra
Written November 22, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wow, what an amazing story! Thank you for sharing your incredible experience with Sea Saba. We're truly touched to hear that our team, went above and beyond to assist you in a time of distress. We're delighted that you enjoyed your diving experience, and it's heartwarming to hear that you formed a genuine connection with our team, even joining them for an island Halloween party. Saba is indeed a beautiful gem, and we're thrilled to have been a part of your memorable journey. If you ever find yourself back on the island, we'll be here to welcome you with open arms and a cold beer!
Written February 1, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John
Schroon Lake, NY35 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023
Our first day in Saba was a scuba day. Neither my wife or I have ever (legally) scuba dived, so we had to take the intro class in the morning. Our instructor, the Italian Riki, was very friendly and personable. We started our day by getting fitted for our wetsuits, as well as a crash course as to what we had to do in our training in the harbor for the next few hours. After talking and fitting for a bit, we headed to the harbor. Once there, he was very good about communicating what we were going to do, and what to do in certain situations. As we began, my wife had a minor meltdown due mostly do to being uncomfortable because she wasn’t in complete control of her environment. Riki was nothing short of awesome in handling the situation, calming her down, and giving her both time and space to calm herself down so we could continue. Once done with the training, we went back to the shop to hang until the boat came back (about 1.5 hours).

Once we got on the boat, there were a bunch of snorkelers, as well as a few other scuba on board. Once we got to our intended destination, the captain decided that the current was too strong, and that we were going to plan B.

After arriving at plan B, all of the snorkelers went in the water, and Riki took a few moments to brief us again on all of what we had already done before - including hand signals and emergency plans…very thorough. As we got in the water and began heading under the surface, my wife again began to panic and we all rose back to the surface. Once again, he was calm and collective in helping to calm her down. Once she was ready, down we went. We all stayed close together. The windy day made for marginal visibility, but Riki was sure to point things out with hand signals when he saw things — turtles, barracudas, sharks, etc…in total, we were under the water for 43 minutes and made some great memories. He also took the time to take a video of a huge turtle feeding, as well as few pictures of my wife and I 30 feet under the surface. When we got back to the shop afterwards, he asked for my number so he could send me the video and pictures via WhatsApp…which he did later that night right.

Overall, really cool experience and Riki was a great instructor, even if the students may not have been the easiest to handle.
Written April 17, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your kind words. We love Rikki!
Written April 18, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Darice D
Asheville, NC1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021
We had a wonderful week long experience with Sea Saba! From the staff in the dive center to the well trained and knowledgeable crew on the boat, everyone was top notch. Lynn was extremely helpful coordinating our daily dives as well as our transportation to and from the ferry and daily dive pick ups from our hotel. Chad and Katy run a first rate establishment. We got our Advanced Open Water Certification with James as well as Nitrox certified with Aaron while we were there. The training was excellent and the crew assisted us with anything we needed, we couldn’t have asked for anything more! Graydon, Kerry, Aaron and James were all very personable as well as professional and made sure to point out all the amazing sea creatures on our 12 varied dives. I highly recommend Sea Saba!
Written June 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

scuba bill
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
This was our first trip to the island and it won't be our last. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the normal dive resorts, this is the place for you. The island is a beautiful paradise without the commercial influences. If your are looking for sandy beaches, there are no white sand beaches there. However, if you are interested in lush, beautiful fauna and hiking trails through some of the most beautiful rugged terrain landscape you may ever encounter, then this place is for you. The island people are very friendly and are willing to show you the specialities of their island. Transportation around the island is best by taxi and we found and excellent taxi service and tour guide Garvis Hassle who was a very gracious is spending time with us. I will be returning to this island to do more diving as soon as I can schedule it. The diving was very good and the Pinnacles were beautiful. Apparently, we left the island a day too early and did
miss encountering whale sharks. Boo Hoo.
Written February 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bob A
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
On a scale of 1 to 10, the folks at Sea Saba score a 12 !!! What a wonderful group to dive with. The manager Lynn is the hardest working person on Saba ! She arranges everything for you from the diving, getting to and from the airport,makes dinner reservations and even scheduled or Covid tests for the return home.

The dive guides at Sea Saba are truly the best anywhere. They are extremely friendly and knowledheable. They take care of your dive gear for you including staging your gear before each dive and cleaning and storing it at the end of the day.

The diving on Saba is wonderful and the entire staff at Sea Saba are excellent !!
Written August 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 500

Sea Saba Dive Center - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Windwardside
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars