We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bayside Fishing Charters

Features Animals
San Juan, Puerto Rico
More
About Bayside Fishing Charters
Our top priority is for you and your family to enjoy the day while fishing at the San Juan Bay. Our captain and staff will make this trip an unforgettable one. Whether you are an expert angler looking for a silver king on fly, or a first timer just looking for a fun fishing experience, we will make this trip your own. We do half day fishing for tarpon, snook, jacks, sharks, king, and others.
Travelers talk about
207Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 194
  • 5
  • 4
  • 1
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andres P wrote a review Sep 16
1 contribution
The worst fishing experience I’ve ever had. We did not fish at all the entire time we were on the boat. We watched the captain attempt to fish for bait which he did not catch. Since he could not catch the bait, he went directly to fishing in the Bay Area and caught one fish that he called “small’. The fact that he had to catch bait and did not is ridiculous because he then went on to fish without bait (again, we did not fish). If I pay $350, I expect to do some type of fishing or at least cast the line (which we didn’t do). The entire time we sat there on the boat and watched the captain cast some lines and drive the boat around the bay. After speaking to the owners, the wife said she would speak to her husband and call us to let us know if they would give us a reimbursement for the inconvenience and a day that was wasted. She did not call and instead texted me and said there was nothing they could do and claimed “charter companies cannot reimburse for not catching more fish”. She clearly missed the point and so did this company. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS CHARTER TO ANYONE. Spend a little extra cash at a better charter, it will be worth it.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Mildred C, Owner at Bayside Fishing Charters
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Mr. Voyager, As mentioned over the phone and text a few times, we always appreciate constructive feedback so our business can keep growing. However, when this feedback turns into personal and false attacks, we have no room to move forward. We would like to clarify the review left above as we believe this customer’s experience was altered in order to try to obtain a gain a discount or free trip from us, and when not gained, try to damage the reputation of our family business that has proven for years to be TOP NOTCH in both fishing and customer service. This is evidenced by our 200+ reviews and Traveler’s Choice Awards EARNED every single year that we have been registered with Trip Advisor. This review does not surprise us as this customer was demanding “at least a 50% refund” or he else we would post a bad review on our profile. The customer demanded a refund because in his own words, he was “roasting under the sun” and “he did not fish”. This customer was fortunate to have beautiful weather with the traditional Caribbean sun that we have every day in Puerto Rico. We want to clarify that the boat has a shade for those that wish to cover from it, so this comment seems unreasonable. Unfortunately, we cannot change the sun’s hotness on a given day, particularly in the Caribbean. We heard the customer’s statement about not fishing, and after discussing with the captain and our team, we concluded that his statement is completely FALSE. Even though the fishing was slow that day, the captain did manage to catch FRESH LIVE bait and get three hookups of decent fish with his mix of artificial and live bait set-up. The first hookup was an estimated 30-pound tarpon that the customer fought for a while, until the customer started reeling backwards (against the captain’s guidance) and disassembled part of the reel, the fish got lost during that process. Later, they hooked a large barracuda that unfortunately pulled the hook during the fight. Lastly, they hooked a small but decent mackerel that they boarded. Even though the customer’s claims were not fair and true, and considering the damage that his bad review does to our business, specifically in these tough times for our industry during COVID-19, we tried to find common ground and a solution. However, the customer continued with his multiple calls and threatening text messages with demands and unfounded accusations (including personal accusations). This is when we figured that there would be no resolution to their demands.
Read more
ThatWeasel wrote a review Jun 2020
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania16 contributions
First off Capt. Frankie was a super nice host and tour guide. We really enjoyed getting the local perspective on current events and some history. Boat & gear were all top notch, very organized and clean. The only bummer of the trip was his struggle to catch bait. I understand it happens but it counted towards our 4 hours and we lost over an hour to trying to get bait. You could see the tarpon jumping all morning. Once we finally got some bait we hooked into and I landed a decent one but you could see the tarpon jumping stop as the morning went on. My wife and daughters never got to catch anything. It would be nice if they spent an hour or so before you got there gathering bait so you can just fish. He offered to give up trying to catch bait and use artificial lures but he said the fishing is better with live bait and gave the impression we could stay out longer since we lost so much time. Well once our original 4 hour block was up, it was straight back to the dock. With all that being said, Capt. Frankie worked hard to get us bait and fish. Chalk it up to a bad day of bait fishing. I would book again based on our experience and all the great reviews which brought us to him in the first place.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Mildred C, Owner at Bayside Fishing Charters
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Mr. ThatWeasel, We are very thankful for your business and your honest and constructive feedback. Congrats on the tarpon you caught during your trip and thank you for including the photo of it in your post. Your trip was a tough one for Capt. Frankie getting the fresh live bait. It does happen from time to time, and you are completely correct that we should have chipped in some extra time for those rare instances where it takes us more time to get the bait. Actually, we always do chip in extra time voluntarily, even though we do not spend extra time getting the bait. Our captains love to be out there fishing and enjoy spending extra time fishing. This is totally on US! This specific day, Capt. Frankie had a personal commitment and could not give you that extra time that we usually do. Next time you visit us, we will give you two extra hours free of charge! Tight lines!
Read more
Todd B wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Was in San Juan for convention and had a morning free. Signed up for half day charter with Captain Frankie and had a great morning. Each of us caught 2 tarpon with largest being 60ish pounds. Captain Frankie was energetic and had a pleasant attitude. Thoroughly enjoyed my time with him and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a fun outing targeying tarpon.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Chris K wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
Captain Frankie is an absolute hero, and knows where to find the fish! From start to finish the trip was excellent! We spent the first 45 minutes chasing schools of sardines for bait which was great fun, and Frankie found the perfect Tarpon spot where we landed 10 and had many more close calls in the next 3 hours Had a blast, Would 100% do again and highly recommend Tight lines folks!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Suzette F wrote a review Feb 2020
Denver, Colorado, United States37 contributions23 helpful votes
We booked an afternoon fishing trip and were greeted by Luis at the marina. He was an excellent captain. Really, you’re gonna be out on the water fishing for a long time so it’s nice when the person taking you is fun, knowledgeable, and a fantastic fisherman. We caught five tarpon - landed four of them!- and one snook. These are all catch and release but it is still a pretty amazing experience to reel a big fish in. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Rico
from $90.00
More Info
from $66.00
More Info
from $168.92
More Info
from $125.13
More Info