Borikua Tours
Borikua Tours
5
Night ToursHiking & Camping ToursNature & Wildlife Tours
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
About
We are a tour and transportation company focused in adventure, magical and unique experiences. Our primary goal is override your expectations. Enjoy your vacations in Puerto Rico without worries and have a life time experiences and memories. All our tour guides, drivers and boat captains are certified by the government, make sure that you are not with an illegal company. Be ready for the adventure. What are you waiting for? Book now, our tours fill up really fast! We are excited to show you our island, Thanks for choosing Borikua Tours!
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Borikua Tours
Travelers talk about
(13 reviews)
(33 reviews)
(20 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles310 reviews
Excellent
284
Very good
15
Average
6
Poor
1
Terrible
4

veravvw
Richmond, VA1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Family
Borikua Tours knows how to treat their guest! We got lucky and were able to book this last minute tour for the bioluminescent bay and I almost gave up on looking for a tour. This tour was $200 more than the other Bio Bay tours and after completing my tour I see why. You get all your moneys worth. Our tour guide Cruz was very hospitable and knowledgeable. Our safety was his number one priority and he really wanted to ensure we enjoy our trip. Unlike other tours we didn’t have to drive to the location. We were picked up in a Mercedes sprinter van from our hotel and taken to the Coamo Hot Springs Pools in Rio Coamo, PR about an hours drive from San Juan. They have two springs there one is hotter than the other and you can try both they call it the fountain of youth. Then after about a little under and hour or when everyone is ready we passed through Ponce and headed into La Parguera. Once we arrived we ate at Isla Cueva for some really good Taco’s. We got the chicken tacos and I’d come back for those. They had shredded chicken that was seasoned and flavorful without being dry. Once we ate we walked about one block to the boat. Captain Frank was really nice and he greeted us and told us a ton of great info about the seas as we road through the beautiful turquoise waters to a little island called Caracoles. We stopped there and enjoyed time out in the water with music and good vibes. It was a picture perfect time. The sun was setting and everything was beautiful. Once dawn hit and the sun was almost gone we hit back in the boat and headed to the bay. The water in the bay was a nice warm temp and now prepare yourself to be amazed. Cruz even pointed out 3 constilation Big Dipper Little Dipper and the Milky Way. We Jumped into 9foot brackish waters and the once colorless waters started glowing like the bass pours glow sticks all over ourselves. You can also see them sparkle as you move your body. The more you move the more you glow. They gave us pool noodles to relax and take it all in. We stayed there for a little while and no one wanted to leave. Then we headed back for a now two hour drive since we were about two hours west of the hotel. Definitely can’t say enough about this trip. My mom myself and my 10 and 8 year old niece and nephew all enjoyed ourselves so definitely a great trip for all people 8 and up. Don’t miss out on this amazing experience!
Written April 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

eligelber
Hillsborough, NC1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2023
My husband and I did the Bio Bay tour for our 20th anniversary and we had a wonderful time. We got picked up at our hotel and then we picked up two more parties, so there were six people on the tour total, including us. We met some lovely people in our tour who were very generous to celebrate with us. Our tour guide was named Cruz and he shared the rich history of the island as he shuttled us along the tour. The first stop was the fountain of youth hot springs, which was absolutely lovely and therapeutic. We met locals from Ponce, who swore by the healing properties. We bought some snacks to take for the next leg of the trip to the little seaside town where the boat was docked. When we arrived we had drinks and tacos in an open air restaurant and then we walked out to the dock to board the boat. The captain took us out to a sandbar and we swam in the light of the sunset. Next we hopped back into the boat and headed for the bio bay. This was absolutely magical. We planned our whole trip around doing the bioluminescent swimming and it was fantastic. You really can see it when you wear goggles and swim in the pockets of the bioluminescent, pictures don’t do it justice, you just have to go do it. After the swim we rode back in the boat the dusk and it was dreamy. We got changed and did the long ride home, back to the hotel. This is a full afternoon and evening with a fair amount of travel in the van, if you want to see PR this is a good way to explore. Cruz also recommend a few things for our next day of exploring on our own, we told him that we had planned to do the rainforest and he made a number of helpful recommendations that lead us to a local beach and lots of good food. We were thankful for this experience, it was magical. We recommend it!
Written September 24, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

dgbri
Chicago, IL1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
We were a group of 7 girls that had a blast at the biobay with Cruz. He was an amazing tour guide and driver and everything. Made it clear that he was there to make sure we enjoyed our time and we felt very safe throughout the experience. Highly recommend the experience of swimming in the biobay. Only con i would say is the hot springs. We had a combined hot springs on the way to the biobay and the hot springs were basically a small public pool. It was on the way to the biobay and was a. bathroom break. We asked cruz if we could leave earlier than planned and he was more than accommodating.. Also highly recommend the fish tacos at the restaurant you stop at before the biobay. some of the best we had in PR. .
Written April 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Levent C
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 • Solo
Amazing experience, since the beginning Robert committed to make our stay in Puerto Rico the best it could be. When we got in contact with him, he arranged perfect schedule and timing to take advantage of every minute during the day.
He was very punctual and reliable, he even offered to take a video while we were enjoying the monster zip line in toro verde. Unique timing, we recommend it and will contact him for sure when we come back.
We got with him the toro verde zip lines and the biobay tours.
Written April 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

malcam342
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023
This was over all a wonderful trip. Steven our tour guide made it an unforgettable day. The tour company made sure they didn't have too many people booked which I was worried about. Steven called and the night before reminding me what we needed to bring and where we needed to be at what time. Then again texted an hour before arriving to give us a heads up. (loved that) The transportation was really nice! Cool and roomy the hot springs were nothing spectacular but they were a perfect activity for a halfway point. I loved the views and some of the flowers. They had snacks and drinks too. Then off for the rest of the journey. We learned a lot about the island and it's history which I loved. When we got to the little bayside area to eat before heading out they fed us at a local dinner spot with the best tacos. We had the fish tacos which I highly recommend. After 3 tacos and drink we were happy and off to the boat. Unfortunately, it started to rain but everyone was scared to say anything for fear they would cancel. I loved how Steven and the Captains could read us and knew we wanted to go ahead if we could so off we went. They let us swim while the sun set which was absolutely beautiful. We kept seeing lighting off in the distance and hoped it would stay there but by the time we got to the place to swim at nightfall it was raining really hard and the lighting was really close. We only had a few minutes in the water and to be honest we only saw the bioluminescent very faintly but I did see it. Do I wish I saw more yes I do but Mother Nature had other plans that night. Borkua Tours and Steven did everything to their power to make sure we were happy. Pros: Read AboveCons: Men's bathroom isn't remodeled yet (in the process) so my suggestion would be have your husband dress with you in the woman's room or wait for the woman to be done if the men's room isn't done when your there.
Written August 8, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

delphine p
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022
I have heard of PR's bioluminescence in certain locations and was very interested in getting the chance to check it out. Borikua Tours delivered! This was a long drive south but Cruz, our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide, made the drive go by quickly by giving us so much information about his beloved island, ranging from history to economy to pop culture, music and so many more topics. The stops prior to arriving at the boat launch were very interesting to me, for the main reason that the places where we stopped at were filled with locals and not tourists. The hot springs stop was very enjoyable (not to mention, good for the bones and soul), then the fish tacos at this small bar/restaurant were delicious. We then boarded a very nice mako boat driven by Captain Frank, who was most friendly and you can tell that he is passionate with his work. We hung out by a sand bar while waiting for the sun to set, along with a lively crew of local boaters enjoying a beautiful sunday in the water, and when it got pitch black, we headed out for bio bay. The experience was all the more enhanced by the fact that we were only 3 people who slipped under the black waters at bio bay, making the experience even more eerie, because of the silence and stillness all around us. i cannot stress how special an experience it was, though i will tell you, if you do not feel comfortable swimming in the sea at night, this may not be the tour for you. i literally felt like tinker bell swimming among birthday cake sparklers. A once in a lifetime experience!
Written November 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kyle V
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022
I made a reservation on their website over a week in advance for a Bio Bay tour. The night of, we followed the directions sent to us in the confirmation email to a suburban neighborhood and a gentleman wondering why some random people were stopped in front of his house. When I called the number on the site/confirmation email, nobody answered and I instead got an automated text message from a different number saying "I am in a tour right now but you can text me how can I help you?" This number then informed me they were actually closed for the next five days.
I waited until we got back home to attempt to straighten this out, as it was night and we were in the middle of what became an hour round trip to nowhere. When I called and got the same automated response again, I provided my booking number, which they could not find. They asked if I'd booked through one of two companies, neither of which was correct. They investigated and found the tour was on Vieques, which is not mentioned on their website. My tour was 'canceled' nearly a week later and I got a refund.
I was charged nearly $200 for a tour I never went on, and I shouldn't have been able to book in the first place. Everything about my experience tells me this is a business that operates through at least three booking companies, and can't even guarantee your tour will happen, much less give you real directions to the hypothetical tour. Avoid.
Written January 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for writing about this issue. We offer different tours around the island and we use different OTA's, hotels and our direct website for bookings. At the beginning of this year we had some situations with Viator and the connectivity with our calendar. We discovered this issue with your reservation. We held the calendar on Viator until they fixed, the problem was on their end and not ours. We never received your money and we contacted Viator about this and told them to refund you. If you still waiting for your refund, please contact Viator because we do not have your money. We are a reliable company doing business for over 10 years now. Reviews speaks by themselves.
Written April 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BeenaKannampully
Mechanicsburg, PA1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023
Our tour guide, Cruz Rodriz was the best tour guide ever. He took complete care of us, picking us up, making sure we are comfortable, letting us know how the day would go, explaining and giving us a lot of information, having a flowing conversation with us, answering all our questions and also putting up with our craziness. He was very informative and made us feel safe with him and the Captain of the boat. The experience was one of a kind! The best part was watching the sunset while being in the water and after that gazing at the stars up in the sky and admiring the bio luminescent in the water. Thank you!
Written January 24, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DBLJAM
Allentown, PA309 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Couples
The guide, Linda, was amazing. The caves aren’t repaired to where they were and the tours were 30+ people. Before the hurricane the caves had large lighting systems and you could see the features and move around freely. Now its a tight trail and you have a flashlight in a huge black cave to try and see things. We were forced to join a kids tour that screamed through the whole tour and the park service guide tried to manage 2 tours of over 60 people at once. You couldn’t see much and heard less. They need to rebuild the features before opening it again.
Written March 28, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

greta s
Saint Helena Island, SC7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023
I would recommend seeing if you can do on your own or with a small group. We were put with a elementary school group of about 60 kids...that really elongated the trip. This was partially our fault...we booked the wrong day and the Borikua made the travel arrangements last minute. But, ask the question....you only need about 1 hour to see the cave.
Written April 30, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 296

Borikua Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in San Juan
Day Trips in San Juan
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars