We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Attractions Link Tourism Services

Port Antonio, Jamaica
More
About Attractions Link Tourism Services
Attractions Link Tourism Services is a Tourist Destination Management Company that has been the dream of Lorenzo Murdock and Janette Murdock. Lorenzo Murdock, also known as Wayne, a Cyclist, who has represented Jamaica at the 1984 Olympic Games in the Sport of Cycling. He has traveled extensively and thus had a vision of being able to provide high quality tourism services in the fields of bird watching, cycling, hiking, leisure and transportation for visitors to the most beautiful Island in the Caribbean, Jamaica.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Attractions Link Tourism Services
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
67Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CtFreddie wrote a review Feb 2020
CT270 contributions62 helpful votes
Both the high price ($250 for an 8 hour trip) and the many positive reviews caused me to have high expectations for this outing. The day started badly with Wayne showing up more than 1/2 an hour late for the 5AM pickup. We then went to Ecclesdown Road, where Wayne showed that he knew how to ID and where to find the local birds. However, while we were out there he took a half dozen cell phone calls, was left without his bird call recordings when we were outside of signal range, and he often was unable to "put me on" the bird in time to get a look that allowed a view of the identifying features. I never blame a guide for birds that don't show or give only fleeting looks, but I do rely on the guide giving exact directions to the location of the bird he has spotted. I do not regard asking me to sight along his pointing arm, or to look at a cecropia tree without specifying which of several he is talking about a good way to help his customer view the birds. Lastly, he misidentified a merlin sitting in plain sight as a kestrel, which made me wonder how many of the other birds I had not really seen but relied on his ID for were really what he said. I had already seen (and photographed) 19 of Jamaica's endemics before this outing. Afterwards I had seen well (could see ID marks) four more, seen poorly or not at all another three, and heard one. I feel bad giving this pretty negative review, as Wayne is definitely a nice guy and has worked hard to create his business, but I would recommend looking elsewhere for a birding guide in Jamaica.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Attractions Lin... T, Owner at Attractions Link Tourism Services
Responded Mar 23, 2020
To all our website viewers, intended guests and prospective returning guests, we have taken time out to respond to some rather inconsiderate, malicious and extremely negative comments made by a guest who gave her name as Mrs. Joan Hill of Colombia Ct. USA. Kindly note that this is a rather lengthy response. However, we are asking that you read the entire response, in order to understand our points worthy of note to you. These are as follows: 1) She started out by calling us from an unknown number, we spoke with her two times on the phone, while she was staying at a Guest House in San San. She then moved to another accommodation site in San San, where she made contact with us via a telephone that she had borrowed (she stated this clearly) although she acknowledged that the phone she was using was not working properly. While speaking on the phone with a representative from the office, she got rather angry and shouted in the phone “this is it…..I have had it.” It was at this stage that the representative stayed on the line and assured her that she was still there, and she agreed that the phone that she was using was borrowed and is not working properly. The representative, who has been working in this capacity at this company for twenty-six (26) years, was quite hesitant to have her book a tour, based on this ordeal, as such the tour was not booked by her at that time (this ordeal was noted in-depth). She seemed rather persistent and kept calling until she got another representative, who gave her the instructions to book the tour online. There was no working email for her, as ALL emails sent to her were rejected; we have rejection notifications to prove this. So, this encounter is noted, since we are of the view that this lady would have written a bad review, whether or not she had actually used our service. 2) She booked a single-day birding excursion to Ecclesdown Road in Northeastern Jamaica for Tuesday, February 11, 2020. Even after she booked, the email along with her trip confirmation sent to her via email, were rejected, based on the email address that she gave on the form. Additionally, it is important to note that we did not do this tour for anyone called Freddie, we do not know who Freddie is, but the tour was done for the person noted above by name; a single lady Mrs. Joan Hill; as there is an Inquiry Form and a booking Form that she filled out to book this tour. 3) We can see where she had a misunderstanding regarding the time. Although it is stated on the web page as 5:00 am, her trip confirmation had 5:30 am, based on the time of year. Our driver was there on time and did explain to her that at that time of the year, it makes no sense going to the forest earlier, this was also noted on her trip confirmation. Therefore, there is no way that she could have said that that the driver arrived late. The trip confirmation that we had sent to her clearly stated that the pickup time at her accommodation site in San San was 5:30 am. The driver got to the gate of the property at 5:25 am, so there is no way the driver was late for a 5:30 am pick up. It is noteworthy also that Mrs Hill, (the name that was on the booking form) arrived in the Ecclesdown Forest, long before daylight, and was able to spend more than half an hour calling and looking for the Jamaican Owl; which is seen over eighty percent (80%) of the time at night, after dark and before daylight; unless the someone really knows where it roosts. Therefore, this statement made by her is totally false. 4) She mentioned US$250.00 for an eight-hour trip. As published on our website at this URL, https://attractionslink.com/home/birding/birding-in-jamaica/birding-tours-in-jamaica/birding-tour-to-the-lower-john-crow-mountains/, this cost, is for a “single person private tour.” Meaning, if a customer wants to do a tour on a specific day, and there are no other persons going on that day, then, the cost is US$250.00 for the tour for ONE person. If there are two (2) or more persons, the cost is US$150.00 per person. Whatever is paid, covers all transportation, a packed breakfast and birding guide's fee. It is our view that this cost is fair based on the items that were included. 5) Mrs. Joan Hill inquired about the tour about three weeks before we were able to do the tour as noted above; as she was waiting to join with others. We did find other birders, but could not get back to Mrs Joan Hill; as the telephone number she gave, was not working. Please note that we actually got to her, after someone from our company saw the owner of the place Mrs Hill she said she was staying at, and the owner of the accommodation, gave the person from our company the number of a phone which he (the owner of the accommodation) had loaned to her for use. 6) She mentioned that the guide took over half dozen phone calls. This is not totally true and can be explained. Based on the time of day that the guest was picked up, along with the duration of the tour (from 5:25 am to 2:05 pm) it is normal for the office to call and make various checks to see how the tour is progressing and if everything is fine within the environs, since a tour of this nature is facilitated within deeply wooded areas which are not/rarely traversed by other persons, except birders. It is therefore normal for us to check on our guests and our drivers/guides for safety. None of the phone calls received on this tour had to do with anything of a personal nature, which Mrs. Hill wrote in her comment to make it sound to prospective guests, as if this guide was constantly on the phone having a ‘jolly good time.’ This is NOT the case, as ALL the telephone calls received were on the company’s mobile phone (which the guide was using). We have since gotten the complete call list for ALL calls made and received from the telephone that the guide was using, and it shows clearly that the communication from 5:am to 2:05 pm were ALL made either from him to the office, or from the office to him. Based on the conversations, we are sure that she could pick up that the guide was speaking with someone from the office, but Mrs. Hill, who seemed to have been searching for negative comments with a fine tooth comb, refused to realize that the calls were not personal. 7) She mentioned that she was 'not put on to the bird on time.' We spoke to the guide at length about this and he said “She was very slow for one who said she was a KEEN birder, even with precise description of locations of the birds, she missed them, whether naturally because of her movement, or intentionally.” The bird guide, Wayne has worked with some of the keenest birders in the world, from various bird clubs and organizations around the world, for over twenty-three (23 years). He has also worked with birders who are beginning birders, children, persons who are hearing impaired and persons who have varying disabilities/situations that limit their ability to move, including persons who are confined to a wheel chair. It is really sad that Mrs. Hill, for whatever reason or propelling motive, has opted to write such defaming statements about a person who has worked tireless for over twenty-six (26) years in the field of tourism; to please his guests and to share his passion, birdwatching specifically, and tourism in general, with the world. This has been quite painful for Wayne to have read this terrible comment and while conducting the interview for this response, it was a rather emotional situation, for he said “ I don’t expect every guest to have the same experience, but these statements are false, totally false, but the TRUE GOD sees and he knows the truth.” 8) She mentioned that Wayne had mistaken a Merlin Hawk for an American Kestrel. However, Wayne stated that “the Merlin Hawk, was spotted long before Mrs. Hill said that she saw it…. at another location of the same forest; and the American Kestrel, was clearly seen, in another location as well. I think she is either mixing up things or just saying this to have a negative impact on the bird guide and the company.” Therefore, in response to the comments made by this guest, Miss Hill, Wayne the bird guide stated categorically that these statements are “totally false and that the endemics that she noted that she saw before she went on the bird tour, were in fact seen on the tour within the same terrain/forest.” The bird guide stated three times after having read the comment Mrs. Hill wrote on TripAdvisor that “she is mixing things up, whether unknowingly or she is just doing it on purpose; no such thing happened.” In conclusion, for over twenty-six years, we have made it our priority that our guests are truly satisfied and our drivers and guides (bird watching/sightseeing and others), have been doing their best in allowing our guests to have a memorable experience; this is our first comment of this sort, in all our years of operation. We clearly understand and agree, that IF a guest is not satisfied with our service/s, it must be addressed with urgency at all levels and nothing is wrong with stating this. However, IF a guest is simply making a statement publicly online, in order to defame any member of our team, irrespective of his/her hard work and dedication, such that the tasks undertaken may seem useless to the public at large, then it is our aim to correct this fully and to allow our readers to understand the truth as it occurred, that is what we have done, in relation to this specific review and the various negative comments that were made.
Read more
Van Yogi wrote a review Jan 2020
10 contributions2 helpful votes
We did a combo hike and Rio Grande rafting trip with Attractions Link and loved it! Lorenzo is an amazing operator and will do everything he can to make your trip a great experience and easy to manage. His son Dean was our guide on the hike and he was amazing. Extremely knowledgable about the area and passionate about making the community a better place. Dean was one of the most enjoyable people we met in Jamaica. The Rio Grande trip was awesome. It was extremely helpful to have him setup the lunch at Belinda's so that we did not have to worry about paying there. We then hired Lorenzo to drive us to Montego Bay for our return flight. He had his son Jerome with him for the drive and once again we were extremely impressed by their knowledge and genuine desire to make the experience a good one. An awesome company run by awesome people. A great way to experience Jamaica.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
ANBK17 wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions
Nothing but great things to say about Mr. Murdock of Attractions Link. My travel plans to Jamaica were all over the place and Mr. Murdock was so accommodating to my schedule changes. His response time to my many questions were practically instant. He was very personable and a pleasure to be around. Without him, our visit to Moore Town, Portland Parish to visit the Colonel would not have been what it was. Grateful that I came upon Attractions Link and will definitely use and recommend them on my return trip to the Port Antonio area.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Irene Verhoeven wrote a review Nov 2019
Breda, The Netherlands4 contributions1 helpful vote
Lorenzo (Wayne) and Jerome are very passionate about the blue mountains and about Jamaica! They have lots of stories to tell you! We enjoyed our small hiking trip to the blue mountains with a stop in Rastafarian coffee farm. Thanks Wayne and Jerome!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
ROBERTO M wrote a review Aug 2019
Turin, Italy46 contributions38 helpful votes
We travelled with Lorenzo and his son from Negril to Port Antonio, really beautiful trip. We had a very nice conversation with them and they both teached us a lot about Jamaica history, old and recent. We stopped in many nice places around Ocho Rios area and had a very nice lunch together. We did a another tour from our Port Antonio hotel to Reach falls, through rain forest, even nicer that the previous one. Lorenzo is a truly unique person, we did appreciate the time spent with him. Thanks! We will come back soon. Luisa and Roberto
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous