We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Tour and Travel

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
More
About Colonial Tour and Travel
Colonial Tour and Travel - Tour Operator DMC in Dominican Republic, offices in Santo Domingo, Punta Cana, Samana, La Romana and Boca Chica.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours

Colonial Tour and Travel
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
104Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 66
  • 6
  • 4
  • 8
  • 20
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Nic S wrote a review Sep 2019
New York City, New York20 contributions15 helpful votes
I had emailed far in advance to do the Dominican Tastes: Tobacco and Rum tour. I received an email stating to pay at the airport, so I emailed them asking what that meant since we flew to La Romana Airport and there is no stand or excursion area to pay. I received no answer. Then, 5 days before the tour, I received an email telling me that the tour will be a day earlier than I booked (9/3 instead of 9/4). I said that worked and confirmed. Then, 2 days before the tour, I still had not received the official information with pickup times, etcetera, so I reached out again and from there heard nothing. I then reached out the day before, again, and heard nothing. I find this to be unacceptable since we only booked one excursion and it ended up just falling through the cracks. Thankfully, we are here a full week and have been able to book a different tour with a different company, but had we been here a shorter period of time, we wouldnt have been able to scramble to book something else. We come to D.R. fairly often and would never consider booking or recommending this company to anyone traveling here.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Belfybee wrote a review Jul 2019
12 contributions
+1
We were a group of 10 family and friends and we booked 2 tours with Colonial, Santo Domingo Day tour and tabaco, chocolate and rum tour. Excellent service and guides. Very informative. Because we were a large group we ended up having private tours which made it even more interesting. I would recommend this company to anyone wishing to visit the Dominican Republic.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony D, Propietario at Colonial Tour and Travel
Responded Jul 24, 2019
Thank you very much Belfybee for your comments, it fills us with satisfaction and allow us to improve our services.
Read more
Wclayv wrote a review Oct 2018
Pensacola, Florida7 contributions
Buyer beware... if they do not have the minimum people for the tour you will be notified at the last minute the tour is not going! We received a confirmation email stating later in the week we would be going on the tour. The night before, I had to call to find out what time we would be picked up and was notified the tour was canceled because not enough people.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2018
Helpful
Share
Road657537 wrote a review Sep 2018
8 contributions
We went to Saona Island based on travel guide Moon, writer Lebawit Lily Girma. She must have been well bribed. I wish we had read Yelp instead with real reviews. Turned out to be 5 hours on a dirty uncomfortable bus ride with my repeated attempts to tell our tour guide Isidro that I needed to use a rest room at one of the numerous resorts we stopped at to no avail. No snacks available to buy. Rough transfer from boat to boat. The only interest the crew had was to take photos and videos to sell to us victims. Otherwise a crappy lunch which required a long wait in line, and the only drink pushed was rum and coke. Constantly. On the boat with blaring music coming back. Oh did I mention he got a call on the way to pick up a couple of prostitutes in Boca Chica for which we had to pull off the road for their unexpected joining of our journey. I will never return to Dominican Republic because of this horrible 14 hour ordeal. Oh yeah at the end he tried to drop us off in a dark area of Santo Domingo at 8:30 pm. Thanks god for the lovely dr women who were able to communicate that he needed to call taxis for us and them and not leave us before they arrived. Otherwise who knows maybe we could have added an assault to our lovely excursion. I have travelled the world including 3rd world countries and I am 70 years old. This was the worst experience I ever had. Callous uncaring harsh. You get it.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony D, Gerente at Colonial Tour and Travel
Responded Sep 11, 2018
Good morning I think you have written in the wrong place, please tell me where, when and to whom you bought this tour, because this does not seem one of our tours
Read more
wesley95 wrote a review Jun 2018
Singapore129 contributions97 helpful votes
I contacted Colonial Tour and Travel for a transfer between my resort in Punta Cana and AirBnB in Santo Domingo. It was fairly last minute and the sales rep was extremely prompt in replying to emails and queries. It cost $42 per person each way and it was effectively a private transfer since there were only my friend and I. Our driver, Elias, was punctual in picking us up in Punta Cana. The 2.5hr drive was really smooth. What really impressed me was what happened when we got to Zona Colonial in Santo Domingo. The address on Google Maps did not quite match the description given by my AirBnB host. Knowing that my friends and I were not fluent in Spanish, he stayed with us and helped us contact locals who knew the AirBnB host. He went on to stay with us until he made sure we were in our host’s apartment. He definitely went above and beyond and kudos to him.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2018
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony D, Gerente at Colonial Tour and Travel
Responded Jun 21, 2018
Thank you very much for your comments witch fill us with satisfaction and pride !
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Dominican Republic
from $63.00
More Info
from $66.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info