De Palm Island
De Palm Island
De Palm Island offers an all-inclusive Caribbean experience. Here, you can enjoy unlimited food and free-flow drinks, visit the water park, take a salsa lesson, have a banana boat ride, and more. You can even upgrade your experience with a SNUBA adventure, which combines snorkeling and diving; or a Sea Trek, where you’ll walk among fishes in a diving helmet. To mingle with the resort's resident flamingos, opt for a private cabana or premium seating on the beach. For the adventurous, visit De Palm Island as part of a UTV off-road adventure. Alternatively, join a tour with return hotel transfers. – Tripadvisor
Duration: More than 3 hours
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience De Palm Island and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • Noah M
    7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    De palm island
    Had an excellent time. We didn’t think we would be there all day but ended up being on the last ferry to leave. John B and his first mate for the banana boat ride did great. The flamingos were beautiful, lots of fish in the snorkeling area. Overall relaxing and lots of activities. We were not able to do everything but still had a good time
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written May 30, 2023
  • Jim M
    5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Good fun with kids
    Good value. Kids were very entertained. Alcoholic beverages were made with non-recognizable alcohol (not Tito’s or Kettle 1, or Grey Goose), and they seemed weak. Otherwise, no complaints. The second lunch buffet, the one further from the kids’ splash pad, had the better view and was less crowded and had yummier food.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 1, 2023
  • choudharyprakshi
    Stamford, Connecticut1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Amazing sea trek experience
    Really enjoyed my time at De Palm Island. It is really worth a visit. You can't miss SeaTrek (Only reason I went to De Palm). Food and drinks were delicious. They have variety of vegetarian and vegan options.
    Visited May 2023
    Written June 1, 2023
  • Chuck N
    3 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    From dream come true to nightmare
    Warning: although the island is beautiful and there’s not overcrowding, be very aware about one activity; the banana boat ride. I went on it with my 14 year old daughter and 11 year old son. It seems the boat captain, who pilots the boat that pulls the banana float attempts to throw as many people off the ride as possible. Everyone on my ride (8 people) were thrown into the ocean at about 25 mph and tossed from the float. We skidded across the water and I can tell you it felt exactly like a boat wreck. I had to get my daughter into the real boat and everyone else got back on the banana boat daughter was so scared from the wreck and being torpedoed into the ocean she couldn’t stop crying. A short time later they flipped the banana float again, and I watched as my 11 year old son and another child his same age were not only flipped into the water, but the banana float literally ran them over. I was sick to my stomach watching him get ran over. My son got a rope burn on his neck, leg and arm from the 2nd crash, which I feel could have been much worse, but thankfully wasn’t. That ride is highly dangerous for children and should only be for adults, if not shut down completely. I will say the ride we went on seemed to have a few of the boat captains friends on it, which may be why he was so reckless. There is a reason they give you a waiver when you get there. If you avoid the banana boat ride, or have a boat captain that is not an immature idiot, the trip would be ok.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 3, 2023
  • Charles C
    Kerens, Texas7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    De palm island
    The island was incredible, it was beautiful and it wasn’t too crowded. The food was great, I had new foods I haven’t tried before! The snack bar was awesome as well I could get some familiar snacks to help ease me over from all of the drinks, which were also very good! 10/10 will visit again and tell my family and friends about this experience
    Visited June 2023
    Written June 7, 2023
  • Michael S
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    I came to Aruba mainly because my wife really wanted to see the flamingos. We were a bit hesitant after reading some bad reviews about De Palm Island, but we kept seeing people recommending the premium seating or cabanas. So, we took a chance and booked the premium seating for the two of us, and boy, was it the best decision ever! Miguel, the bartender, provided top-notch service all day long. We had a blast, chilling in our comfy seats, enjoying the stunning views, and guess what? Flamingos were strutting their stuff on the beach the whole time! Elise and Kweasi, the flamingo caretakers, knew their stuff and took great care of those birds. They even let us snap some pics with the island's famous flamingo, Charlie Chaplin. Trust me, it was an epic experience, and we're definitely telling all our fam and friends about it!
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 8, 2023
  • Daniel C
    State College, Pennsylvania3 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    A great day on the island
    A family group of ten visited the island and took advantage of all of the amenities offered. Everyone in our group enjoyed their day on the island. A group favorite was the banana boat ride with Randy at the helm and Nigel taking care of riders. I wanted to video the experience and asked the captain where was a good spot to record. He said, “Why don’t you ride on the boat and record from there?” I appreciated his offer and was able to capture some awesome moments including when a majority of them “got wet.” I feel like the captain gave our group a little extra as our family had the entire banana boat and I was recording the action. Those two are top notch.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 14, 2023
  • Robin P
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    De Palm Island was amazing. There are several things to do and enjoy. The staff we met were very nice.
    We did the SeaTrek and it was wonderful. Ryan, Raymond, Omar and Jeremy were great. They were so nice. They thanked us for coming to do the experience and invited us to come back again. Ryan gave very clear instructions and added a little fun too. The divers were there to check on us and give the items to hold for pictures. Love the Crab! I hope to visit Aruba again and will definitely do the SeaTrek again, just wish it was a little longer.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 16, 2023
  • Justin T
    3 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    De Palm was the bomb
    My wife and had a good time. For what’s included in the price, it’s definitely worth it. We took advantage of all the activities and still had time to relax on the beach and enjoy a couple free cocktails.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 20, 2023
  • nwells030603
    Houston, Texas1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Unforgettable Experience
    Excellent place to visit! Everything was perfect! Service, food, staff, were exceptional and all common areas were clean. Great place to visit while in Aruba! The entire family enjoyed it! Staff is exceptional!
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 21, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0 of 5 bubbles3,755 reviews
Very good

Canton of Basel, Switzerland158 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Family
We are cruising the Caribbean and are visiting Aruba for one day. Having seen some pics on the internet I assumed that de palm island Would have been a nice place to visit and spend genuine day on a Caribbean beach resort. But honestly all of our family has been disappointed by the level of service which is practically non-existent And the facilities which are worn down and very cheap. The island is packed with the lowest possible level of tourists, the loungers are old and worn down, the restaurant worse than a cantina in a factory. We really can’t wait to leave again and forget everything about this place.

Acceptable loungers cost 42$ Per Person on top of the regular price and cabanas are 210(!!!!!) on top. Beer is the only drinkable alcoholic beverage and food is only served from 12 to four o’clock, so much about all inclusive resort.

Oh, one positive..... toilets are clean.
Written March 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

United States77 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Family
Would be a great day if you are coming off a cruise ship or have children.

They picked us up from our hotel and took us back. The island is pretty and there is a good amount of chairs to choose from. The beach area is a little small but pretty and is protects with some rocks so not as rough but can be very rocky so heads up. The slides were fast and fun. The banana boat is fun. Good area for kids. Food was decent and all inclusive. Snorkeling was beautiful but also very rough.

Drinks were beyond weak like no alcohol. My husband and I had multiple drinks within an hour and didn’t not even have a buzz switched to beer but it was filling and therefore we stopped. They advertise the flamingos but you are only able to be on the beach with the flamingos if you pay for the private cabana on that side of the island. Which in my opinion is not worth it for the private cabana. Otherwise you just have to look at the flamingos from behind a wall. I get it, they are animals and don’t need people coming up to them. However, I would have loved to have just been able to sit on the beach and see them like the people who paid extra.

Overall: it was a fine day. My husband and I enjoyed the day together. However I would not do this adventure again.
Written March 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Maddy F
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
My family and I have been coming to Aruba since I was a toddler and I'm 22 now and each year we always go to de palm island. As the years pass I've seen De Palm change in so many ways, I remember when half of the island wasn't even developed and it was just beach. Its much more busy now with every thing they have going on but its still a good time. The flamingos are cool and all but there is so much more (you don't get to touch them only pictures). The snorkeling is usually what we go for, while there are many places on the island of Aruba to snorkel De Palm sits right on the reef so there are so many more fish and its amazing! (highly recommend paying the $10 for fish food and you'll see so much more) This year we really wanted to try the Sea Trek adventure where you put the helmets on and walk under water. I will just say that it is AMAZING! its relatively short but when your walking underwater it feels like your in slow motion so it lasts a while. The divers we had were great and we got the pictures and video they took while we were under. I understand that De Palm Island can be expensive but there are a few things worth going for and this is definitely one of them. Highly recommend!!
Written July 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Island of Hawaii, HI158 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022
Thought this would be a great excursion for our two teenagers, but what a waste of money. We tried to make the most of it but bailed within 3 hours and couldn't wait to get back to our beautiful beach and pool.

The island is a 5 minute ferry ride that runs through out the day so you can leave at your leisure if you drive or take a taxi. It departs from some sort of industrial location so part of your view from the island is this industrial plant. The best thing was the snorkelling. Most of the reef surrounding the area is dead but there are some beautiful fish. A lot of the fish, hang out right by the stairs where you enter the water. There is one small point of entry where everyone collects their gear, goes down a few stairs to get in and out of the water. There is a current thus life jackets are required. There is a small and I mean small section of beach where you can enter the water for a quick dip. No snorkelling or room to swim and is a bit rocky.
Let me reiterate there is NO large stretch of sand on this island and water entry is very limited.

Lounge chairs are packed side by side together. The few flamingoes are in a separate area. Kids went on the water slides a few times. Son scratched up his back a bit on one of the slides. Decent area for little kids to play. Banana boat rides at least an hour wait so kids passed.

There are 3 places to eat but one restaurant was closed. The central place to eat serves up fries, bad burgers and chicken nuggets. They pour a stiff cocktail which one will need when you reflect how much you just paid to visit this so called island. Kids loved the virgin frozen drinks. The other restaurant is on the end of the island and had more options and fresh fruit. We should have tried the food there but didn't realize it was open until it was too late.

So many other activities and places to visit on the island-spend your money elsewhere and avoid this tourist trip
Written August 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Julia Eunbi Lee
12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021
I absolutely love and recommend De Palm Island to couples and to families who need a break from the other gorgeous beaches throughout Aruba. I initially had low expectations. However, I cannot emphasize enough how everything from the breathtaking view of the bluest and clearest water to the friendly staff and to the fun activities was perfect beyond description.

I participated in the SeaTrek activity which was not included in the admissions and I strongly recommend this activity to anyone who visits the island. It is a once in a lifetime experience where you get to walk 20 feet down on the ocean floor with other visitors and experienced divers. In addition, the divers also take pictures and videos throughout the activity in which you can purchase for a fee of $39 dollars. Although $39 might sound pricey, I think it is definitely worth being able to take home the pictures and videos they have taken of you underwater. They give the pictures and videos in a USB drive. I had a little bit of trouble with the USB, but I was able to get in touch with the diver (Omar) and the manager of the island (Miriam). They were super helpful in making sure that I get the pictures and videos via email. They understood that these pictures and videos are important for memory keeping.

The flamingos were also a great highlight of this trip. They are a beautiful pink hue and quite friendly for picture-taking. The banana boat included in the admissions was wild, but very exciting! The colorful slides were entertaining. The snorkeling was also very fun and I was able to see various fish of different colors and sizes swimming quite close to the island itself. The all inclusive food and drink were delicious as well.

Overall, I only take great memories of this place and I cannot wait to revisit during my next trip to Aruba. Thank you De Palm Island for a fantastic time!
Written December 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Boston, MA6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Family
From start to end it was not enjoyable. Start: if there were an Olympic event for accelerating as quickly as possible and slamming the breaks as hard as possible our driver would have taken the gold. Multiple guests on the bus were commenting on how motion sick they felt.

On the island the food was disgusting. I mean horrible. We visited in 2019 and the food was significantly better.

Banana boat was horrific with a group of drunk islanders rocking and trying to flip the float with children on it. We were thrown off multiple times it wasn’t fun or funny. When we got back to the dock and people from the float were clearly not happy with how dangerous the ride became the employee in the dock said “wait in line again and get on a float that doesn’t have islanders on it”. Ummm ok? And how would I know who is an islander and who isn’t? Do I ask everyone during my 30 minute wait for the ride? I am not one to be nervous or scared but the ride was not safe for anyone on it and for the boat to keep going and the driver and spotter to laugh as the float was being tipped over by locals was not ok.

New water slides were fun and enjoyable.

Kids water park was clean and enjoyable.

Hair braiding was great. The woman who braid at this hut are pleasant and hard working.

Leaving, so if our driver on the way there was going to win the gold for making everyone puke with his driver our driver on the way back was going to win the gold silver and bronze. Again multiple people commenting on how motion sick they were, staying they were going to puke. I mean it was so bad I swore I was on mtv “punked”.

We will never go back to De Palm island. Not worth the money. Also I came back with a serious contact high …… from people blowing blunt smoke in my face while openly smoking weed all over the island. I mean smoke it if you got it but maybe not on a family island? These smokers could have possibly waited until they got home and blew their blunt smoke in a willing participants face ?
Written April 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ronald H
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Couples
Alex and the Captain of the catamaran were amazing.
The Afternoon Delight cruise was so much more then we expect extend. The Crew, especially Alex the Bartender and the master of keeping everyone happy! The man never stops moving. In fact everyone on the catamaran was amazing. Very attentive and never wanting for anything. They made me wife feel so comfortable after the Tuesdays cruise ( 10/23)we rebooked for the same cruise on Thursday (10/25), and then stayed for the sun set cruise!!!
Whatever you pay these people, it isn’t enough!
We shall be back!
Written October 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Chelsea Paige
North Newbald, UK59 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Couples
We visited De Palm on a cruise ship excursion and so glad we did! From the moment we arrived the staff were super friendly, nothing is too much bother for them. We love the concept of an all inclusive island, it just alleviates so many stresses and is so much fun! Sunbeds, snorkeling, flamingos, banana boat, water slides, beach volleyball etc, so much to do and then can pay a little extra for other activities such as helmet dive etc! (initially we were booked on to this but I have problems equalising my ears and this was something you had to disclose on the waiver - they were happy to refund though!).
We read some negative reviews regarding the food been basic but in all honesty my husband is the world's biggest critic and even he enjoyed it! There is more than just chicken nuggets etc, there is pasta, salads and fish and I must add the grouper fish was absolutely amazing!
All drinks also included, some were slushy too very refreshing in hot climate but my favourite was the grape soda!
Definitely worth a visit, we will certainly be back, thank you for a super pleasant day!
Written March 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Chelsea, Thank you so much for the great review! We are super happy that you had a great time on the island and enjoyed it. We can't wait to have you back with us on your next trip! Warm Regards
Written June 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Connecticut32 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Family
Terrible experience. We booked this to break up the week on the island for the kids, thinking they might get tired of the beach. Unfortunately, we were unaware of the cruise ship schedule. The morning of our trip, we watched 3 cruise ships sail past our resort, so I knew it would be crowded on the island. We drove our own car and keep in mind Palm Island is NOT on a scenic side of the Aruba, it is very industrial and ugly. We were in the first couple groups to arrive, we got our chairs and kids were able to go directly to waterslides. Within 45 minutes the island was packed and the beach area was ridiculous. We were literally inches from the person next to us and more and more people kept showing up. The small bay of water was like an overcrowded pool, dozens of people just standing there, when I went in I realized why, it is completely rocky and you really should wear water shoes to stop from smashing your feet. The snack bar and buffet were as expected, not great, but not terrible. Kids liked being able to go get fries and chicken tenders. We ate the buffet. You could get a number of different island drinks and beer, all in small plastic cups, but as much as you wanted. Was very surprised to see that they were charging $3 for cotton candy and popcorn, with the cost that should have been included. One hour into the day, the large waterslide closed so the attendant could go on break, it was closed for an hour, this was absolutely ridiculous. We had several of our extremely close neighbors ask if this was what Aruba was like, we said absolutely NOT. Go to the other side of the island and the beaches and water are beautiful, this island is not a representation of Aruba. The excursion was supposed to be from 11-5:00 I think, at 1:30 we took the boat back to mainland and thank god we had our own car, we went back to our resort and our beach. I would NEVER spend this kind of money to go here again and if you are cruising I suggest just going up to Eagle or Palm beach and seeing what Aruba really has to offer.
Written June 5, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Franklin, TN1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Family
We enjoyed our day and thought it was definitely worth doing but the food is terrible. The staff is amazing, the grounds are clean and it was the perfect day for our teens. The only complaint we had was the food and the additional activities like massages and the under water submarine. These required an appointment and no one told us that upon arrival so those got booked up by the time we realized that was necessary. I would go on a weekday not a weekend because the locals do go here. The lines were not bad. We paid for the premium seating to be with the flamingos all day which was worth it but still expensive. Not sure I would go back again because of the food but it was fun to do for our first time in Aruba.
Written March 19, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,153
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

De Palm Island - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Aruba HotelsAruba Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Aruba
All things to do in Aruba
Day Trips in ArubaCasinos & Gambling in Aruba
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars