Stingray City
Stingray City
5
About
Your Stingray City Antigua Snorkel Adventure will be the highlight of your vacation, and an experience that will live with you forever. Our Southern Rays are without doubt The Brightest Rays in the Caribbean, very friendly and gentle. Come and enjoy with us this unique experience of interacting and feeding a Stingray, together with snorkelling amongst magnificent coral reefs and colourful tropical fish.
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(82 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
2,679 reviews
Excellent
2,221
Very good
356
Average
65
Poor
16
Terrible
21

Al by-the-way
Peterborough, UK22 contributions
Jan 2020
We booked the excursion directly with Roger's Taxis as we didn't want to package it up with a boozy boat cruise. We'd recommend this approach.

The arrival and preparation side were pretty straightforward. We felt we had enough info and were confident enough to enjoy the session.

After a 10 min ride to the pontoon we were in the water pretty quickly and the rays arrived in no time.

Handling and feeding the rays was fantastic and everyone on the party joined in as much or little as suited them. There was no rush and plenty of time to enjoy the experience.

Thoroughly recommended.
Written January 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

taliward
Warwick, UK1,566 contributions
Dec 2020 • Couples
We booked in advance as numbers are limited due to the current pandemic. Entry costs $50 per person and you can pay by cash or card. The kiosk also has a small range of merchandise for sale, and there is a separate stall selling other goods next to the briefing area.  There are toilets and changing facilities on site if required, as well as an outside shower.

After a clear safety briefing where you are provided with snorkelling gear if you want it, we were taken to a boat which took us out to the stingray site in about 10 minutes. A small protected area with a semi-permanent dock is cordoned off and the rays are free to naturally roam in and out. As the rays make an appearance when they know food is coming, they quickly came into the area. There are two ladders off the dock into the water. Initially it is just shallow enough to stand, but actually gets shallower the further you go which is odd as it's in the middle of the sea. You are free to take your own photos, but there is a professional who will be snapping throughout, and can take a picture of you holding a ray.

The rays are inquisitive, gentle creatures and will not attack you, although they occasionally got a little excited with the guides when they brought buckets of squid into the water! The guides will allow you to hold a piece of squid if you wish, so that you can feed the rays yourself. Otherwise, they will be happy to be gently stroked rather like a cat or a dog! The guides are very safety conscious and happy to answer any questions you might have.

We spent about 45 minutes with the rays before hopping back onto the boat and heading back to shore, where a complimentary rum punch or fruit juice (or several!) awaits.  You will also have the opportunity to purchase an electronic or printed copy of any of the professional photos. These cost $15 each and were brilliant and so well worth buying.

This was a unique and special experience which we'll never forget. The guides are really friendly, funny and knowledgeable and we felt completely safe. I had wondered about the ethics of the experience before doing the tour and had read many reviews  before deciding to go ahead and I was not disappointed.  As I've said, the rays are free and they chose to spend time with us and the guides even without food being present.  The guides clearly have a great bond with them.
Written December 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Cruiser689551
13 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
We arrived by From Uk having cruised and was at sea for a week. We wanted to go and swim with the Stingrays again we had swam with them many years ago this would be our fourth time. We got a taxi from the town and shared the taxi with a couple we met at the information kiosk they were very nice. The taxi driver was very welcoming and nice He dropped us at the area where everyone was queuing it was our turn now This was how tee got addressed “ How many of you the couple were still with us so I said 4 “50 dollar each” No hello good afternoon not a smile just a very rude attitude. One older woman and a young girl stood up both with a very sour face. We paid the young girl the 100 dollars she counted it handed it to the older woman she asked the young girl “ Did you count it” yes She then put the money in a cash box no thank you nothing and told Go over there to the brown or blue seats. These Two should either be trained or Stay home as it’s obvious they should not be front of house. There attitude was as if they were doing us a favour. It cost Nothing to be polite. It quite a difference to when this business started up all those years ago when the people taking the money was polite.
Thank goodness for the young men who take you on the boats and to the Stingrays they were very nice there was a Rasta looking young man who was lovely & having got in the water with the Stingrays I spoke to one of the guides Keith who was lovely. It’s a shame that these women really cause the guides to have to work hard to cheer up the Guests after the rudeness of those two sour faced morons. I spoke to some other people and they said they had the same rudeness from them. One couple had been given a present of 4 tickets for Christmas by there children as they knew they were going on holidays with friends to Antiqua he said he phoned up to ask about the time. A woman answered the phone told him she was busy and had 20 people in front of her and put the phone down on him. I told the taxi driver about it he said they are always like that and he gets people complaining The Experience with the Stingrays is brilliant and worth it. So to the owners get some training in place at this site and perhaps fix the short drive with the massive pot holes
Written January 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to do such an in-depth review. Although it is not all favourable to us we appreciate your effort and will address the points in your review. It would help us if you could let us know what day you did the tour. We are exceedingly happy your experience with the Stingrays was brilliant as that is our main and thank you for mentioning Keithroy (Keith) and Jorge (the young man with dreadlocks). It is always nice when guests remember the boat captains and guides as well as the Stingrays. In regards to your experience at our check in desk, we apologise if you did not receive the standard of service you have received in the past. We will bring your review to the attention of all concerned. The young ladies who work at our check in desk work hard and at certain times of the day just before each trip it can get stressful for them and pleasantries may get dispensed with. We understand this is no excuse for rudeness though and again apologise if this is how you were treated. You are correct in pointing out the pot holes on the road to our establishment. We filled and patched the potholes before season, like we do every year, however the heavy rains unfortunately dig it back up quickly. This is a government road and we are waiting for a new road altogether. The roads in the village were fixed this summer and our road is next to be worked on. Again thank you for your review, the positives and negatives and hope you come back to visit us again.
Written January 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Goldiesmummy
Dibden Purlieu, UK92 contributions
Jul 2021 • Family
STINGRAY CITY !!
I don’t know why my 5 year old and 8 year old had go to pay $50 each , this excursion is not suitable for young children as the Stingray maybe be bigger than them. Children shouldn’t be paying or they should do half price . They can’t even go into the water as it gets overwhelming for children.
Stingray city need to publicise and display their prices on the website to avoid the companies charging all sorts . We paid $75 each for two adults and $50 per child and we had two kids . I didn’t even go in as I’m not as swimmer and not suitable for none swimmers. It’s not that shallow. So only one adult went into the water. My 5 year old is too little and my 8 year old was seemingly small. We paid $250 only for one person to go into the water. Not fair !
The member of staff who was doing the briefing was unfriendly (18/07/21). Average height, very slim and bold guy.
You get a cup of rum afterwards which is good but I think they could do a light snack as well. The guy giving out rum with dreadlocks is friendly and chatty. They could have more staff on the boat to support guests if need be . The other bigger guy was friendly.
A lot of people seemed scared and one lady screamed through out which petrified the children and everybody else .
Good Covid measures and standards .
Written July 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rob B
Petts Wood, UK213 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
Having been to Stingray City in the Cayman Islands, I was not sure about doing the same trip again. However I’m so glad I did. It was simply outstanding.

It’s really well organised when you arrive. We booked the 9am slot and there were only 3 other people on our boat. When we got back on land, there were a lot more people waiting to go, so if you can make it, I would recommend an early start.

The guide, Randy aka Trouble, was excellent. He was informative, polite, funny, engaged etc. The boat took 7 minutes ripping across the waves to the stingrays. There were only about 20 people there (compared to about 70 in the Caymans). The staff were excellent - they seemed to genuinely enjoy their job and engaged with everyone.

Not only do you get to hold the rays, you can also snorkel around the area for 30 minutes and there was plenty to see. We were lucky to have a beautiful morning.

We booked the tortoise and bird trip too. I would highly recommend it. Randy was again a font of knowledge. After a quick rum punch we fed the giant tortoises, picked up tiny red footed tortoises and walked through bird alley. It was a lot better than I thought it would be.

When we returned to base, we got to view the photos. $15 for a photo on a stick or CD. I think you had to buy a much expensive package in Cayman so they don’t rip you off here.

So a huge thumbs up from us. Well worth the money.
Written August 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Peng Boon T
Singapore, Singapore1,943 contributions
Mar 2022
Snorkelling & Swimming among Stingrays: A ½ hour drive from St John’s to Stingray City, then a 10-minute boat ride to a sandbank where seawater was up to waist level, so even non-swimmers could enjoy the sights of stingrays swimming around them. It was amazing to experience so many stingrays swimming around us, even allowing us to touch them. The guide even held stingrays for us to examine and for photo taking. I noticed that the stingrays seem to enjoy interacting with people as they swam to us in large numbers from open sea.
We bought the Snorkelling & Swimming among Stingrays tour from our cruise line well before my wife and I were on the Caribbean Cruise because we did not want to miss this exciting tour.
Written April 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Shadowmother
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain54 contributions
Dec 2019 • Couples
What an incredible experience!
A bit disorganized at first we thought. So many people we thought. We're never going to see stingrays! Well how wrong could we be? Just the most amazing experience. We went in a very short boat ride to sand banks where we were standing in our depth and had stingrays playing with us from all directions. I held one, stroked one, kissed one for 7 years good luck and had one slide up my back, around my shoulders and up the back of my neck. Really exceptional experience. Very knowledgeable Stingray City guys with us who took a lot of trouble to reassure the nervous and give us the best possible experience. All on Christmas Day. Fantastic. A must do, if you get the chance. I could not stop smiling all day. Such silky, gentle creatures, swimming amongst us without fear. Amazing!
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rachel C
8 contributions
Dec 2022 • Friends
We went with the Xtreme tour which was fantastic - can’t fault the guys - Lesley, Desmond & Marcus. But I paid for 4 photos from stingray city and they have not sent them even though I ordered on the 8/12, payment came out on the 8th, 4 emails yet have heard nothing. Feels like they’ve taken the money then assumed as we’ve flown back we can’t do anything about it but that’s what credit cards are for so I am hoping to get my money back. Feel a bit scammed and disappointed tbh as it’s soured my experience.
Written December 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mrdmcd
Toronto243 contributions
Jan 2020
We did the stingray excursion last week, and had an excellent time. Highly recommended! The experience of swimming with and holding the rays is unforgettable. The staff was super helpful and kind to my wife who hesitated greatly to go into the water. Their encouragement and assistance made the visit a success for her. The staff is knowledgeable, helpful, professional, experienced. The ride out to the sandbar (where the water is gentle, chest high, and safely marked and surveyed) was carefully done, and after the swimming/snorkeling, there is a short visit to the land base, for payment, cleanup, change rooms, souvenirs, viewing of the parrots, washrooms and snacks. A great activity!!
Written January 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Maggie B
United Kingdom3 contributions
Dec 2022 • Family
I thought numerous times to write this review.

My trip with Stingray City was excellent but the customer service we received was terrible.

My family & I had been planning our trip to stingray city from months ahead.

Let me explain my nightmare customer service I received.

* Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly face and the other not so friendly. After check in, we were told instructions but due to the kids being fussy and excited.. it was not clear so we stood confused. I returned to the front desk to ask what were the instructions. *This lady had a terrible accent so it was hard to understand *, she rudely shouted “WAIT AT THE TOP” leaving me embarrassed amongst other guest at check in. The other looked over and she apologized saying “sorry, wait at the tables under the trees” as she saw my facial expression changed.

* We overlooked her unprofessionalism as we enjoyed our trip. After purchasing photos, we were chatting with another young married couple who we overheard telling their taxi about their encounter about their booking that was not there and how they were rudely dealt with.

* My granddaughter said she wanted a stingray which I told her to ask the price. I was not aware you had to stand in line to ask a question as I heard my granddaughter being told to “there is line” without her finishing her sentence. I was furious!!!

We received BAD CUSTOMER from start to end with that lady.
Written December 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,440

Stingray City - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Stingray City Information

Excellent Reviews

1,998

Very Good Reviews

329

Stingray City Photos

1,288