We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fabulous birthday surprise

My partner handed me my card on the morning of my birthday and inside were details of our canal... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
268glynisp
via mobile
Great boats, great location

We found this company to be 5 star. Boats well equipped, clean and although we were hiring at the... read more

Reviewed December 30, 2018
190802Charlie
,
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 297 reviews
All photos (102)
All photos (102)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good12%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“canal holiday”(12 reviews)
“great holiday”(13 reviews)
“central heating”(11 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
53°
36°
Apr
58°
42°
May
64°
47°
Jun
Contact
Scarfield Wharf Scarfield Hill, Alvechurch B48 7SQ, England
Website
+44 330 333 0590
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
243
36
7
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
243
36
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canal holiday great holiday central heating great company welcome pack an engineer four adults staff were really helpful double bed canal trust stratford upon avon canal network day cruise high standard beautiful countryside falkirk wheel union canal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot fault the Alvechurch Marina for their fantastic service of the Brown Weaver Canal Boat we hired for a week. The cleanliness of everything inside was fantastic. The days were great boating on the canals. The central heating was fantastic during the day, for...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 719Francine
Haley H, Director of Sales at ABC Boat Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The boats are equipped with diesel powered heating and do not require the engine to be run to generate heat. If you had called the 24 hour emergency helpline they would have been able to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner handed me my card on the morning of my birthday and inside were details of our canal boat weekend starting that afternoon. I have always wanted this experience, my partner has had several canal holidays before we met. It surpassed expectations. We drove...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 268glynisp
Haley H, Director of Sales at ABC Boat Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed your first canal experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had our holiday ruined by this terrible company, initial booking that was made months prior, was obviously taken by an incompetent member of staff who booked the incorrect boat! Obviously staff don’t know about their fleet because what the assigned us wasn’t suitable, Shame they...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank HighFlyer5
Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

What a terrible company this is, we had a holiday ruined by their sheer incompetence. Booked us a boat without explaining the layout over the phone (think some product training could be due) then the day before we get an out of the blue (realised...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank TotalTraveller1
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

Where do I start with this shambles of a company? In a nutshell, the day before our booking received a call to say the boat we’d booked over 5 months ago was not suitable for us (booked us a smaller birth for the number of...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank M02B
Haley H, Director of Sales at ABC Boat Hire, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read your comments following your holiday last August 2018. Near your holiday start date, you claimed that the extra high level berth weight restriction had not been explained at the time of booking. We therefore endeavoured...More

Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

We found this company to be 5 star. Boats well equipped, clean and although we were hiring at the end of the season, the boats were still looking lovely. The staff couldn’t be more helpful. We felt that they take pride in customer service making...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 190802Charlie
Reviewed December 27, 2018

Excellent Marina. Lovely moorings in idyllic rural surroundings. On site shop, chandlery services, hire fleet and pub.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Madeleine S
Reviewed October 31, 2018

We hired a board from the Worcester Marina and had a fantastic experience. Everyone from ABC was super friendly and helpful - the shore briefing was thorough and they took time to make sure you asked any questions you had, you then get an engineer...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank MrTomBaker
Haley H, Director of Sales at ABC Boat Hire, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. We are so glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed October 20, 2018

The people at Worcester marina are really good, they explain everything you need to know and the boat has everything on board you would need, even down to water proof coats and trousers. The choice of routs is superb and would suit all tastes and...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank markcT8408NO
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We hired our canalboat (the Swainsons Thrush) from ABC at Hilperton for 11 nights, during which time we travelled to Bristol and return. Their staff were fabulous in their approach and knowledge. Although capable of accommodating six people, we only had four adults, leaving the...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Stuart M
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Westmead Hotel
812 reviews
2.18 miles away
Meadow Farm
475 reviews
2.19 miles away
Abbey Hotel
2,556 reviews
2.36 miles away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
573 reviews
2.57 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 10 nearby restaurants
The New Dilshad
302 reviews
.63 miles away
The Weighbridge
202 reviews
.10 miles away
The Lounge - Alvechurch
35 reviews
.62 miles away
Gin and Pickles
18 reviews
.63 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
Blackwell Golf Club
9 reviews
1.61 miles away
Forge Mill Needle Museum & Bordesley Abbey
163 reviews
2.74 miles away
The Meadows
5 reviews
2.98 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lee M
September 12, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from William R | Reviewed this property |
Those who have hired the boat provide the "crew" themselves. This is not a problem, and god instruction is provided for hirers. No locks are I have hired a "day boat" for a 6 hour cruise; this will allow you to see whether... More
1
Vote
Claire D
January 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Haley H | Property representative |
Hello yes they are free of charge,
0
Votes
CarlamarieM1
January 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MairiM | Reviewed this property |
Depends which canal you choose. If you choose Falkirk to Edinburgh (Union Canal), the locks are all manned and you get help. The baby could surely be left down below long enough for mooring and casting of, which are the... More
1
Vote