Wey & Arun Canal Trust
Wey & Arun Canal Trust
4.5
About
We operate public trip boats every weekend from the beginning of April until the end of October. During the year we have special event cruises, Cream Teas, Pirates & Princesses and evening trips. Trips can be booked online. Our boats are available for private charter. The canal provides a wildlife corridor through Sussex & Surrey. You can walk the canal route using the Wey South Path. You can bring your own canoe to the canal at Loxwood, canoe licence details are on our website. Books, Walking Guides, souvenirs, canal history & restoration details and local tourist information leaflets are available from Loxwood Canal Centre. For further details please see our website.
Loxwood, West Sussex, England

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(8 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles162 reviews
Excellent
121
Very good
31
Average
7
Poor
1
Terrible
2

Millie024
Llantwit Major, UK476 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Couples
Having failed to be able to book a canal trip from Dapdune Wharf at Guildford, we found another base at Loxwood doing similar trips, and booked one for today at 12 noon. There is a small shop with postcards and leaflets by the canal, and we spent a pleasant few minutes there. Congratulations are due to the volunteer navies who have cleared the old canal of refuse and reinstated the waterway. The canal is a credit to them. We duly lined up and a register was called, before we all boarded the barge. Promised a coffee, we found the flask labelled ‘Very hot water’ to contain water that was tepid, so no tea or coffee for us, though actually we didn’t particularly want any. Even so…
We then proceeded to travel a short distance to a lock, and a little way beyond it, before turning round again. When we were nearly back, there was a short (very short) introduction, which would have been more appropriate at the start, when further detail about the history of the canal, and of its failure, could have been given, alongside some reference to the wildlife we might spot. Along the banks we saw some brilliantly turquoise dragon flies, and lush vegetation. A pleasant though underwhelming experience. Good car parking, where we ate our picnic in the car, and enjoyed watching dog walkers arrive for a walk along the tow path.
Written July 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your trip on the canal and found the car parking good. I'm also very pleased to hear that you managed to spot some wildlife on your cruise! I'm sorry to hear about the (lack of) hot water on your trip. I've passed on your comments about both the hot water and the introduction, so we can aim to improve these areas for future trips. As you have acknowledged, our volunteers work hard to make sure the canal runs smoothly. We really appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Written July 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Diptych
Hampton, UK1,320 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 • Solo
I walked with our dog from The Onslow Arms to Drungewick aqueduct as thunder rolled around us and a real downpour threatened. As it happened we were lucky and were able to enjoy a serene and beautiful walk alongside the restored canal without a drenching. I really hope that the restoration continues and that the canal is restored to full working order along its full length.
Written May 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your kind review! I'm so pleased that to hear that you enjoyed your walk along the canal and that the weather held out for you. I appreciate that your review was left over a year ago, but I can assure you that our volunteers continue to work hard in their efforts to restore the canal! Updates on our progress can be found on our website and social media platforms. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Written July 5, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MarkMahoney
Aldershot, UK1,891 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 • Couples
We did the circular walk 4/5miles from the car park going left along the canal cutting in land through footpaths, road, fields and forest before getting back on the canal near the aqueduct. Interesting area and actually quite remote. The canal has a few locks and can be picturesque. If your lucky you may spot deer along the adjacent fields by the canal.
Written May 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you found the area interesting and that you enjoyed your walk. There are lots of different walks along the canal and the 4/5 mile one is a great one to take in the surroundings. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon!
Written July 5, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

stephen w
London, UK681 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020
A very interesting place to walk or cycle along . I joined the canal at Devils Hole Lock area and cycled down to Loxwood, where the canal has been reworked to go under the road at the Onslow Arms pub , then on to the aqueduct at Drudgewick. All this section has been restored and is full of water, very natural with loads of wildlife to spot along the way. Just after the aqueduct you can go over a small road bridge and follow the disused canal to where there is a lock being restored and a nice bench to sit at and rest !
Written June 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your cycle ride along the canal. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon!
Written July 5, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shaun L
Clanfield, UK2,707 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 • Couples
Enjoyable ramble today from the canal west up into Loxwood, across fields and woodlands before rejoining the canal at the east side along the towpath back to the canal centre. Was a nice 6 miler with different terrain, muddy in parts and peaceful along the towpath. Sunny day helped but was fun all round. Plenty of car parking by the canal centre.
Written February 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for visiting! We're pleased to hear that you had a good walk along the canal and we're glad that it was sunny for you. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Written April 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

leetemum
Worthing, UK60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
Lovely walk along the canal spotting wildlife of which there is plenty plus plenty of narrow boats using the locks and a canoe too. Staff at the visitors center were friendly and helpful and gave the children a worksheet to spot things along the route. We stopped and had our picnic lunch at a bench along the way next to the canal. It was lovely and quiet when we visited just a few walkers and a man in a canoe with his dog. Definately recommend this walk and will go further now I know how much is there.
Written August 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the canal. Our canal is enjoyed by many different people and used for multiple activities, so I'm glad to read that you spotted some canoeists and walkers. I'm also pleased to hear that you found our volunteers friendly and that you made use of the benches for a picnic. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon!
Written July 5, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kelly
Burgess Hill, UK54 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022
Had a lovely long walk along the canal in the morning. Beautiful scenery. Lunch at the Onslow arms. In the afternoon went on the canal boat trip. Volunteers fantastic! Told us the history of the waterways. Very knowledgeable, funny and friendly. Very relaxing trip!
Provided us with refreshments.
Was fantastic for our big group (18 of us). Would make a brilliant venue for a special occasion eg. special birthday or party.
Written June 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PETER V
72 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Friends
As usual a wonderful trip with a wonderful crew. It never ceases to amaze me how helpful and friendly everyone is. A trip back in time for me and my company and my lovely FRosie (My dog) really enjoyed. Thank you for a lovely day
Written May 20, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

the3mustgetbeers
Brighton, UK38 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Family
No views,nothing to look at but walls and reeds,trapped in a boat with a load of awful people,do not recommend
Written May 25, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Belleflowerblue
Worthing, UK15 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2017 • Family
I had heard lovely things from others about visiting Santa on the Arun and Wey Canal so I eagerly booked up in September for our 23/12/17 visit. It cost £30 for two adults and one child so not cheap. We arrived at our departure point to be met by friendly volunteers which was lovely. Attempts had been made to decorate the departure point with festive teddy bears etc but to be honest they just looked cheap, dirty and wet. We boarded the boat and in my opinion this is really a money making exercise as just too many people crammed in with children at very small tables. A family of five arrived who had booked their trip but the Arun and Wey Canal had their numbers wrong but crammed them on anyhow. You travel up the canal to look for Santa who appears at a lock. Cue the surge from the back pushing forward to catch a glimpse of the big man and pushing children forward. Those sitting at the front have no chance. Santa then boards the boat and each table is taken down for a visit. There is no grotto, not even a seat for the child to sit on and it is not private. Photo opportunities on our visit were minimal as there is just no room. Visit with Santa was just a few minutes and was just not special. You then cruise back to your departure point. I was told you sang carols on board. Whilst there were song sheets no attempts were made to sing carols. Refreshments are provided which are more than adequate. Overall we found it to be a very poor experience for the money paid and not special or memorable in a positive way. I get that this venture is run by volunteers and their sentiment and intentions are all well meaning but they really do need to review their practices and costs - this could be a truly excellent Santa visit otherwise!
Written December 27, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Santa Trip. Unfortunately the weather was not kind to us and the toys were on their 3rd day out in the dampness and wet. We tried to make the area festive. We assure you that all passengers on your trip had pre-booked and all were allocated to tables, there were no additional passengers. Maybe you will give us another chance.
Written January 4, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 162

Wey & Arun Canal Trust - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars