We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kalia Beach

Open Now: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
461
All photos (461)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good38%
  • Average19%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“dead sea”(128 reviews)
“changing rooms”(14 reviews)
“nice beach”(8 reviews)
About
Kalia Beach is the northernmost beach in the Dead Sea, only half an hour from Jerusalem The eco-friendly beach combines a perfect experience of breathtaking scenery with a 360° view over the Judean and the Jordanian desert and the Dead Sea. , a...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM
See all hours
Contact
Road 90 | Dead Sea, 9066600, Israel
Improve This Listing
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
66
76
44
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
66
76
44
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dead sea changing rooms nice beach your eyes west bank slippery mud entry fee cost nis special experience souvenir shop tour buses tel aviv shower facilities be careful below sea level plastic chairs day trip
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

The water has natural mud which makes for a great experience. I visited in January and the water was too cold for me but many visitors were enjoying their float! The beach is easy to reach and access but quite expensive to enter. Good amenities...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank RebeccaTravels33
Itay-Kalia, Public Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Rebecca, We are delighted to read you enjoyed your visit to our beach. The entrance fees are designed to maintain the beach and maintain all the facilities for the many visitors who come to us from all over the world. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

The beach is clean and tidy and you can spend a whole day in it The land on the beach is very muddy and you can cover the body with the mud (which has very good minerals for the skin) There is an organized parking...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Dikla D
Itay-Kalia, Public Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Dikla, Thanks for the review. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the beach. Unfortunately, the great distance between the water line and the faceillities on the upper levels stems from the dehydration of the Dead Sea - a topic that is...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quite expensive and towel not included in the entrance fee. Very basic shower facilities and changing room ..you will still pay even if you don't swim. It was an experience to swim In Dead Sea ..

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Yolo208
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Being in the lake, talking a bit to other people form all over the world is nice. The beach itself is fine, the facilities could be a bit better: just 1 shower of 4 waterpieces on the shore, of which 2 or 3 needed reparation...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank bvinken
Itay-Kalia, Public Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Bvinken, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to have used previous reviews that were published and enjoyed the visit to the beach and the abundant mineral mud. Hope to see you again

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I can’t say how it is in summer but in winter it’s not really a must-see. It’s pretty dirty and the beach is not really working, just upstairs a few bars and shops. The water was at an ok temperature.More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank ToniTijay
Itay-Kalia, Public Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, It is important to sort out that the winter in this area concentrates on a few days of rain and the beach operates throughout the year in the same format. For visiting the pleasant winter months there are advantages over visiting the hot...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Literally the worst tourist trap I have ever experienced. Overpriced entrance fee that the PR manager (in TripAdvisor responses) justifies for services and amenities that we simply did not experience or experienced as being far far below minimal acceptable quality . Slippery entrance to the...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank squirrelislander
Itay-Kalia, Public Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to our beach. Since you wrote that in other comments you read the services offered on the beach - we will not repeat the list in order not to waste your time. We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kalia Beach was an okay stop to view the Dead Sea. The staff was nice and it was kept clean. Plus, the smoothies were tasty. However, it’s a bit of a tourist trap. You must pay to get into the area, and it was not...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Mark V
Itay-Kalia, Public Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mark, thank you for your review. Please note that the water quality in this period is strongly influenced by the weather - if there is rain, the water may be less clear. Also - our beach is rich in the famous mineral mud of...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We came by a smaller tour van on an organized tour, and enjoyed our experience at the Dead Sea very much. This is a paid beach, and it was not a tourist season, so the crowds were almost non-existent on the morning that we arrived....More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank TheExplorerFamily
Itay-Kalia, Guest Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Explorer Family, Thank you for your review. Indeed it is a great time to visit our beach. It is important for us to use every platform to emphasize that the hill side you mentioned is created by the rapid dehydration of the Dead Sea!...More

Reviewed December 12, 2018

We were here earlier this year but it took some time to ascertain where, exactly, we visited the Dead Sea. (Ask the travel company, duh!). After visiting Masada, we were taken to this beach on the Dead Sea .It's located in the West Bank, but...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank MJK582014
Itay-Kalia, Public Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MJK582014, Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed November 26, 2018

As far as my Internet research has shown, this is the best place if you want to see the Dead Sea on a one day trip from Jerusalem. This is the closest location, cheaper than the more famous Dead Sea resorts and on the way...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Ewa L L
Itay-Kalia, Public Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ewa, Thanks for the review! It is important to note that there is a free shuttle service from the bus stop to the beach - so on the next visit you are welcome to contact us for Facebook or the InStagram and save the...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The 7 Arches Hotel
137 reviews
15.38 miles away
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
176 reviews
15.40 miles away
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
184 reviews
15.55 miles away
Alcazar Hotel
155 reviews
15.94 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Lowest Bar in The World
22 reviews
.05 miles away
Chance Inn
57 reviews
3.99 miles away
Obelisk Restaurant
19 reviews
5.84 miles away
Burj Al Hamam
387 reviews
6.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Qumran Caves
356 reviews
3.01 miles away
Qumran National Park
95 reviews
3.05 miles away
Enot Tsukim Nature Reserve - Ein Feshkha
52 reviews
3.84 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Yehudis B
October 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jum_dxb | Reviewed this property |
I understand that your are asking the closing time. It is opening from morning 9.00AM till late night (exact Closing time I do not know)
0
Votes
Matthew C
April 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from jum_dxb | Reviewed this property |
I am from india and part of a tour group. we visited kalia beach and had a nice time. The trip was smooth and did not face any issues. Also throughout our holy land trip we did not face any security issues
1
Vote
Cuquita_15
February 25, 2018|
Answer
Response from ariki2017 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Cuquita. Welcome To Israel . All Info Is In Kalia Website. You May Stay In Kalia Or Southern In Kibutz Ein Gedi , Masada Hotel , Dead Sea Hotels Complex Or In Jerusalem As Well . You May Book My Private Tailor... More
0
Votes
Travel Forum Posts
presharcy
Johannesburg, South Africa
Kalia Beach (6 Replies)
Hello May you kindly let me know which bus and number to take to Kalia Beach Where can I get it as well and what time on a Friday just for a quick swim like for half a day
December 26, 2017|
Response fromrdglady|
While I will let other give you bus information, you do not swim in the Dead Sea. You float. You also can't spend hours in the water. It is to caustic.
Sjibbolet v
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
How should we travel? (6 Replies)
Hi. We want to travel from Tiberias to Kalia beach. We will be traveling with a rental car. I understand that this area is palestinan. Is it safe to travel here? This is our first time to Israel so any help will be much appreciated. Thank you
November 30, 2015|
Response fromGiora_I_L|
The easiest is use RT #90 all under Israeli authority (about 2 hours). Just use Jericho by-pass (clearly marked)
janetstr
Eugene, Oregon
Ein Gedi to a swimming beach (25 Replies)
I'll be staying at the Ein Gedi Camp Lodge in April. Since it seems that the Ein Gedi beach is closed, what nearby beach can I visit for swimming? Kalia beach seems a little far but there are nice amenities there, so is it worth travelling back up to Kalia? Is the Mineral beach a good choice, or what about beaches to the south? I don't mind paying - even a lot - for access to a good beach with amenities like showers, umbrellas, snack shop etc. Would there be public transport from Ein Gedi to...More
February 13, 2018|
Response fromVisitIsrael|
Neve Midbar, Kalia and Biankini are all right next to each other(Kalia closest to bus stop). I suggest traveling by bus to Ein Boqek and taking a day packages for a spa, swim, float in the Dead Sea and lunch. This will require knowing when there is a bus back to Ein Gedi. Chana Israel