Undiscovered Montenegro
About
We offer a taste of adventure in the National Parks of Montenegro and Albania - from kayaking, hiking and wild-swimming, to caving, wine and gastronomy holidays and tours. From island monasteries to staggering mountain peaks, from natural waterfalls to organic wineries, join us and discover the best kept secrets of the Balkans! As recommended by Lonely Planet and National Geographic Traveller.
Virpazar, Montenegro

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Undiscovered Montenegro
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(19 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
205 reviews
Excellent
197
Very good
5
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Karen B
London, UK21 contributions
Aug 2022
It will take a lot to top this holiday. We miss it already. It wasn't just a holiday; it was an incredible experience we will never forget! The tour size was perfect, and the ease from start to finish and wrap-around care was faultless. I love their integrity and passion for this area of the world. Our hosts were so knowledgeable. We learned loads. We loved the blend of tours with activities and invitations with local people that gave a real insight into Montenegro's history and culture and the whole experience is a far cry from token gesture tourism more interested in your wallet. This holiday was exceptional. I am so grateful for the friends, the ease and joy it brought us, and we really cannot wait to take another adventure with them. Utterly brilliant!!!!
Written August 31, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Clare R
1 contribution
Aug 2022 • Family
With my two teens we were lucky enough to experience the Family activity week staying in Villa Miela with Ben and Emma in August.

We had an absolutely amazing week.. We saw parts of the country we would never have seen without our guides and we all did things out of our comfort zones. For me that was jumping off rocks, for the kids, taking the plunge into icy water (and loving it!).

The week was a perfect balance of activities and rest days on which we could enjoy the view from the terrace and the pool at Villa Miela.

Travelling on my own with two teenagers, it was very reassuring to have local experts on hand who speak fluent Montenegrin and who seem to know everyone in the area.

I cannot recommend this week enough, it was everything we had hoped for and more, and have recommended it to all my friends.

We hope to travel again with Ben and Emma, maybe branching out into a different part of the Balkans next year with their new tours.

Thank you for such an awesome holiday 😊
Written August 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Joanne H
Glasgow, UK8 contributions
Jun 2022
Had a week of yoga and activities, kayaking, walking, wild water swimming etc.
Great holiday & Villa Miela a wonderful place to stay. Flora and fauna untamed and beautiful and the food was a delight. This is my second holiday at Villa Miela with Emma & Ben as guides and it did not disappoint. The family are immersed in the local community which really benefits the guests.
Written June 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Belinda S
28 contributions
Feb 2020 • Friends
A great holiday in fabulous surroundings with typical Montenegrin hospitality.
We were made to feel incredibly welcome in the lovely log cabins at Kolasin and were so well looked after. Food and drink in plentiful supply.
How lovely to be on a winter holiday that provided activities alongside skiing... we were lucky enough to snowshoe, hike, visit a cheese farm (hospitality ++), have lunch in a remote mountain hut visit Durmitor mountains and lakes and generally enjoy the incredible scenery and hospitality that Montenegro offers.
Written March 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Janey G
3 contributions
Jul 2022 • Family
Fabulous activity week trekking, kayaking, wild swimming and wildlife spotting. While family ( kids 12 and 14) loved it. Villa Miela was a great base for the week and we were well looked after by Ben, Emma and their team.
Written July 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Gazdance
Southampton, UK24 contributions
Sep 2022
We did the packrafting trip, which is quite a new offering. We had a fantastic time. Gigo and the other guides were really good at explaining what to expect and making sure that we were all prepared and comfortable. The excursion down the Tara River Canyon was spectacular. Not only was the scenery amazing but the conditions of the river made the trip really exciting; calm and relaxed sections mixed in with fast and bumpy rapids. So much fun!

All of the accommodation was comfortable and food provided was of top quality. I had such good time that I'm already thinking ahead to what to do next.

This trip would be ideal for people who are keen to try something a bit different and active, or people who are used to outdoor activity holidays.

Absolute 10/10 from me.
Written October 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

jlerasmus
Johannesburg, South Africa7 contributions
Jul 2014 • Couples
The hike through Walnut Valley was the most memorable part of our holiday. The views were absolutely breath taking and the hike through the forest was really something special - the hiking trail is a bit of a secret so it was really of the beaten track - the road less travelled, so to speak. Swimming in the natural pools is an exhilarating experience, and we were just in awe of our beautiful surroundings. What a huge bonus that the surroundings do not include any other tourists!

Tips to other travellers:

Study the activity brochure well so that you know exactly which activities you want to do. Try to always include the "local lunch" option, where available - especially the lunch at Tanya's - this is not to be missed. In your free day, go down to Kotor Bay, but go early to avoid the crowds. Make sure that you are fit and healthy otherwise you might battle with the activities.

Finally, It was an amazing holiday. Highly recommended. For us, the natural beauty, local organic food, non-commercialized, exclusive activities really made this trip super special.

We needed visas and Ben was incredibly helpful in sending us the details that we required.
Written August 6, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sophie S
2 contributions
Jul 2018 • Couples
When we were planning our trip to the skadar lake, we were very enthusiastic about all the positive stories on tripadvisor about the guides kayak tours. Therefore, we contacted the agency to book a tour 2 weeks in advance. We received immediately an answer about the different possibilities, however, Vukoman suddenly didnt reply anymore to any of my mails to make our plans concrete.
Two days before we wanted to do the kayak, we again send an email but agian no reply.
We decided to head to virpazar and see there, and to call the number given here, however: no reply again...
arriving here, we asked several boat hiring agencies to help us and one helped us and she called the number. And then the phone was replied (we tried 5 times) but the person said that she could not jelp.
So: no guided kayak for us!
Very disappointed in this very bad service!!!!!!!!!
Written July 30, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Sophie, we're sorry we couldn't take you out kayaking – as our website for day tours and Vukoman's initial emails to you state very clearly, tours with us are not confirmed until you receive a confirmation of booking letter and have paid in advance via PayPal. From your first contact, you had ten days to confirm and pay for your tour. Unfortunately, by the time you eventually emailed to confirm you were ready to book, it was too short notice for our guides to be able to respond (July is an exceptionally busy time for our small team and everyone was out guiding tours). Given that you had received no confirmation from us that your tour had been arranged, and consequently no tour instructions, we are very surprised that you would choose to travel to Virpazar anyway, expecting the tour to take place, and then complain that frantic phone calls to a number we had not given you (we're an online agency) went unanswered. Our website and emails also state very clearly that we do not have an office in Virpazar, which is why you couldn't find us there. Of course, when our bookings process is completed, we provide full instructions for meeting up, including last minute contact details, and a high quality outdoor experience with some truly great local guides, which is why our tours are popular and attract such good reviews. We're sorry you missed out due to the high demand for our trips. As a result of your experience, we'll add a line to our initial bookings response to advise people to confirm their tour as far ahead as possible. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Montenegro!
Written July 31, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BowensBandB
Fownhope, UK74 contributions
Aug 2018 • Family
Agree with everything the previous recent reviewers have said! We were looking for something a bit different than our usual villa and beach holiday that would suit teenage boys and older members of the extended family (there were nine of us from 12-60 years). We definitely found it in Montenegro! Loved the hikes and wild water swimming, kayaking, boat trip and 4x4 safari. All great fun and the other guests were good company.
Ben and Emma are excellent hosts and go out of their way to make your stay memorable.
We had the entire Villa Miele and loved it. Pool, garden and terrace were fantastic.
Would highly recommend.
Written September 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Dusan J
Belgrade, Serbia8 contributions
May 2016 • Couples
My girlfriend and I had a few free days in May and as we were touring a coast along Adriatic Sea in Croatia and Montenegro, a decision was made to spend four days on Skadar Lake. As we prefer to escape the hordes of busy and, of course, anxious holiday-makers, and savor natural beauty while on holidays, Montenegro's Lake Skadar sounded as a pretty cool choice.

The awesome beauty of Skadar Lake - which is freshwater lake - easily beats the more famous lakes elsewhere on this beautiful planet!

We were first and foremost interested in kayaking along tranquil mirrored waters. Our second wish was to roam around, and with our friendly host, discover the local gastronomic highlights and wine! All we knew is that the entire area is peppered with small, family-owned wineries, able to offer you local delicacies as well!

We were based at the gorgeous Villa Miela, a cosy place with all contemporary gadgets and above all very generous assistance of the hosts, Emma and Ben. I have to say that all we needed was available and functioned seamlessly, such as wireless internet, abundant hot water for shower, well-heated room and wide common space with a bottle of complimentary eau de vi (or 'grappa' or 'loza' in Montenegrin language). Such a good feeling that everything was set up superbly!

Lake Skadar, a protected National Park, is still a kind of a well-kept secret. So few people outside this region ever heard about it. However, the time has come to discover that secret and greedily indulge yourself in a holiday of the lifetime.

I can only warmly recommend 'Undiscovered Montenegro' agency as your top choice when heading to Skadar Lake area in a bit warmer days of 2017!
Written February 19, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 11-20 of 192

Undiscovered Montenegro (Virpazar) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

>