Bom Bom Beach Bar and La Pizzeria

Bom Bom Beach Bar and La Pizzeria, Bluff Beach: Tickets, Tours, Hours, Address, Bom Bom Beach Bar and La Pizzeria Reviews: 4.5/5

Bom Bom Beach Bar and La Pizzeria

Bom Bom Beach Bar and La Pizzeria
4.5
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
About
Bom Bom Beach Bar is the ONLY bar DIRECTLY on the beach at Bluff. Our expert bartenders prepare your delicious drinks to order while you listen to the sound of the waves breaking, cool music and the Howler Monkeys howling. We also serve delicious hamburgers, fish, pasta, salads, homemade pizza (Neapolitan style) and sandwiches baked in our 3000 lb. 900 degree wood burning oven right on the beach so you never need to leave paradise. Hope to see you here soon!
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.5
30 reviews
Excellent
17
Very good
10
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Sandra S
Prince George, Canada160 contributions
Toes in sand, drink in my hand!
Feb 2020 • Couples
This is a great place out in the Bluff. We enjoyed the awesome pizza from the pizza oven twice! Also the bruschetta was very well flavoured and nicely presented. The piña coladas didn’t quite compare to others in the area, very limey taste and thought they got my order wrong, but that’s how the come... and a small glass size. The location & food is truly what makes this place. The first time we had great service, but the return visit we had a different experience with our service... very slow, and staff seemed more interested in wave watching, forgot our beer orders! With some simple customer service training this place could get 5 stars!
Written February 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TooManyKids4
Madison, WI27 contributions
location x 3
Jan 2020
Good snacky food and drinks in a beautiful tropical setting right on the beach. Perfect break on your long bike ride/walk/4x4 trek out the Bluff Beach Rd from Bocas town.
Written January 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

slmse
Minneapolis, MN16 contributions
Perfect Beach Bar
Dec 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed this fabulous, chic, bar right in the sand on a gorgeous beach. It doesn't get any better than sipping delicious drinks, while lounging in a chaise or comfy couch with your toes in the sand. The staff was friendly, the music was hip, the views were stunning and even the bathrooms were clean!
Written January 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Slmse, Hello and fun greetings from all of us at BomBom Beach Bar and Island Plantation! Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to share your experience at our fun bar! We are so happy you enjoyed our drinks, atmosphere and views. We hate using dirty toilets too so we try to ensure that our team keep them fresh and tidy. I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team and thank you once again for letting people know about BomBom! Sincerely, Christopher- Owner BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation Resort
Written January 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

PaulinaG_03
Washington DC, DC3 contributions
Must visit beach bar!
Jan 2020 • Friends
My friends and I (large group of 9) stopped in to this fantastic beach bar today in Playa Bluff. We sat on their large beach couch and chairs and played with their giant table Jenga game and ordered delicious drinks and pizzas. Service was great. The owners were there running around and helping take care of people as well and they were super friendly and funny! All the staff there was friendly and nice as well. Highly recommend this place for a relaxing, enjoyable time at the beach.
Written January 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Paulina G, Hello and sunny greetings from BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation Hotel! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review about our beach bar (the only one directly on the beach on Bluff Beach!). I am so glad you enjoyed our bar as much as we enjoyed your group! It was so much fun watching you all play Jenna and we are so happy you enjoyed our food and drinks. We really do try to make sure everyone has a great time-after all, that is why you come to Panama and Bocas del Toro! We sincerely hope to see you again either at BomBom, or at our hotel, Island Plantation. I hope you all had a very safe and easy return home and once again, thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to tell others about us! Sincerely, Christopher and the entire BomBom and Island Plantation Team
Written January 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Stine F
Oslo, Norway13 contributions
Life´s a beach
Dec 2019
Nice beach bar a few meters from the surf. Excellent batidos, drinks, pizzas and a variety of other dishes. Friendly and attentive staff, hammocks and sometimes a bonfire at night. Lovely atmosphere!
Written December 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Flyer791062, Hello and blue sky greetings from BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation Hotel at Playa Bluff! It was so nice to see that you enjoyed our beach bar (directly on the beach) and that our food, pizzas from our wood burning oven made you happy! We are in the process of adding new dishes and more fun beach games so that you, our amazing guests, have an even better experience! Once again, thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to see you back soon! Sincerely, Christopher, Herolf and the entire Island Plantation Team
Written January 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Seaside694854
5 contributions
BomBom
Jun 2019 • Couples
Very nice drinks for resonable prices. Perfect service, nice place. Could be open longer for people who stay nearby.
Written July 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Seaside694854, Sunny greetings from BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation Resort! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at BomBom! While we would love to keep BomBom open longer, your time with us was during the turtle nesting season and as such, we close to allow ample time for guests to move up to our Terrace Restaurant to continue drinks and dining. As the light can deter the female turtles from coming up the beach to lay their eggs, we always try to reduce artificial lighting on the beach during this time. This allows for the many turtles to lay there eggs and nest. As a matter of fact, just this past season we had an enormous hatching of baby turtles right in front of the bar! Not only were we extremely happy to witness the baby turtles return to the sea, it was further proof that we can indeed live in harmony by having a sustainable and fun beach venue function in harmony with the many animals we share this beautiful area with! Once again, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again at BomBom and Island Plantation Resort! Sincerely, Christopher Bybee- Owner BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation Resort
Written January 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Yvo75
Hoensbroek, The Netherlands468 contributions
Nice beachbar at Bluff Beach
Apr 2019 • Couples
After a bikeride from Bocas Town we ended up here for lunch. We ordered pizza and salade caprese. Both tasted well. The drinks were Nice and icecold just as we wanted them to be. Nice vibe here on the beach. Service was friendly and fast. Lovely stop for lunch on a great beach.
Written April 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Yvo75, Hello and greetings from BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation Resort! I do apologize for my late response but would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing such nice things about us! The bike ride from town can be great exercise but also make one hungry and yearning for a cold drink- that is where we come in! Our pizzas are made with 00 flour and tomatoes from Italy and prepared in our wood burning pizza oven and our bartenders compete with one another to try and make the best, most refreshing drinks on Bluff Beach! Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to tell others here on TA of BomBom Beach Bar! Sincerely, Christopher- Owner BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation Resort
Written January 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MICHAEL W
Montreal, Canada2 contributions
Overcharged bill
Apr 2019 • Friends
Average food ..terrible service with included service charge in the bill witch is no legal in Panama.. plus they ask for voluntary tips!!!.. at last you should care more your customer!!
Written April 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Michael, Hello and greetings from BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation Hotel. Thank you very much for your review, however, I must correct you on a couple of items: We do NOT include any service charge to anyone’s bill. You are correct that this is an illegal practice in Panama and as a matter of fact, as long time residents of Panama, we have challenged other establishments that do try to sneak this in to gouge unsuspecting tourists. It is not correct and I assure you we do not practice this. We utilize a computerized POS system and every guest is presented with a bill that does NOT include service. It is not programmed into our system, thus, the receipt presented to guests does not include this. I’m wondering if you might be confusing the mandatory sales tax of 7% on the bill? Having said that, we do encourage our clients to leave a gratuity IF they are happy with their service and we even have a bell that the bartenders ring when guests offer a gratuity to try and make it fun. We NEVER try and push guests to leave a tip. There are times when we do get “slammed busy” and customers might have to wait longer than they feel they should, and I will certainly remind our team that we must endeavor to take care of you, our guests, as soon as we can so that everyone is happy. I am also sorry you were unhappy with our “average” food products. I’m not quite sure what you expected for a beach restaurant, but our pizzas are made with imported Italian 00 flour, we import our tomatoes from Italy, our pizzas are cooked in a wood burning oven and we offer some of the freshest fish and other beach food on the island. I, along with my partner, eat most of our meals onsite so that we can assure our quality is up to (what we and most reviews state) reflect our high standards. Having said that, I am truly sorry your experience at BomBom did not meet your standards. We ALWAYS have a supervisor/ manager working the beach bar so that if guests have an issue, we have management available to address it. However, we can only do this if it is brought to our attention so that we can either correct it or deduct it from your bill. Regardless, you have made it very clear your experience with us was not enjoyable and for that I am truly sorry. Once again, I do apologize on behalf of our team and I hope you will give us another attempt in the future to prove to you: - We do NOT cheat our guests-EVER - We endeavor to provide the best service we can Sincerely, Christopher Bybee- Owner BOM BOM Beach at Island Plantation
Written January 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Myah
Rotterdam, The Netherlands76 contributions
Bar with sea view
Mar 2019 • Couples
The bar has a nice view, the food is ok, we've ate three times here, but the waiters don't pay too much attention on details (your specially requests). The food is brought from Island Plantation's chicken on the beach bar without being covered, there is a possibility to literally rain in your plate or if windy weather, to have sand and dust in your food.
Written March 26, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Mis_krmn, Hello and greetings from BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation, First, let me take this opportunity to thank you for your reflections of your multiple visits at our beach bar. I am very sorry you felt that our service did not meet your expectations and you did not receive excellent service from our team. I will certainly inform our staff that they did not meet a valued guest’s service expectations so that we can improve. With regard to food being “rained on or sand in ones food”, our kitchen is approximately 150 feet from our beach bar. In the six years we have been open, we have NEVER had a guest complain of “rained on or sandy food”. As a matter of fact, during rains or high winds, we immediately move food service up to the Terrace Restaurant at the hotel so that our guests are more comfortable, shielded from any inclimate weather and that they do not receive soggy or sandy food... On again, I would like to once again take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive input so that we can offer our guests the best food and drink service possible at our establishment. Sincerely, Christopher- Owner BomBom Beach Bar at Island Plantation Playa Bluff, Bocas del Toro
Written January 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

eadams2017
Los Angeles, CA11 contributions
Awesome beach bar right on Bluff Beach
Sep 2018 • Family
My wife and I were parched and hungry after exploring Bluff Beach and came across this really cool bar on the beach! The staff was friendly and made the wife a fine caiparina (sp.) and I had an ice cold beer. What we didn't know is that at the resort they have a real Italian pizza oven! We ordered a couple pizzas and they were delivered right to our lounge chairs! Hot and fresh...and very tasty! Talk about service! We enjoyed our stay so much, we will be coming back soon and staying at the resort that is on the other side of the road, Island Plantation. make the trip out to Bluff and make sure to come here!
The surf can be a little rough at times, but I was able to swim 100 meters out...just be careful of the rip current!
Written February 12, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Eadams2017, Hello and sunny greetings from Island Plantation and BOM BOM Beach BAr! First, thank you so much for taking the time to tell others on TripAdvisor about discovering our beach bar and hotel! I am so glad you enjoyed the pizza too! We take a lot of pride that our pizza is made using ingredients imported from Italy and fired in our oven that weighs 3000 pounds and can cook pizzas in under two minutes. We are also very happy when we get positive feedback about our beachbar. BOM BOM is right on the beach and we also think it cool to lounge at the water’s edge while enjoying the drinks and food while listening to the waves and fun music. At night we move our restaurant to the Terrace (up at the hotel with views of the sea) where we offer items such as homemade pasta, more pizza and other items such as ribs, chicken and fish. One can still come dressed as you are as we firmly believe in “barefoot luxury”. We recently had a guest staying at the hotel who wanted to dine only in his shorts with no shoes and no shirt- no problem for us as our hotel becomes your home, so come as you like! Once again Eadams2017, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and we so look forward to hosting you and your wife when you return as guests of Island Plantation! Sincerely, Christopher Bybee-Owner
Written February 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 19
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing