Hermannsburg Historic Precinct

Hermannsburg Historic Precinct

Hermannsburg Historic Precinct
4.5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
We welcome you to Western Aranda country. Come, share our stories, our art and our history, enjoy your visit here. From here you can explore the Finke Gorge National Park and beyond.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Hermannsburg Historic Precinct and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles88 reviews
Excellent
36
Very good
46
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
3

Drover
Perth, Australia17 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Couples
The glossy brochures and other tourist information suggested that a stay at Hermannsburg would be worthwhile. What a disappointment. Signs told us we couldn't enter private residential areas, including the area where the historical precinct is. The town was very unwelcoming, run-down, untidy and definitely did not welcome tourists. There was no caravan park. We kept driving to Alice Springs.
Written July 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Openfj0re
258 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2016 • Couples
We walked through part of this and were shocked and a bit appalled by the lack of the aboriginal side of the story of the Lutheran mission. There was plenty of praise for the people that ran it, but almost nothing about the children who would have been taken from their family to be 'educated'. We should take a hard look at places like this that celebrate western achievements in 'civilising the savages' and pay respects to the people they harmed.
Written August 4, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
It is pity that Openfj0re spoke from a position of ignorance. Fact No.1 is that not a single child was ever forcibly removed from Hermannsburg as part of the Stolen Generation. Missionary Albrecht was totally opposed to this and actively protected children who were being considered for removal. Fact No.2 is that scholars generally believe that the presence of the Lutheran missionaries was a major factor not just in the survival of the Western Aranda people who were being decimated by police, pastoralists and disease, but through the translation of their oral language into a written form and the recording of many of the stories, songs etc the Aranda culture is today one of the stronger ones and the Aranda language is spoken as a first language. It is true that the current storytelling at the Historic Precinct is weighted toward the events and characters of European heritage. The current management of the Precinct is working to rectify this so as to present a fair and balanced portrayal of the events and the people (both Aboriginal and European) as well as expanding what is on offer to visitors through the development of a variety of cultural experiences. Manager Hermannsburg Historic Precinct
Written August 12, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Archie W
Sydney, Australia128 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Couples
Hermannsburg gives you an authentic look into the past and how the Lutheran missionaries and local Aboriginal people interacted. The old buildings, art displays and the tannery show how innovative and talented the missionaries and Aboriginal people were. Much off the artwork is by Albert Namatjira and members of his family. The cafe was open (I believe it closes in the hot months of summer) and the scones with jam and cream were fantastic! This is a must-see place if you are travelling the Northern Territory.
Written June 14, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archie W thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the displays and the scones.
Written June 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joanna W
Rockhampton, Australia36 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2017 • Couples
The precinct is a good place to visit, interesting church and a lovely cool gift shop. I'm afraid the highlight for me was the strudel though, which seems a little rude but there it is. Best strudel ever, light, flaky pastry, not too sweet. If you get there build in enough time to sample a piece. I'd say it's worth the trip out from Alice Springs.
Written October 10, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mavis1977
Australia38 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2014 • Friends
AMAZING!! I absolutely loved it and would recommend it to anyone who is holidaying to Alice Springs. The history is amazing and anyone who is a lover of Albert Namatjiras artwork will also enjoy the short drive to his home. The entire mission is kept beautifully and all the ladies I met on the day were lovely and told us lots of stories. I will go back again in the future. Very impressed :-)
Written December 17, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

William B
Perth, Australia950 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2018 • Couples
We booked a tour out to Palm Valley from Alice Springs and just before you hit the real rough roads you stop off at Hermannsburg for a visit. This great little community in the middle of the Red Centre which was the beginning of the Finke River Mission is a little time lapse in history. Founded as a religious Lutheran community in 1877 this precinct is really a look back at early Australian history. All the buildings have been kept in their original state and the little cafe and home-cooking is well worth the stopover. This historic precinct has ties to the famous Albert Namatjira and much of the local aboriginal art is on sale at half the city prices. Morning tea was served and the selection of home cooked pastries and apple strudel is as good as you will ever taste. I bought a Cornish pastie which must have been 8 cms high and packed with delicious filling ($7 bargain). You could spend hours at this little ''time shot'' of outback history, but unfortunately we only had about an hour to take it all in. It's only about an hours drive from Alice Springs and we called in on the way to and from Palm Springs (AAT KINGS tour) and was an highlight of the tour. I would give the little cafe/restaurant 5 stars plus because of the home cooked quality of the food they're dishing up. There is so much history attached to this place that you should read it up before going. It's worth a trip out there on it's own. Both Emu Run Experience and AAT include it as part of their Palm Valley 4WD tour and it is a great little extra to take in along the way. Great little gift shop with original indigenous art. two great aboriginal art galleries in the precinct buildings.
Written September 30, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I am glad that you enjoyed your find in the Middle of Nowhere. Also glad that you enjoyed Palm Valley as well. Both places are definitely worth a visit. Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again one day.
Written November 28, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steve T
Adelaide, Australia239 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2018 • Couples
Took the time to drive to Hermansburg from Alice Springs and we were quite disappointed. On arriving we found the cafe was closed for renovations. Strike one! No coffee or their strudel. Previous reviews talked about the video loop on the history in the area. Video was not playing so strike two! Whilst looking around the first building we overheard that locals from Alice Springs only have to pay a gold coin to visit just after we paid $11 each. Strike three! Beyond understanding why visitors are treated differently when money is needed to upkeep the site. Lost total interest after that and after a quick look around promptly left with a sour taste. Would not recommend visiting here while double standards exist for entry and until the kitchen reopens!
Written March 12, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Steve, We are sorry to see that your visit to Hermannsburg did not meet your expectations. It is unfortunate you have visited while renovations to our cafe are being done. We deliberately chose a time when visitor numbers are at their lowest so as not to inconvenience more people than necessary. The video you mentioned was available. Perhaps you did not know how to activate it. It is common practice in the Northern Territory and I am told elsewhere in Australia for locals to gain admission for a nominal charge. Many Alice Springs residents bring friends and family to visit who pay an entry fee. We appreciate their support of the Hermannsburg Precinct and feel that it would be inappropriate to ask them to pay every time they visit. Many give a donation anyway. I hope you do have an opportunity to visit us in the future and enjoy our coffee and strudel.
Written March 14, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

The Wandering Reviewer
Melbourne, Australia9,806 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2016 • Friends
I loved this place so much that I had a poster of it on the back of my toilet door for a few years.
Hermannsburg takes you back to the centre of Australia where life ws tough and full of surprises both good and bag. This place is probably most known as the home of the famous indigenous artists Albert Namadjira, who when I was a young girl was given many accolades for his paintings. Alas, after his death, he wasn't treated so well.
Be prepared that when you visit you will see the good, the bad and the ugly of how the indigenous people lived here. It's harsh. It's tough. There is inequity. You will also see how ingenious people can be when faced with adversity.
The old tannery was great and well worth a visit.
Highly recommend you stop for scones, jam, cream and tea and the teahouse.
Please explore all the buildings and soak up the history here. It is a very special place and gives great insight to what life was like all those years ago.
Written March 12, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear urban drifter Thanks for your comments. Yes it is a great testament to both the Europeans and local Aranda people. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Written March 13, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alan G
Alice Springs, Australia152 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hermannsberg is approx 125 klm's West of Alice Springs and the drive out is on bitumen road. Palm Valley is around 25klm's from town on quite corrugated dirt road. The Historic Precinct is worth a visit to see the original buildings of the settlement which is the oldest missionary the Northern Territory. There is an art gallery, self guided walk and the Tea Rooms where you can get some good food and good coffee too! The petrol station is open 6 days a week for fuel and takeaway food.
Written May 26, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Xanerin
Alice Springs, Australia1,506 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2015 • Couples
Just over an hour drive from Alice Springs is this beautifully kept historical precinct. Old buildings of bygone days with loads of information. The cost to enter is $10:00 and it is certainly worthwhile. I personally loved the old church and to think all this was built in the middle of nowhere. Very well maintained with a cafe. The trip out from Alice is also very beautiful and don't miss Pram creek as you just about get into Hermannsburg - great fun photo!
Written April 10, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 79
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Hermannsburg Historic Precinct - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Hermannsburg Historic Precinct Information

Excellent Reviews

36

Very Good Reviews

46

Hermannsburg Historic Precinct Photos

86