We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Real Journeys

Features Animals
Book In Advance
Tours from Real Journeys tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
618
All photos (618)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good15%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“wilmot pass”(81 reviews)
“doubtful sound”(398 reviews)
About
Cruise across island-studded Lake Manapouri and coach over Wilmot Pass. Then explore Doubtful Sound on a three-hour cruise with our nature guide on board the modern catamaran the Patea Explorer. Wildlife sightings are likely to include dolphins...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Waiau St | Real Journeys Visitor Centre, Pearl Harbour, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-249 6000
Call
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveler rating
601
110
25
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
601
110
25
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilmot pass across lake manapouri doubtful sound day trip tasman sea the bus overnight cruise new zealand fiordland navigator te anau west arm complete silence fur seals nature guide packed lunch quad share seal colony
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 754 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We were very comfortable and cared for on both boats and the bus. Nice included tea and coffee. Saw dolphins, a penguin and many seals. Views are stunning. Only complaint is that it was difficult to hear and understand the guide’s narration on the main...More

Thank Getaway605198
Reviewed 1 week ago

This one was a bucket list trip for me, and I had the great fortune to do it with my 89 year old mother!! Real Journey's is a well organized, slick organization. From the boarding of the boat in Manapouri, through the transfer to the...More

Thank John B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We helicoptered into Preservation inlet - a stunning 30 minute chopper flight - then 6 days on the Milford Wanderer, the hisory, botany, scenery and activities were first class- great lectures at night - far too much great food - the two 3 hour sailings...More

1  Thank karenbrook
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you need a shot of inspiration get it before you leave town because the coffee at the cafe is absolutely atrocious. I was saying to my wife as I sipped my cup of sludge that the business model must be this: 1. Real Journeys...More

Thank Inukshukasia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was with a Tour Party of 44 who had booked the Fiordland Navigator for 2 nights. What an experience had by all. Food delicious---- Dave [Captain]] and Carol the Nature Guide ---and the crew all so friendly and helpful you could tell very dedicated...More

Thank Trisha826
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Doubtful Sound (technically a fiord) - impressive 7+ hour Real Journeys tour from Manapouri. First a sail across Lake Manapouri around 45 mins, then 45 mins via coach across Wilmot Pass to Deep Cove then another boat journey out to Milford Sound, fur seal colony...More

Thank 325jt
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

We were blessed with great weather that added to the beauty of Doubtful Sound. The crew was by captain Dave was amazing. We have extensive small boat cruising and this was as good as any. Carol the nature guide was incredibly insightful and approachable. Really...More

Thank Erik D
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

We booked the overnight cruise - what a wonderful experience - lovely boat, great staff and good food. Such a serene peaceful cruise to the mouth of the Sound - kayaking also part of the experience and saw seals, penguins and dolphins! The scenery, the...More

Thank gillkeithclements
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic day with Real Journeys on their Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise. Worth booking over the phone (we managed to get a discount as we booked last minute in low season). The staff were fantastic, Doubtful Sound is absolutely stunning,...More

Thank olliemumby
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Kia Ora Oliver, Thank you for a wonderful review. We are thrilled you had a great experience and happy to hear you were able to clinch a great deal too. Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.

Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Booked Doubtful Sound tour for 2 from Manapouri.. cost over $600 AUD. Sane tour offered by Go Orange for $400 for 2. Sadly we found out post trip that Go Orange is owned by Real Journeys...go figure. My tip to anyone visiting Te Anau region...avoid...More

1  Thank Brian S
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Kia Ora Brian, It is disappointing to hear you were not wow'ed by the experience. Yes, our prices are higher however, the experience is quite different. We have a modern fleet, excellent viewing decks and food and beverage offerings. Yes, it is cheaper to go...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Possum Lodge
84 reviews
.27 miles away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
979 reviews
11.19 miles away
Red Tussock Motel
198 reviews
11.41 miles away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
476 reviews
11.44 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 nearby restaurants
The Church
42 reviews
.21 miles away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn Restaurant
119 reviews
.75 miles away
Brown's Cafe
15 reviews
.20 miles away
Manapouri Cafe & Dairy
11 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 7 nearby attractions
Fiordland Expeditions - Day Tours
94 reviews
.02 miles away
Deep Cove Charters
65 reviews
.35 miles away
Wild Wool Gallery
6 reviews
1.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jude2361
January 9, 2018|
Answer
Response from Robyn M |
Price starts at $465 per person from Q'town. Have a look at their website for exact prices - and book asap. There is only one single cabin or a double left for that date
0
Votes
Robyn M
December 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from OzGobo | Reviewed this property |
We stayed in a room, but both were supplied.
1
Vote
Kelly Q
August 19, 2017|
Answer
Response from GregB172 | Reviewed this property |
Real Journeys can best answer the return schedule question. (We arrived back to the dock in Te Anau at noon.) The ship is small, casual and friendly. I think the costumes would be fine with the crew and supported by fellow... More
1
Vote