We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lofoten Opplevelser

Features Animals
Henningsvaer, Norway
More
About Lofoten Opplevelser
Good local knowledge and 10 years of experience provide us with the necessary expertise to tailor fantastic adventures in conjunction with, for instance, courses and conferences. Join us on a killer whale safari with snorkeling among the whales from 1.of December to February 8, or on a sea eagle safari. Snorkeling in crystal clear arctic waters and deep-sea rafting/RIB safaris. Dry suits and ABC equipment are provided on snorkeling trips, warm survival suits on other trips. Season: all year round. Office in Henningsvær. For more information about our activities, visit our webpage
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Lofoten Opplevelser
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
60Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 34
  • 9
  • 6
  • 0
  • 11
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joeyaki2015 wrote a review Feb 2020
Derbyshire, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
We did this trip at the start of this season. We were also unfortunate not to be able to swim with the orcas so were obviously disappointed about that. Of course it is bitterly disappointing to come away without the result that you had hoped for. However, our experience of the company itself was very positive. I think it's very easy to direct disappointment at the company, however this is not a theme park. You can not control the weather or the orcas. All staff on our trip were incredibly friendly and professional. They did everything they could to make us as comfortable as possible. When we hit a squall and the waves were high and snow hitting our faces, they were there bringing around ski masks and giving out extra gloves, helping us try to warm our hands even though this meant their own hands must have been so cold. When we got out they helped everyone out of their drysuits and arranged a lecture by the marine biologist who accompanied the trip. To find the orcas you have to find the herring, which our boat did, but sadly on our day it was not to be. We were allowed to have a swim in the sea at the end which was an interesting experience (felt really warm compared to the outside!). My take away points would be 1) It can be a tough day - it's extremely cold and the weather can be rough. Remember that you're in the Arctic - do not expect the trip to be easy! It's fascinating being up there so make the most and take in the surroundings and definitely go in the water if you are offered the chance. 2) Book more than one day so everything doesn't hinge on one chance. 3) There appear to have been plenty of orcas in this area this season, so the location was good and the company are very experienced in finding them. Unfortunately it may just come down to bad luck if you don't get to see any. We were probably a bit too early in the season.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Fredrik wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
I was on a snorkeling trip with a friend of my in November, and it was one of the greatest experience of our lives! We saw a lot of whales, which was fortunate cause you really can't control that and the crew did an excellent job at dropping us at the right time for some amazing views under water. It might be good to look at booking more than one day though if you plan on doing this, since some days can have rough weather, or there can be days when no orcas are spotted.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Agnes wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
I really wanted to snorkel with orcas and after reading reviews about them on the internet I would have not booked with them if there had been anyone else offering it. So I didn't really have a choice and I though that people writing bad reviews might just be angry because they didn't see orcas. But now I know that's not why they have so many bad reviews. It's because they are unprofessional and obviously care more about money than their customers. First of all I think due to the weather conditions it would have been responsible to cancel the tour (snowing, windy, no visibility at all). They told us usually a knowledgeable biologist explains things about orcas but she is on holidays so bad luck. While on the water one of the crew members had their eyes closed (dozing) most of the time instead of looking out for orcas. I actually doubt they would have noticed anyone going off board. Once back at the harbour none of the 3 crew members thought of helping everyone out of the boat (it's difficult to move with the suits on). The captain was gone without a word an nobody really helped us taking the suits off - they just seemed to want to leave as quickly as possible. It was freezing cold out there, which is normal, but especially when your base is in a hotel you could offer a tea to your clients to warm up. I asked if I could get at least the additional payment for snorkelling back as we did not even touch the water. But no chance. To me it's not about seeing orcas or not. It's about making your clients feel like you want the best for them and making them feel safe. Which is definately not what they did. Next time I'll try I'll go a bit earlier and go with Sea Safari Andenes who stopped their trips for the season just before I got there.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from RolfM180, Daglig leder at Lofoten Opplevelser
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear Agnes We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience as our customer. We have had a brilliant season this fall and winter with hundreds of happy customers and almost every trip with whales. Lofoten Opplevelser is a pioneer in Norway in arranging whale watching and snorkeling trips using RIB boats (we started in 1995) and have always worked in close cooperation with whale scientists and focused on having professional staff. Our skippers are highly skilled, very used to finding whales and have full focus on security. The whale biologist was not on holiday, but out working with a film crew. A fully competent person with knowledge about the whales was present instead of her. We are not sure how you missed our instructions and information. Everyone is told to tell the crew immediately if they feel uncomfortable or cold. The ones sitting in the front through raising a hand, the passengers in the back of the boat by talking to the skipper or crew. We have extra gloves, hats, handwarmers and jackets onboard. When we get back on land, the crew does go in the lead back to the hotel since it is essential that nobody tries to get a drysuit off without the help of a crew member – and we inform all passengers about this. It is difficult to get a drysuit off without help, in addition, unless one is experienced in doing so it is easy to damage the thin latex around the wrists and neck. I can assure you none of the crew was asleep during a trip. We are skilled at finding whales, in addition we have a network with other whale-watching boats so that we can share information about the whereabouts of whales. At the hotel there is an open fireplace in the lounge and tea and coffee. Again, sorry to hear you had such a bad experience. If you are interested you can send an email to our company with more details about your experience and the date you went out.
Read more
Pablo wrote a review Jan 2020
Spain6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We take this tour 18th January 2020, our visit to Norway was all around this tour. It’s expensive? Yes , but when I asked about information they said that the tour depends on the orcas behavior and I can understand that but we didn’t see any Orca! And they know that! I ask for a refund or another chance to see the orcas and they said that it’s not possible.. I paid for a tour called snorkeling with the orcas, I can understand that sometimes it’s not possible because the Orcas behavior but that’s not the thing, the thing is that there aren’t any Orcas and they know it! And they don’t want to refund us or give us another chance to see Only one Orca! Why? Because the are no orcas right now and they know it!!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RolfM180, Daglig leder at Lofoten Opplevelser
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Sorry, the 17th of January our customers had a great trip and saw orcas both above and below the surface. That was less than 24 hours before your departure and therefore there was NO sign that orcas would not be around - on the contrary. On the day you describe we could have found orcas in less windy areas but we did not - absolutely something we just can not predict. Sorry for your disappointment but this is how it is watching wild orcas out at sea. We never know where to encounter them and what their behavior will be (relevant for the opportunity to snorkel). We have encountered whales (not always under water) on all our trips since 1st of November, except on two - including yours. Indeed, sorry for your unluck but this is how observing wildlife is.
Read more
Sara wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
We went on a ‘snorkeling with orca’s’ tour on the 10th of January 2020. It was an awesome trip. Dream come true! Their basecamp during wintertime is not in Lofoten but in Reisafjord near Tromso and Skjervoy. If you are near: book this tour! We had an informative lecture on arrival, by a clearly experienced woman who has done lots of research and studies on killer whale behaviour. Got on two suits, above your own clothes. Do they sit comfortably? Absolutely not. But they are not comfortable for a reason! You don’t want to get cold in the middle of the arctic sea. Then we were split into two separate groups of +-8 till 10 people per boat. This is a rubber powerboat/ ribboat. Again.. comfortable, no! Big fun, yes. Just don’t be stupid, think normal and hold on. It takes a great effort to get there, sure, but the reward is amazing. We were lucky to see a lot of killer whales. But remember that it is not a guarantee! But if you are not willing to go the extra mile to get a chance!! to see them, don’t go. We had an amazing trip, even went into the water. Saw baby orca’s! The guides are true passionate and look out for your safety. Yeah, you get cold and in my case very very seasick. But it is all worth it! Go!!!!!! Thank you Lofoten Opplevelser. Sara & Alexander
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
1234568
Recommended experiences in and around Henningsvaer
from $118.96
More Info
from $198.16
More Info
from $256.39
More Info