We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Kincraig, Kincraig PH21 - 1N, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1540 651272
Website
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Open all year offering a wide variety of watersports onsite in the summer...

Open all year offering a wide variety of watersports onsite in the summer and skiing in the winter at nearby Cairngorm Mountain. Lessons many also be taken on our dry ski slope, onsite. Other activities such as archery, mountain biking and local walks are available all year round as are the children's activity play parks. The Boathouse Restaurant onsite is the perfect base to compliment activities, whether you are looking for a warm and cosy environment to have a cup of tea and spectate or requiring a warm, hearty, home-cooked meal to warm up after an activity.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 215 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 112
    Excellent
  • 57
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Good trip !

Awesome wee adventure for my mates 21st , there was 8 of us , was cosy enough ! Hot tub and cabin was great ! I'm not fussy it had everything you need ! Girl at reception was... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed January 18, 2017
colin m
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited Loch Insh Watersports Centre for February half term and had such a great time. The accommodation was comfortable and clean overlooking the lake but we really didn't really spend much time there as there was so much to do on and off site! The staff on site were so friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janey312
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked ahead for a table of 7 including 3 children. We were greeting and seated by very welcoming staff. Our food was great, tasty, hot and the portions were very generous. We thought the prices were reasonable. In summary it was a great family evening meal in a beautiful setting with a great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Da4orce
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Hello Da4orce, Thank you for your feedback. It is really appreciated when we receive positive comments. I will pass on your comment to the restaurant team, it will lift their spirits. We do hope that you come back not just for the great food but the fabulous views across the Loch. Yours sinclerely, Loch Insh More 

UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place has a lot of potential, the scenery is amazing, lots to do nearby, rooms mostly comfortable. But sadly it is let down by a few things: 1. Firstly, you would expect to be able to eat in the local restaurant, sadly not. We were told they were full despite only 8 tables being occupied in the large restaurant.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meekered
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Meekered, I am sorry you feel our business is badly managed. In response to your comments regarding being unable to eat in our restaurant on Saturday night you were not actually refused service. You were offered an alternative option in the bar. Whilst i appreciate there were empty tables when you arrived they were pre-booked as it was one... More 

Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today. Had 2 coffees and 2 hot chocolates, £11.... shocking. Not only that but the waitress who served us was rude and abrupt. Won't be returning. Was hoping to have stayed in the chalets for a holiday but the experience and restaurant prices put us off. Shame beautiful views and beach. Spoilt by restaurant experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank sheena m
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Sheena, The price of our hot drinks are good quality, competitive and are comparable with the costs you would find in the high street and in this area. Our prices are clearly advertised in the restaurant in our menus and on the blackboards. I am sorry you felt the service was "rude and abrupt". The majority of our guests... More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

Awesome wee adventure for my mates 21st , there was 8 of us , was cosy enough ! Hot tub and cabin was great ! I'm not fussy it had everything you need ! Girl at reception was polite and funny ! Only problems was the radiator stopped working in one room and wifi was poo ! But I guess... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin m
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Hello Colin, Many thanks for this information. It was quiet at the time you visited and hopefully not too cold, I will pass on your comments to the team. Regards, Loch Insh More 

Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2017

I have been at Loch Insh a number of times in the last year. the food has been good on the whole but recently I feel the cleanliness has been poor. Dirty glasses and plates. The new menu is a bit overpriced. Over £9 for soup and sandwich for lunch?????? Hot chocolate was £2.60, that was okay until we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dallal66
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Dallal66, I am so sorry you had a poor experience in our Boathouse restaurant. This is not the level of standard we would normally expect our customers to receive. You have commented on previous visits the food in the past has on the whole been good, i am so glad these were positive for you. Again i apologise for... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2016

The Boarthouse came highly recommended for coffee and homebakes. Ha! that was the very least it should be recommended for. The Scenery - Absolutely stunning! Especially on our 1st visit - mid afternoon with the sun lowering behind the trees. The Facilities - Totally absorbing. Plenty to see & do. So much to keep you interested / peak your interest.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bea-MHA
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are tucked away just a few minutes off the A9, but it does feel like you are a world away........and the views are fantastic, and so much to do right on the door. So glad you enjoyed your time her with us. I will pass on your feedback to the team here... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2016

We were using the Insch Hall for a weekend function featuring dinner at the Watersports for about 40. The food was excellent. Prompt service and hot as well as being well prepared and tasty.

Helpful?
Thank FRASER C
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Hello Fraser C, We are glad your group enjoyed the stay here at Loch Insh. I will pass on your comments about the food, i am sure the team will appreciate the feedback. We do hope that you will return and enjoy the hospitality. More 

Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2016

I visit Loch Insh every year and it never fails to disappoint. The scenery is stunning and we did a lovely walk alongside the loch. There is a children's play park too. The café is very good although now they do table service rather than self service. Pool table as well! I love visiting this Loch, my favourite in Scotland.

Helpful?
Thank Nibbs007
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for the lovely review. I am so glad you you enjoyed yourself. It is a great time of the year with all the different colours of the leaves changing. I will pass on you comments to our staff as it will be appreciated by them. We look forward to your return visit next year. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2016

Stayed 2 nights on oct school break. Have stayed b4 so knew what to expect,. Stayed room 22 in the hall, 2 adults and 3 girls 6,9 and 12. As usual spotlessly clean. 2,sets bunk beds and a single ( wee bit hard but still good). Clean towels and plenty of tea, coffee and hit chocolate sachets. We're hardly in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elrelr1983
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for your review. So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Loch Insh. We do try to offer value for money and believe that the free water sports is one way of offering this. Thank you also for your comment on the food, we do try to offer high quality food and where... More 

Travelers who viewed Loch Insh Watersports also viewed

Kincraig, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Loch Insh Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Loch Insh Watersports and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Loch Insh Watersports staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?