We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Kincraig, Kincraig PH21 - 1N, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1540 651272
Website
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Open all year offering a wide variety of watersports onsite in the summer...

Open all year offering a wide variety of watersports onsite in the summer and skiing in the winter at nearby Cairngorm Mountain. Lessons many also be taken on our dry ski slope, onsite. Other activities such as archery, mountain biking and local walks are available all year round as are the children's activity play parks. The Boathouse Restaurant onsite is the perfect base to compliment activities, whether you are looking for a warm and cosy environment to have a cup of tea and spectate or requiring a warm, hearty, home-cooked meal to warm up after an activity.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 225 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 119
    Excellent
  • 59
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Lovely little lunch spot

We stopped off at Loch Insh on our way up to Wick, as it'd come recommended. It was a nice little break in our journey. Views are lovely, service was excellent and the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Gemma T
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loch Insh Restaurant we visited on sunday the 16th April 2017. All year Ramblers walking group based in Edinburgh. We booked a meal for 18 , all pre ordered. We arrived early so that we could have pre dinner drinks . Staff very welcoming , good service .at the bar . The dinner service was excellent , all the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank ianrea
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Many thanks for your review. I will let the Restaurant and Kitchen teams know.. Glad you enjoyed the meal and the pre dinner drinks. Really good to hear that the service was good too. Hope to see you again in the near future. ....and yes the view is amazing from the Restaurant, looking over the loch and beyond.... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had James for a 2 hour ski lesson in the Easter holidays. He was amazing and even though we were beginners, by the end we could ski down the dry ski slope. It was great fun and I would recommend to anyone hoping to improve their skiing. Thanks Loch Inch! Christina age 13

Helpful?
Thank ceilidhkennedy
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Hello Christina, Thanks for giving us some great feedback. Glad you had a great time here at Loch Insh. Beauty of our dry ski slope is you can use it all year round. A great place for those wishing to learn. We will pass on your comments to James, he will be pleased to hear you had a good time.... More 

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went there yesterday taking my two grandsons for a snowboarding lesson and it was a fantastic experience for them. They got expert tuition and came away feeling great. I would highly recommend it and they want me to take them back in summer holidays and stay there in chalet which looks great too. Thanks again it was a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank yvonnethomson
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne, Many thanks for taking the time to feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again in the summer.........where they could try a water sport lesson. Kind regards, Loch Insh. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks Jordan. Great first time for my grandson sailing. He's still talking about it and wants to come back.

Helpful?
Thank jmltravellers
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

We look forward to your return, and its a great place for young ones to get into a new sport. Kind regards, Loch Insh More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped off at Loch Insh on our way up to Wick, as it'd come recommended. It was a nice little break in our journey. Views are lovely, service was excellent and the sandwiches were fab. Highly recommend the open smoked salmon sandwich... Proper yumsome and so fresh. Cute cabin like interior to look out over the loch.

Helpful?
Thank Gemma T
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Hello Gemma, Many thanks for your feedback. I will pass on your comments to our Restaurant Team. Glad you enjoyed the view and our food. Kinda regards, Loch Insh More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place to stop for a quick bite with the family. The restaurant is in a lodge style with exposed timber interior and has lovely views out across the loch. The food is simple, hearty, tasty and inexpensive! Soups, sandwiches, baked potatoes and home made tray bakes and scones. Great play area for the kids out back... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjmalcolm
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Sjmalcolm, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your lunch at Loch Insh. We value your comments and hope to see you soon again. Perhaps try the Evening Menu? Yours sincerely, Loch Insh More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2017

Spent 2 hours on Saturday morning Stand Up Paddle Boarding for the first time with some friends and loved it (I hadn't been looking forward to it). What a laugh! Great instructor and brilliant kit provided from the wet suits to the boards. Really good facilities on site in that you can get a really hot shower afterwards and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank FoxyRoxy40
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear FoxyRoxy40, Many thanks for your feedback. I will pass this onto the teams here. We look forward to seeing you again here at Loch Insh...........weather permitting! And remember if you stay with us for 2 nights in our chalets you get free use of the watersports facilities from 4pm to 6pm. (tuition is an additional cost) Kind regards, Loch... More 

Moray
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2017

Friends and I quite often stop by here for a snack or a meal. The view over the loch is perfect being right at the edge and there is always something to see as it is a watersports centre and you can watch the activity on the water. Nothing nicer than sitting in warm, dry, comfortable surroundings eating good food... More 

Helpful?
Thank MorayTraveljunkie
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear MorayTraveljunkie, Many thanks for you feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your time in the restaurant looking at the activities on the water. We will take your feedback on-board regarding the tea bag and a mug of water. I presume a pot would be nicer? I will discuss this with the Restaurant Manager to see if we can... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2017

After Johnny Freshwater took over from his father, the Boathouse restaurant really upped its game and we were regular lunch visitors in 2016. Our first visit in 2017 was a disappointment (apart of course from the view over the Loch down towards Creag Dhu.....sometimes in summer ospreys can be seen). Last year's interesting and varied lunch menu had been replaced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Killeboy
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Killeboy, Thank you for your feedback, i am sorry your feel that the menu is "bog standard". Interestingly we are in the process of changing our menu which i will be a combination of traditional and contemporary. Please do look out on our website for the new menu launch and do come back and visit us to try the... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2017

We had a great couple of hours being taught to stay upright on skis by a very patient man called James. He was really on the money talking us through each thing we were doing wrong (or right!) and the whys and hows, and there were five of us to keep track of, all adults, mostly beginners. We had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank gracecowley
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Grace, Many thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us at Loch Insh. I will pass on your comments to James, one of our qualified Instructors. I will also inform the restaurant staff that you enjoyed your meal with us. Regards, Loch Insh More 

Travelers who viewed Loch Insh Watersports also viewed

Kincraig, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Loch Insh Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Loch Insh Watersports and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Loch Insh Watersports staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?