Y AKA Plongee Rangiroa
About
Avatoru, French Polynesia
Features animals

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Y AKA Plongee Rangiroa
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(15 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
411 reviews
Excellent
391
Very good
14
Average
5
Poor
0
Terrible
1

James R
New York City, NY8 contributions
Sep 2022 • Couples
My wife and I dived here in september 2022. This was one of most profesional shops and staff we have ever dived with. We never were with a group of more than 4 divers, and in some cases it was just us and the guide. They gave very thorough brieffings of diving the pass to make sure we knew every stage of the dive and what to expect. They even made sure to do the briefing in both english and french so we all understood the plan (which we very much appreciated being the only english speakers a few of the days). That all being said the diving was spectacular. Thanks to all the team for leading us to a great time.
Written September 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Megan Z
Fishers, IN4 contributions
Apr 2015 • Couples
We chose Y AKA after they were recommended by Pacific For Less and couldn't have been happier with our experience from start to finish. We dove the second week of April for a total of 10 dives, 9 in Tiputa Pass and 1 in Avaturu. You couldn't beat the 3 minute walk from the Kia Ora to the shop. Many things we appreciated about this dive shop -- quality rental gear, reasonably priced diving, 5 minute boat ride to the pass, punctuality! (we'd show up at the shop at the recommended time and were on the boat within 10 minutes headed to dive, small dive groups (2-5), spoke great English, friendliness, safety, enthusiasm for diving, and I could go on and on. We loved the dive team -- Thomas, Jean Marie, Ninie -- all were awesome instructors and so helpful. The diving was fantastic and I highly recommended trying to do a minimum of 6 or more dives in Rangiroa because each was different. 8 am we headed to the pass with outgoing current and floated in along the reef and saw large schools of fish including barracuda, dolphins, large napolean wrasse, turtles, spotted eagle rays -- the best dives though, were in the afternoon when the current changes to incoming from ocean --> lagoon, then we drifted through the pass (felt very safe and we were not very familiar with drift diving) -- here we saw 2 hammerheads (amazing!!), manta rays, tons of reef sharks, eagle rays, turtles, we loved holding on in the middle of the pass and waiting for things to drift by. Overall -- we'd give this dive experience an A+!!!!!
Written April 29, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

clairann2000
Colorado637 contributions
Apr 2015 • Friends
Chose them because they had a boat with a ladder and were responsive…LOVED LOVED LOVED THEM. We had two very novice snorkelers and they accompanied them and helped make them comfortable. They made sure we all saw the shark, eel, etc. and after snorkeling a great reef we went out to try to find dolphins. THREE mama and baby pairs were there and we all slipped in the water and watched them swim by…pure bliss.
Then we did a drift snorkel toward the pass…also amazing.
The crew were sweet and knowledgable and the day was unforgettable.
Written April 27, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lisa S
New Boston, NH1,972 contributions
Mar 2016 • Couples
I read all these rave reviews and that is why we chose them over Top Dive.
We stayed at the Kia Ora which is convenient to both shops as they are next to each other, only a 3-6 minute walk along the beach (depending on your room location).
The first day we had them pick us up and then realized they were so close that walking along the beach was actually shorter and faster.

We are by no means expert divers but have 30-something dives each and have been diving in Hawaii, Thailand, Great Barrier Reef, many places in the Caribbean, and the Mexican Pacific.
So we have had some experience with many different dive operators.
While there were many positives about this operation, they did disappoint me in some areas.

This felt like a place that catered to well-experienced divers and, more specifically, to divers who had done “drift” dives, which we had never done before.

While they did do pre-dive briefings, I did not feel like they gave us any sort of idea of what to truly expect from a drift dive or how to interact with the strong currents.
The briefing just basically consisted of where we would start, the path we would follow and where we would surface.

The other thing that made me uncomfortable with them was that safety did not seem to be their top priority.
While all their equipment was in fine working order there was never any mention of any sort of “buddy check” which is something we have seen on every other dive we’ve done.
When I went to check my backup regulator the dive master said "What are you doing? You don't need to do that".
I found this really strange and kind of unnerving.

They were extremely easy going as far as scheduling a dive and even paying for the dive.
We were able to kind of “decide on the fly” about when or if we wanted to do another dive and they didn’t ask for any payment until we were done after our 3 days of dives.

The price was reasonable at $65US per dive per person which included all equipment, (masks, fins, wetsuits - short or long).

Their operation was very convenient as far as logistics from shop to dive.
You just hopped in their Zodiac and within 5 minutes we were at the Tiputa Pass and jumping in.
Another thing I liked was since we were on a small boat with only 2-3 other divers, after surfacing we took off our tanks/BCDs in the water, they lifted them up out for you and you just easily climbed right in. (The part I hate the most on most dives one of those big dive boats is climbing up that ladder with all that equipment on my back after you’re tired from the dive).

Top Dive is their competitor just next door. Top Dive is little more expensive and seem to be less flexible on dive packages. We did speak to someone who dove on multiple islands and they liked Top Dive because you only did your paperwork and sizing once. Then they forwarded it on to the next dive stop.

Overall, we had a good experience. Just wish they’d have given more consideration to safety and better briefings for first-time drift divers.
If you’re an experienced diver you will find them very easy to work with and have a lot of fun with them.
Written April 9, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

texaskc2012
San Antonio, TX24 contributions
Feb 2019 • Couples
Unfortunately, this dive day went downhill fast. This company was so late to pick us up at the pier that one couple bailed and went with another company. We were rushed at the dive shop since other divers staying on the island were already there. Our dive master took off away from the reef, leaving our entire dive group to chase after dolphins several times throughout the dive. We also did our safety stop way too close to the reef in very strong current with crashing waves. We were also told there was no way we could dive the pass because we wouldn’t make it back to our cruise ship in time, but other divers on our cruise were able to do two dives, including the pass, and were on the same tender boat we took back to the ship. All in all, really disappointed. I know that Top Dive did two dives that day, and offered a package dive trip across several islands on the cruise itinerary. I would look into that; wish I had known before we booked here.
Written March 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ia Orana, Thank you for your feedback, but I think some points need to be clarified. 1- By mail, we told you pick up time on the pier 9:45am. It is true we arrive late. 9:50 am. We dived at 8:00 am this day, before 10:00 am dive. We do not limit the dive time. According level of divers, air consomation, ocean and Pass condition... 1 dive can last 45 minutes, 55 minutes, 65 minutes... so sometimes we can take a bit of delay between 2 dives if the first dive was a bit longer, like this day. 2- True the other divers were ready, but nobody told you to rush to prepare. You might felt it because the others were ready and you were not. We are sorry about that and we probably should make you feel more relax and confortable. 3- By mail, and because the current was out going this day, we told you that 10:00 am dive will be a reef dive. We explain you as well, that reef dive is potententially the best profil to look for wild dolphins. As your instructor explain you during the briefing, dolphins need to be interested to come and see/play around divers. This is why the guide "chase" after them. To get them interested, to create an interaction the guide need to swim, move the head, turn around, for them to come closer and play. To have the chance to enjoy this unforgatable moment. As said in the briefing, the group is suppose to follow the guide during the dive. You were not suppose to stay on the reef. Maybe this point was not clear during the briefing ? 4- During out going current, the end of the dive need to be at a very important and particular place, on the reef, to make sure there is no risk to be in the out going current, which is very dangerous as this current goes donw in the pass and far away in the Ocean. This was also explain during the briefing. I read that you felt uncorfortable and worried on the reef for your safety stop. We are sorry about that, but this is a normal situation, the more secure, to finish the dive at this place we call "the wave break". 5- You ask on the email for the possibility to make 2 dives this day. our answer was: it won't be possible because you come with a cruise ship, and we nerver know the exact time of the firts and last tender. You should have probably notice during your cruise that many factors can make the ship arrive later than it was plan. This is why we can not propose 8:am dive to divers coming with cruise ship. We had reservations from others divers on this day when you contacted us by mail to reserve your dives. We decide to not take the risk to delayed everybody if you ship arrive late. Or to make you pay for 2 dives, and only be able to take you for 1 if your ship is late. Same for 2:00pm dive. Usually, the last tender is at 4:00pm. We usually come back from the 2:00 pm dive at 4:00pm. This is to short, in case of any unforeseen circumstances, you could miss the last tender, which would be very annoying... This is a position our company decide to take. And you were aware of that as we discuss this and explain you our position and organization by mail, but you decided to book your dive with us anyway. 6- The other company have several dive centers on different islands around French Polynesia. So they are able to take more reservations from cruise ship and they can propose a pass across their diferent dive center around the Islands. This way, they can organize their dives specifically for divers from cruise ship, with diferents times. This is something we can not do, as we are a small independent structure. However, as said previously, we already had reservations from others divers when you contact us to book your dives. So we had to propose you what we were able to do on this day. We explain you about it by mail before your book your dive. Maybe this point was not clear enough. We are sorry you did not enjoyed your diving experience with us in Rangiroa, but we hope these clarifications will help you to understand. Best regards, Dive Manager Y AKA Plongée.
Written March 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dianna M
Edmonton, Canada7 contributions
Oct 2015 • Couples
Wow! We could not recommend this trip more! Such a fabulous day snorkelling and such personal and professional service. We were picked up on the dock of the cruise ship and taken to the dive shop to get wet suits then hopped on the boat. First we went searching for dolphins - so awesome, they were jumping right beside the boat! Amazing! Then to snorkel in "the aquarium" - have never seen such a beautiful snorkel area! It was indeed, like swimming in an aquarium! Such beautiful fish and our guide spent all the time in the water with us pointing out all the different species of life under the water. Such a great day - a MUST DO in Rangiroa!!

We booked our tour with Katie however she was on vacation when we arrived and were taken on the tour by another lady (sorry, her name escapes me) who works with Katie. She was wonderful! Couldn't have done a better job!! Thanks again for such a great day! Cheers!

Dianne & Ken, Alberta, Canada
Written October 27, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

William123456
Brisbane68 contributions
Apr 2015 • Solo
Absolutely amazing dives, saw manta rays, turtles, eel, dolphins, eagle rays, barracuda and lots of other fish species. J-Marie is a very professional instruction, very patient and took the time to look after me (I wasn't feeling well and could not equalise in one ear). I truly recommend this little dive shop. I had a wonderful experience.
Written April 10, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Valari S
New York City, NY2 contributions
Mar 2015 • Family
My nephew and I had a perfect diving experience with this small and excellent dive shop. Katy and Marco are great divers who love what they do. They are fun and very safe. We had extraordinary dives...saw dolphin (including babies) on 3 separate dives; saw 3 Great Hammerheads...one 12-15 feet (huge). We saw 13 Eagle Rays flying across the bottom...probably saw more than 25 eagle rays during our 6 dives; Saw a massive Manta Ray. I have been diving 30 plus years and I have never seen so many extraordinary creatures in 6 consecutive dives. I am so glad we chose Rangiroa and Y-AKA.
Written March 28, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

bengal Y
Toronto, Canada739 contributions
May 2017 • Friends
We did a snorkeling excursion on May 21, 2017.

This has been my best snorkeling ever.

Would highly recommend this company. Staff very helpful, knowledgeable and concerned with safety first.
Written July 24, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

searose808
Volcano, Hawaii, United States9 contributions
Jun 2017 • Friends
We booked a drift and snorkel trip with all of our excitement being on the drift portion of the tour. When we got picked up at the pier, the guide explained that we may only get to snorkel at The Aquarium since they weren't sure if the conditions would be favorable for the drift through the pass.

We headed to The Aquarium where the fish were abundant. We saw sharks and an eel, too. The guide said the water clarity wasn't great that day (we agreed), but we were still banking on the drift portion of the trip to be the highlight of our day.

They decided the conditions were in fact favorable (wahoo!) and we headed off in that direction. Nini spotted dolphins so we jumped in to see them. Then... off to the pass!

It was unbelievable! They let us do it three times and it got better every time. Did I mention we were the only ones on the tour that day? It was amazing!

You can tell this company takes pride in what they do and makes sure their customers are safe and having a good time. Overall, a really wonderful experience!
Written June 25, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 85

Y AKA Plongee Rangiroa (Avatoru) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go