We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lyme Bay Winery

Closed Now: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Day Out.

Decided to have a day out visiting this winery which was recommend to us by our daughter. They... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2018
Tania164
,
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Pre Booked Tasting and Tour

Visited on a pre arranged tour...12 of us and were given a tour around the winery with a tasting... read more

Reviewed May 17, 2018
BeetrootQueen
,
Reading, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 60 reviews
26
All photos (26)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
45°
35°
Dec
45°
35°
Jan
46°
35°
Feb
Contact
Shute, Axminster EX13 7PW, England
Website
+44 1297 551355
Call
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
38
14
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
38
14
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews different wines english wines worth a visit locally produced wine recent trip great selection staff were very friendly mead cider liqueur sparkling jams products devon shop sale treat
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Went here whilst on a mini break to Hawkchurch. Was not too sure what to expect, thought we might get a tour of the winery but alas no. The young girl behind the counter was very pleasant and helpful. Wine was in my opinion over...More

Thank malcolmpalmer3
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Decided to have a day out visiting this winery which was recommend to us by our daughter. They make English wines and ciders from locally produce. The trip from Taunton to the winery was well worth it, (Roads narrow and bendy, also some of the...More

Thank Tania164
WineryTeam, Front Office Manager at The Lyme Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you for your nice review. Hopefully the wasps will soon go and the roads will be improved for another visit! There is a lovely stockist in Lyme Regis called Ammonite, but they are a separate business to Lyme Bay Winery.

Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

Just a shop, nothing more, nothing less. Despite asking about one of your wines we weren’t offered a taste by your staff member. Perhaps she had decided we weren’t spending enough? May as well walk down the drinks aisles in a supermarket.

Thank paven1965
WineryTeam, Front Office Manager at The Lyme Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

What a shame you were disappointed. Our staff love to showcase our products, so clearly there was a miscommunication on this occasion.

Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Visited the Winery wit friends. We purchased a Pinot Noir Rose. We had pitched some local Lemon solecabd was looking forward to having the wine with it. It cost £15.99 so we were expecting something rather nice. It was no bad but not good either,...More

Thank S3021KKpetera
WineryTeam, Front Office Manager at The Lyme Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Hi Peter, Thanks for the review and really disappointed that you didn't love it as we are really proud of our Rosé. Hope you enjoyed your trip to this part of the world nevertheless, Kind regards,

Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a pre arranged tour...12 of us and were given a tour around the winery with a tasting after...extremely informative and nibbles and sweet biscuits were offered to accompany each wine, liquor, cider or fizz. Leila was excellent and very knowledgable. Would recommend a...More

Thank BeetrootQueen
WineryTeam, Front Office Manager at The Lyme Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

We really enjoyed having you and your delightful friends here and are so pleased that you had fun.

Reviewed April 4, 2018

We stayed locally so it was an obvious place to visit and glad we did with such a lot to see and taste. Whether it is mead, cider or more expensive spirits and liqueurs the choice is large. Driving, so I was not a able...More

Thank Mic L
WineryTeam, Front Office Manager at The Lyme Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Thank you for your thoughtful comments- we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed August 24, 2017

As shops go its pleasant enough but its certainly not cheap and the staff seemed somewhat disinterested. You can try a selection of the wines on offer but the staff were too busy talking to each other to offer any guidance or further information. Bottles...More

Thank rbot435
WineryTeam, Front Office Manager at The Lyme Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank-you for your review and it's such a shame that you were disappointed with your visit. We pride ourselves in how we treat our customers and love the opportunity to talk about our products (it's usually getting away from us that's the problem!!) so we're...More

Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Stopped by to enjoy the locally produced wine and cider but did not expect the variety of liqueurs on offer. They have a great selection that you can try before you buy and the staff are more the willing to help and offer samples. If...More

Thank smithy_brimbs
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

Had a cider in the local camp site where we are staying called Annings Cider, looked it up and it was 1.7 miles away from where we are staying. We went to have a look and was pleasantly surprised, there is a large supply of...More

Thank Lozza1994
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Nipped in as just up the road from where we were staying. Nice shop plenty of choice n nice to try before you buy. Interesting story and everything displayed very well. Worth a visit.

Thank Vron123
WineryTeam, Front Office Manager at The Lyme Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Thanks for the lovely review @Vron123 glad you nipped in to see us!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Swallows Eaves Hotel
332 reviews
2.38 miles away
Kerrington House
175 reviews
2.81 miles away
Home Farm Hotel
85 reviews
3.29 miles away
Dower House Hotel
452 reviews
4.00 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 38 nearby restaurants
Starbucks
9 reviews
1.41 miles away
The Merchant Tea Rooms
116 reviews
1.48 miles away
The Hind
91 reviews
1.64 miles away
The Old Inn
527 reviews
1.74 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 17 nearby attractions
The Vintage Shed
23 reviews
1.42 miles away
Axe Valley Wildlife Park
395 reviews
1.79 miles away
Holyford Woods Local Nature Reserve
6 reviews
2.49 miles away
Lower Bruckland Farm Nature Reserve
21 reviews
2.60 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sophie L
June 10, 2017|
Answer
Response from WineryTeam | Property representative |
Hi Sophie, thanks for your question. Although we do not offer formal tastings we do have plenty of our full range of products open and ready to be tasted as well as some very knowledgeable staff to guide you through the... More
1
Vote
Lisa G
July 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WineryTeam | Property representative |
Hi Lisa, So sorry, but as our production area is adjoining our shop, we are only able to allow assistance and guide dogs in. You can tie your dog up in our porch, and we are happy to supply a drink of water.
0
Votes