We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dolphin Centre

Features Animals
Main Road, Principal No:1, Ponta do Ouro 1000, Mozambique
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great service

The staff here is just amazing, everyone is very professional and understanding. One of the very... read more

Reviewed March 16, 2018
Phiwe Q
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Amazing trip

After visiting The Dolphin Centre, my daughter has found her calling in life. After matric she... read more

Reviewed January 17, 2018
kelley_heslop74
Read all 35 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Bem Vindo!Welcome to the incredible world of The Dolphin Centre here, a moment below the surface of the ocean will remain with you for a lifetime. We invite you to join us in observing and interacting with the amazing dolphins of Ponta.The Ponta pod is truly remarkable group of dolphins that chooses to engage in human interaction. We have an incredibly special bond with a group of wild dolphins some resident and others transient to the area, with whom we socialize and have formed some profound bonds and inter-relationships. We hope to share this magical experience with you as we dance with the dolphins of Ponta. At the Dolphin Centre we aim to deliver the best possible experience when swimming with wild dolphins in their natural environment. Our dolphin swim programme combines a comprehensive dolphin behavioural introduction and regulated Swim Code of Conduct, created to ensure a sustainable eco-friendly approach. You can be rest assured that the best interests of both marine life and you are being catered for during your excursion.Our dolphin excursions range between 2 and 2,5 hours, with a pre-launch briefing on boat safety, marine life and responsible interactions. The trip includes snorkeling over one of our shallow reefs, in-water swim facilitation with one of our dolphin guides, and seasonal whale shark and humpback whale sightings. Dolphin in-water observations are not guaranteed due to sightings and the nature of the dolphins, and we do suggest booking more than one launch to have the opportunity to interact with our finned friends.• Launches are run daily and subject to group size and sea conditions.• Group size is limited to a minimum of 6 and a maximum of 12.• Booking in advance is essential • Snorkeling gear is included.Casual Dolphin Swim (1 dolphin excursion)• Adult: R350 / 1300 Mt per person • Under 12: R300/ 1150 Mt per child• Groups 10+: Less 10%• STO: Less 10%Dolphin Tour (3 dolphin excursions)• Adult: R1000 / 3675 Mt per person• Under 12: R850 / 3125 Mt per child• Groups 10+: Less 10%• STO: Less 10 Dolphin Retreats. We invite you to come dance with the dolphins for a life-changing experience that will stay with you forever. The Ponta pod is truly special group of dolphins that chooses to engage in human interaction. Book a 3 or 4 launch trip to get the full benefit of this amazing experience! This package is run over a few days and includes dolphin interactions, marine observations, educational lectures, pre-training snorkeling, accommodation (optional) and our finned friends gift pack. We also offer various packages catering for individuals, groups, holistic retreats, corporate functions and team building.• Pre-booking essential • Three early morning excursions, one of which being an extended launch time - covering a larger area & including refreshments.• Pre-launch briefing on ecology, boat safety, marine life and responsible interactions. • Comprehensive introduction to dolphin behaviour and our code of conduct.• In-water swim facilitation from one of our dolphin guides (if required).• Pre-training snorkeling introduction (if required)• Finned Friends Gift Pack.• Full use of snorkeling gear during your stay.Dolphin Retreat 3 launch package (4 days)• Adult: R1500 / 5250 Mt per person• Under 12: R1350 / 4725 Mt per child• Groups 10+: Less 10%• STO: Less 10%Dolphin Retreat 4 launch package (5 days)• Adult: R1780 / 6230 Mt per person• Under 12: R1600 / 5600 Mt per child• Groups 10+: Less 10%• STO: Less 10%Additional Excursions• R330 / 1215 Mt per person per excursionLOCATIONOur Dolphin Centre is located adjacent to Ponta do Ouro’s main campsite. The grey double storey building before the campsite boomgate. Here you are able to book your dolphin excursion and accommodation, or browse through our collection of informative marine life literature and visual material. Credit card facilities are available both visa and master card.BOOKING POLICY for both dolphin swims and retreats!All dolphin excursions are pre-booked in advance with full payment as confirmation. Please note last minute cancellations will not be refunded, as you are liable for the pre-booked amount of people. Our Dolphin Retreat group size is a minimum of four. Make sure when making a booking that you allow for unfavourable sea conditions and give yourself an extra morning for just in case. If however weather and sea conditions do not permit us to launch, we can either re-schedule, or if this is not possible, then Dolphin Centre Management will issue a refund. Due to the Rand Meticais exchange of the bank, prices on the credit cards can vary - please confirm before making payment. 10% commission is applicable to agents and tour operators.
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“dolphin swim” (6 reviews)
“both times” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
LOCATION
Main Road, Principal No:1, Ponta do Ouro 1000, Mozambique
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dolphin swim"
in 6 reviews
"both times"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 3 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 2 reviews
"great service"
in 2 reviews
"swims"
in 6 reviews
"chalet"
in 2 reviews
"accommodation"
in 3 reviews
"encounter"
in 4 reviews
"interaction"
in 2 reviews
"ocean"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2018

The staff here is just amazing, everyone is very professional and understanding. One of the very first places I will be going to upon my return to Ponta!!!!!

Thank Phiwe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018

After visiting The Dolphin Centre, my daughter has found her calling in life. After matric she wants to go and work at The Dolphine Centre and become an underwater photographer!!!!!

Thank kelley_heslop74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

My email to the Dolphin Centre. They at first promised a refund and have completely ignored me since: April 29, 2017... a grey, miserable day in Ponta De Ouro... and a grey, miserable boat trip awaited us... towering waves, driving rain, throwing up, crying and...More

Thank DaveyBoy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedolphincentre, Owner at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Hi David Wylie Please refer to your emails as we did not ignore you. You will find a proof of payment for refunds aswell as an email from us. Thank you, Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2017

We stayed in their house, it was fabulous! We went on a dolphin swim the staff were so accommodating and the experience amazing. Little roof top coffee shop for a hot chocolate after our dolphin swim.

Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

I've gone snorkeling with the Dolphins twice. Both times were unique and awe-inducing. The operators are friendly and make sure that you have a great experience. I'd recommend this to anyone who asks and also to friends and family.

Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

Did not enjoy to find the operator ,old greyhaired guy with beard,driving his pick up straight through our campsite and parked inside our campsite at 06h30 in the morning to check out the sea condition.When I politely reminded him that it is our campsite, he...More

Thank 922jaapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedolphincentre, Owner at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2017

Hi there. I am terribly sorry to learn of this. Please could you give me more info on this event and what date it happened. Thank you, Casey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

A few days ago I had the most incredible experience swimming with dolphins. It was truly a magical encounter . After swimming with the dolphins we also snorkeled over a stunning coral reef. Casey was our guide and she was very pleasant and informative. I...More

Thank adinj2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017

There is one thing in this life that I appreciate, and it is Wildlife. The Dolphin Centre gives you the opportunity to see wild ocean life within their own habitat. Even though we did not have the privilege to swim with the dolphins, just the...More

Thank maritzav453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile

We had the ocean view chalet, nice and clean,friendly staff, very helpful. The prices in ponta is similar to SA. Don't take a chance to drive if you don't have a 4X4, we drove with a Chevrolet Captiva and got stuck in the sand a...More

Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to visit the area a second time. After my first dolphin experience, it was on the top of my bucket list. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Just when I thought my first encounter was the best my second experience...More

Thank Eluan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedolphincentre, Owner at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

We are thrilled to receive awesome feedback such as yours! and are super stoked that you loved every second of it! Thanks for joining us! We hope to see you soon. Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Dolphin Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;