We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About The Dolphin Centre
Bem Vindo!Welcome to the incredible world of The Dolphin Centre here, a moment below the surface of the ocean will remain with you for a lifetime. We invite you to join us in observing and interacting with the amazing dolphins of Ponta.The Ponta pod is truly remarkable group of dolphins that chooses to engage in human interaction. We have an incredibly special bond with a group of wild dolphins some resident and others transient to the area, with whom we socialize and have formed some profound bonds and inter-relationships. We hope to share this magical experience with you as we dance with the dolphins of Ponta. At the Dolphin Centre we aim to deliver the best possible experience when swimming with wild dolphins in their natural environment. Our dolphin swim programme combines a comprehensive dolphin behavioural introduction and regulated Swim Code of Conduct, created to ensure a sustainable eco-friendly approach. You can be rest assured that the best interests of both marine life and you are being catered for during your excursion.Our dolphin excursions range between 2 and 2,5 hours, with a pre-launch briefing on boat safety, marine life and responsible interactions. The trip includes snorkeling over one of our shallow reefs, in-water swim facilitation with one of our dolphin guides, and seasonal whale shark and humpback whale sightings. Dolphin in-water observations are not guaranteed due to sightings and the nature of the dolphins, and we do suggest booking more than one launch to have the opportunity to interact with our finned friends.• Launches are run daily and subject to group size and sea conditions.• Group size is limited to a minimum of 6 and a maximum of 12.• Booking in advance is essential • Snorkeling gear is included.Casual Dolphin Swim (1 dolphin excursion)• Adult: R350 / 1300 Mt per person • Under 12: R300/ 1150 Mt per child• Groups 10+: Less 10%• STO: Less 10%Dolphin Tour (3 dolphin excursions)• Adult: R1000 / 3675 Mt per person• Under 12: R850 / 3125 Mt per child• Groups 10+: Less 10%• STO: Less 10 Dolphin Retreats. We invite you to come dance with the dolphins for a life-changing experience that will stay with you forever. The Ponta pod is truly special group of dolphins that chooses to engage in human interaction. Book a 3 or 4 launch trip to get the full benefit of this amazing experience! This package is run over a few days and includes dolphin interactions, marine observations, educational lectures, pre-training snorkeling, accommodation (optional) and our finned friends gift pack. We also offer various packages catering for individuals, groups, holistic retreats, corporate functions and team building.• Pre-booking essential • Three early morning excursions, one of which being an extended launch time - covering a larger area & including refreshments.• Pre-launch briefing on ecology, boat safety, marine life and responsible interactions. • Comprehensive introduction to dolphin behaviour and our code of conduct.• In-water swim facilitation from one of our dolphin guides (if required).• Pre-training snorkeling introduction (if required)• Finned Friends Gift Pack.• Full use of snorkeling gear during your stay.Dolphin Retreat 3 launch package (4 days)• Adult: R1500 / 5250 Mt per person• Under 12: R1350 / 4725 Mt per child• Groups 10+: Less 10%• STO: Less 10%Dolphin Retreat 4 launch package (5 days)• Adult: R1780 / 6230 Mt per person• Under 12: R1600 / 5600 Mt per child• Groups 10+: Less 10%• STO: Less 10%Additional Excursions• R330 / 1215 Mt per person per excursionLOCATIONOur Dolphin Centre is located adjacent to Ponta do Ouro’s main campsite. The grey double storey building before the campsite boomgate. Here you are able to book your dolphin excursion and accommodation, or browse through our collection of informative marine life literature and visual material. Credit card facilities are available both visa and master card.BOOKING POLICY for both dolphin swims and retreats!All dolphin excursions are pre-booked in advance with full payment as confirmation. Please note last minute cancellations will not be refunded, as you are liable for the pre-booked amount of people. Our Dolphin Retreat group size is a minimum of four. Make sure when making a booking that you allow for unfavourable sea conditions and give yourself an extra morning for just in case. If however weather and sea conditions do not permit us to launch, we can either re-schedule, or if this is not possible, then Dolphin Centre Management will issue a refund. Due to the Rand Meticais exchange of the bank, prices on the credit cards can vary - please confirm before making payment. 10% commission is applicable to agents and tour operators.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Contact
Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Travelers talk about

The Dolphin Centre
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
22
9
5
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
22
9
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dolphin swim bucket list amazing trip professional service swims sea boat safety abilities wayne encounter guys turtles retreat accommodation crew dive
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a 5am trip and we left after a short briefing and kit out. We did see dolphins and got in the water with them 3 timea but each time they swam away. We alao got to snorkel a bit near a reef. They...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Khalid B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been left with a bad taste after interacting with this dolphin tour operator. We booked for 3 (with new lady Bernita) but when we arrived a day before the trip to make payment our names had just disappeared off the list. The manager...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank wandering_hemi
Wayne D, General Manager at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Our Booking Policy at The Dolphin Centre On enquiry about a activity full information is offered to a potential client in regard to the activity and of our booking policy. 1] Booking Policy is displayed clearly at the reception. 2] The client is fully...More

Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Ocean View cottage run by The Dolphin Centre, what a lovely cottage that makes one feel at home. Not too plain but not too fancy either. We did not have a chance to swim with the dolphins so the service by...More

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank KylieMayW1
Wayne D, General Manager at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kylie Its always disturbing to hear of such a unfortunate Incident of this nature. Crime will prevail and is unpleasant to experiance in any circumstance. The Dolphin Centre Wayne

Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

I just had to write a review about this place to hopefully encourage people to do it. I can hardly swim and I don't like being in the ocean unless my feet reach the floor, I also hate putting my head under water. I am...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank jarvo2001
Wayne D, General Manager at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jarvo Thank you for your kind words and the wonderful review of our Dolphin Team. Happy to hear that you enjoyed and experianced the joy of swimming with our beautiful Dollies. As We Like To Say Its A Life Changing Experiance. Wayne & Team

Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

One of my bucket list items and it was amazing, awesome, the crew were fantastic lots of laughs and "offerings" to the sea. Overcome my fears of water and love the swiming with the dolphines. Thanks to Wayne and his team you guys are fantastic!!!...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Heidiv1284
Wayne D, General Manager at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Heidi A Bucket list of note and a life changing experiance that everyone should have and experiance once in a life time. Thank you for joining us at The Dolphin Centre. Best Regards The Dolphin Team Wayne

Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

A huge thank you to Wayne, Luis, Dudu, Raffi, Domingo and Tunisa at The Dolphin Centre for your professional service and care of my retreat guests. We had four wonderful launches and saw everything from spinner and bottlenose dolphins to whales, flying fish, turtles and...More

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank 653michelles
Wayne D, General Manager at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Michelle Always a pleasure to have you guys join us at the Dolphin Centre The love of the deep blue and for our beautiful friendly dollies is shared. Until the next time Take care The Dolphin Team Wayne

Reviewed August 6, 2018

excellent dolphin viewing and swimming. As well as dolphins we saw whales. The staff were helpful and efficient. Altogether a fantastic experience

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank AphroditeK11
Wayne D, General Manager at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Aphrodite Thank you for the great review Swimming with our wild Dolphins and Whale viewing all in one day is an experiance not easly forgotten. The Dolphin Team Wayne

Reviewed March 16, 2018

The staff here is just amazing, everyone is very professional and understanding. One of the very first places I will be going to upon my return to Ponta!!!!!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank PhiweQ1
Wayne D, General Manager at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Phiwe Thank you and hope to see you again soon. The Dolphin Team Wayne

Reviewed January 17, 2018

After visiting The Dolphin Centre, my daughter has found her calling in life. After matric she wants to go and work at The Dolphine Centre and become an underwater photographer!!!!!More

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank kelley_heslop74
Wayne D, General Manager at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kelly Wonderful to hear Your Daughter had the life changing experiance that we all have to experiance once in a life time. Her calling is unique and if we can assist her with her calling, please contact us in this regard. The Dolphin Team...More

Reviewed July 31, 2017

My email to the Dolphin Centre. They at first promised a refund and have completely ignored me since: April 29, 2017... a grey, miserable day in Ponta De Ouro... and a grey, miserable boat trip awaited us... towering waves, driving rain, throwing up, crying and...More

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank DaveyBoy_12
thedolphincentre, Owner at The Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Hi David Wylie Please refer to your emails as we did not ignore you. You will find a proof of payment for refunds aswell as an email from us. Thank you, Casey

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Dolphin Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines