We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HOA Hokkaido Outdoor Adventures

Hidaka-cho, Japan
More
About HOA Hokkaido Outdoor Adventures
HOA - Hokkaido Outdoor Adventures - is based in the fertile hills of Hidaka, some two hours from Sapporo and just one and a half from New Chitose Airport. Rafting trips run every day of the season Rafting is of all levels - from easy whitewater for family groups, to exciting rapids for more experienced groups. Kayaking and canyoning are also possible.
Read more

HOA Hokkaido Outdoor Adventures
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
57Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 51
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Rodney B wrote a review Mar 2019
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Thanks to Pat we had the best day. Pat even took photos for us which proved how good it was for the team back home. Very impressed with professional service from pickup to drop off. Book early and have the perfect Pow day in japan. Thanks again Pat
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from HOA h, Owner at HOA Hokkaido Outdoor Adventures
Responded Mar 11, 2019
Thankyou Both For coming out with me for a great day of skiing and laughs ! Its a pleasure to ski with great people who a really sharing the stoke ! See you again! Pat
Read more
Amalia W wrote a review Oct 2018
Jakarta, Indonesia2 contributions4 helpful votes
We signed up for 2 activities, rafting and kayak school. Naomi is very helpful, she always replied our email quickly, and all our queries about the activities and autumn clothes requirements were answered clearly. Rafting went so fun with Chrish, Bidur and Prem. We were accompanied by very experienced instructors, Kali and Chrish during the kayak course. We know we are in good hands as they are very concerned about our safety. They taught us very patiently. So they made our first descent on the river run smoothly and pleasantly. HOA has already provided excellent service. Friendly staff with big smile, beautiful menu for our lunch , good equipment for kayaking..and many things... We are looking forward to meet them again !
Read more
Date of experience: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HOA h, Manager at HOA Hokkaido Outdoor Adventures
Responded Oct 11, 2018
dear Traveler172875, thank you very much for joining our tours and your kind review. We had a lot of fun together for 3 days ! It was a great effort to try to learn kayaking ! We are also glad you stayed in Hidaka town for 4 days. It is such a small town, but you found the beauty of nature in this area. Thank you very much again to find us in large Hokkaido and we can't wait to see you both again :) Naomi, Hokkaido Outdoor Adventures
Read more
Yvonne C wrote a review Apr 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We deliberately chose Furano and it’s surrounding mountains over Niseko to get a more authentic Japanese off piste /powder skiing experience away from the crowds. The big difficulty is finding a guide you trust who will pick the best place to go each day, isn’t tied to any particular mountain, someone that will solve all the logistics issues AND someone that can then guide you safely off piste when you get there. It took a lot of research and eventually we found Pat ! He did all of the above in spades. We had an awesome 4 days with Pat exploring different spots with more snow than we could have imagined - plus a dip or two in a local onsen. If you are looking for someone who has the inside track and can guide your group around this winter wonderland - Pat is your guy !
Read more
Date of experience: February 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HOA h, Owner at HOA Hokkaido Outdoor Adventures
Responded Apr 3, 2018
Thanks Yvonne It was a pleasure to have you come along with me Although the weather wasnt always on our side we did get some good stashes . Glad you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope to see you again out there in the powder ! Thanks again Pat
Read more
Yves Van Landeghem wrote a review Mar 2018
20 contributions13 helpful votes
We skied/snowboarded for 2 days with Pat at the beginning of February this year. One day on Asahidake, where he immediately found the best lines and snow we had experienced in Japan up til that moment. You could tell he knew what he was on about as a lot of the other guides used him as a kind of informal mountain information hub... Putting in a brisk tempo allowed us to ascend 8 times, coming up with fresh turns on every descent. Day 2 was spent skinning up Furanodake, but the wind didn't do us any favours, so a great Onsen and a nice chat over a few beers were a welcome diversion. Pat had been upfront on this possibility and had offered us a few other alternatives as well. We'll be back someday, and will certainly book him again. And as my buddy Henk states (a bit further down here): we'll make sure to factor in the time to let him call the shots and pick the spots. Already looking forward to it...
Read more
Date of experience: February 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HOA h, Owner at HOA Hokkaido Outdoor Adventures
Responded Mar 30, 2018
Thanks Yves Hope you got some more fresh lines before you had to go home it was the weather pattern. Good fun good lines and a great onsen there is always some thing great to share. And its always great to be doing it with awesome people ! thanks for coming into the mountains with me it was a real pleasure. Cheers Pat
Read more
nickvonw wrote a review Mar 2018
Greater Sydney, Australia1 contribution
Pat guided us around Mt Asahidake for a day. Pat was a great guide and showed us places that we would have never found without him. Asahidake is a definitely a mountain where a good guide is essential. There had been some pretty savage winds leading up to our visit so the top of the mountain was a little bare but Pat guided us to some tasty stashes a little lower down. We were a group of 3 snowboarders plus Pat which worked really well. Will definatley be back some day. Thanks Pat Yeeeoooooooooooowww!!!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
Helpful
Share
Previous