Plough Inn

Plough Inn, Old Colwyn: Hours, Address, Plough Inn Reviews: 3.5/5

12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
About
Great pub & restaurant in the centre of Old Colwyn! DINNER SERVED: Wed & Thu 6-9pm Fri & Sat: 6-9:30pm LUNCH SERVED: Wed - Sat: 12-2pm SUNDAY ROASTS SERVED: 12-6pm
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

3.5
10 reviews
Excellent
4
Very good
1
Average
1
Poor
3
Terrible
1

Joanne T
Old Colwyn, UK1 contribution
Don't bother
Jul 2018 • Friends
Looked on the website as no recent reviews..full menu looked nice online. Only to be told on arrival they don't have a chef. Maybe they should put this on the website or at least somewhere!!
Written July 14, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

dave1105dave
Chester, UK2 contributions
Service and food not great
Aug 2017 • Couples
My fiancé and I visited the plough last Sunday after a glowing recommendation from one of her work friends. We booked a table and we're sat in what felt like a corridor next to the toilet (in fairness the lady we spoke to did offer us another table near the bar but it was a high bar table with stools and hadn't been cleaned from the previous customers). I wasn't sure if there was table service so we waited about 10 minutes and after we had not been seen by anyone I went to the bar to order. The lady behind the bar was perfectly nice and took our order, about 10 minutes later our food arrived and I was so hopeful as it was the Sunday dinner we had been recommended. The beef and red cabbage were cooked nicely but unfortunately that was about it on the food. The vegetables that came with the meal tasted like they had been blasted in the microwave, the roast potatoes were fatty and seemed to be deep fried and the Yorkshire pudding was dry and overdone. After finishing our meals we waited another 10-15 minutes for our plates to be cleared (as we had planned to have some dessert). After the wait we were both a bit peeved off and decided to skip dessert and went to the bar to pay. Me and my fiancé have both worked in the hospitality industry for many years and were shocked that with the number of staff working that shift we did not feel looked after in the slightest.

To give them the benefit of the doubt the bar staff seemed busy and were polite and friendly and the beef was nice however, we travelled 20+ miles to have a really good Sunday lunch and the trimmings really let it down. A little bit more effort with some fresh cooked veg and some more care on the Yorkshire puddings and the plough Sunday lunch could be great.

Written August 28, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi thanks for the review. I do think there may be some confusion with which Plough you were at. We don't have tables situated as you describe or have high tables with high stools. We are also a lot further away from Chester than 20 miles. I'm assuming you were at the Plough in st Asaph maybe! Please call me at The Plough Inn Old Colwyn to discuss the matter further thank you.
Written August 29, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

david c
Old Colwyn, UK33 contributions
Poor tasteless food.
Aug 2017 • Friends
We went for the 2 corse deal. I had the pasta. There was items missing from it. Also very bland and heavy. I had creepy mushrooms as the starter and the sauce was the same bland disappointing flavour. That new young chief has a lot to learn.
Written August 9, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jackie W
Llanddulas, UK13 contributions
very dissapointed
Jul 2017 • Family
this is the 2nd time , went for Sunday lunch on the 23rd July as we've always loved the food, very disappointed 1 small slice of beef 2 roast potatoes and a small helping of veg between 2 nothing compared to the other times we have been.
Benefit of the doubt I took my family there this Sunday and to be honest I will not be going back. none of the meals were particularly good, my son had a steak always has it rare but the steak was blue and not particularly hot, although he will eat anything and did, but one of the meals a chicken and chorizo tagatelli dish had a very funny smell and my daughter in law could not eat this at all, it was turning her stomach, we sent it back, the chef popped his head out just to see who had sent the dish back I think but after leaving I realised I had still been charged for this. Not happy at all and would not recommend to my friends.
Written July 31, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

fred1664
Old Colwyn, UK1 contribution
red on the bone chicken
Apr 2017 • Family
went for a meal in the plough inn old colwyn Saturday 29th april 2017 chicken wings not cooked red and blood on the bone, lasagne just was minced beef no tomato or garlic and the garlic bread was just butter bread maybe MARG. the attitude of the manager was the chefs said the chicken was cooked to 82c so it was cooked. I'm a chef, if one of my customers sent food back I would go and see them to say sorry and offer them something else. and take it of the bill. for the sake of £6.50 for the chicken wings is it worth a bad review. chefs cant cook wont cook. I have been in the plough a few times for food and a drink in the past year but now I don't know
Written April 29, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Angie M
Colwyn Bay, UK14 contributions
Yummy food.
Mar 2016 • Couples
Nice place, good choice of menu, friendly staff. They do plenty of social events too, mothers day fully booked.
Written March 17, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

garty1wales
wales4 contributions
Excellent service
Aug 2015 • Solo
Lovely food excellent service and a place I felt I could relax and eat alone. The staff are fantastic warm and friendly. More people need to go here. Its a home from home
Written August 30, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Betty B
Northern Ireland, UK2 contributions
This place needs advertising.
May 2015 • Couples
The website needs up dating advertises hours when not open.. only advertises on FB.. how do people know it exists? Ate there on Friday night, ;lovely waitress couldn't of been more friendly or helpful, even calling us a taxi and barman was helpul and friendly too.. lovely food but very quiet pub which is a shame as its a lovely building and I would of thought it would of been busier, chatted at bar to a local who said it used to be, but a lot of people don't know they are there as it is not advertised anywhere apart from Facebook.. I say come on people in charge get some people inside and you will have a cracking pub.. let the people know where you are and I am sure they will come.. when I revisit I will be back, if only for the homemade cheesecake, I hope it's busier next time.
Written June 1, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Elg
Cardiff, UK25 contributions
Way beyond expectations
Aug 2014 • Couples
Being a local resident, I have visited this pub in the dark old days when it was all shot-offers, and groups of less desirables . So when my girlfriend decided she needed a Sunday lunch, it was with trepidation I was taken to The Plough. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by our lovely waitress, we were seated immediately, and made to feel very welcome. We chose our meals and very quickly they arrived. We were both really impressed by the starters, my old criticism would be the parfait could have done with more brioche. But that wasn't a problem, the waitress brought some more out when we asked, free of charge.
We both ordered the Roast Beef for main, and when it came looked beautiful. Served pink medium-rare, with the option to have it well-done (sacrilege), with all the trimmings. It was the best beef I've ever had. How you see it on tv, and plenty of it too. My girlfriends only complaint was that she would have liked another potato, but that's just nit picking.
As everything was going well, we went the whole hog, and ordered a pudding too. That again was spot on.
I walked in with low expectations and hoped it would be edible, I left a very satisfied customer, with a full belly and a smile on my face.
Leave your preconceptions at the door, and give it a go. The staff were lovely and couldn't be any more helpful.
I will most definitely be back!
Written August 24, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

RY4AN
4 contributions
Legendary
Apr 2014
I couldn't believe how good this pub/bar was I had read some reviews on trip advisor that recommended I did not go but I thought well u only live once , the staff were lovely to me and my grandmother and could not believe how outstanding the food was I had a very nice conversation with a young man who worked there who made me feel very welcome he certainly deserves a promotion . To tell the truth I was a bit worried about going but now I know not to believe all I read as I certainly couldn't of had a better time.
Written May 3, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing