Scotscraig Golf Club

Scotscraig Golf Club, Tayport: Hours, Address, Scotscraig Golf Club Reviews: 4.5/5

Scotscraig Golf Club
4.5
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Write a review
About
This golf club plays host to final qualifying for the British Open, when the event is played at St. Andrew's Old Course, and is a worthy challenge to all skill-levels due to its fine links turf and smooth, fast greens. Visitors are made most welcome at this friendly golf club.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
111 reviews
Excellent
76
Very good
20
Average
6
Poor
2
Terrible
7

Drew M
2 contributions
Jul 2021 • Solo
Day 2 of my golfing holiday. Easy parking next to the club. Weather had been very wet overnight so was expecting conditions to be challenging.
Nice welcome by 2 young fellas in the pro shop, which was well stocked.
Teed off and caught up with 2 groups who kindly let me thru.
The course did have some lying water, but better than I expected. Tees were in good order and greens ran true, albeit a wee bit soft. Rough can be an issue so tried to avoid it.
All in a fine course, food was good too.
Written July 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

DMc
Glasgow, UK28 contributions
Jan 2020 • Friends
Played Scotscraig with 3 friends for some Winter golf and we were not disappointed. Course was in great condition with fairways firm and greens superb. Course played without mats and we had a great morning's golf. Usual good food in Clubhouse and warm welcome from all. If you are looking for Winter golf - go to Scotscraig!
Written January 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your kind words, I will pass this on to our greens staff and catering team. Hope to see you at the course again soon.
Written January 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Harry B
Coatbridge, UK13 contributions
Apr 2022 • Friends
Golf outing with St. Andrews bar Coatbridge. First time playing this course. Course was in fantastic condition, challenging but fair. Members and staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend for a society visit.👍🏌️‍♀️🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿
Written April 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

PotatoPete
United Kingdom27 contributions
Jul 2020
Arrived yesterday expecting to get a bacon roll and a coffee before playing golf . Club house locked and deserted. Pro shop was open but could offer no advice re bacon rolls . Fortunately a member advised that a community cafe nearby was open and served bacon rolls . So drive or walk past the clubhouse , turn right and head for a red coloured metal and plain wood building. About 300 yards . Staffed by two lovely ladies who provided 4 excellent bacon rolls and hot drinks for the team. We have played 3 Scottish courses in the last week, Castle Stuart , Dukes and Strathmore . All 3 provided bacon rolls and food after. Scotscraig needs to up its game . Pro shop thought catering might commence on 5th August , but that is pretty useless. So until then head for community cafe . Scotscriag would be improved by removing much of the whin bushes which spoil the course . But my partner and myself managed to win on the 17th , and collected the £1 reward .
Written July 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travel797477
1 contribution
Jul 2021 • Friends
Enjoyed the greens and very nice fairways after a lot of rain last few days. The rough was unfair and far too thick and inconsistent with heavy patches of rough just off the fairways. The catering experience and service was poor. Had run out of soup by 1pm and waited 30mins for a cold filled roll after having to chase staff and other golfers leaving and getting refunds as their food was taking too long.
Written July 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Patrick M
1 contribution
Oct 2020
Disappointed to say it was a poor experience indeed. Having been told the course was open with a Members Comp on, they said they had a lot of cancellations due to weather, so should be OK. We duly turned up and some members were teeing off, so we were asked if we minded going and having a coffee. WE did that and in that time cancellations had came in and no further members had teed off. We went back to the assistant Pro and he said it was looking good, there was at least half an hour of clear space between the last group to tee off and another had just cancelled. We were a two ball so no speed issues. At this time we were met by Mr Officious, who basically said, you cant play whilst the members have a comp on. But if we waited another hour he would look at it again (the comp would still be playing at this time). having been there an hour already and seen on 3 ball tee off we elected to decline his 'kind' offer. I am sure the club would have welcomed the green fees but this is typically the small mindedness of an individual who represents a club and did not have the imagination to realise we were going to cause no issues on the course, but he had his little day of power. I normally take up the Winter Offer but me and my colleagues will be going elsewhere this year..
Written October 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bruiach
Inverness, UK6 contributions
Aug 2020 • Friends
Visited Scotscraig for the first time. Firstly a pleasant and friendly welcome from the Professional
The course layout was good and a nice mix of holes and tricky in places.
The greens were a good pace to putt on although a few of them were brown and patchy
I did however feel the tees were very scruffy but it was a Monday when we visited and may have been the result of a busy weekends golf so I dont want to be critical.
Overall a good course to play and another tick off the bucket list
Written August 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

irvine295
Dundee, UK3 contributions
Aug 2019
If bumpy, slow greens are your current choice of putting surface and £4 for a cheese roll (albeit with a slice of ham) sounds like a bargain then look no further than this unrivalled Tayport treasure.
It's the 13th Oldest golf course in the world (spot the deliberate grammatical mistake in the club sign!) and you know what they say about the number 13!
On a serious note, it's such a pity that this golf course has been allowed to deteriorate to such a current state as on it's day, in its heyday it really was a very decent course.
Written August 26, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gordon C
Bournheath1 contribution
Jun 2013 • Friends
Course was in good condition but greens were terrible , as a group we were not advised before we went out and paid a full green fee in advance. The pro would not give us a partial refund.

I would urge other golf ears not to pay his course in 2013
Written June 29, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are sorry that you felt the greens were terrible. The Pro Shop staff have been instructed to inform all visting guests prior to play that the greens have been treated with a grass herbicide to improve grass species composition. Unfortunately the greens did not look good during your visit and were bumpy due to the treatment which we have carried out. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your game and for this we apologise. We have not been charging visitors full green fees this year in view of the transitional period we are going through at the moment. If you have been charged full green fee then please contact the office in order that this may be investigated. At this moment in time there has been a great improvement in the putting surfaces and a huge amount of work is being carried out by the Greens Staff to get them back to what Scotscraig is renowned for - good, fast, true greens.
Written July 31, 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Benfoster101
3 contributions
May 2013
Turned up to play scotscraig this week as part of my holiday. The course looked pretty but the greens seemed to be infected with something. Hardly any grass on them which made it pretty much impossible to putt on. My dad plays off 6 and 3 putted 12 times. To top it off I had my trainers stolen from the visitors dressing room which had a code on the door. Overall not a good day out! The management at the course just said I shouldn't have left my trainers in a code locked dressing room! Not a place I will be visiting or recommedning!
Written May 31, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are extremely sorry and disappointed that your trainers seemed to have gone missing from the visitors changing room. We have checked our lost property and the other visiting parties who played that day but without success. With regards to the golf course, we have treated our greens with a grass herbicide to improve grass species composition. Unfortunately the greens did not look good when you visited Scotscraig but they were putting quicker than normal. We are sorry if you did not enjoy your day at Scotscraig although overall the feedback we have been receiving has been very positive.
Written June 24, 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 107
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scotscraig Golf Club

Scotscraig Golf Club is open:
  • Sun - Sat 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM