Sala Silvergruva
Sala Silvergruva
4.5
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
For hundreds of years, silver was mined in the Sala Silver Mine. The precious metal was incredibly important to the Crown, as it was primarily used for coinage. Kings such as Gustav Vasa and Charles IX praised the mine by giving it the epithet "Treasury of the Kingdom of Sweden" and "The Kingdom's foremost clenodium". Nowadays, Sala Silvergruva is a beloved and popular destination, where different types of experiences are offered - both above and below ground. Mine visits, either scheduled or by group booking, are offered all year round for both individuals and companies. Groups can also book in on cool events with food and drink in the underground, and great conference facilities are available in a number of historic buildings in the mining area.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
255 reviews
Excellent
147
Very good
88
Average
11
Poor
5
Terrible
4

Stefan
1 contribution
Aug 2022 • Family
We had the "english" tour for the 55m mine.
- The mine is very small and very dark. You will see almost nothing, only a hole in the ground. Very, very bad illuminated. The only informations we got was that: "here is the 40m level and down there 55m".
- The museum is very small and bad organized, without good explanation about the mine history. Nothing detailed related to the extraction process.
- The price is huge (395 for swedish or 295 for english sek/person) compared with what is offers. A fair price would be maximum 150 sek/adult. Be aware that the kids ABOVE 4 will pay a FULL price ticket.

Very dissapointed! I felt almost cheated.
Written August 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Stefan, I am truly sorry that the experince wasn't what you had expected. The experince you participated in was not a guided tour, but a visit underground with an option of getting a guided tour on the 55-meter level. Unfortunately the optional tour was only given in Swedish, as I understand it. On Sundays and Mondays during the whole summer we have offered ordinary (traditionally) guided tours in English. From what you have written, I understand you paid us a visit on another weekday, when such tours weren't offered, which of course is a shame. I thank you very much for your given opinions in this review, and I will also see to that they will be a part in our planning process ahead. Kind regards, Fobbe, Sala Silvermine
Written August 14, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

IAKA2014
Uppsala, Sweden12 contributions
May 2015 • Family
We visited Sala mine 16 May 2015 when there were announced children activity days. Frankly speaking, there was not much to do for a child who does not speak Swedish well. There was some 'treasure search' for children, but our 5 y.o. daughter did not take part. Everything which is written about the long line to the ticket office and long waiting time for the excursion is quite right. We had to wait for 2 hours, because all tours before us were booked. The price is extremely expensive. For 155 m. mine you pay 225/adult, 115/child. For a family of 3 it is already very-very high price and you expect something extraordinary. But for the service they provide it is heavily overpriced. The mine itself is quite interesting, especially if you have never been to the mine before. It is also very cold, but you know this in advance. What you do not know is that it is very dark, and your group is going to be big. So if you have a child and do not follow the guide with the torch directrly behind, you might fall or stumble. The group before ours had electric flashlights, but nobody gave it to us. Probably the mine ran out of it and did not have enough in supply. The acoustics in the mine is quite specific, and our guide was muttering all the way very fast in both English and Swedish, you really do have to make an effort to understand him. In the end of excursion we met another group and had to wait for 15 minutes in order to get the place in the elevator. But the real adventure was yet to start. The elevators in this mine are eventually very old and overexploited. So when we arrived from the underground (packed like sardines in a can) the door of the elevator got broken and unable to open neither from inside, nor from outside. We spent some other 10 minutes in the locked elevator, which buzzed threatingly all the time. Honestly my small daughter got scared, and the same I can say about me. Finally they managed to open the side door and let us out throuhg another elevator. No excuses, no comments from the management apart from: "Yes, the door jams sometimes!" I would not recommend you to visit this particular mine untill they renew their euqipment and take the safety of visitorst more seriously (unless you want to risk).
Written May 19, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for taking the time to write a very detailed review of your visit, when you where here, Much has happend since then. We now offer online booking/purchase of tickets and the lines are gone. The price is about the same and hasn't (still) gone up very much. In the summertime there is much more to do above ground for families with children and underground the lighting is much better than before. I wish you welcome back to us in a near future! Kind regards, Fobbe, Sala Silvermine
Written October 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mark P
Stockholm, Sweden37 contributions
Nov 2011
We went on the 155 meter tour and had a brilliant time. This place has a great history and the tour guides are friendly and informative. You will be in awe at some of the sights on offer. If you are anywhere near Sala, visit this place! Apart from the tour, walk around the area and read all of the information outside local buildings which offer their history.
Written November 6, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for this great review, Mark! You have waited a long time for a response on your review. I apologize for that. But here it is at last - better late than ever! I am glad to hear you had such a nice experience with us. The 155 meter tour has since last year been recasted into two new tours - one 1-hour tour called "Konstknekten" and one 2-hour tour called "Bergmästaren". And in the summertime we nowadays offer two different speciailly designed tours for non-Swedish speaking visitors: "Bergenstierna" and "Lillienberg". They are both 90 minutes long and are performed on two different mining flors underground in the mine. Maybe it is time for a new visit with us soon? I hope we meet soon again. Welcome back! Kind regards, Fobbe, Sala Silvermine
Written July 31, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TriciaAnnW
Johannesburg, South Africa25 contributions
Aug 2018 • Friends
Up front... we tried to complain at the office after the tour, but did not get to speak to anyone in charge.

Three of us went on the two hour tour, which was supposed to be bilingual. Sadly, we were the only English speakers in the group, and I feel we did not get our money's worth. There would be long speeches in Swedish, and then a very few words spoken in English. We tried to ask questions, but the short English summaries continued.

I am sure the guide knew her subject and was very interesting if one was a Swedish speaker. We enjoyed the underground experience, but we felt that we missed out.
Written September 12, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and that you tell us about the experience you had on the guided tour. I am sorry to hear the tour was not what you had expected. And when I read what you write in your review I understand how you must have felt. I am really sorry about this. The bilingual tour is not supposed to be carried out in that way you describe it. The guide is supposed to tell the same story in both languages, if possible in a fluent way eliminating unnecessary waiting time and, second best, as a story in one language after the same story in the other one. Just summaries should not occur at all (if that has not been agreed upon in advance, of course). I will take this further to those responsible for the tours and I am quite sure this matter will be discussed further. Dispite the situation described here I really hope we meet again in the future. Welcome back! Kind regards, Fobbe, Sala Silvermine
Written September 13, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

EwanDuffy
Dublin, Ireland18 contributions
Sep 2013 • Couples
Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the underground bedroom recently and did the 155m mine tour beforehand.

I am an old hand at show mines, as I have an active interest in mining heritage. The 155m mine tour is amongst the best I have been on. The guide was knowledgeable about the mine and its history and gave the tour in both Swedish and English. The highlight of the tour was the part where she sang in the worked out stope that acts as an echo chamber.

The overnight experience was very good. We were allocated a hostel room above ground until the designated time to go underground. There was a minor issue with the key fob to get into the hostel as it did not work on one door into the hostel and we eventually made it in through a side door.

The mine room itself was a positive experience, being a large chamber with alcoves for the double bed an another for the dining table.

The only down side I would see was the early check out time of 11:00am and would suggest that the site owners either revise this to later and/or allow guests to stay in the hostel common area to a later time if they genuinely need to have guests leave the hostel bedroom by 11:00.am.
Written October 3, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for this very fine review of your visit and stay at the Sala Silvermine! And I am sorry for the very late response, of course. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the mine tour and your stay in the World's Deepest Hotel Room - The Mine Suite! It seems that you had a very nice experience. A stay in the Mine Suite is a very special adventure, and indeed a popular one we have noticed over the years. Sorry to hear about the checking-out experience. We usually let people stay in the common area of the bed & breakfast-hotel if it is possible. But sometimes the whole house is to be occupied by larger groups, where the common areas are included in the deal, as well. Maybe that is what happened when you were here? About the 155-meter tour: we still offer an upgraded verison of that: the "Bergmästaren" tour, which nowadays is a two-hour tour where story focus is on national and global historical events in connection to this particular silver mine. Maybe it is time for a visit anew? I wish you welcome back to the Sala Silvermine soon! // Kind regards, Fobbe, Sala Silvermine
Written December 27, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

m_jackie911
George Town, Malaysia117 contributions
Aug 2012 • Friends
Before that, the tour conductor will bring you to get your safety helmet and then off we went to the elevator in order for it to bring us, all the way down to 155m. When I first stepped into the mine with my partner, seeing the burning torch on the encarved metal frame logo of a miner with a pickaxe, a sudden thought of Snow White & the Seven Dwarfs just came to mind.
The temperature dropped down to 3-5 degrees Celsius when we've reached 155m underground. At first, I felt fine with my thick coat on but after touring for like more than half an hour, I think my body started to feel hypothermia and I could feel a bit of a runny nose. Whereas, my partner felt fine. He kept joking that probably he's part of a Viking descendant. Therefore,he could stand the cold temperature :P

First, the tour conductor told us to obey certain rules, not to speak faulty languages, whistling or yelling throughout the journey as the belief was that, there's the Lady in the Mine who lives in the mine. She's like a guardian/ protector for the fellow miners. In need to let her guard the miner or the fellow tourists, we need to follow her rules. Basically, don't talk too much. Before starting our tour, each of us had to knock on the mine wall for 3 consecutive times to let the lady knows about our existence. So, all this gave me goosebumps, seriously!

We had to keep following the tour conductor closely as he was the only one with the portable burning flame. It was really dark inside the mine. It was an English conducted tour. We walked one round which included the warm hall where occasionally, concerts could be held here, they have got a mine suite attached to a banquet hall. One could book to have an experienced stay here. I think it's really extraordinary, memorable but at the same time creepy! hehe~
The tour lasted for around 1.5 hours.

All in all, wonderful experience! *hi ho, hi ho song*

http://www.salasilvergruva.se/en/aktiviteter/guidade-turer/ulrica-eleonora-gruva-155m/
Written June 2, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for writing this review after your visit in the Sala Silvermine! And I apologize for the very late anwer. (We are trying to catch up with all unanswered reviews so far.) I see that you had very special experience with the 155-meter tour. Thanks for telling us about it! Nowadays we offer two various tours on that mining level - the two hour long "Bergmästaren" tour which is quite alike the old 155-meter tour but focuses a little bit more on national and global contemporary history, and the "Konstknekten" tour which is a new tour lasting for one hour. The "Konstknekten" stretch is very short and the whole tour is taking place on a wooden floor in one particular mining chamber. This means that people with disabilities, too, nowadays can join a mine tour quite easily compared to before. The temperature is the same though: cold(!), except for the heated cavities, i.e. the underground concert hall and the World's Deepest Hotel Room - the Mine Suite. We still knock three times on the wall before starting the tour. It is always best to stay friends with the Mine Lady. You never know... I thank you very much for your very fine report of your visit in the Sala Silvermine. I really hope we'll meet soon again. Welcome back! Kind regards, Fobbe, Sala Silvermine
Written October 10, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maria W
Stockholm, Sweden3 contributions
Oct 2012 • Family
We made a visit at Sala Silvergruva in Halloween. They offered a spooky tour in the late afternoon/evening and it was great. It's held in the woods above the mine and involves an impressive number of actors as witches, fairies etc... I highly recommend this tour for families.

Seeing the mine and its underground lakes at 155 m is also worth while, but the kids are better off if you make the tours on seprate days because the both last for more than an hour. The B&B has a good standard and is very gosy so spedning the night there after the ghost tour is a good option. The tavern at the mine offers good food also for children.
Written November 28, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for reviewing us, Maria! And I am sorry for the very late response on your review. I understand you visited the Sala Silvermine during the Halloween Break and joined the "Mythical Creatures Tour" outside in the wooden area of the mine. That is a very popular tour when offered, where we tell the visitors about beings in the ancient Scandinavian mythology. The tour is usually given during the Halloween Break end of October/beginning of November. News underground during the Halloween Breaks is that we nowadays offer tours with live actors underground, who tell old miner stories to the visitors instead of the former "ghost tours". This has been reveived very well by our visitors. And of course we still offer tours on the 155-meter level in the mine, but these days we offer a variety of tours there. New is e.g. the "Konstknekten" tour, which takes one hour underground and where people with disabilities can join, as well. That tour is adjusted in that way the visitors can bring wheelchairs, rollators and permobils downstairs. In about a month it is time for the Halloween Break anew. Maybe that would be a perfect chance to meet again at the Sala Silvermine? Welcome back! Kind regards, Fobbe, Sala Silvermine
Written September 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Johan O
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain131 contributions
Compared to other mines visited, this one (155 m-level) had less of narrow passages, rough walls, and stones to stumble on. But being 190 cm tall, I made nevertheless good use of the helmet.

Without doubt I'd preferred better lit up floor, particularly having elderly and disabled visitors in mind.
But on the other hand, this way the experience got a tad more authentic.

Next visit I would certainly spend more times in daylight instead. Now our time run out, and we had far too short time to walk around on our own, reeding signs and contemplating.

The museum above the reception seemed worth far more than the 10 minutes we had to our disposal. Very informative signs at the monters.

Our experience with guide and other staff was entirely positive. One has to keep in mind that service culture is _different_ in all of Scandinavia, compared to in nations like America.

People do for instance, usually not smile in that automatic meaningless way.
Written July 24, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for taking the time writing this review after your visit at the Sala Silvermine, Johan! And I'm sorry for a very late response on this. I'm glad to hear you liked your visit with us when you were here, back then. Since you were here much has happened. We have upgraded the guided mine tours resulting in 5 new tours - two 1-hour tours and two 2-hour tours. We have also upgraded the Great Mine Tour into a 4-hour tour including a soup meal at the 155-meter level. Last year we started a project aiming at improving the lights on the 155-meter level. The project proceeds as we speak, and we have decided upon starting with the Konstknekten tour, i.e. the quite new 1-hour tour on the 155-meter level, where visitors also can bring their rollators, permobils and wheelchairs even. I agree with you: having a full day or more to spend at the Sala Silvermine is perfect. Then you would have enough time to spend in the museum, visiting the reconstructed Mini Mine with its water wheel and flat rods system and guided Time Traveller tours. The guided Tractor Tour should not be missed either. So nice to hear you felt well treated by the staff. I know they always do their best to take good care of the visitors. I really hope we will meet soon again at the Sala Silvermine. Welcome back! Kind regards, Fobbe, Sala Silvermine
Written September 10, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kist
Valga, Estonia7 contributions
Jul 2019
Tour guide was informative and the caves - somewhat creepy (read: cool). Hint - wear gloves, even in summer :)
Written November 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for grading us with five out of five and for sharing the experience with us, I am happy you found the tour informative and that you were impressed by the huge cavities underground. The cavities are the remains of the ore bodies which were excavated during the centuries. Most of those visible on the tours were worked on in the 1700s. And I agree with you: it is cold downstairs in the mine: only +2°C. I understand from your review that you attended the two hour Manager Tour. Did you know we also have a shorter tour on the 155-meter level? The Pump Worker Tour is a one hour tour on the 155-meter level where you get to see and hear about the most important things you need to know about the Sala Silvermine and old times mining in general. Once again thanks for your review. Hope to see you here soon again. Maybe next summer already? We have a lot of news coming up which you will hear more about next year. Hope to see you then if not sooner. Welcome back! Regards, Fobbe, Sala Silvermine
Written December 2, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Veronica Smulders
Dubai, United Arab Emirates181 contributions
Jul 2019
The visit to the Silvergruva of Sala is something we certainly recommend. The tour starts Over the ground with interesting explanations on the mine and the importance to Swedish history. The explanation is entertaining and available in English which is not always the case with some attractions.

The underground visit to the mines takes to 2c, so make sure you bring warmer clothes to change before going into the lift if you come in summer. The tour inside the mine is very cool and insightful for everyone. We especially enjoyed the stories brought to us by our tour guide
Written August 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit! The mine is very beautiful and unique, indeed. It is a very special experience you won't see anywhere else. The tours are available in English and our guides are very dedicated when it comes to their knowledge about the mine and its history. Once again - Thank you! // Booking department
Written September 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 75
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Sala Silvergruva - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sala Silvergruva

Sala Silvergruva is open:
  • Sun - Sat 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM



Sala Silvergruva Information

Excellent Reviews

147

Very Good Reviews

88

Sala Silvergruva Photos

258