We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Evelin Dive Center

Features Animals
Platanias, Greece
More
About Evelin Dive Center
Welcome to Evelin Dive Center. We are a PADI 5 STAR INSTRUCTOR DEVELOPMENT DIVE CENTER located in Platanes-Rethymno & Georgioupolis, established in 2012. We offer scuba try dives for beginners, boat & shore fun diving, PADI Dive Courses, snorkeling day trips and training all the way up to dive professional. We deliver world-famous Greek hospitality to divers from across the globe. Whether you’re a diving veteran or a thrill-seeking new starter, we offer a professional, multilingual service that will show you the very best of Crete’s underwater beauty and its dive sites. Our goal is to reveal the excitement and adventures of the underwater world and to provide you with high quality dives, in the same way that we would like to experience them ourselves.
Read more
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelers talk about

Evelin Dive Center
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
219Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 194
  • 14
  • 7
  • 2
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dave wrote a review Aug 5
2 contributions
It was a wonderfull experience to dive in the sea. The price for what you get is also good. They give a lot of instructions before you go diving and there on point to helping. I really recomment diving here!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ian L wrote a review Aug 1
3 contributions2 helpful votes
I’m a diver of 40 years experience and just had to dive Elephant Cave after hearing about it from the crew at Lepia Dive Centre in Rhodes. They had recommended Evelin Divers and they didn’t disappoint. Our skipper and dive master George was great and together with crew Laura, ensured that my teenage daughter and I had a great day. The centre is very welcoming and helpful, most important when you’re on holidays, and very relaxed while still getting the job done. An excellent dive centre with a proper Greek feel!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
stellacavanagh wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Lovely team of divers, really friendly and helped calm my nerves. Transfers were included in the price which we thought was great. Only negative is that we never received the photos from the diving experience. I have emailed about the photos but received no reply. A bit disappointing.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from dimitrism957, Owner at Evelin Dive Center
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Stella, thank you for taking the time & leaving a review :) Please send us another email about the pictures so we can resend them. Apologies for the delay, sometimes the emails land in the spam folder etc. Have a great day, Evelin dive center team
Read more
andreasc wrote a review Jul 2022
Athens, Greece30 contributions40 helpful votes
I went Scuba diving with my two teenager sons in July 2022. The activity base is just outside Georgioupolis, Crete, and a short walking distance to the beach. Pros: friendly, approachable and knowledgeable instructors. Wide selection of wetsuits both short and long sleeved. Cons: The beach dive point was nothing noteworthy. We were given a start time of 2pm and we waited for an hour until 3pm when someone took care of us - and the dive started at 4pm. The place was incredibly busy, with about 50 divers waiting to set off and scrambling to find a spare seat to spare themselves from the scorching sun. I was also disappointed that they never mentioned they didn’t take cards, and so I had to drive back to the nearby village to get cash.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from dimitrism957, Owner at Evelin Dive Center
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Andreas, thank you for taking the time & leaving a review. We appreciate both good & not so good reviews, as it helps us improve & become better. As for the 1 hour waiting time i can only apologize. It is very hard to be on time when its about customers, as sometimes the 1st group divers from the beginners need more time until they feel ready to start their dive and we don't like to push people & give them their space/time which can lead to delays on the second groups. It would be also appreciated if you would mention that from 3-4pm you were giving a clear briefing/ explanation about what we are going to do & safety guidelines before starting the dive. The place is busy only for a very short period of time, when the morning groups meet the afternoon groups. Once the morning divers are driven back to their hotels, peace & quite is again for the afternoon groups at the dive center :). As for the uninspiring undersea landscape, we are in Greece, the Mediterranean sea, if you are looking for corals & tropical underwater sea life, perhaps you should visit tropical countries :) For us as passionate scuba divers & for hundreds of other divers, as you can see on most of our reviews, the kalivaki beach is just the perfect spot for beginners. I truly believe the motivation every human has inside is what he sees. Some people can be given a rose & they will only see the thorns... As for the card payment, we do accept card payment, most likely we had internet issues on that day, thats why you had to go to the village & bring cash, apologies for this inconvenience caused. thank you again for leaving a review & have a nice day, Evelin dive center team :)
Read more
notphaedaway wrote a review Jul 2022
san francisco14 contributions16 helpful votes
I did two dives with Evelin Dive Center a few days ago. It was quite possibly the most fun I’ve had during my two week trip to Greece! I was lucky to get a spot on one of their 2 boats going to the Elephant Cave. They cater to all levels of divers & can hold briefings in at least 4 languages! Greek, English, German & French. They provide door to door service from your hotel to their dive shop. Once there, I was fully outfitted for my day of diving & then got on one of their boats a minute drive away from base. The groups are small with a total of 5-6 divers & 2-3 crew for each boat. Which includes an instructor & a dive master. We boated out to the dive site & there we were fully briefed on our dives. The crew were professional, knowledgeable, friendly & fun! They gave us all plenty of time to ask questions & address any concerns. We did a deep dive first where I saw multiple kinds of fish, including a few Lion Fish. The highlight however is the Elephant Cave, the second shallower dive. We took our required break back on the boat first. We were provided cold bottled water, fruit & other yummy snacks. Plenty to keep you fueled up for the afternoon. (Feel free to bring your own lunch if you need). This was my first cave dive & it was magnificent! Flashlights/torches were provided for each of us. This is a must do dive if you are in Crete. Even though most of us do not go to Greece to dive… this is a must see!…..it is truly spectacular! Once in the cave, our guide gave us more history on the cave. Photos were taken of the group & individually & will be posted on their Facebook site in a few days (for free!!!) We returned to the dive center all very happy! Thank you all for a fantastic unforgettable day of diving!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456