The Gallery Bar

The Gallery Bar, Castle Cary: Hours, Address, The Gallery Bar Reviews: 4.5/5

The Gallery Bar
4.5
Bars & Clubs • Jazz Bars
Read more
Friday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Write a review
About
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
53 reviews
Excellent
36
Very good
9
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
5

newreporter
Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire27 contributions
Couples
Visiting Castle Cary to do the 'touristy thing' on a very cold Wednesday in January, we were in desperate need of sustenance come lunch time so we decided to try the Gallery Bar (for no other reason than it was right there in front of us and looked a good place to visit from the outside).

We are so glad we called in. The very friendly owners (Sam & Sally) took time out to show us around their fab business (the cellar bar/dining area is just superb) and we then enjoyed a really lovely, very reasonably priced, light lunch.

Highly recommended. If we lived closer to Castle Cary, I could see us being 'regulars' at The Gallery Bar but we'll just have to make do with the occasional, future visit on a weekend evening to enjoy a pizza, some beer and the live music.
Written January 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Fleur
Exeter47 contributions
Couples
Castle Cary is a great town with masses to see, shop and do. However, it is a little short on quality places to eat and drink during the day and in the evening. The Gallery Bar, however, is definitely worth a visit. Stylish and comfortable, welcoming ambience,(neutral colours, mismatched vintage furniture, natural flooring and artwork dotted about), and friendly service.
It's a great place for watching the bustle of Castle Cary.

The daytime food offer is relatively new and a little disorganised. On each of our visits several menu items on a limited menu are not available and "deliveries are awaited". Consistency is an issue with the same menu item appearing in a different guise on different days. Worst experience was a Ploughmans with a tablespoonful of ham shreds and roast cherry tomatoes that were unripe. However, excellent choice of wine by the glass, soft drinks and tea and coffee as well as generally excellent and delicious food make this the best place to go during the day for miles.

Written February 13, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Gary M
Castle Cary, UK26 contributions
Fine dining comes to Castle Cary, we had the Chefs table experience & observed the Chef cooking all eight courses, very special evening that we will be repeating
Written November 11, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Emma Fielding
34 contributions
Friends
I just wanted to add another review to follow on from Francesca’s below, in particular to your absolutely disgusting response to her comment. Let me just clarify a few things on this after a truly disgusting service from you all:

We went to pay for our bill, which as Fran said took over an hour in end because you were too busy drinking wine with your mates. We had to ask 3 times for the bill and when it came it was wrong. The bar man argued this with us but we stated clearly that there was no way it was our bill as we had not ordered any desserts - because we were never once offered any by your waiting staff, who I’ll get to. When we discussed the bill, your partner actually got to the point of throwing his hands up on the air saying ‘just leave then, don’t pay’ to which you the manager argued saying ‘come on Sam don’t be like that’ I myself then discussed this with you and I said that of course we wanted to pay as our pizzas were very nice but we want to pay for what we ate and what we ate only and we wanted some compensation for the service we received. If you ask any one else at that bar, they all heard this conversation as the music actually stopped when it was being discussed so everyone heard. We then agreed with Sam to pay for our pizzas, not including the wrong ones, and we all paid for our meals individually. Whilst I was paying for mine Sam even apologised for his behaviour and said he would be taking to his service team and putting training in place and I said that would be great as our food was lovely but the service was just appalling and completely ruined our evening and our friends birthday celebrations. So I think you’ll find this was resolved. We will absolutely not be coming back and absolutely will not be pay you any more money that’s for sure!

The chillies / cheese matter... This is a joke surely! We explicitly said No Chillies due to an allergy twice! Our friend asked if it was possible to do one without as she enjoyed the other toppings on that pizza. We were told this wouldn’t be a problem. Turned out it was a massive problem to simply NOT sprinkle a handful of chillies on a pizza..... Yes we did enjoy them we told you that, that’s why we didn’t want to not pay for them. However another ridiculous element was our starters being brought out 40 minutes after our pizzas - literally laughable - didn’t enjoy them at all as by then we had filled up on pizza!

On the matter of an 'outstanding bill'... Absolutely not, there is no outstanding bill for us to pay. We all paid for our pizzas and drink as agreed with Sam and you the manager.

I am so disgusted with your response to Fran’s review, especially as how when we left, both you and Sam apologised to me personally and said how disappointed you felt and how you really hoped we would come back again. Oh but then, as I walked by and you didn’t think I could hear, you said to your waiting staff (the one who messed up and answered us back and the one who you told to the whole pub had problems at home and that was no excuse for his service to us) that he did his best and that we were f’ing difficult customers... yes I heard that....

I honestly felt sorry for you at one point as I felt like it was probably a difficult evening for you as a manager to witness and just you felt like you had let yourselves down so I was very sympathetic to this and offered you a calm and diplomatic discussion. However reading your response to Fran has made me incredibly angry and I feel no remorse now. A good manager would except that service that night was poor both to our face there and then and equally in a review online.
Written October 23, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Francesca P
2 contributions
Friends
Do not bother going with a large group to this 'restaurant.' The staff are rude. We had plenty of issues, the first of which being the starter coming out 40 mins after the main course, not to mention them putting the wrong toppings on a pizza 3 times after explaining an allergy. On top of this, the waiters had no idea what the dishes were, when asked their response was 'I don't know I was handed the plate, I didn't make it.' We were left unattended for over an hour after our main, with no one coming to check on the food, if we wanted any drinks and at no point were we offered desserts, despite us all wanting one. When we tried to pay the bill, we had to wait for 40 minutes before even receiving it despite requesting it directly to the owner. Just to top it off, they gave us the wrong bill, yet argued that it was the right one, it had desserts on it, which we were not even offered. When we went to discuss the bill with the owner she was far too busy with her friends drinking wine.. we were met with a disgusting amount of attitude from all of the staff, with very little apology from anyone. It was awful. They were arguing over the bar with us in front of the whole restaurant!! So embarrassing. After eventually apologising to us for the evening, blaming the service on her staffs homelife (yes really) the owner was later overhead saying to the staff that they or we, were difficult customers! We have never had an issue in a group before. If it was going to an issue accommodating a large party they should never have agreed to the booking. Do not go unless you are going on your own when they can give you the time of day....
Written September 24, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sally B London Dear Francesca, I'm very sorry that you felt this way, but in a way we were very much hoping you'd contact us as there was a great amount outstanding on your bill (despite us recompensing you for the mistake on the pizza) owing to well over £100 which for an independent business was very upsetting for us. We do hope that you'll speak to your friend about this who was kind enough to come around and offer this. We are very sorry you were so disappointed with the Gallery Bar as we have never had a complaint before as you can see from all the other reviews. I know that a member of staff misheard 'no chillies' for 'no cheese' and this caused some confusion in the kitchen but we were never informed of an allergy to chillies. We only offer one pizza on the menu with chillies and so why they would order this pizza when they had that allergy we are confused. There were three pizzas with chillies made in your big group under the same order when this was brought up as a mistake, and so as a good will gesture we took all of these off the bill even so we did think you enjoyed them as they were certainly all eaten!!! If you would be kind enough to call us re the outstanding bill we would be very happy to discuss this further.
Written October 8, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

shekayd
Wells, UK1 contribution
Couples
We shall not be going here again. We couldn't sit in the front room where it was warm as for only one very large table being available the others were taken up with what looked like folk that had settled in for the day. Our only choice was to sit in the back room which was cold and dull. 0ur table had not been cleaned properly there being a used serviette on the table from the previous occupants. Our bacon baps came on a large plate with nothing more than that, no garnish which would have helped and the bottom of the bap was tough; we were asked if we'd like sauce only to find that it had already been put on for us. We had a pot of tea with our baps and it would have been nice to have been asked if we would like a top up!!
Written January 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Rachel1994
Boughton Monchelsea, UK14 contributions
Couples
Came to Castle Cary for a romantic weekend with my boyfriend and after several lovely ‘pub grub’ type meals, we fancied something a bit different for our final evening meal.

We hadn’t booked so expected to wait. Asked whether they had a table and Jane (Bartender) said no whilst her colleague said they could find one for us. We said we could wait at the bar and have a drink until a table became available and Jane again said ‘well I’m making 8 cocktails so you’ll have to wait’. Her colleague (think her name was Mollie?) said that she would make drinks for us.

We were pre warned that a table wouldn’t be ready until 8.15 ‘8.30 at the latest’ - this was at 7.50pm. At 8.35pm we’d had no update or offer of a table even though there were several empty tables and we were sat at the bar so the staff couldn’t easily forget we were waiting.

We asked to order our food and then at 8.50pm asked if we could move from the uncomfortable bar stools to a free table.

We then waited another 15 minutes and our food came out. The food was good. My boyfriends calzone was really tasty. My pizza was decent but I asked for extra salami which didn’t materialise. Small issue but on top of the overall poor customer service was quite annoying.

We weren’t asked whether our food was alright or if we wanted anything else.

We went up to the bar to pay our bill and were charged £63 which seemed high considering we’d had two drinks each and 2 pizzas. Luckily my boyfriend asked for an itemised receipt and we saw they’d charged us for a bottle of Prosecco when we’d only had one glass. We raised this and the manager came and refunded the extra we’d paid. He didn’t apologise for the error which I thought was rude.

I am anticipating the sarcastic and defensive response to this review from the owners, given their response to other reviews. I’d just like to point out that if these issues are recurring it’s clearly an issue and that most of your staff are great and clearly trying their best. It’s a shame that some are clearly either out of their depth or just not trained in customer service.

Food and venue are great but service hugely lets it down.
Written February 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

willrogerson
Skipton, UK1 contribution
Friends
I’m no stranger to this underground cellar bar and Pizza restraunt. I had not been for over a year but heard “David Lunes” was playing, so I called to find out the exact night and time he was due to play. Unfortunately the staff didn’t know and told me they had never heard of him. I ordered a bottled beer only to find it out of date by several months. When I mentioned this to the chap behind the bar he just shrugged his shoulder. His response was not what I expect from a venue I used to value. The barman was nothing but rude and unhelpful, not to mention drunk or drugged. I think a new staff member is needed.
Written October 22, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Will- Sam here, manager/owner of The Gallery Bar. You have known me for around five years now and the only reason you have written this review is because we had a minor disagreement in The George Hotel and it seems that I have evidently made you feel silly, for which I'm sorry. Re the musician David "Lunes" you speak of the reason no one had heard of him was because his name is David 9 LUNAS and you are more than welcome to ask any one of the thirty to forty people who were in the bar on Friday 19th October that it was a great show as always, as he is a regular performer. When you say you hadn't been in over a year I find that peculiar as myself and any of my staff and regulars will dispute this as you are in regularly in your normal position at Ralph's end of the bar... strange. Yes there was some bottles of ale that where out of date but as you say you ordered it and drank it then ordered another and drank it then asked me for a discount because they were out of date to which I actually offered you a refund but you wouldn't accept it. Your choice. I then disposed of the remaining out of date ales. Drunk or drugged is a funny way to describe our conversation we had about ales from your native area in Yorkshire then parting on good terms. If you had come to me and told me you were upset with the way I spoke to you in The George Hotel I would have happily obliged you, and, offered you some drinks on me when you next visited- Instead you go down the route of what some might say borders on slander. Anyhow I hope you don't bare a grudge and I would be happy to see you in The Gallery Bar again.
Written November 2, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

paws4judy
Bruton, UK39 contributions
Friends
I went for supper with a girlfriend- I had booked a table - the staff didn't appear to have a note of the booking and although it was 8 in the evening asked us to sit in room with a tea party of noisy children; then they offered us a table downstairs but that was taken by the time we got there; eventually seated we waited some time for our main courses; we had to remind the staff three times we wanted to order deserts and then no one came with a bill; my friend had wanted to pay by card but fortunately I had cash so I pushed my way through the bar crowded with inebriated people to give the money to a bar person. Added to that we were at one stage approached by some one who had clearly had too much to drink - I live locally and eat out a lot - I have never been anywhere so utterly shambolic . Such a shame as the pizza was great
Written November 18, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm so sorry to read this and that you had such a bad experience as I have now got to the bottom of the problem. The booking was made by your friend for the Friday night rather than for Saturday and this was written in the book. I checked with the member of staff who took the booking and she double checked with your friend several times that it was for that night (the booking was made on Friday). Nevertheless we went out of our way to accommodate you on a very busy night and went to every effort including moving an entire family from their table into another room. At the time you did seem to be having a nice time and you did mention how good the food was several times so that's great. Any way we do hope that you understand If bookings are made on the wrong date then it is hard for us particularly as we explained it was the first night with a new menu.
Written November 23, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Brett N
Castle Cary, UK8 contributions
Friends
Great place, quirky basement bar. Staff are 10 out of 10. Great value. Love the place. We take friends and family and are treated fabulously well. Thanks
Written February 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 53
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Gallery Bar

The Gallery Bar is open:
  • Fri - Sat 10:00 AM - 11:30 PM


Restaurants near The Gallery Bar: View all restaurants near The Gallery Bar on Tripadvisor