We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gallery Bar

Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Review Highlights
Great restaurant/bar - good food and friendly staff

My husband and I visited a couple of weeks ago. It was our first visit to The Gallery Bar and as it... read more

Reviewed February 27, 2019
ZoeG208
,
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Customer service

Hi Rachel, Jane here. Thank you for your very personal review of my customer service skills... read more

Reviewed February 23, 2019
820jp
,
Yeovil, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 51 reviews
All photos (15)
All photos (15)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“gallery bar”(10 reviews)
“cocktails”(7 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
53°
37°
Apr
59°
43°
May
63°
48°
Jun
Contact
The Old Bank House High Street | High Street, Castle Cary BA7 7AW, England
Website
+44 7901 671495
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
34
9
2
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
34
9
2
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooked to perfection gallery bar cocktails jane treasure somerset
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 51 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I visited a couple of weeks ago. It was our first visit to The Gallery Bar and as it was the weekend of Valentine's Day we thought it best to book in advance, and I am glad we did as they were...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank ZoeG208
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

Hi Rachel, Jane here. Thank you for your very personal review of my customer service skills, however I feel I must address some of the key issues you raised against me as I have a somewhat differing view of events and feel it has been...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 820jp
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

Came to Castle Cary for a romantic weekend with my boyfriend and after several lovely ‘pub grub’ type meals, we fancied something a bit different for our final evening meal. We hadn’t booked so expected to wait. Asked whether they had a table and Jane...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Rachel1994
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

Great place, quirky basement bar. Staff are 10 out of 10. Great value. Love the place. We take friends and family and are treated fabulously well. Thanks

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank 784brettn
Reviewed December 5, 2018

After only recently moving to Castle Cary and with a large group of friends about to descend on us to help celebrate my 40th Birthday, I needed somewhere we could go to in walking distance and with only a couple of weeks notice. I had...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Hafod W
Reviewed November 18, 2018

Yes I'd admit we only live a stones throw away but it's one of those places you keep going back, yes there are the odd little hic up but nothing to worry about, you get good food a mixture of music and good company, the...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Robert K
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

I’m no stranger to this underground cellar bar and Pizza restraunt. I had not been for over a year but heard “David Lunes” was playing, so I called to find out the exact night and time he was due to play. Unfortunately the staff didn’t...More

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank willrogerson
bunny24, Owner at The Gallery Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Hi Will- Sam here, manager/owner of The Gallery Bar. You have known me for around five years now and the only reason you have written this review is because we had a minor disagreement in The George Hotel and it seems that I have evidently...More

Reviewed October 6, 2018

Had dinner here recently with my partner. The restaurant is downstairs in what looks like a converted cellar so very atmospheric - was recommended to us by some locals in The George pub so was expecting it to be really busy on a Friday night...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank RichSutton
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

This is literally my 2nd favourite place to eat and we drive 25 mins to get there. Food is amazing, atmosphere is cool and edgy. Service is lovely.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank davidanthony420
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Myself & my partner have been here a couple of times now and both times it's been amazing. Food is sooo good, atmosphere has been great and the staff have been so friendly! Can't wait to come back. :-)

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank curlywurly55
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
George Hotel
233 reviews
.05 miles away
Horse Pond Inn
17 reviews
.15 miles away
Travelodge Wincanton
400 reviews
4.97 miles away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
1,313 reviews
6.53 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
The Bay Tree
109 reviews
.52 miles away
The Bakehouse
96 reviews
.00 miles away
Home Castle Cary
52 reviews
.02 miles away
Levant Restaurant
98 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 13 nearby attractions
Needful Things Interiors & Gifts
10 reviews
.02 miles away
Bailey Hill Book shop
10 reviews
.09 miles away
The Market House
9 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sally B
Dear Francesca, We were very much hoping you'd contact us as there was a great amount outstanding on your bill despite us recompensing you, owing to over £100. We do hope that you'll speak to your friend about this that was kind enough to come around and offer this. We were so sorry you were so disappointed with the Gallery Bar. I know that a member of staff misheard 'no chillis' for 'no cheese' and this caused some confusion in the kitchen but we were never informed of an allergy to chillis. We only offer one pizza on the menu with chillies and so why they would order this pizza when they had that allergy we are confused. There were three pizzas with chilies made in your big group under the same order when this was brought up as a mistake, and so as a good will gesture we took all of these off the bill amounting to a considerable amount even so we did think you enjoyed them as they were certainly all eaten!
October 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from francescapP3774GI | Reviewed this property |
Are you having a laugh? We insisted that we paid for the dishes we ate, but were refusing to pay for the items such as the banoffee pies and other desserts on our bill (which we wanted but were never offered to us because... More
2
Votes