Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku

Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku, Shibuya: Hours, Address, Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku Reviews: 4/5

Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku

Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku
4
Lessons & Workshops • Playgrounds • Game & Entertainment Centers
Read more
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Write a review
About
You can play with real owls!! The staffs will introduce the owl and explain how to touch! Staff are always with you for safety each other. So you can touch owls with relax.
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
There are countless opportunities to shop in the Shibuya and Harajuku districts, especially in shops that focus on Japan's "Kawaii" culture. The trendiest areas are around Shibuya’s Center district, Harajuku's Takeshita-dori and in Omotesando. If you need to recharge from all the shopping, you can easily refresh yourself in Meiji Jingu or Sasaki Park. In contrast, Ebisu has a more grown up ambiance of calm and cool. At the Museum of Yebisu Beer you can learn about the beer that was responsible for the town’s name, and enjoy dining at the popular noodle shops in the surrounding area.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
188 reviews
Excellent
106
Very good
40
Average
28
Poor
4
Terrible
10

Gina Seh
Singapore, Singapore1,868 contributions
Dec 2019 • Family
Interesting experience and very cool to be able to see the owls up close.
It is not much of a cafe; you get tickets to go in and you are entitled to get a free drink from the vending machine or a free ice cream. You can then sit around with the many different kind of owls beside you.
Overall, a good experience especially if you have never seen owls before.
Written February 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your comment. We do not have vending machines, so you will have visited another store. If you have time, please visit our shop next time. 16 unique owls are waiting for you. Please enjoy a drink slowly at your seat.
Written March 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

eryceyl
Longmont13 contributions
Jan 2020
We had a memorable time visiting the Owl Cafe and Village in Harajuku. While we have some reservations about these wild animals being kept in captivity, the staff seem to really love and take good care of them. We loved being able to pet and hold the owls, and to watch them interact with one another. We'll be telling stories and sharing photos for years to come.
Written January 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for visiting us. We are glad you love the owl. We want more people to know the greatness of owls. We strive to make our owls live in a better environment. Please come to play again. Thank you.
Written January 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

WorldWideEyesNow1
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan2 contributions
May 2017 • Business
I traveled all the way to Tokyo, to show my pet mouse an enjoyable time. Thought he would feel closer to nature by coming to visit the owl bar.

Big mistake! Owls like mice. Like, way too much.

Suffice to say, I left my mouse in Tokyo.
Written September 27, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lynn W
8 contributions
Apr 2016 • Friends
This place is more like a petting zoo as you have a drink in one room and visit the birds in another. They look well cared for but to be stuck in a room 4 flights up never feeling fresh air seems real cruel to me. Didnt like it at all.
Written April 19, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

283darrenj
Paris, France1 contribution
Dec 2016 • Solo
I bought a ticket to go Owl cafe in harajuku.
They cost me 1,500 JPY and it was a very small Owl cafe with just 5~6 owls.
if you go straight down to harajuku street, you can find a much better owl cafe with 7~800 JPY.
Never visit for Owl cafe
Written December 19, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rob P
New York City, NY6 contributions
Apr 2018 • Couples
If you are trying to locate this dump walk 10 secs. down the alley to the right of the building and you will see an elevator located on your left. This garbage business is located on the third or fourth floor.

Cafe? Bar? Village? None of those words apply to this place. This establishment is literally in a small studio apartment.

When you first arrive everyone will sit on the ground around a table and have a drink. Then you will get up and take two steps into where the owls are located and kept tied to a branch.

You will find many cafes like this mostly located in Harajuku and Akihabara. The psychology behind why people support these places and find them interesting will forever be quite sad.

Cafes like this have absolutely nothing to do with Japanese culture. If you want to experience a unique cafe, go to one of the themed cafes where the servers are dressed in cosplay.
Written April 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello. Thanks for coming. Thank you for your valuable opinion. The owl is a family of staff, so we will improve the environment. But they are not always connected. They go down to the floor and play freely, and go to the park for training. Please come and see those owls if you have a chance. Thank you Owl Village Harajuku
Written April 20, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CKM
Cancun, Mexico37 contributions
Apr 2018 • Friends
This place is sad. We walked in thinking it was an interesting concept, and left soon after. The owls are roped to their branches and look distressed - avoiding all contact with people. Yes, you can pet them, but it’s clear they aren’t happy. They have their wings clipped and are the most depressed animals you’ve seen in your life. When we asked, the staff claimed the owls get to fly around inside when the cafe is closed and they “take them to the park.” Considering their wings are obviously clippped, this was untrue. Even if it was true, owls need much more open space then flying around inside a tiny room. They also claimed the owls got breaks each hour. As we waited for our spot in line, they never switched them out - so another lie. Once we saw these animals being mistreated, we left, and will opt for the well-reviewed rescue dog cafe. I would not advise supporting a cafe like this if you care about animals.
Written April 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello. Thank you for coming. Thank you for your precious opinion. We have a break time for relieving stress of owls and go for a walk in the park on the morning of a warm day. Our owls are not cutting feathers, so we can fly freely. I would like to continue to operate in the future with reference to precious opinions. Thank you, Owl Village Harajuku
Written April 9, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

cgr566
Boca Raton, FL38 contributions
Jul 2016 • Friends
The staff clearly love the owls, but they are cooped up in a tiny bright room all day. They are nocturnal creatures to begin with. I'm not sure if the Owls get a day off or swapped out with other Owls. Overall they look healthy. I just feel bad for them.
Written July 5, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kate M
2 contributions
Nov 2019
This place should be shut down! The owls are essentially chained up in a prison and are so sad. They are stuck in a small windowless room with terrible ventilation.
Written December 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perhaps you are writing about another shop. Our store has large windows, and owls can play on the floor and fly freely. On a sunny day, they go for a walk to Yoyogi Park. There are three owl cafes in Harajuku, please come to our store next time.
Written December 14, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mooliday
Melbourne, Australia1,392 contributions
Jan 2017 • Couples
My appointment was 11am but there were customers queuing in front of us without appointment. They were disappointed and left unwillingly.

* Tips: To avoid disappointment, please make sure you spend a few minutes on their website to make reservation.

We were given drinks (inclusive in the package) at the cafe for approx 20mins before entering the Owls area for approx 30mins.

There were 7-8 of them with different species from different countries, Bob was the biggest 1.8kg - Eurasian Eagle Owl. The staffs were cautious and made sure we disinfect our hands before entering the Owls area. Clear instructions were given before we enter the area and the staff explained again of how to pet the owls while the friendly staff was there monitoring small groups of customers. There were only 4 of us there and absolutely well behaved by petting Owls carefully and quietly while taking photos with flash OFF. Didn't expect the feathers were so soft and found them all with unique characters. Memorable experience!

The staff was friendly to answer any questions we raised, very informative. It was great to see them taking care of the Owls so well.

Note: You will be denied entry if you are sick such as cold/ flu, they are very strict to protect Owls.
Written February 8, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 165
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku

Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku is open:
  • Sun - Sat 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 1 Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku tours on Tripadvisor


Restaurants near Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku: View all restaurants near Owl Cafe & Bar Owl Village, Harajuku on Tripadvisor