We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spinnaker Bar and Restaurant

74 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

The Spinnaker Bar and Restaurant

74 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Dunmore East
from $19.79
More Info
from $11.13
More Info
74Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 53
  • 13
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jo K wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
We have been visiting Dunmore East for short breaks for years as we love the area. We dined at the Spinnaker bar and restaurant in August 2020 For the first time and we were so looking forward to trying this restaurant Our meal was very unsatisfactory and we did not feel that our complaint was dealt with in a very customer friendly way. We were charged in full although the food was not eaten. We will not be back. We found the other restaurants in the area to be very good with great service and the food most enjoyable.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Nialled, Owner at The Spinnaker Bar and Restaurant
Responded Sep 1, 2020
Hi , thanks for you feedback You dined with us last Tuesday night August 25, you had our fish n chips and your wife our salmon croquettes starter . Your wife very much enjoyed her starter as per her own admittance. After you finished you meal , when it was being cleared by Marriane, you stated the fish wasn’t great , we apologised and asked what was actually wrong , you repeated , the fish wasn’t great . Our floor supervisor Sarah some minutes later approach you to enquire as to the exact problem with your meal , again all could say was the ( fish wasn’t great )... you were unable to tell us what exactly your issue was . To this avail I decided not to remove the price of your fish n chip from your bill , as in fairness you had eaten all of it , and you were unable to offer and other information apart from ( the fish wasn’t great ) , no other comments like , texture , fish type , batter , seasoning, size , were forthcoming. I congratulate you on your first trip advisor review. It certainly goes against the norm for the spinnaker . Sorry if we failed you , and we do hope you will return Kind regards Team spinnaker
Read more
Paul L'Estrange wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Had a family Communion party in the Spinnaker in Dunmore East. I wouldn't normally write a review but in fairness the food, location, service and price were top notch. We had a brilliant day with no complaints at all and would recommend the restaurant to anyone!! Well done to Niall and team. Thank you very much for the great day.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Satara wrote a review Jul 2020
Waterford, Ireland19 contributions30 helpful votes
We went to Spinnaker for a dinner for our first date since Lockdown. Niall and his team had the place sorted with appropriate measures in place to ensure safety. The Resturaunt was clean , service was first class and the food was delicious. Niall and his team run a fantastic Resturaunt. We go regularly and have never had a disappointing night.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Nuknuk67 wrote a review Jul 2020
Kilkenny, Ireland17 contributions11 helpful votes
Our first Dinner out in months with the Spinnaker as our first choice. We were excited to have the Halibut which was cooked to perfection and was the star of the dish deservedly so as it was superb. The service as always was friendly and professional and we both felt safe and comfortable. Great to see this eatery is back and at the top of their game with exceptional cuisine and that old familiar lovely atmosphere.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
IreneM03 wrote a review Jul 2020
Dublin, Ireland9 contributions10 helpful votes
Yes, I was very disappointed with this restaurant as I had great things about it but went for dinner with two other adults and seven young adults. We had two tables and the waitress was working both tables. She encourages the teenagers to purchase the large chicken wings as a starter- 16.95 euros each ! And then she gave one of the younger kids the adult fish & chips which he started to eat. About 2/3 mins later she realised her mistake and took the dish off him and gave the ‘eaten dish to the adult’ no apology. When the dish was sent back as had being eaten by someone else, we were told that the child didn’t touch it which was untrue. The replacement fish & chips were awful. So in summary a very bad experience and we won’t be back. Sorry but can’t recommend this restaurant. Poor service & no management in place to deal with issues.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Nialled, Owner at The Spinnaker Bar and Restaurant
Responded Jul 18, 2020
Hi , it was me , Niall the owner that delt with you. You complained that your son who was given your full fish n chips instead or his mini fish n chip , your son did take a bite of it , before realising our mistake , yes we did pass your plate over to you from your son , we all were a little amazed you insisted on a new replacement dish. Regarding chicken wings , it was fully explained to you , you ordered 3 large wings to share between 7 kids ... all prices are clearly stated on our menus . We did apologise to you when you walked up carrying the plate to return it to us . We made a small mistake , we apologised, your tables were checked twice , all plates clean . Fiinally it was Sarah who is within our employment for some years now , and is very experienced when dealing with challengeing situations. We do hope to see you back soon , and look forward to making amends . Apologies again Kind regards Niall
Read more
Previous