We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cotswold Woollen Weavers

Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Just off the Burford Road - a hidden Gem

We visited out of curiosity and having passed the road end a number of times. The quality of the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
_robert_haining
,
Lechlade, United Kingdom
A very interesting shop with good quality woollen items for sale and the little coffee shop sells home made produce with

If you are travelling around the Cotswolds. then this place is well worth a visit and for younger... read more

Reviewed September 8, 2018
Margaret W
Read all 67 reviews
27
All photos (27)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“coffee shop”(7 reviews)
“for sale”(6 reviews)
“sandwiches”(3 reviews)
About
A surprising adventure... With wool! The unexpected pleasures of the rich heritage of Cotswold sheep, wool, weaving, and cloth. Explore and buy genuine Cotswold-designed woollen cloth, garments and accessories. Interiors and art galleries, rug...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
| Filkins, Lechlade GL7 3JJ, England
Website
+44 1367 860660
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
45
13
2
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
45
13
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee shop for sale sandwiches home made local history pleasant couple of hours interesting place stone mason quality products wonderful museum wool museum lovely things worth a visit lovely place take home clothes blankets
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited out of curiosity and having passed the road end a number of times. The quality of the goods on sales is exceptional and a fair bit of history around the place. Make sure you visit the stone mason and you may see something...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank _robert_haining
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

we called to have lunch and visit the Woollen Mill. Very disappointed in the cafe. The lady who served us was obviously having a bad day and couldn’t have been more unwelcoming. She wrote our order down - two sandwiches and a pate with toast....More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Ritawasscott
FilkinsRM, griefstricken at Cotswold Woollen Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Well lordy lordy! Here's a puzzler! I have eaten most days in our coffeeshop for 36 years, and I never met a 'grumpy lady', not among the visitors let alone among the staff. I couldn't tolerate such a barren stick, for it would put me...More

Reviewed September 8, 2018

If you are travelling around the Cotswolds. then this place is well worth a visit and for younger visitors , the museum gives a good indication of how cloth was made in times past

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Margaret W
FilkinsRM, chap in the museum at Cotswold Woollen Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Short and sweet, but a v welcome review. Do call again...

Reviewed September 7, 2018

Took a disabled friend to visit, having been assured that it was wheelchair friendly The pathway to the main door was smooth but when we got to the main door there were two although very small steps it was very difficult to get the wheelchair...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sue L
FilkinsRM, always willing to help at Cotswold Woollen Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Oh I say, Sue L, this is hard! Over the 35 years we have been in Filkins, we have had many 100s of visitors in wheelchairs, some of them have come regularly for years. As they know, apart from an upper floor which is only...More

Reviewed August 23, 2018

Nice cozy place with products displayed among tool and stuff related to the production, you will need some time to walk through the many different rooms, after this I am sure you will find a plaid or some wool clothes you will bring home as...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kjeld N
FilkinsRM, room arranger at Cotswold Woollen Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

We like very much your description of Cotswold Woollen Weavers as 'many different rooms'... For this is exactly what we are aiming at: many different rooms, some in our buildings and some outside. All interlocking, but all with slightly different themes and content. Thank you...More

Reviewed August 23, 2018

Didn't;t want the dog in the coffee shop, didn't;t allow into the main building, and were quite rude about it.More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Robin J
FilkinsRM, somewhat taken aback at Cotswold Woollen Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

You are quite right that we do not like dogs in our coffee shops, because so many of our customers do not like them there either. And no, we do not like them in our shop, again because so many of our customers don't either....More

Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

Interesting history and artefacts regarding the wool industry, excellent shop - with a wide range of good quality wool, sheepskin and leather products (mostly reasonably priced). Well worth calling, also a nice tea shop on site.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank katecL2626IO
FilkinsRM, happy chap at Cotswold Woollen Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

... And very pleased that you enjoyed what we offered, Kat C. Nothing like an interesting visit... And a nice cup of tea!

Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Or morning...situated in a lovely Cotswold village, lots of parking and a cute cafe too. Lots to see...Simon the stone carver was very friendly and informative and some of his commissions in view too. The museum is good and the shop was a treasure trove...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Peterpanbabe
FilkinsRM, chief enchanter at Cotswold Woollen Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Many thanks, Peterpanbabe, for your lovely review... You capture exactly the magic we are trying to weave here at Cotswold Woollen Weavers.

Reviewed June 26, 2018

One thing you cannot miss in the Cotswold is the sheep.Take home more than the regular souvenir; something beautiful and functional made in the Cotswold and from local sheep. The Cotswold Woolen Weavers have been making quality products since Lord Nelson. Helpful staff members even...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Jennifer H
FilkinsRM, baa baa baa at Cotswold Woollen Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

You are absolutely right, Jennifer H... You can't miss the sheep, and the heritage of wool in the Cotswolds. Many thanks for coming, and choosing, and buying woollen throws from us. Your custom ( and review) is much appreciated.

Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

The cafe is very reasonably priced and the food is good quality. It's a nice place to browse, the clothes shop inside the old buildings with the original machines. Very attractive place and adds something special to the village

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Cotswoldtraveller92
FilkinsRM, reasonable, reasonable at Cotswold Woollen Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Many thanks, Cotswoldtraveller92, for liking us, and particularly for suggesting that we add to the village of Filkins. That is something dear to our hearts.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
382 reviews
4.52 miles away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
669 reviews
4.57 miles away
The Bull at Burford
666 reviews
4.85 miles away
Burford House
339 reviews
4.86 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 18 nearby restaurants
The Bell Inn
102 reviews
1.26 miles away
The Plough Inn
252 reviews
1.96 miles away
The Swan at Southrop
398 reviews
2.51 miles away
The Victoria Inn
102 reviews
2.60 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 15 nearby attractions
Dancing Trousers Cookery School
132 reviews
.45 miles away
Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens
3,295 reviews
2.47 miles away
Kilkenny Lane Country Park
20 reviews
3.53 miles away
Kelmscott Manor
337 reviews
3.54 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sue L
August 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from FilkinsRM | Property representative |
We are very happy to welcome travellers in wheelchairs, and there is a lift to the upper floor.
0
Votes
Sue L
August 21, 2018|
Answer
Response from Francis_de_C_123 | Reviewed this property |
Bits of it are. We struggled quite a bit but luckily partner has some mobility so we managed the rough bits. The shop part is ok and very nice if someone's looking for something special.
0
Votes