Ko Lipe Diving School
Scuba & Snorkelling
Read more
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
About
Ko Lipe Diving is a 5star PADI Dive Center located on the beautiful island of Ko Lipe. We offer daily fun dive day trips for certified divers, a full range of PADI courses from beginner to dive instructor, Discover Scuba Diving, and a wide range of specialties. Non-divers are welcome to join our daily trips for snorkeling or a cruise around the islands. We can also arrange private trips for couples, friends and families combining diving, snorkeling and island exploration. You can expect professional diving instruction and services in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our highly experienced, multilingual instructors are dedicated to your safety and enjoyment, both above and below the surface. With over 10 years of combined experience diving these waters, we offer unparalleled knowledge of the dive sites and marine life here, with our aim always being to give our customers the best experience possible.
Ko Lipe, Thailand
Features animals

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Ko Lipe Diving School
Travelers talk about
(27 reviews)
(24 reviews)
(15 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
447 reviews
Excellent
393
Very good
41
Average
7
Poor
3
Terrible
3

ccwtr1p5
Singapore, Singapore8 contributions
Jul 2022
I went Ko Lipe in July, during the low season period and I made an online booking with Ko Lipe Diving School for their 10 dives package. It was amazingly easy in terms of the arrangement on the dive trips. Fitting of dive gears was done a day prior at the dive shop, managed by a couple Monika and Louis. They are nice and friendly, always putting a bright smile to any customers.

For all my 10 dives, my dive master was Joy and she has been fantastic dive master. She tries her best to find all the critters around the dives sites for me to take good photos of seahorse, frogfish, dancing shrimps ...etc. She is knowledgeable in the waters around the area , assessing the currents and ensured that our dives are done safety. I am sure I was in good hands as we explored the corals and seabed. She helped to look out for sea urchins as I position myself to take good photos of critters which I am most appreciative of the effort as I am too engross in getting those photos. Needless to say, i am very much satisfied with Ko Lipe diving school and with Joy as my dive master.

Unfortunately as it was low season, a lot of dive sites were closed and most of my dives were focused at a portion of Ko Adang, at Ko Lek and Ko Talu. Nonetheless, it was good enough to have seen so many critters in this dive trip.
Written August 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

sjives
8 contributions
Feb 2022
My partner and I just finished 13 dives over 7 days with Koh Lipe Diving School. We did 10 fun dives and the PADI Deep Diver (40M/130ft) course with a great team of Instructors and Divemasters. English, French, Chinese, Japanese, Spanish all spoken here. Would highly recommend Eric and his team for your Koh Lipe diving choice - highly professional across the board, safety is paramount at each step of their operation and your experience. Friendly and fun, great boats and rental gear, and with a broad range of dive sites you are guaranteed a top notch experience here - not something guaranteed with all dive shops in Thailand. Highly recommended for both training and fun dives. Good lunch with fruit, drinks provided during boat excursions and the dive shop is well equipped with most gear you might need or have forgotten. Strongly recommended! We're returning soon :) Steve and Shiro
Written February 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

JJN29
Royal Tunbridge Wells, UK186 contributions
Feb 2020 • Solo
Prior to my dives with KLDS I used another company which was not a positive experience. KLDS restored my faith in the dive centre standards available for experienced certified divers.
In fact the overall review scores are testament to that. I completed one double dive which was well briefed and well led by the team, and safety standards actually exceeded my expectations.
Because the snorkelling options are so good in and around Ko Lipe, and because my wife doesn’t dive, I did not use KLDS again which is absolutely no reflection of them.
Written February 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

minniejynxx
Cologne, Germany8 contributions
Apr 2022 • Friends
We had a great time diving with KLD! The staff is super friendly and considerate to the needs of our experience levels. We were a group of four with beginners and more experienced divers alike. Some of us had up to 15 dives around Koh Lipe and each of us had a wonderful time!
Written April 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Chris A
36 contributions
Dec 2019 • Couples
What a fantastic dive shop! They are extremely welcoming & professional, Eric and David are a dream to deal with at the shop and all the instructors and dive masters are great and a real fun group. I ended up doing over 20 dives with Ko Lipe Divers and was sad to leave the dive shop more so than the island! They have 2 large dive boats so can offer 4-6 different dive sites a day which is pretty unique vs other dive shops on the island, also it allows them to split more advance divers and beginner divers, meaning they can take beginners to easier dives sites with less challenge conditions, whereas more advance divers can go to some deeper dive sites which might have more challenging currents.

They offer a really good lunch (which changes daily) for all morning dives and also fruit, tea, coffee and water. The boats are really comfortable and the crew is professional and really helpful.

I cannot recommend them highly enough, we did our research once we arrived on the island and these guys honesty stand out vs the rest!
Written January 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Enrico T
12 contributions
Dec 2019 • Couples
One of the best diving center of my scuba diving career! Professional (briefings are amazing!) and super friendly staff, excellent equipment at a very fair price.
My girlfriend and I made 5 fun dives and they were all amazing. Andrea is a very experienced instructor and trainer and his teaching made the dives even more interesting. All staff members are amazing and make you feel part of a diving family. Extremely recommended!

Centro di altissimo livello con istruttori preparatissimi e super amichevoli. Le uscite in barca sembrano giornate passate in famiglia.
Organizzazione e attrezzatura top. Veramente consigliato!
Written January 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ChiamSW
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia5 contributions
Totally utterly disappointing! I was there on 22nd and 23rd December 2014 for 4 fun dives. Firstly, the dive master who took the lead could even lost the divers behind him, i.e. he was going where about and when about he wanted without knowing if anyone was following behind him. Secondly, the group were like going through our very first open water dive, doing all the "been there done that" scuba experience. The worse part, four "been there done that" dives over two days. When we opted for fun diving at a new site, we expect to see the special things over there but in the end it was like an open water refresher course. It is too bad that I cannot rate zero stars in this comment. Two thumbs down is an understatement.
Written January 5, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Chiam, We are deeply sorry to hear that you have been disappointed by the decision taken by your dive group, Dive Buddy Team. We are truly astonished by your comment on the social media since while you were here you never expressed any un-satisfaction towards our operation or our staff. Actually the majority of your group seemed to be very pleased with the Ko Lipe Diving operation and with the instructors. I believe you even offered dinner to the staff. Let’s now get down to the facts and give you our point of view to your comments. You claim that the divemaster could even lose the divers behind him. Did he actually lose one? The answer would be NO. To attend to the special request of your group leaders, that was for all of you to dive together, we divided you in 2 groups of 6. Each group had 2 professional instructors (not divemaster like you say), one to lead the dive and another one to close the group making sure no one stayed behind and to prevent situations like the one you are mentioning. We find it interesting, your comments about our dive guide when our 2 instructors that dove with you, had several individual complains about you personally in the same matter. Apparently you were constantly swimming away from the group formation, going were and about you thought would be best. It was made clear on our briefing that you must follow your dive guide at all times and perhaps, by not doing so you got the sensation of being lost during your dive? You are not a dive professional and should not act like one. You should follow what you are told on the dive briefings, not challenge our professional dive instructors or interfere with the other divers by not letting them reply properly to the dive guide. Also the comments of a diver that harasses and damages the marine life don’t have much credibility to us. May we remind you that sea urchins are living creatures and shouldn’t be stabbed with your pointer? It’s a shame that the Dive Buddy Team group had to be given a moral lesson about marine life from Ko Lipe Diving Managers. Secondly you say that we treated your group like doing training dives of your Open Water course. We pride ourselves for running a safe operation. Taking your group to any place, other the ones we did, would have been putting yourselves and the Ko Lipe Diving operation in danger. The majority of the group, even if all AOW or higher, could not control their buoyancy (falling on top of the coral), do drift dives (constantly passing in front of the dive guide) or do a simple Safety stop (shooting to the surface). So perhaps, if you would like to do more challenging dive sites you should think twice about the group you are coming with. In general, we think that you were truly frustrated by the diving around Koh Lipe and decided to blame it on our operation. However I cannot see how we can be responsible for it, if the leaders of your group didn’t do their homework and brought you to a place during full moon where the visibility is more reduced, the currents are particular strong and with a group that didn’t meet the minimum safety requirements to dive anywhere else besides training dive sites. Your comment seems somehow bizarre and lacks any credibility. If you had something to complain you could have done it while you were here and not hidden behind the social media. We pride ourselves to be a serious, safe and professional dive operation, like you can see on our reviews and will continue to be for any years after. You and your group should thank us by having 2 days of diving where everyone returned safe and without any incidents. Have a good day!
Written January 11, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alan_fongkee
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia4 contributions
Nov 2015 • Couples
This is a place for holidays and holiday means having fun. If you are looking for underwater fun, look no further. No experience.....no worries. They will make you feel like a pro. Bring your own lunch if you know what I mean. All in all given an opportunity, I'll see them again.
Written November 12, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Oliver T
Hamburg, Germany18 contributions
Nov 2013 • Couples
After finishing my Open Water Diver license on Ko Lanta I did my first fun dives on Koh Lipe with Ko Lipe Diving. My rating is to be understood as an average of several factors. Part of the crew, especially Eric are really great, friendly and take care of you. Unfortunately my dive instructor on the boat was completely lost, I didn't feel save at all. He was new to the dive spots (which is ok, but he didn't ask for support from experienced locals), he didn't really take care of me and my buddies equipment (i.e. no buddy check!), he left us alone at 12m while he would ascend to check where the boat was - which was gone, as we were diving way to far away into the wrong direction. Overall organization on the boat was not as good as on other boats with other diving schools. However the dive spots around Ko Lipe are amazing.
Written December 3, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Oliver, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience diving with us. We are deeply sorry that you had just an average diving experience with us, as it is our goal to give all of our customers the best diving experience possible. Your instructor that day, Filippo, was a freelance instructor who we took on for that day. All of our full-time instructors were already busy for that day and in the interest of keeping our groups small, we took on this freelancer. While he was fairly new to the dive sites, he was thoroughly briefed by one of our experienced instructors. After the second dive, on the way back to the dive center, your dive buddy told Eric (the owner of Ko Lipe Diving) what had happened regarding Filippo’s surfacing to find the boat on the first dive. She was very upset, understandably, and Eric was shocked and furious to hear what had happened. That day was Filippo’s first and last day working for us, as we will never use him again. In an effort to make up for what had happened that day, Eric took your dive buddy out for 2 private dives the next day, which she very much enjoyed. We deeply regret using Filippo that day and we wish that you had expressed your dissatisfaction that same day, as we would have made every effort possible to make it right for you. Thank you for diving with us and your honest feedback. Best regards, Eric and Rebecca
Written December 4, 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kari S
Jeju, South Korea18 contributions
Feb 2020
I accompanied my friend who was trying out the discovery dives. From start to finish the dive company was professional and friendly. They made my friend feel safe the entire time and we saw some great sea-life. If in Koh Lipe I highly recommend this dive company. One of the best I have gone with. Top notch!
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 283

Ko Lipe Diving School - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go