Cayman Turtle Centre: Island Wildlife Encounter

Cayman Turtle Centre: Island Wildlife Encounter

Cayman Turtle Centre: Island Wildlife Encounter
4
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Cayman Turtle Conservation and Education Centre doesn’t just save sea turtles – it’s a place for wild island fun, too! At this first-of-its-kind wildlife conservation experience, visit majestic Green sea turtles, swim alongside playful young turtles, and maybe even watch tiny hatchlings emerge from their nest as you learn how its innovative approach to conservation has reduced poaching and increased the number of sea turtles in the wild. Then hit the Turtle Twister waterslide, explore the flying rainbows of the Butterfly House and Free Flight Aviary, and see the fearsome residents of Predator Reef. Most importantly, learn how you can help save sea turtles, too!
Duration: 2-3 hours
Does not meet animal welfare guidelines
Tripadvisor does not provide bookings for this experience because it does not meet our animal welfare guidelines.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Cayman Turtle Centre: Island Wildlife Encounter and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • NYC_Geezer
    New York City, New York72 contributions
    Must see
    This place was AMAZING! Well worth a side trip. Learned a lot about the sea life in the Cayman Islands. Even with a few tour buses i had plenty of room to walk around. The staff was very nice and very knowledgeable. A must see when you come to the Cayman Islands.. don’t miss the feeding session.
    Thank you so much for this amazing review! We hope to see you again some time.
    Written May 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2022
    Traveled as a couple
    Written March 14, 2023
  • Plph
    Toronto, Canada38 contributions
    Mixed impression, would not likely return
    We made a special trip from our East End resort to go see the Turtles. The property is easy to walk, and there are plenty of turtles to see up close. The feeding time was great to watch. Unfortunately the habitats in the display areas are not very natural, in particular in the tanks where you can touch the turtles. In this area some turtles were kept in small elevated areas (no more than a few feet wide and maybe 3 feet long). You could see many of them frantically trying to get out of these contained areas which didn’t feel right. We opted not to go swimming as we had been able to see the turtles up close already but many people seemed to enjoy the lagoon. Before leaving we walked through the butterfly building, and aviary. There were no butterflies visible, but there were a few birds. Overall unless you are exceptionally interested in turtles I would spend my time elsewhere. For about the same cost we found our time at crystal caves to be more interesting and unique.
    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback! So sorry to hear that your experience fell short of expectations. We hope you were able to enjoy the interaction in the wading pool where you wade around with little turtles. Maybe you were not able to explore the local flora in the Blue Hope Nature Trail, which also has a prehistoric cave. That trail is quite a wonderful experience. We hope you come back again and then you could then see the video in the Education Centre explaining the turtle conservation activities. Please remember too that every dollar spent helps to conserve the turtles!
    Written May 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written March 23, 2023
  • jfmcf29
    Jacksonville, Florida20 contributions
    Wow!
    We really enjoyed our visit. There was quite a bit to see, wish there had been more interaction with the staff. We had several questions that went unanswered. It was a great experience to be able to see the different stages of a sea turtle's life.
    Thank you so much for this amazing review! We hope to see you again some time.
    Written May 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written March 25, 2023
  • FoodieTraveler123
    Atlanta, Georgia86 contributions
    My kids loved this place
    My kids - 6,4,2 - absolutely loved this place. It was their favorite activity while in Grand Cayman. Their favorite part was getting in the tank with the baby turtles and petting them. Also the water slide and water park. I appreciated that there were facilities to shower after playing at the park. We did not eat while there but the Easter weekend menu looked excellent. It’s no surprise the bar by the pool was hopping. Was the pool and slide a little crowded? Yes. Did my kids care? No. They were living their best life.
    Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We are so pleased to hear that you, and the kids, had a great time!
    Written May 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written April 10, 2023
  • Nancy D
    Lohman, Missouri9 contributions
    Average except for the birds
    I almost gave this two stars instead of three, but two seemed a bit harsh. For the money, I found this disappointing. Maybe we visited at the wrong time because all there was to do was look at turtles in large concrete pools and view a smallish tank of fish. Our group saw only one butterfly in that area of the center. (Did someone leave the door open?) The best part of the visit was feeding the birds (which is a nominal additional expense to participate in the actual feeding). The birds were very interesting.
    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback! So sorry to hear you did not feel it was worth the price. We hope you were able to enjoy the interaction in the wading pool where you wade around with little turtles or snorkel with the turtles and fish in the Turtle Lagoon. Maybe you were not able to explore the local flora in the Blue Hope Nature Trail, which also has a prehistoric cave. That trail is quite a wonderful experience. We hope you come back again and then you could then see the video in the Education Centre explaining the turtle conservation activities. Please remember too that every dollar spent helps to conserve the turtles!
    Written May 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Written April 11, 2023
  • Nick P.
    10 contributions
    GREAT PARK-ONE OF A KIND EXPERIENCE -SWIMMING WITH THE TURTLES!!
    This is an amazing place. We have been coming to the "Turtle Farm" since 1998 through all of the name changes! This park never disappoints us, we average 6-7 hours each time and enjoy everything there. The snorkeling with the turtles is hard to describe, amazing how close you get in the water with the beautiful creatures. The pool is huge with a waterfall and new corkscrew slide. On site lunch was fantastic and was reasonably priced for the fresh seafood options. The day went by so fast that we are planning to visit two days on our next trip to Grand Cayman. Highly recommend this park for a full day of fun.
    Thank you for your fantastic review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Cayman!
    Written May 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Written May 2, 2023
  • Brenda P
    4 contributions
    Cayman Turtle Centre visit May 2023
    Great time at the Cayman Turtle Centre. Snorkeling with the fish and turtles was a blast! They even let us use our own snorkel masks( we wanted full face snorkels, which they also have for 4$). We were able to watch them feed the BIG turtles, pet som small ones in the touch tank, saw the brand new hatchlings, and got to see Smiley the crocodile. I only wish we could have been there on the day of the week you can watch them feed her!
    Thank you for this great review. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit!
    Written May 30, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 20, 2023
  • Alan H
    Arvada, Colorado188 contributions
    A must do if you have young family. Bring your swimming costume!
    Incredible experience. Had a really enjoyable day with my 5 year old daughter. She loved it! Lots to do. Make sure you go when weather forecast is good so it doesn’t interrupt your ability to do all the activities.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 4, 2023
  • TAE
    15 contributions
    Enjoyable
    The turtle portion was great. Very cool. Turtle hatchlings were behind thick plexiglass, but understand they need protection. The aviary is ok, butterfly sanctuary had 2 butterfly’s. One was tiny, the other was missing a wing. Large pool with slide, teens lived. Swimming with turtles very cool. Lifeguards looked asleep. Lunch overlooking snorkeling area very nice. Gift shop great. Staff very friendly.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 5, 2023
  • Pathfinder360989
    3 contributions
    Great fun for the family!
    We were there on on a Saturday when no cruise ships were in town so it was not crowded at all. We snorkeled with the fish and large turtles and touched the small turtles in the pond. They even have a water slide! We had a delicious lunch at the restaurant. I would definitely recommend going!
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled on business
    Written June 5, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4,529 reviews
Excellent
1,965
Very good
1,433
Average
699
Poor
237
Terrible
195

Ellie Q
Sydney, Australia177 contributions
Jan 2020
As of 1st December 2019 you can no longer hold the turtles. You can still pet them and wade in one of the tanks with them at this stage.

Admission is based on how much of the park you can access. As part of a cruise shore excursion, I was a green wristband holder which limited me to a very small portion of the park. We had finished looking in that section and petting the turtles within 20 minutes. There are signs set up barring those with green wristbands from entering other parts of the park.

Food is way overpriced and can't be justified. US$8 for a tiny hotdog? Seriously?

Some tanks were quite filthy and very small for the size of the turtles. The size of the crocodile enclosure was unreasonably small. Nature worriers would become upset in this place.

If you come here as part of a cruise shore excursion you'll likely be disappointed, unless you have very small children that you want to keep occupied.

Apart from the 20 minutes of seeing the turtles, this place was a waste of my time and money. I wouldn't do it again and can't recommend the place.
Written January 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Ellie Q, We would like to thank you very much for expressing your view, and sharing. We introduced a new turtle interaction which includes a two finger touch as we expand and improve our turtle welfare and health policies. It is still possible to touch the turtles while they are still in the water and give them an opportunity to choose not to be touched, which is important. Regarding the water cleanliness, we would like to point out that the water quality is really controlled to ensure healthy conditions for our turtles. We operate a state of the art water processing system and the water conditions are reviewed every day. Regarding the turtle pool size, the Greens Breeding pond is very deep. It does not distress the turtles to be in these pools because they are familiar with these surroundings and there is in fact plenty of space for them to swim around and express themselves and their natural modes of behavior. Two board certified veterinarians are here on a full-time basis and their job is to ensure that the animals are kept healthy. Regular checks of the animals are conducted. We are sorry to hear you felt disappointed. We like to feel that we have many things to interest people, touching the turtles, taking pictures with them, see turtles at their various ages and learning about them, learning about conservation and how we breed and raise the turtles. There are other parts of the Centre, including our Aviary, where families can hand-feed birds, and our turtle lagoon where people can swim with turtles.
Written January 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kmqb2
19 contributions
Feb 2020 • Family
My husband and I took our three year old daughter. We got the basic pass which basically just included walking around and a small turtle touch tank. I gave a fairly low review because of lack of activities and lack of staff around to guide or answer questions. What we did have access to was fun and my three year old absolutely loved it. This was not an all-day thing by any means, we were done in about an hour including the gift shop.
Written February 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Kmgb2, We are so glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your visit so much. Thank you for your feedback concerning information availability. We actually have four full-time professional tour-guides, and if they are not busy with prior engagements, they are more than happy to tell you about the turtles and the other wonderful animals you can see at the Centre, and about our great conservation work, but we are sorry to hear that you did meet up with them. We would also like to add that we do have quite a lot of exciting things to do for the full-access Turtle Adventure package, including our Caribbean Free-Flight Aviary, snorkeling with the turtles in the Turtle Lagoon, access to a nice swimming pool and water slide, and our nature trail. Wishing you the best in travels, Cayman Turtle Centre
Written February 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rick
Grand Cayman84 contributions
Mar 2020
You can pick a shorter tour or a more extensive one with a water park, turtle swim etc. Six of us wanted to see and learn more about sea turtles and how they are being protected so we just did the $18 per person visit. It was informative in terms of new knowledge and fun in terms of watching the turtles.
Written March 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Rick, We are so glad that all of you loved visiting the Turtle Centre! Thanks for taking that time to share your lovely day with others! Happy travels, Cayman Turtle Centre
Written March 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christina
213 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
It’s a small water park compare to the ones in state. The main attractions were turtle lagoon and the water slide pool, aside from big turtle breeding ponds and the hatchery. My teens went into the turtle lagoon as they don’t mind the pond full of algae and stuff floating. They had such a good time swimming with turtle and fish they did not want to get out. There supposedly were two non-aggressive type of sharks on bottom of the water according to them. They also had fun at the water slide but supposedly slide was not very slippery so the speed going down was slow. Overall I was planning about 2-3 hours at turtle center. We end up spending more than 4 hours there. Definitely try their lunch dinning. There’s lunch buffet on cruise days and regular a la cart on non-cruise days. The day we went there was no cruise and the whole park was not crowded and manageable. Smoothie in their restaurant was so good, especially the mango smoothie made of real fruit. Mudslide was excellent as well. Shop had some nice souvenir so we end up buying more than planned. Overall it’s a small park but we had fun. Can check on cayman island cruise schedule to pick a day with no cruise to visit this center to avoid the crowd. Buying tickets on line also save 10%, but buying at the door is full price. Bring beach towel for those who want to be in water. The center offer a cheaper safari ticket for those who don’t want to get into water.
Written August 15, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

WanderingOttersons
Denver, CO1,380 contributions
Feb 2020
We talked to several locals and this place is surprisingly controversial to the locals. The center was set up to aid in keeping the turtle population going and education but several locals also said that this is the breeding place for harvesting turtle meat that is sold around the world. I don't know the truth but certainly up to you to decide your own thoughts. I think the goal is to show the conservation side and they are working on that We have swam with turtles in the wild in several areas of the world so it's weird to see them in captivity. You can see several different kinds here and touch some. Like any "zoo" it's interesting to see different animals up close. The day we were there in February was surprisingly empty. There wasn't anybody around to do any education or explanations to the guests, just the guards in the areas where you can touch the turtles to make sure you don't break the rules. A very odd experience overall for us and I think we spent less than an hour here overall.
Written March 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear WanderingOttersons, Thank you so much for writing a review and giving us your feedback. It sounds like you had a nice time. We are sorry to hear you felt disappointed about some aspects. Our guides are always pleased to be able to talk to our guests, sorry you missed them. Part of our conservation effort is through captive breeding and head-starting of turtles. Another facet is through providing meat to satisfy the local demand for turtle meat (a long-standing culinary tradition in the Cayman Islands, and held in high regard) which has been shown to reduce the illegal poaching of wild turtles, so that, in practice, both the head-starting of turtles (their regular release into the wild) as well as the production of an alternative to wild turtle meat, have both been shown to cause the wild population to increase. In addition to conserving turtles by supplying this demand, the Cayman Turtle Centre is proud to have released more than 32,000 turtles to the sea. This has been proven to be effective through an independent study, headed by the Cayman Islands Department of Environment in conjunction with University of Barcelona. This study shows that 90% of Green sea turtles nesting on Cayman’s beaches are actually genetically related to those from the Centre’s breeding stock. Because of our strategy of conservation through the provision of a sustainable source of turtle meat which undermines poaching, coupled with our ongoing release programmes, the numbers of turtle nests found throughout Cayman’s beaches have risen from just two or three, twenty years ago, to more than 600 nests today. We are actually justifiably proud of our conservation record, and we believe these facts attest to our continuing steadfast dedication to turtle conservation. If you like, you can check the independent study scientific paper available via this web link http://www.darwininitiative.org.uk/documents/DPLUS019/23876/DPLUS019%20FR%20-%20edited.pdf Happy Travels, Cayman Turtle Centre
Written March 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Susan M
Maumee14 contributions
Jan 2020 • Family
Had a wonderful time at the Turtle Center last week. We brought my 4 year old nephew and 87 year old granny. Lots and lots of turtles! You can feed them, learn about them, visit the touch pond and wading pool. We had to pay extra, but loved that we could snorkel in a large lagoon with 25 turtles swimming around. So awesome! And my nephew LOVED the pool and water slide. It was the best cruise excursion. The front desk staff even helped us take the public bus back to the cruise terminal (only $2.50 per person). Thank you!!
Written January 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ron
1 contribution
Aug 2022
For the past 30 years we have been coming here for the amazing experience of having contact with a live turtle. I was a kid and the turtle farm was actually across the street where the parking lot is now. Seeing them at different stages of life was amazing. For adults and kids alike the highlight was always handling the turtles. For years there were always guides to explain the turtle and how to handle them responsibly when touching and picking up the turtles. Well it has been a couple of years now due to Covid and for some reason you can no longer touch or pick up the turtles. There was no one around to explain anything and the conditions of the tanks are horrendous. Poor turtles. Some sloppy dressed rude security guy just treated us very poorly and blamed previous guests of the farm ....claiming they injured and even killed many turtles while they were there. So now do to a few bad people and the lack of attendant helping people to learn about the turtle and how to handle them we all suffer. Is it us or the farm that needs to make this experience work once again. I am sad to say that going to the farm is not worth the entrance fee and needs to shut its doors to the public. It is not worth the fee to go in. I have never complained about the cost of anything like this but this place has lost it level of experience it once provided. Until they get the program back into a real hands on experience don't bother going. You can see turtles anytime online or at your local zoo or aquarium. Support your local programs and skip this one until it is back to the way it once was.
Written August 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

arod3716
Miami, FL16 contributions
Jul 2022 • Family
We visited one day at 2 and was told that turtle swimming closes at 2:30 everyday. We returned the next day at 12:30 and was told that it closes at 1 because it was too busy. Terrible communication. So I bought tickets for my kids to swim with turtles for 30 mins and for me and my wife to walk around and go on another pool. When we got to the other pool was told by lifeguard that we couldn’t swim in the pool because our tickets were not for swimming. Didn’t make sense, went back to box office and complained and was told that it was miscommunication and to pay $20 more. Incredible. Don’t visit!!
Written July 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MPLSAndy
Minneapolis, MN21 contributions
Jan 2020
Huge turtles, good swimming areas. Excellent place for learning to snorkel. Best to go on days when cruise ship activity is low, if you want small, intimate vibe. Forget eating at their on-site restaurant. Instead, go to Macabuca just a short walk away, where you can snorkel/scuba in the open ocean right at the restaurant. Same-day re-entry into the turtle center is allowed after leaving for lunch.
Written January 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear MPLSAndy, Thank you so much for sharing. We are so glad that you liked your visit!
Written February 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bubbalusk
Captiva Island, FL204 contributions
Jul 2022 • Family
The place is fun to visit. This was our second visit in the past few years. The facility is clean, and well maintained. The staff members were awful, mean and disrespectful. The gentleman at the front entrance managing the taxis and buses are very aggressive and want their “tips” (not sure what for). We should’ve just turned around after that first encounter. 4 of us are at the on-site restaurant, and all ate chicken tenders and 4 drinks (soda) and it was $99.. they included a 15% tip automatically, and we added another $6 cash. The server got very upset when we didn’t add more tip so we left the facility.
Written July 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 4,314
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Cayman Turtle Centre: Island Wildlife Encounter - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)