We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pelorus Sound Water Taxi & Cruises

Features Animals
Havelock, New Zealand
More
About Pelorus Sound Water Taxi & Cruises
Pelorus Sound Water Taxi & Cruises Havelock Water Taxi in the Marlborough Sounds for fast, comfortable & efficient water transport throughout the Pelorus & Kenepuru Sound. Take a water taxi to your bach or holiday accommodation, enjoy a boat tour and a walk, mussel cruise, sightseeing tours in the Marlborough Sounds. We offer Scenic boat cruises all year round. If there is something you want to see in the Sounds, or if you just want to see 'around the Point'. We can take you on a guided tour and share many stories relating to the history of the area. As you travel through the spectacular Marlborough Sounds on our water taxi you will pass stunning native bush. We could stop for walks on tracks following the coastline, through beautiful bush and untouched forest.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Pelorus Sound Water Taxi & Cruises
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
69Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 63
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MicheeMoo1 wrote a review Feb 2022
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand73 contributions69 helpful votes
We have used the services of Dean and Denise as water taxi and shuttle to start Nydia Bay track. Both are friendly and have lots of information to share. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2022
Helpful
Share
Dan2 wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Tried to book within 3 days of needing service . This was due to a mix up with another company . The company we tried to book first where 1st showing on google and looked like a faster boat ? Just a guess from photos. When I mentioned we need help as we had a mix up I received a verbal backlash that didn’t stop , I tried to explain that if there was any issues in Havelock between water taxis it certainly had nothing to do me or my family we just needed a lift Abused and hung up on . I really struggled with understanding what just happened. I suggest not going anywhere near this company as the approach is so Unprofessional . We come to the sounds alot . We know a lot of folks who do as well or who live here. Never again will I offer my business to this company. I’d rather walk than be talked at and down too like that again.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2022
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Beachfeet2016, Owner at Pelorus Sound Water Taxi & Cruises
Responded Jan 30, 2022
Hi Dan Obviously you had to have someone to blame for the so called mistake by the other Operator. We had a barrage of calls that week from other clients with the same excuses given by him. We don’t misinform clients or double book, if we do make a mistake we do our best to rectify it, we don’t get a booked customer to ring around to sort it. We do our best to be honest with our customers who book with us and in this instance you hadn’t booked with us and we were busy looking after our own customers who had booked with us during this busy period. Yes we did hang up on you as the blame was starting to be put on us to fix your problem, but it was definitely not an abusive call on our behalf. I know we are not perfect and do make mistakes, but we do stand behind what we did as you or ourselves should not have had to deal with this I’m glad you made it there with Pete Bigley good to see him back, hopefully you continue to use him as he won’t muck you around. Regards Dean & Denise
Read more
Charles C wrote a review Oct 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand12 contributions7 helpful votes
First up, I have spent some time in the sounds and you HAVE to experience them by boat. No question. You simply do. Unfortunately that's not an option for many of us unless you charter or join a tour. My family have never really seen the sounds and my time over the years has been spent diving Queen Charlotte, not Pelorus, so I was keen to make sure we actually saw a bit of Pelorus Sound and called up Pelorus Sound Water Taxi and Cruises. Denise dealt with us and offered us a good rate for two to three hours. This involved dropping us for an hour's bush tramp somewhere and a few stop offs and guided 'pointing stuff out' as well. I hesitated because it isn't a cheap option, although very reasonably priced (I know from experience that running a boat is expensive - the fuel to go where we went will have cost quite a bit alone, and then there was Deano (the skipper and joint owner)'s time.) [I see a very old post on here about it being expensive back when the old owner had the company - ignore it]. We were also worried about the weather and Denise couldn't have been more accommodating and supportive, staying in touch and giving us options - these guys genuinely wanted us to have the best experience of the place possible. As it was it was overcast with a hint of drizzle in the air when we went - it had been raining all morning and everything was wet. it made no difference at all. Don't stress. I am not going to break down what we did as I will spoil it for future trips but suffice to say it was well worth it - I am SO pleased we did it. the boat was perfect for what we did - not too bog - not too small :) Half an hour in my wife turned to me and pointed out the looks on the faces of our teenage children and it was worth every cent. Thank you so much Deano and Denise. Everybody else - this is a small local business. in the Covid age there is much said about supporting local - I urge you to do it - email or call and ask about options, get a price and book yourself in!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Julia wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We had great service from Denise with our Nydia Track car relocation. Friendly, lots of local knowledge, and very importantly for us, she was very understanding and accommodating when we had a bit of a car issue, which took up more of her time than expected. We had a great experience with the service she provides. Thanks Denise.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
janet W wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Absolute fantastic service offered by Denise. An awesome driver and tour guide. Would recommend her to anyone intending doing the Nydia.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456