Tours and Tickets
Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä
4.5

Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä

By Easy Travel
Recommended by 90% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
About
Go on a true Nordic adventure with this husky-drawn sled ride in Lapland. You’ll get the chance to drive a traditional wooden dog-pulled sled after receiving instructions from your guide. Take breaks along the way to change drivers and take pictures. At the end of the tour, return to the husky farm for drinks and snacks by an open fire.
from
$302.99
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 3-90, max of 8 per group
Duration: 2h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
English

Highlights
  • Get to experience this unique Finnish activity
  • Explore the Lapland landscape with this traditional mode of transportation
  • Warm up at the end of the tour with refreshments and snacks
  • Convenient round-trip transportation from your hotel is included

  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Professional guide
  • Safari 2 people / sled
  • Drink and snack by open fire after safari
  • Thermal clothing
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified


Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • You will be picked from centrally located hotels in Saariselkä. Exact pick up time will be advised with confirmation.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 13975P13

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

How much is Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä?
Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä price starts from $304.74. Discover and book Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä on Tripadvisor
What is the Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä cancellation policy?
Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä?
Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä is hosted by Easy Travel. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Easy Travel on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä on Tripadvisor
How much time do I need for Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä?
On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 13975P13

Reserve your spot

Similar experiences

Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See departure details
  • 1
    Saariselka Ski & Sport Resort
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Urho Kekkonen National Park
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator
Easy Travel
144
Helsinki, Finland
Joined in March 2016

#30 of 216 Tours & Activities in Helsinki
  • Florian H
    Florian H
    0
    0
    Our Helsinki
    Gert experienced, excellent guide - very competent and friendly! Best knowledge of Helsinki, we can only recommend! Thank you
  • H1938FVthomasr
    H1938FVthomasr
    0
    0
    Overprised
    I do mot understand why anyone would buy this tour .It is very expensive. IF you buy the train ticket from Helsinki round trip is about €45 Senior discount is 50% less. CASTLE costa €14 half price for seniors The only other sire is the Cathedral which is free. DO IT YOURSELF AND SAVE €300
  • Foodandvin
    Foodandvin
    0
    0
    Turku Day trip August 2023
    Let’s start with good… we loved Turku. Everyone should visit there. Saw the cathedral, the castle, and breezed through the parking lot of the maritime museum. Ended at the market. The transfer to and from the hotel was great. Ended at the market in Turku and had to walk a mile plus to the train back to Helsinki. Be prepared to walk! Also be sure to eat and bring snacks and water for yourself. Our tour guide has difficulty with English translation so I feel we may have missed out on quite a bit and also our time went over so long, we had 30 minutes to grab a bite to eat and then had to walk back to the train. We had hoped to have more time on our own in Turku. The time of the event changed the night before and has I not accessed my email I would have never known. So for the price, we was a little disappointed. We loved Turku and hope to return on our own sometime later.
  • Anne S
    Anne S
    0
    0
    Nice but only 10minutes safari
    It was really nice to meet the Reindeers and the guide was super nice and gave a lot of informations about them, the only thing is that they need to change the tittle of the excursion because you have the feeling that the safari will take long but it s only 10minutes, they play with the words that it takes 2hours but it is with the transport.
  • rbuk76
    rbuk76
    0
    0
    Fun fun fun
    Great experience made all the better by the guides. Ask if you can do a small group as it makes all the difference. Thank you Marius Alberto and Mario
  • LauriHoff
    LauriHoff
    0
    0
    Not as expected and not worth the money!
    Unfortunately not as expected and not worth the money! We had looked forward to a nice husky tour in a small, personal setting and time with the huskies. However, it was rather mass processing! We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the husky farm. Once there, we were led around the grounds in a large group, which was more like a zoo or animal shelter. The dogs were all housed in, in my opinion, much too small enclosures. You could only look at them through the fence. This took up most of the tour. After that we went to the sleds. The huskies that did the sledding were already ready at a total of 4 sleds with drivers. Our group was divided into several small groups of 2 and 3 and we had to wait our turn. The sled ride itself went only !!4 minutes!!! Although in the description for the 2 km ride is stated that it takes about 15 minutes!!! We are really very disappointed by this. As soon as you sat in the sled it was already over again. Even after that there was no way to pet the sled huskies or play with them or just look at them in peace. We were then allowed to drink a juice in the hut and then we had to leave again. We were only there for a total of 1 hour. The description on Tripadvisor states 2 hrs. It was really very disappointing and we would NOT recommend it.
  • sjs355
    sjs355
    0
    0
    Promised so much - delivered so little
    We arrived for the small group of 15 reindeer sledge ride and there were 30 people. We waited in the cold (it was minus 20) and was then told to get in a sledge. These were led around a farm perimeter which was less than a mile. Our view was of the sledge and handler in front and the wire fence to the side. Once we had done the lap around the farm we were told to get out and handed some food After feeding the reindeer we waited in the cold then told to head inside. There was very little information or care given and the woman in charge didn't care at all. We complained that this wasn't the experience we had paid for and she just didn't care. This was our Christmas day treat and it was really spoilt. I insisted on a refund and received 50% back but this was small consolation when you have travelled so far and it was once in a lifetime trip. Save your money - don't go with this company.
  • Natalia L
    Natalia L
    0
    0
    Would recommend.
    It’s great experience although next time I’d choose longer husky ride because they are very fast therefore ride seems very quick. Totally in love with reindeers. We’ll organise and drivers were very talkative. I’d recommend.
  • Sabrina M
    Sabrina M
    0
    0
    Wonderful Safari
    We had a fantastic time snowmobiling! Oskari and his team were very helpful and welcoming. Besides the frigid cold temperatures, it couldn’t have been better. The stop for hot berry juice (mehu) was a very welcome break to thaw out a bit. We loved riding over the lake and taking in the winter wonderland in the forest. We had problems with the booking. I didn’t realize that I was dealing with Easy Travel, a different travel agency. I am traveling with my husband and two tweens, so I booked 2 adults and two kids. I got an email shortly after booking asking for my kids’ heights and weights and based on my response, I was told to rebook for three adults and one child, a double and a single snowmobile. When we arrived on-site, we were told it should have been four adults on 2 two double snowmobiles. There was a bunch of back and forth with the Agent over WhatsApp before the safari began. The booking options would be much better if I was asked to input ages, heights, and weights during booking and the system calculated price. Or else, the booking instructions could be much more clear. In any case, Oskari was patient with me and Easy Travel is making it right, refunding me the difference in price. Highly recommend this excursion while visiting Lapland! Kiitos
  • olivian293
    olivian293
    0
    0
    AMAZING!!!!
    Alex was the beste tour guide, we did over 7 excursions and we rate him the Best off everyone! He was super considered and made sure we’re super warm and comfortable sorted us out with the right clothing even if it wasn’t part off the tour. Good sense off humor! The reindeer farm was exceptional out off this world so beautiful!!!! Must Do!!!!!
  • Scenic820989
    Scenic820989
    0
    0
    Great Experience
    The whole experience at both the huskies and the reindeer farm were excellent. The staff were great and engaged with the children to make it special. We enjoyed both rides, but especially with the huskies. A warm up by the fire with some refreshments was appreciated. We also enjoyed seeing and learning about the other animals, including the snow fox, wolves etc, but the children’s favourite was stroking the husky puppies!
  • antteoh
    antteoh
    0
    0
    No attempt to find aurora
    Although our guides were nice and polite, we can only feel scammed as after paying $300+ euros for the family for this ‘aurora hunt’. There was no attempt to hunt for aurora at all!!! All we had was a bbq with sausages and marshmallows. And this felt like a very expensive bbq. This is much in contrast to another aurora tour we had where the operator was actively trying to find the light for us, drove around for an hour hunting and had a professional camera to capture the magical moment for us.
  • Graham S
    Graham S
    0
    0
    Great, reindeer and husky tour
    This was a great tour, reindeer farm, guide, very informative group fed reindeer went onto lights on a sleigh ride on the farm guide came with us. After ride, we had warm juice and biscuits. We then went onto the husky farm. Larger groups went first. The track was about 2 km long and that was followed by tea and cookies. We were then given time to meet up and pack the Huskies. Our tour guide was very pleasant and helpful. Okay.
  • Casey B
    Casey B
    0
    0
    Riding in a winter wonderland
    I went with three of my friends and we all had a great time. Wish we could have just went faster, but there was a couple in our group slowing us down! But overall, a great experience and would highly reccomend
  • NiKoLaSSc87
    NiKoLaSSc87
    0
    0
    Once on life experience
    First thing firstb our guide Raivis and his partner Paola (if i remember her name correct) were great. Pretty helpful, answering to any possible questions and most importand excellent proffesionals. We were lucky enough to be only 5 people in our group, so this made our tour even better and relaxed. Haski and Reindeer experience is unique. Do not hesitate to ask questions. It is not only about fun. It is about understanding these amazing animals. Totally recommended!
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
21 reviews
Excellent
18
Very good
1
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Sjors V
Tegelen, The Netherlands5 contributions
Jan 2022 • Family
Absolutely great experience and very well organised. For us it was a long cherished dream come true.
Well equipped with regards to clothing and a nice scenic route. Nice staff.
After the tour they took plenty of time for explanations and meeting puppies. No rush at all.
Only point for improvement is to supply a blanket for people in the sled, they will get cold.
Written January 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lila
2 contributions
Jan 2020
The landscape and the experience with the dogs was great BUT the guide's inhospitality ruined it (it looked like she was the boss, her colleagues seemed nice but they were not the ones animating the ride) :
-she didn't smiled once and it seemed like all the guests were annoying her despite the exorbitant price of the excursion
-she was yelling at us for no reason like we were turbulent little child
-she separated the groups
-she forbid the use of camera
I highly recommend her to change her vocation, since she hates tourists and group management.
This might avoid to ruined people's dream of riding with huskies...
Written January 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Az2896543
Puerto Escondido, Mexico80 contributions
Mar 2023 • Couples
Great organisation and nice to share with Finnish staff. Most important for us : The dogs looked happy and well cared. The meal was really good (soup and sandwich, especially the cinnamon and cardamom bun !) We were lucky to visited the puppies .
Written March 27, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Uljana V
Thank you for your feedback! It's wonderful to hear that you had a great experience with the dog sledding. We hope you have many more enjoyable experiences like this in the future.
Written April 14, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Adam T
10 contributions
Dec 2022
The tour itself was great. The tour guide and his team and Husky & CO were great and made the tour fantastic. What I didn't realise is that one adult per sledge is in charge of the Husky's which at 1st wasn't sure about. But I would def do this again as loved it and preferred it to just sitting in the sledge as keeps fun and keeps you warmer!
I would not book through Viator though. We had a booking made almost a year before travel and went to pay just before we left for Lapland and they said payment refused and cancelled our entire booking without our consent. I could not then go back and rebook this online as stated fully booked. So I had to phone Viator to explain and rebook which cost me £165.00 plus I had to pay the new rate which was more expensive so in total I was around £300 out of pocket. I tried to claim a refund and they declined. This would have ruined our dream family holiday but I refused to let it.
Written January 26, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Uljana V
Dear traveller, Thank you for sharing your experience, come back next winter! Best Regards, Uljana Easy Travel Team
Written February 13, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Colin Clark
Jersey, UK32 contributions
Loved this trip it was so much fun and peaceful at the same time just going through the woods in the middle of nowhere!
You get to drive the sleigh well I say you drive the dogs take you and your only job is to break and sometimes break hard. Great fun really enjoyed it.
Written January 14, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Uljana V
Dear Nomad, Thank you for sharing your emotions! You are welcome back to explore more husky tours and our husky and reindeer farms! Best Regards, Uljana Easy Travel Team
Written January 25, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

becky s
London, UK8 contributions
Feb 2022 • Friends
I really regretted doing this. The husky’s are kept chained to their dog houses all day excepting the tours and not happy. Dog sledding has only been recently imported to Finland and massively expanded for Tourism. Yes it’s very beautiful to travel through snow forests and quite fun but it leaves a bad taste. The Sami people are reindeer herders whose way of life and herding lands have been divided up and are under threat e.g from mining. I wish I’d put my money into a Sami run reindeer activity.
Written November 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Andreas A
2 contributions
Jan 2020
Cute and very motivated huskies. The safari leads through amazing parts of the beautiful forests south of Saariselka.
Written January 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ernierad
Madeira Beach, FL696 contributions
Jan 2019 • Couples
Being a dog worshipper, I was skeptical, but these well taken care of dogs were a wonderful experience. Very friendly dogs and pups. Good for all ages
Written February 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

nimusmum
Cambridgeshire, UK29 contributions
Dec 2018
Paid extra on top of the Santa's Lapland trip to visit the husky farm (not sure if this was the Safari) and have another sleigh ride. Slightly disappointed in meeting the husky puppy. One brought into the cabin where a coach load of people were waiting. Although the keeper came round the group to let you stroke and take photos it was a bit of a scramble. However the pupply was really fluffy and cute. Also got an insight into his future training as a working dog. Then out to the sleighs. Set out in small groups of four sleighs, each group with a leader on a skidoo. This made for a much more intimate experience than the day before when we had the Santa's trip activities. As we set it was just getting light (ish) and there was a golden glow through the forest. Really magical and so still, only the sound of the sledge crunching through the snow. Winding through the forest and then out on to a frozen lake to head back to the farm it was an experience not to be forgotten. Plenty of time to take photos of 'your' team and to stroke the dogs, who despite being very excitable were very friendly.
Written January 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä provided by Easy Travel

Product Overview: Lapland Husky Safari from Saariselkä

Prices From

$330

Number of Reviews

21

Number of Photos

35

Duration

120 minutes