Tours and Tickets

The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike provided by Mt Cook Glacier Guiding

The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike

The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike
4.5
Book in advance
from
$475.34
per adult
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
5h
Group size:
6
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    5h
  • Group size:
    6
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Explore the immense beauty of the Tasman Glacier's upper snowfield.  Flying to 2200m in a skiplane (or maybe a helicopter depending on conditions), you are ready to explore ice formations in this ever-changing environment. Following your knowledgeable, professional, NZMGA trained Guide you will learn about New Zealand's awe inspiring big mountain country, the birthplace of New Zealand mountaineering.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
  • As you fly in to 2200 metres (7200 ft.) aboard your ski plane, marvel at the rock and ice debris transform to glistening white. Get ready to explore the glacier by walking, hiking and snowshoeing! Snowshoeing is a great way to confidently make your way across snow-covered terrain. Once on the glacier, we will provide you with snowshoes, adjustable walking poles, harnesses and any additional equipment you may need. After your gear is fitted, you are ready to explore the ice formations in this ever-changing environment; you’re in the heart and birthplace of New Zealand mountaineering.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • As you fly in to 2200 metres (7200 ft.) aboard your ski plane, marvel at the rock and ice debris transform to glistening white. Get ready to explore the glacier by walking, hiking and snowshoeing! Snowshoeing is a great way to confidently make your way across snow-covered terrain. Once on the glacier, we will provide you with snowshoes, adjustable walking poles, harnesses and any additional equipment you may need. After your gear is fitted, you are ready to explore the ice formations in this ever-changing environment; you’re in the heart and birthplace of New Zealand mountaineering.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 66154P2
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • Two scenic flights
  • Professional guide
  • Quality leather boots and woollen socks
  • Harness and adjustable walking poles
  • Snow shoes or crampons
  • Water proof Jacket and water resistant over trousers
Exclusions
  • NA
Duration
5h
Departure details
  • Mount Cook Airport, Mount Cook Road, Canterbury 7999, New Zealand The turn off to Aoraki/Mt Cook is on SH8 by Lake Pukaki. Driving east this can be found 8kms from Twizel and driving west, 50kms from Lake Tekapo. Turn onto SH80, which leads you to the Mt Cook Village. 6kms from the Village, follow signs to the Mt Cook airport.
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • 3-4 layers of warm upper body clothing
  • Warm trousers (no jeans)
  • Sunglasses and sun protection
  • Hat and gloves
  • Drink and snacks
  • Trip is weather dependent
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers
Inclusions
  • Two scenic flights
  • Professional guide
  • Quality leather boots and woollen socks
  • Harness and adjustable walking poles
  • Snow shoes or crampons
  • Water proof Jacket and water resistant over trousers
Exclusions
  • NA
Departure details
  • Mount Cook Airport, Mount Cook Road, Canterbury 7999, New Zealand The turn off to Aoraki/Mt Cook is on SH8 by Lake Pukaki. Driving east this can be found 8kms from Twizel and driving west, 50kms from Lake Tekapo. Turn onto SH80, which leads you to the Mt Cook Village. 6kms from the Village, follow signs to the Mt Cook airport.
Duration
5h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • 3-4 layers of warm upper body clothing
  • Warm trousers (no jeans)
  • Sunglasses and sun protection
  • Hat and gloves
  • Drink and snacks
  • Trip is weather dependent
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers
Popular mentions

4.5
12 reviews
Excellent
11
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Holly M
1 contribution
Oct 2021
Absolutely incredible. Our guide, Rich, did an amazing job of showing us cool ice features and keeping us nice and safe on the glacier.
This was a once in a life time experience that we will cherish the memories of forever.
Written October 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Feb 2020 • Couples
I highly recommend this amazing experience! Mount Cook is an incredible place and was one of the highlights of our NZ trip. The scenery up on the glacier is spectacular and unique.

We were a group of four, including our guide Bia. The flights to and from the glacier are an exciting experience on their own. The equipment provided was excellent - the boots and socks are top quality and very comfortable. It’s a lot of fun to walk on the ice with the crampons.

The best part of the experience was our guide Bia, she is patient and extremely knowledgeable. Bia taught us about the glacier and led us up the ice and into amazing ice caves. Her stories about her work in Antartica and all over the world were fantastic, she is truely a professional.
Written March 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

c0lin987
Sydney, Australia17 contributions
We visited Mt Cook for a couple of days in Feb 2020.

Richard was our guide for the trip and he was very informative throughout the trip, from the safety briefing through until our return.

I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. Awesome experience which was full of fun and adrenaline throughout!!
Written February 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi colin987 Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your time with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you had an awesome experience on our Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike with Richard, we will ensure that he sees your comments. All the best Dee
Written February 18, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Marina W
Zurich, Switzerland17 contributions
Jan 2020
The Wigley? What? It's not an ordinary Heli Hike as usually offered but for sure the best way to enjoy a scenic flight over the glacier, Hooker Valley and the mountains (inclusive Mt Cook of course) and be active at the same time. Richard and Scott were the perfect guides to prepare our small and cozy group for the walk over the glacier which we first did wearing snowshoes. The scenery, the walk, the atmosphere: beyond beautiful and one of the highlights of my trip. And when we were certainly allowed to also visit a snow cave wearing crampons and abseiling us into it this trip has indeed become overall remarkable! Absolut recommendation!
Written January 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ray N
Rochford, UK2 contributions
Jan 2020
My wife & I (both in our seventies, but fairly active) wondered if this would be too much for us. However with the support of our teriffic guide, Richard, we completed the walk, had a great time; and survived!!!!
Written January 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Katie S
103 contributions
Unfortunately, we did not get to take this tour but I wanted to review this for one of the reasons I chose this tour - the company’s emphasis on safety. When we arrived for our early morning tour, we saw a snow plane taking off. It seemed strange since we were the first tour of the day. When we got in, they told us that their pilot did a brief run to see how the winds were, and determined that it was too dangerous to try to do the tour. They canceled our tour, offering another day, but unfortunately it was our last day in the area. These tours can be experienced by amateurs (like us), but we can never forget that there is an element of danger and we rely on the tour company to make the call when it appears unsafe. I appreciate that they didn’t hesitate to cancel (they told us they thought they could get us in but weren’t certain they could easily get us back out without some risk), even though it was disappointing for us. I will choose this tour and try again when I return to New Zealand!
Written December 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtCookGlacierGuiding
Dear Katie D Thank you for posting your review even though you were unable to complete The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike experience due to weather challenges. Safety and risk management is our #1 priority at all times, which means all decisions revolve around this, so it is lovely to be acknowledged for the example you experienced. Thank you, our team appreciate it. For now, we will take a raincheck and look forward to your return. That's the silver lining, you have to come back to New Zealand! Safe Travels and we wish you all the best for a Happy New Year. Best Regards Jo On Behalf of the Mt Cook Glacier Guiding Team
Written December 30, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

D_Z_0210
3 contributions
We were so lucky with the weather and had an awesome trip with an amazing view. Recommend the early morning tour, as the snow got soft and squishy quickly. Our guide Rich was an experienced and sympathic professional, who guided us safely over all the crevasses. Thank you Rich!
The scenicflight was also great. Really good view over the mountains and glaciers.
Highly recommend this adventure - it is worth the money!
Written November 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ashley
4 contributions
Sep 2019
We took this trip is part of our Honeymoon and loved it! The plane ride was so fun and amazing to see the park from that angle. Our guide Rich was really friendly and knowledgeable and pointed out a lot on the flight and of course during the walk. I felt really safe the whole time with our guide, and time flew by. He was great in letting us get up close with ice formations and teaching us about the mountain. This was a new experience for us - being in a ski-plane, then roped together with others and snowshoeing on a glacier isn't something you do every day - but it was very fun with everyone and extremely memorable!
Written September 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtCookGlacierGuiding
Congratulations and thank you for including us during such a special time for you both. It certainly sounds like you took away some amazing lifelong memories from being on top of New Zealand's largest glacier, the Haupapa/Tasman Glacier. Thank you also for acknowledging Rich, we will pass your comments along and know he will appreciate them. Wishing you all the best for your future together. Kind Regards Jo Wisniewski On behalf of the Mt Cook Glacier Guiding Team
Written September 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

emilykhchu
Hong Kong, China13 contributions
Apr 2019 • Couples
We had booked The Wigley Experience for 2 but the day before the trip at 5pm we got a call saying they had to cancel due to weather and the ski plane would be unable to land. I totally understand that the weather is out of the company's control however a few things did frustrate and disappoint me about this experience.

1. Even though in their online marketing materials they state that a helicopter would be used if a ski-plane cannot accommodate, this was not offered as an alternative.
2. They didn't offer any alternative and just said all other experiences (that were still running) were "full".

We suspect that we were the only ones booked onto the Wigley that day, and as a result if they ran it with just the 2 of us they would have made a financial loss. If there were others in the same booking, they could have arranged a helicopter and if they could not land at the higher part of the glacier they could have arranged to land in the lower part where the tours were still going ahead.

But, what disappointed us the most is that they stated they would provide a FULL REFUND back to our credit card. Because we (and i suspect most of their customers would be the same) were not from New Zealand, we used a credit card where we would be billed in our local currency. When they refunded us, the exchange rate differences meant that there was a discrepancy of over £20. When I contacted them to ask, they just said they can't do anything more as in their eyes, they gave a refund.

I know exchange rate changes are not in their control, but as a business they have a choice whether to make the customer cover these costs or see this as a business cost and cover it. They sadly choose to let the customer cover.

So we ended up losing £20, not getting to go on the experience and not being offered any alternative. I am sure that if the experience does run that no doubt it would have been amazing, but as a company I feel they need to reconsider their customer service and policies in this matter.

We ended up booking with an alternative local company which is family run and had the most amazing time. I highly suggest researching other companies and although these other companies may not have a slick website, you can tell as soon as you correspond with them they actually care, put their heart and soul to everything and want you to have the best time ever and not just looking at the final $$$.
Written April 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Emily, We are saddened to hear your frustration and disappointment as a result of the cancellation of The Wigley:Top of the Tasman Glacier Walk due to unsafe conditions on the glacier where this experience operates. Firstly, we would like to explain and make it clear that safety and risk management is at the core of all of our operational decisions, not commercial gain, minimum numbers or any other group management related considerations. Yes, the ski-plane could not land but also the terrain available for exploration was severely limited due to the lack of snow making it unsafe, as you will understand the use of a helicopter would not have solved this. We apologise if this was not made clear to you at the time. Secondly, it is our practice to offer a full refund or the next available experience when there is a cancellation, we refer to our email of April 6th to you where this was offered. Unfortunately due to every departure being full on the day you wanted the closest we could offer was on the following day. We were happy to read that you were able to secure a departure with an alternative company who had space available at a time that suited you more. Thirdly, the full amount you paid to us for our experience was 100% refunded in full back to your credit card. Your issue is indeed with your bank and their foreign exchange charges over which we have absolutely no control. We are aware of this being an issue with some of the many banks across the globe and have this set out in our terms and conditions which must be ticked as read before purchasing our experiences online. If you would like to discuss further, we invite you to email us directly on marketing@mtcookguides.co.nz.
Written May 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

AltabasTravels
London, UK110 contributions
Had a really awesome experience with Mt Cook glacier guiding. We elected to go on the Wigley so we would be higher up the Tasman glacier and were not disappointed. The plane took us up treating us to spectacular views before we set foot on the glacier itself. We then spent the next couple of hours exploring various formations on the glacier itself. Not rushed at all and plenty of time to explore, ask questions and grab photos. Loved it.
Written November 13, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 12
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Mt Cook Glacier Guiding
Rachael0266
Rachael0266
00
Absolutely amazing and awe inspiring
We had an amazing time with this adventure. Rich was an amazing guide and made you feel extremely safe. Tom our He
AaronDirn
AaronDirn
00
It was great to walk on the glacier!
I had this amazing experience on New Year Holiday and everything was perfect! Especially, I wanted to thank Richard
atsmtravel
atsmtravel
00
Experience not to be missed!
This experience is absolutely MUST DO. Our family had a time of our life. The close up view of the Mt Cook, the blu
amgypenguin
amgypenguin
00
Poor Coordination and Very Last Minute Cancellation
I booked their Adventurer heli-hike (together with Inflite for the helicopter) and paid a month in advance only for
LouisaLotte
LouisaLotte
00
Incredible Experience!
I cannot recommend this highly enough. We had had heli-hikes in Fox Glacier cancelled the previous 4 days so this w
Neosolarius
Neosolarius
00
Amazing trip, views and people
Scott was an AMAZING tour guide. He was so passionate about the glacier and taught us a lot about the surrounding a
MegRobertson
MegRobertson
00
Amazing, well worth it
The trip was great was start to finish. Friendly experienced staff who were super kind. Amazing heli ride and aweso
Laura E
Laura E
00
Fantastic!
Absolutely incredible trip, a definite must do. Saw some awesome ice formations on the glacier. Excellent guide wit
Storyteller697046
Storyteller697046
00
Brilliant experience
This trip was fantastic! I had so much fun going through some tunnels and exploring some of the glacier. Rich was a
W5977ITjackieb
W5977ITjackieb
00
Best trip ever!!
Rich is incredibly passionate and knowledgeable about the Glacier. Straight out of the helicopter and into an ice
craigwV8436HZ
craigwV8436HZ
00
Top glacier experience
This is a cool experience! Surrounded by the towering peaks including Mt Cook, we crawled through ice tunnels and i
175antc
175antc
00
Bucket List
We did the heli-hike on Tasman Glacier in Jul and it turned out to be one of the most amazing experiences we have e
_belinda_reid_
_belinda_reid_
00
Book it now!
What a fabulous experience! Scott was an excellent guide, he is very patient and explained things in an interesting
wifeyfeedsmefat
wifeyfeedsmefat
00
Once in a lifetime experience!
We had originally booked the Wigley, but the weather did not permit us to fly. We were promptly offered the option
S5015CKmattheww
S5015CKmattheww
00
Amazing day out on the glacier
Mt Cook Glacier Guiding puts on a great tour. Our initial tour was cancelled due to high winds but we were promptly
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike

The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike price starts from $476.34. Discover and book The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike on Tripadvisor

The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike on Tripadvisor

The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike is hosted by Mt Cook Glacier Guiding. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Mt Cook Glacier Guiding on Tripadvisor. Discover and book The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 5h. Discover and book The Wigley: Top of the Tasman Glacier Hike on Tripadvisor