We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius 4x4 Sightseeing Tour

Select Date and Travelers
From
$77.90
Date
2 travelers
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Pick and drop off by minibus or minivan at your hotel, or at a nearest meeting point in Sorrento city centre, pick up exact time will be confirmed to you after booking (pick up is approx around 9:00 am).
    Departure from Sorrento to reach Pompeii city archeological excavations (about 1 hour drive), in 2 hours a local licensed tour guide will reveal to you the secrets of this beautiful and charming ancient roman city destroyed by the eruption of the volcano in the 79 B.C.
    You will discover the beauties of this roman archeological site walking through history: passing by Abundance Street, through imperial forums, temples, thermal baths, roman villas and theatres…
    A break of about 1 hour will be arranged for lunch and rest  to recharge in order to proceed to the volcano Mount Vesuvius - National Park, located at about 5 kms distance from Pompeii archeological site. 
    After the lunch/rest break, you will reach by minibus or minivan the Vesuvius parking area located at about 900 meters altitude, you will than start and enjoy on foot a beautiful walk up to the top of about 20 minutes, to reach the crater area at 1300 meters altitude
    Once you will arrive at the top of the crater an expert Alpine-Volcano Guide will illustrate the monitoring and the history of its numerous and famous volcanic eruptions.
    At about 5:00 pm you will start the transfer back to Sorrento and drop off.
    Show More
    Reviews (29)
    Filter reviews
    7 results
    Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    0
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageEnglish
    Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews viviana vesuvius villa pompeii company trip
    Selected filters
    FilterEnglish
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 7 reviews
    Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

    We booked this trip before we left and found out that we would not be able to do the 4x4 trip as planned due to a fire on Mount Vesuvius from last years summer a couple of days before the actual trip would have been...More

    Thank R4853FEjulieg
    Giovanna R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tours & More Italia, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

    Dear Julie G, thank you very much for taking your time to write your review on the Pompeii - Vesuvius tour with us and for undestanding. Consider that during peak season here all the most important Unesco sites like Pompeii and Amalfi Coast and Capri...More

    Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

    Only informed after booking that they couldn’t provide the 4x4 aspect of the trip due to a forest fire last year. Could have cancelled but decided to go ahead for what was an enjoyable day. Driver was good and views from top of Vesuvius are...More

    1  Thank NandD2016
    Reviewed May 28, 2018

    After visiting Pompeii we returned to the railway station, where you can choose a tour to Mt Vesuvious. The office is location upstairs at the railway station. Very helpful staff and booking is easy. We choose the bus trip to Mt Vesuvious, just a short...More

    Date of experience: May 2018
    6  Thank hristopher J
    Reviewed May 26, 2018

    It took 2 hours to get to Pompeii and the driver was very difficult to understand. Joined another group of 8 for 2 hours with a very good guide. Then we were supposed to be on our own for an hour lunch, and after, meet...More

    Date of experience: May 2018
    6  Thank Susan E
    Giovanna R, Direttore at Tours & More Italia, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

    Dear Susan E, we regret to read your dissapointed feedback regarding your Vesuvius part of the tour. Unfortunately, we regret but most of local drivers in Sorrento do not speak a very fluent english as well as our guides, they are supposed mainly to drive...More

    Reviewed May 7, 2018

    Was really looking forward to this in view of some of the reviews read before booking.Unfortunately we spent a lot of time in a traffic jam on way to Pompeii. This was frustrating as we knew from the previous day's visit to Herculaneum by train...More

    Date of experience: May 2018
    4  Thank LondonCristina
    Giovanna R, Direttore generale at Tours & More Italia, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

    Dear Cristina, thank you for writing your feedback of your Pompeii tour. We read that you paid 15€ Pompeii ruins entry fee, please note that 15€ is the correct official price in 2018, therefore the guide collected the right amount from you in ordert to...More

    View more reviews
    Questions & Answers
    Ask a question
    carlg522
    August 4, 2018|
    Answer
    Response from Discover90617 | Reviewed this property |
    It is not my tour, I was the tourist, however they did pick us up from our hotel.
    0
    Votes
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: