Tours and Tickets

Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure provided by Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC

Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure
4
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*
Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure
By Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC
from
$208.00
per adult
from
$208.00
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 2-80, max of 14 per group
Duration:
6h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:
Mobile


  • Bottled water
  • Lunch
  • Driver/guide
  • Local guide
  • Port pickup
  • High Speed Catamaran transfer between Skagway and Haines, Alaska
What's not included
  • Gratuities


Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Our tours begin at the Skagway Cruise Ship Docks, however our guides can also pick you up from local hotels as well as most bed-and-breakfasts in the town-site.
  • Skagway Cruise Terminal, Skagway, AK 99840, USA Cruise ship guests: Walk past dock security and look for your guide with the RGA Logo on a sign. Guests in lodgings: Our guide will meet you in the lobby. Watch for a vehicle with the RGA Logo. If you do not find the guide by 5 minutes after the meet time, please call our RGA office at 907-766-3576.
  • Airports:
  • Skagway Municipal Airport, Alaska St, Skagway, AK 99840
  • Ports:
  • Skagway Cruise Terminal, Skagway, AK 99840, USA
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 37841P3

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age 7 years
  • Maximum weight 250 lbs.
  • A minimum of 2 people is required to open the tour
  • Cruise Ship Passengers, please provide ship name for meeting location. Hotel guests, please provide name of hotel for pick-up.
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

How much is Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure?
Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure price starts from $208.00. Discover and book Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure on Tripadvisor
What is the Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure cancellation policy?
Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure?
Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure is hosted by Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 37841P3

About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

DaveysWorld
DaveysWorld
00
Wonderful Tour Through the Valley
We had a great time with our tour guide Paul. With a total of four in our group, we had great personal attention.
Msh441
Msh441
00
Fantastic wildlife tour of Haines
Kathryn was an expert tour guide and took us all over Haines -both rivers, lake, two different beaches, two quick t
catmolly
catmolly
00
We saw mama bears and babies
The tour host was on time. Very friendly. We saw lots of bears and some bald eagles. I liked the size of the gr
Nlfpc
Nlfpc
00
Hit and Miss
We did not see any wildlife on this tour ( i know there is no guarantee) but basically, we stopped about 3 miles fr
birthdaytrip2015
birthdaytrip2015
00
Photography Lesson Tour
Booked Photography Lesson Tour through Holland America on7/14/2022. Learned amazing things to do with iPhone and m
Jimkeldan
Jimkeldan
00
Terrific tour
Wonderful day. Paul was a great driver and tour guide. Pick up at the ship was on time...return to the ship was ear
Amanda66908769
Amanda66908769
00
Aly
Aly was very friendly and knowledgeable about Haines. We absolutely loved our Wildlife tour to Chilkoot lake!
Billf1963
Billf1963
00
Cancelled us last minute!
They over booked the tour and cancelled us last minute! we booked this about 5 weeks in advance. the following is t
russellmE3892TB
russellmE3892TB
00
Photo Tour with Dale
Had a great time with Dale! Took the group to some.amazing places in the mountains while providing tips on photo co
gardner3102020
gardner3102020
00
Focus on Skagway
There were 7 of us and we had Cindy as our guide. Started out sunny in Skagway but the rain started as we drove up
Journey595260
Journey595260
00
A stunning morning visiting special places. We came away with amazing pictures and greater confidence in taking photos.
A stunning morning visiting some magical places with Paul. It was a perfect activity for our family with 2 older c
Terry E
Terry E
00
Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting
The weather started out drizzly but the sunshine came out and was very nice. We really enjoyed the ride down the r
tobyt13
tobyt13
00
an alternative look to Skagway
We took a Focus on Skagway excursion with Dale. He was awesome. Took us to see some beautiful waterfalls and made
Bklyn2FL
Bklyn2FL
00
White Summit Pass & Yukon Suspension Bridge
Great tour! Our tour guide, Dale, was the best. He did everything possible to make sure our tour was great.
W7758TWmarkh
W7758TWmarkh
00
Dale the tour guide made this special.
What a fantastic trip, made very special by our excellent tour guide Dale. From the moment he picked us up he was
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
10 reviews
Excellent
6
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
3
Terrible
0

Rickjax
Jacksonville, FL53 contributions
Wonderful 2 hour raft trip down beautiful river. We saw 7 eagles along the way. I’m told in fall there are hundreds of eagles. Very safe. Great way to see real forests and wetlands.
Written July 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joe O
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our float. The Chilkat truly is a beautiful river and the scenery is spectacular. Yes in the fall the eagle numbers increases to a crescendo of hundreds of bald eagles feeding on salmon along the river in November. Perhaps you would like to return to Haines some day for our Bald Eagle Festival the second week of November!
Written July 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LSseetheworld
Venetia, PA239 contributions
Couples
Had a great time with our guide Liz. We saw over 20 Bald Eagles on a very relaxing river float. Highly recommend!
Written September 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

adflanagan13
Oamaru, New Zealand21 contributions
In general we had nice weather but we saw only a dozen or so eagles. the scenery was beautiful. The raft guide, Liz, was an enthusiastic and competent naturalist who made the raft trip itself enjoyable. It is necessary to walk in water and Rainbow tours provided Rubber boots, but mine leaked and my feet were therefore cold for the entire trip. The excursion involved a 20 minute van ride which was cramped and the van wasnt very clean. Rainbow provided a van transfer in Skagway from our cruise dock to the ferry dock, and told us they would meet us at the end. They did not, and we were forced to walk 30 minutes back from the ferry to the cruise ship.
Written August 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for your review. I'm glad you mentioned that the scenery was beautiful and that Liz is a qualified naturalist. We are very fortunate to have her on our team. As far as the number of eagles, a dozen is actually a pretty good number. The Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve boats thousands of bald eagles in November. But in the summer, eagles are on the nest and are territorial, so you don't find large concentrations of bald eagles until they are off the nest beginning in September. The great thing about the trip is to see the eagles on and near their nests; the area where we float has a high concentration of nesting bald eagles because it is a rich and pristine environment. Another great aspect of our rafting trip is that it gets you completely away from the road and out in the wilderness where it is quiet and the air smells fresh and clean. I am sorry to hear that your boots leaked. Hopefully, you told our guide Liz about them. Our protocol is to replace or repair any and all leaky boots right away. Fortunately, most tours do not involve walking in the water- the boots are mainly to keep your feet dry in case there is some splashing water that gets into the raft. The nature of glacial rivers are that they are shallow, and occasionally a raft gets stuck on the gravel. If the guide can't get the raft floating again, participants may need to get out in the shallow water while the guide moves the raft from shallow to deeper water. This rarely happens but does happen now and again. As far as the transfer in Skagway, I am sorry if you misunderstood what we provide. At the beginning of the tour, we meet you in Skagway at the cruise ship dock just past security. We provide a meet and greet service and transfer to the Fast Ferry dock. At that time, our Skagway rep tells all guests about the return protocol. When you return to Skagway, there is a bus service that provides regular transport from the Fast Ferry back to the ship. My Skagway guides explain to all guests that this service is paid for by Rainbow Glacier Adventures- all you have to do is inform the bus driver that you are with our company and they do not charge you-they bill us. So our guests are never forced to walk back one half hour from the Fast Ferry back to their ship.I apologize if that was not make clear to you.
Written August 27, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dianedinky
253 contributions
Solo
I selected this for the opportunity to see eagles close up but we only saw 2 all trip and they were barely visible in the trees. I had much better sightings just on the bus Anchorage to Portage and then at Kenai. There was a centre with injured birds but we didn't visit it so there was no real educational element.
This is not white water so you wouldn't select if a rafting fan. And not great for wildlife enthusiasts like me so not sure who it's aimed at. If you like being cold and getting a wet bum then this is for you. Otherwise avoid.
Written June 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm sorry to hear that our trip did not meet your expectations. This is a rafting trip in the Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve. The birds are wild and so the quality and number of eagle sightings vary with each trip. We do not advertise that we go to the Center for Injured birds on this tour. If you had desired to see injured birds in captivity, there are opportunities in Haines, Sitka and Juneau. It is true that this is not a white water trip, nor do we advertise the trip as such. The emphasis is getting out in pristine nature and experiencing uniquely wild and beautiful place- The Chlkat Bald Eagle Preserve. There are five species of wild salmon that run up the Chilkat River and many active bald eagle's nest along our route. We often have great eagle sighting on our tour. I am also sorry to hear you say that there was no real educational element. Rainbow Glacier Adventures prides itself on offering a high quality educational experience in a small group setting. I am the author of the book Where Eagles Gather, the Story of the Alaska Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve, Haines, Alaska and i have 30 years guiding experience in the Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve. I personally train all our river guides, and the vast majority of those who go with us are impressed with the quality of our guides.
Written June 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kilraen
San Antonio, TX17 contributions
Couples
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the eagle preserve on the Chillikat river. Our guide, Dave, really made our time on the raft enjoyable! He was was humorous and educational at the same time. We both highly recommend this adventure; well worth the cost and time, especially with Dave as your guide!! Tell Dave to say hello to “Evinrude” for us!
Written May 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joe O
I love that you said that Dave was both educational and humerous. We understand that folks like you are on vacation, not taking a college course, but that you want some good solid information about the Eagle Preserve. But its also important to present the infomration in a way that easy to digest. Dave's easy-going style and Southern accent belie the fact that he is an expert river guide, always wathcing out for your safety. Dave loves rafting and the Preserve and his enthusiasm is contagious. We're glad to have Dave back with us for another season. Joe
Written May 28, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Family N
14 contributions
I havre been traveling to Skagway for decades to visit family. This past summer we decided to take a tour to see the Eagle Preserve. What an amazing, fun, educational tour! We enjoyed every moment.
Written January 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kim T
Colorado Springs, United States7 contributions
Friends
We took this from the NCL Jewel on August 3rd. I was not upset because we saw no eagles, I get wild life. The workers for this group where not professional. Got on the bus, it was out of gas, so had to go back too get on other bus. The guide for our boat was proud that he had not taken a shower in 4 days (he smelled). Then we almost missed the last ferry to the boat because the person to get us was late and did not take construction in for travel and was driving very dangerous.
Written September 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I am sorry to read this review. It does not sound like our company. Safety is our number one priority and I can't imagine one of our employees driving in an unsafe manner. Our company policy is to fill our vehicles with gas when they reach a half tank, so I can't imagine us having to change a bus during a tour because it was out of gas. There has been some road construction that can affect the return time of the tour. We do all we can to get passengers back to the ship on time and have been in business for over 20 years and have never missed the ferry back to the ship!
Written July 15, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dan
Miami Beach, FL8 contributions
Very peaceful rafting trip, and watching eagles. Our guide Ashley made things very easy going and enjoyable...very nice/authentic guy who didnt have that patronizing tone that some tour guides have. We saw a ton of eagles...definitely something to do if you are in town and looking for a morning or afternoon trip...do the morning though cuz it might be quieter and more possibilities to see bears or moose.
Written September 3, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Themainpoint
19 contributions
Couples
In mid July in beautiful weather we were met at the Skagway port and directed to the ferry boat to Haines Ak. We were met there by Carolyn who was a wonderful host and advocate for this lovely and secluded town. She drove us along the river to our drop off point and our guide Dave. We proceeded to have a beautiful private guided tour which thanks to Dave's knowledge, care and love of the river and its wildlife was unforgettable.
We saw many bald eagles including a younger one and one that took to the air right above us. My wife and I agreed that this excursion was a standout highlight of our trip thru Alaska. My highest recommendation to Dave , Carolyn, Joe and his Rainbow Glacier Adventures!
Written August 9, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

PhilMelchior
Wanaka, New Zealand18 contributions
Thanks to Dave and Byrne for an excellent trip...warmed us up on a cold afternoon. We didn't see any wildlife..they were all seeking shelter, but it was a fun excursion nonetheless.
Written May 26, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.