Tours and Tickets
Chena Hot Springs Tour
5

Chena Hot Springs Tour

By Alaska Wildlife Guide LLC
Recommended by 95% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
from
$185.00
per adult
from
$185.00
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 1-99, max of 14 per group
Duration: 8h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
English


  • Driver/guide
  • Hotel drop-off
  • Hotel pick-up
  • Admission to the Ice museum and Hot Springs
  • Entry/Admission - Chena Hot Springs Resort
  • Entry/Admission - Aurora Ice Museum
  • Entry/Admission - Chena Hot Springs Resort
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks (restaurant and cafe/snack bar is available at the location.
  • Cocktail at the Ice museum. Can be purchased at the Resort.


Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Pick up occurs between 8:45 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. We will contact you the day before your tour with your exact pickup time. We can only pick up from hotels within the Fairbanks or North Pole city limits. We do not pick up from the airport. If you are staying at an Air BnB, please contact the office for the closest pick up location. If you are staying outside the city limits, we can pick you up at Walmart or another hotel location. Please call our office to discuss what options are available.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5957P9

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please bring bathing suits, shower slipper, bath towels, at least 2 quarter for each locker and picture id's for the ice museum.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult. Please no children under 5.
  • Children under 18 and pregnant guests aren't allowed in the outside pool of the Hot Springs. There is an inside area for everyone to use.
  • Cancellation for a full refund is possible if the minimum capacity is not reached or due to dangerous road conditions.
  • Our vans are not wheelchair accessible. However, we have enough room for a foldable one and the Hot Springs are wheelchair accessible. Please contact us before booking.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

A note from Chena Hot Springs Tour
  • To be in compliance with the CDC and the State of Alaska: Guests are not required to wear face masks, but may if they wish. We also urge you to review the updated Health information for Alaska at https://health.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/Pages/COVID-19/
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with Chena Hot Springs Tour?
During this experience, places you will visit include:Discover and book Chena Hot Springs Tour on Tripadvisor
How much is Chena Hot Springs Tour?
Chena Hot Springs Tour price starts from $185.00. Discover and book Chena Hot Springs Tour on Tripadvisor
What is the Chena Hot Springs Tour cancellation policy?
Chena Hot Springs Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Chena Hot Springs Tour on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Chena Hot Springs Tour?
Chena Hot Springs Tour is hosted by Alaska Wildlife Guide LLC. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Alaska Wildlife Guide LLC on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Chena Hot Springs Tour on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5957P9

Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See departure details
  • 1
    Chena Hot Springs Resort
    Stop: 3 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Aurora Ice Museum
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Chena Hot Springs Resort
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

edalacar
edalacar
00
Spectacular and excellent
Excellent wonderful experience! Keaton is extremely well informed about all sorts of things! He knows his Alaska, h
N9712AEstephenb
N9712AEstephenb
00
A Great Snowmobile Experience
A great overall experience, the entire team there provided great service, and Tony in particular is an awesome guid
Happiness656987
Happiness656987
00
Amaziiiing 🤗🤗🤗 BRUTAAAAL! This was my first expierence and I loved it. Tony, the tour guide, was incredible.
Amaziiiing 🤗🤗🤗 BRUTAAAAL! This was my first expierence and I loved it. Tony, the tour guide, was incredible.
449mtm
449mtm
00
Excellent Experience
Tony was very helpful and very good Instuctor . Very organized and helpful . If I have to Come again I will Definit
145akashk
145akashk
00
Love this! Awesome guys
Tony was awesome. He is so patient and definitely a good photographer. I would definitely recommend this to anyone
rexx2023
rexx2023
00
amazing snowmobile tour!
This tour is really amazing! Our guide is Tony and he is really experienced. He taught us a lot of snowmobile such
Natalie1129LA
Natalie1129LA
00
Tony was amazing.
Tony was amazing. We came as a group of 6 and everyone love it! We definitely coming back. Worth every penny
mimigoodman3
mimigoodman3
00
Amazing Snowmobile Adventure!
Such a fun tour! Our tour guide Tony was awesome. He taught us everything we needed to know, went at the pace for
Hawkeye1985
Hawkeye1985
00
An all around incredible experience!
Tony was a phenomenal guide, he was thorough in his explanation and safety guidance on riding. He's a super persona
Armando0324
Armando0324
00
Snowmobile Ride
Decided to do this as a birthday gift and I’m so glad I did it! Tony was an amazing tour guide! We had a blast!
maridithr2020
maridithr2020
00
Lights, Cameras and Action
My sister and I were stoked to book this tour - it was exactly as described, but probably better. Our guide, Keaton
Baseballdad24
Baseballdad24
00
Fairbanks Northern Lights tour
We had a great time as Bob our tour guide was fantastic. Very informative and full of energy. Highly recommend you
X1605TKshanec
X1605TKshanec
00
Wow!!! What a trip!!
Our trip to Chena Springs was amazing. And our tour guide Laura was very upbeat, professional, knowledgeable, and
RanganathY
RanganathY
00
Highly recommond
We went on this trip and Laura is our tour guide was fantastic, she was so patient in showing us the northern light
bat0rshikhb
bat0rshikhb
00
Great snowmobile experience!!!
We had a blast! The track was composed from road, straight line where you can get some speed, river bank for zig za
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
124 reviews
Excellent
109
Very good
10
Average
1
Poor
3
Terrible
1

Annely H
4 contributions
Aug 2022 • Friends
8/19/22 Enjoyed this greatly. Make sure to take a swimsuit, extra change of clothes, quarters, if you are planning to shower after (I recommend) take shampoo etc if you are going to the ice museum take gloves and a hat! when we went we were able to visit the ice museum first roam around the resort visit the gift shop grabbed a coffee at the cafe and went on the geothermal tour. During that tour it did start raining. We were lucky and brought good jackets with hoods. After that we hopped in the hot springs. Gave ourselves around 30mins to get out and get ready and be back in the van by 4 to head home. On the way home our tour operator was very sweet! She would point out any wildlife or plants she knew and told us stories about living in Alaska. Overall definitely a great way to spend a day.
Written August 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lvdolphins420
Brookhaven, PA12 contributions
Oct 2021
Was supposed to do the Artic Circle and Aurora Tour, but the weather had other plans. They were kind enough to call and ask if we wanted to switch to the Hot Springs tour so we didn't end up doing nothing on our last day in town. They did a partial refund to make up the difference in the tours. The Hot Springs Tour is nice with a dip in the hot springs and a tour of the ice museum and hunting for Aurora on the way back to Fairbanks. Dinner is not included in the tour price, but it is very delicious at the restaurant. When I return, I will definitely use this company. They also pick up from most hotels in the area so you really don't need to rent a car,
Written October 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rainer Z
thank you for this great review. We really appreciate it and are so glad we could save the day and you liked the tour we rebooked you to. Unfortunately, the weather was not nice to us on this day but are always trying our best to offer at least some other options to our customers.
Written November 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kalyanaraman B K
1 contribution
Jun 2022 • Family
It was a 1.5 hour trip from Fairbanks to the Chena hot springs resort. A very unique experience that combined a cold tour of an ice museum with beautiful ice sculptures (they do give you a jacket but suggest bringing your own) followed by a relaxing time in the chena hot springs. Note that children are not allowed into the hot spring and instead there is a pool and spa dedicated for them. The water was just right and all aches and pains left the body. This was followed by a nice hot lunch at the local restaurant (which also had vegetarian options) and a tour of the greenhouses and thermal power plant. On the way back we stopped for Moose spotting and saw a mother moose and her baby. Our guide Leticia was very kind and like all of Alaska very warm towards us as well as the flora and fauna. A bird had been struck by a vehicle on the road and she stopped the vehicle to help the other small birds off the road to safety. We exchanged a lot of stories en route. Highly recommend.
Written June 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sarina R
Brooklyn, NY58 contributions
This experience was as advertised
Transportation was provided from Fairbanks and it did take about an hour. The driver barely said a word entire trip, and was very unclear when we got here. They wanted to charge $15 for an apple teeny to drink inside the ice museum.

you did get to go into the ice museum, there was a parka, but it took all of 10 minutes.

The second part was to go into a hot spring. The facilities were low class at best.

The Hot Spring is man made , the floor made of cement. To spend $180 for this was a total and complete rip off.

I would ask for my money back but it was advertised. I just didn’t expect it to be so low class and cheesy
Written May 31, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rainer Z
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a stellar experience with us on your tour. Communication between our staff and our guests is of great importance to us. When our office staff confirms tours, we make every effort to relay the itinerary as well as inform guests as to the cost of drinks at the ice museum. Our tour guides are to inform guests of the itinerary as well prior to arriving at the resort. We are sorry to hear that our office staff and guide did not communicate clearly as to the itinerary of the whole trip. We will speak with all of our staff so that issues like this do not happen in the future. Chena Hot Springs Resort is a highly traveled spot while visitors to Alaska are in town. While we do provide tours to the resort, we are not responsible for the upkeep and care of the grounds. We will forward your review to management of the resort in hopes that they can rectify some of the issues. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please reach out to the office during normal business hours. Again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your tour with us and would hope that if you do visit Alaska again you give us another chance to show you a 5 star worthy experience.
Written May 31, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ann Marie E
2 contributions
Nov 2022
I have to agree with the other poor review -if you wish to experience the Hot Springs, just drive there yourself. This tour in November advertises Northern Lights Viewing which is the main reason most of the people took the tour. One major complaint we had was not being able to contact our driver to connect and we almost missed the ride entirely. While the hot springs were great, the changing room was nasty (be sure to bring sandals), the restaurant was average at best (and the cost of the tour does not include dinner), and the Ice Museum was ok. After the hot springs we went to the activity room to (possibly) see the aurora. No hot drink or snacks were available. We did not see the aurora. Of course, a cloudy sky was not the fault of the guide however, the guide could have been provided MANY more tools to seek out the aurora. We literally sat in a parking area along the road for 20 minutes "hoping" the clouds would move. Doing this tour in the winter only makes sense if you want someone else to drive you to the 50 miles to the hot springs. Save your money.
Written November 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rainer Z
We are sorry that you had a bad experience on your tour with us. In regards to not being able to contact your tour guide. Our policy is we do not give out our guide's telephone numbers to our guests. You were contacted by the office to inform you that the guide was running late but that your guide would be there to pick you up at your designated location for pick up. All of our guests have the office number, to which all voicemails after hours are checked regularly, so that they can reach out if their guide does not show up. On the night you took this tour there were no voicemails that came through. We are sorry that you felt that the ground of Chena Hot Springs Resort were not better taken care of. Because we are just guests there at Chena Hot Springs Resort and are not in control of the upkeep of the grounds and facilities, we will forward your review to management at the resort in hopes that they will rectify these matters quickly. While we do advertise that this tour is a Northern Lights tour, we do not guarantee seeing the northern lights on any of our tours. They are acts of nature and we do not have any control over them just like the weather. Our tour guides are provided with many tools to seek out the aurora. They also make every effort to provide the best opportunities for guests to see the northern lights if they do make an appearance. We are sorry that the weather and the lights did not cooperate that night and you did not get to see them on your tour. If you feel that you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to call our office directly and speak to a member of our management team during normal business hours.
Written November 29, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

nfitzgerald10
Phoenix, AZ18 contributions
We had a great time; our guide, Cole, was a natural. He was fun and shared lots of local information. He was experienced in planning our trip to the Chena Hot Springs, knew which guides were the best, helped with any logistics, and overall maximized our enjoyment of the trip. We highly recommend this tour company and this excursion.
Written June 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jennifer C
Washington Township, OH7 contributions
Aug 2022 • Couples
Ellie started our experience on the phone offering to pick us up at our AirBnB rather than a short walk to a pick up location…Such customer service! Our guide/driver Cole was outstanding. A careful driver who got us to the Springs for the 11am tour of the museum so that we had lots of time afterwards for lunch, visit the dogs & the Springs! Choose this tour company as they have a standing reservation for lunch and we sat together as a group. The Springs were great…the rain stopped, the Sun came out and you could just take in the view. On our return, Cole delivered…we saw a MOOSE! This was our first full day in Alaska; it was more than we could have asked for. Thank you Cole
Written August 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Annt
Moreno Valley, CA14 contributions
Before going to the hot springs, I read all the reviews and saw tons of people complaining about how old and dirty this place is. I’m glad my family and I still decided to go. We had rented a car and decided to take the drive up without pre booking. It was a good hour drive, beautiful scenery. The first mile or so on chena hotsprings drive was unpaved due to construction (repaving) , but any car can drive through it. Once we arrived, you can see the ice museum and the large plane to the right. We walked to the activity center and decided to book the ice museum tour. It was $15 dollars for admission and $15 dollars more for an apple martini. I would recommend to bring gloves, a beanie and warm clothes and jacket. They offer parkas to wear which were a little damp and dirty but worked well. The apple martini glass was made of ice. The martini was vodka and an apple pucker type of liquor. It was ok. I don’t think I would want more than one as it was freezing in the museum. It was a good experience. After that, we went to the hot springs. Before going I highly recommend bringing slides or sandals as some people get grossed out with a wet floor. They sell water, bathing suits, trunks, sandals and have towels for rent. My group of 6 bought waters which were life savers! There are lockers for purchase (quarters) in the locker room. The water is very warm when you go in and has very very hot spots in certain areas. You will get hot! I started perspiring. Very important to hydrate. Make sure you do not drink alcohol or are dehydrated before entering as it can be very dangerous. The peacefullness of the springs and the warm spa like waters was such a great experience. I’m so happy we ignored the rude and negative comments about this place. It isn’t a 5 star resort- it’s Alaska and you are in the middle of the forest … what do you expect?!?!? The drive back was great and we saw a couple moose on the chena river! Such an awesome day trip!
Written September 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Joan D
3 contributions
Aug 2022
We had a great guide and enjoyed our day at the hot springs. We even spotted a moose on the drive to the springs. Alaska Wildlife Guide provided terrific customer service in returning our binoculars that we left in the van.
Written August 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Cindy Cheong
2 contributions
Jan 2020
We had the best time on our tour to Chena Hot Springs, which started with Bob from Alaska Wildlife Guide Day Tours. Bob was great, he was informative, kept us engaged, and was attentive to us through out our tour.

The Chena Hot Springs tour is great. We got to see the ice museum which is amazing, hang out in the warmth of the hot springs, and got to see the Northern Lights!

Bob was great in taking us to various spots to see the Northern Lights, and gave us several opportunities to capture the beauty of the lights for several minutes.

We recommend that you book your next tour with Alaska Wildlife Guide Day Tours, and ask for Bob to be your guide. You will not be disappointed!
Written January 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rainer Z
Hello there, thank you for leaving us and Bob such an amazing review. We really appreciate it and are so glad that you had a great time. It is great that you even were able to see the Northern Lights. Greetings from the AWG team.
Written January 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 121

2023 Chena Hot Springs Tour provided by Alaska Wildlife Guide LLC