Tours and Tickets
Straight to the Gate Access: San Francisco Escape from the Rock Cruise
4

Straight to the Gate Access: San Francisco Escape from the Rock Cruise

By Blue & Gold Fleet
About
Cruise San Francisco Bay on an ‘Escape from the Rock’ boat tour that tells the stories of famous Alcatraz prison breaks. The regular Alcatraz Island ferry just shuttles between the waterfront and the island, but you cruise all the way to the Golden Gate Bridge as you cross the San Francisco Bay. Bring your own phone, iPad, or other device to listen to recorded tales from the history of Alcatraz.
from
$46.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 5-100, max of 8 per group
Duration: 1h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
German, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, English, Italian, French, Spanish

Highlights
  • See San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge from the water
  • Secure advance tickets to a popular tour that might sell out
  • Use your own device for the audio tour—not a public headset and hand-held
  • Convenient departure point on the San Francisco waterfront

  • "Straight to the gate" access
What's not included
  • Food and drinks (available to purchase)
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)


Departure details
  • Blue & Gold Fleet, Pier 41, San Francisco, CA 94133, USA PIER 39, The Embarcadero at Beach St. San Francisco, CA 94133
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5863P4

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible, only on first deck
  • Children from 0 to 4 years old sail for free
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Times are subject to change without notice
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

Does this cruise dock on Alcatraz Island?
While it does not dock on the island, you get a 360-degree view of the island from the vessel. All the while hearing tales of the guards that worked there and the inmates that served there.

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5863P4

Reserve your spot

Similar experiences

About the operator
Blue & Gold Fleet
1,049
San Francisco, California
Joined in March 2009

#11 of 83 Boat Tours & Water Sports in San Francisco
  • KhmerloveTravels
    KhmerloveTravels
    0
    0
    Exceptional!
    I'd been to San Francisco many times, but my husband hadn't, so I opted for this boat ride. It exceeded my expectations! The boat ride alone is worth the price, but then you get to see the bridge, Alcatraz, and the sea lions from new angles, and listen to the audio tour. We even showed up early and they let us onto the earlier ride. Be prepared for wind! We had our toddler with us and it felt like she could blow away at times! Sit on top of the boat though. You wouldn't get the same views on the lower deck.
  • claudinek662
    claudinek662
    0
    0
    Great views and the commentary was an added bonus!!
    The views were awesome. We took lots of pictures! Well worth the price. It was a wonderful way to see The Golden Gate Bridge!
  • simoncarder48
    simoncarder48
    0
    0
    San Francisco break
    We booked this boat trip on line to take a trip round the bay and mainly see the Golden Gate Bridge. The booking process was easy and there was good availability to meet our requirements. The boat trip ran to time and the crew ran things efficiently. The weather was poor so visibility wasn’t great but the information provided on the boat was interesting and informative. Overall a great experience.
  • T0niL
    T0niL
    0
    0
    Fun little side trip
    The ferry is nothing fancy but provided a great ride to Sausalito. Ferries were right on schedule and we were able to see everything we wanted to see and grab some lunch during the two hours between ferries.
  • patsJ9
    patsJ9
    0
    0
    Upset
    This was a terrible experience. I was with my daughter and son in law and it ruined our trip. Never got the confirmation email for the tickets so I had to wait at the box office for almost a half an hour for the poor lady to figure it out. I showed her it came out of my bank but no CONFIRMATION from you guys to my email. NEVER AGAIN will I use this service.
  • Resort21833617324
    Resort21833617324
    0
    0
    Great experience!!
    The views are really amazing. Reach before time to get a good seat on top deck. It can get really windy so be equipped with proper jackets. Great experience
  • 990adellef
    990adellef
    0
    0
    #hourontheblueandgoldfleet
    This was an awesome experience for my boyfriend and I we loved it, we were able to see so much from the boat and it was just a nice experience getting to see so much!
  • P7139BGkingk
    P7139BGkingk
    0
    0
    Really unfriendly staff
    Really bad example for nasty unfriendly staff. You get screamed at when you enter the boat and when you leave the boat. They really don't care about customers at all. Absolutely horrible.
  • H8094PFmarthah
    H8094PFmarthah
    0
    0
    Boring tour
    The engine was very loud and you could not hear the commentary about the bridge. Not a very interesting tour.
  • tomwU7703KO
    tomwU7703KO
    0
    0
    Don’t trust these guys to deliver what they advertise
    Poor, very poor. Don’t trust these guys to deliver what they advertise. Went on an hour bay tour this afternoon which is advertised to go under the Golden Gate Bridge, the biggest and main purpose of the tour. Instead of letting guests know that the boat wouldn’t be going out there when booking or when boarding, they proceed to do the tour without mentioning it would not be fulfilling the biggest purpose of the trip.
  • RachelC5731
    RachelC5731
    0
    0
    Loved it!
    Such a great experience!! Staff were lots of fun! Lots of room, great commentary, and the mixed drinks were a plus! Love that we were so up close with Alcatraz and the Golden Gate. It was a beautiful day and great experience! Added a great memory to our list!
  • kingsley e
    kingsley e
    0
    0
    Beware a scam
    We were told when we purchased a clipper monthly ticket it would include ferries , cable cars , and buses in SF At pier 39 we were directed to Blue and gold where a member of staff said it would be fine . When we tried to board we were told that we had to PAY to get to Sausalito , but the return would be covered by the Clipper card. On the return journey we were told this was not true and had to pay again . In addition they would only accept cards not cash It is a nice ride but it would have been so much better is we had not been told by SO many staff we would NOT have to pay , only to find out they would not let us off the boat until we paud twice . Ironically , it was the same members of Staff that told us we had to pay , that had originally told us the return journey wiuld be cvered by the Clipper card
  • 415elfriedem
    415elfriedem
    0
    0
    Definitely a golden fleet
    We booked are tickets on line and got in the queue and had no problem getting on board. They took your group photo and then all aboard. Vessel was nice and clean and it included a really good commentary. Definitely hit all the highlights sailing under the Golden Gate Bridge and then to the back side of Alcatraz. Lasted about an hour the restrooms not the cleanest but at least available. Good value for money. Also make sure you book your parking before embarking to the city. Much cheaper then just arriving
  • sy y
    sy y
    0
    0
    Very accommodating!
    We were just passing through so didn't have too much to spend in San Francisco so this was a quick and informative way to take in the city from water. We very much appreciated them taking us in an hour earlier than the timeslot we we paid for.
  • Janet Z
    Janet Z
    0
    0
    Good tour
    Well organised trip round the bay and under the Golden Gate bridge. Very windy if you sit upstairs but you can still hear the commentary.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
57 reviews
Excellent
33
Very good
9
Average
9
Poor
2
Terrible
4

Cheryl T
11 contributions
Aug 2021
I was under the impression that this would take us to Alcatraz and let us off to explore the island. This was not the case, they instead took us for a cruise around the bay and Alcatraz. While the recorded tour was interesting, it was hard to hear with the strong winds blowing. It was very chilly, so make sure you wear a warm jacket with a hood! The man did a great job of acting out some of the prisoners’ stories.
Written August 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunshine65229286606
We're sorry that you were misled with what you purchased. Obviously Alcatraz is a huge draw to the San Francisco Bay so we tried to offer an alternative for guest who wanted an up close look at Alcatraz, without taking the walking tour on the Island. And we try to be clear in our advertising so again we apologize that we failed to make that clearer.
Written August 21, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Eureka S
Texas6 contributions
Jul 2021 • Couples
If you cannot get tickets to go onto the Alcatraz Island, this is the next best option. It was a beautiful July 17, 2021 to be out cruising on the bay. Yes, it is difficult at times to hear the audio recording but if you actively listen you receive some good information.
Written July 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Charles W
St. Petersburg, FL99 contributions
Jun 2023 • Family
We had a great time on this boat. The tour was only 1 hour but very informative and comfortable. The boat does circle Alcatraz. We were able to see under the Golden Gate Bridge and the whole outline of San Francisco. The Bay Area if very scenic and beautiful. I would also recommend trying to book the Alcatraz tour early, we were not able to because it sold out.
Written July 12, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunshine65229286606
Thanks for sharing that tip. We like to think of ourselves as a great alternative to get an up close look at Alcatraz if they are sold out. And you get to see the Golden Gate Bridge up close as well. Win Win!
Written July 13, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vicente D
2 contributions
Jul 2022 • Family
The most awful crowding of people to just make money. We spent 200$ to get on the ship to get moved 6 times due to overcrowding. Why stuff your ship so full to make the money and don't have room for people to comfortably see the views. 200 is a lot money for the horrible experience I am currently experiencing being crushed in on this boat. Would not recommend to any person. Their are smaller boats that are absolutely much cheaper and much more comfortable and absolute blast. I am not one to leave bad reviews but due to the customer service and staff attitudes about the situation. I had to leave one.
Written July 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kimberly S
Lee's Summit, MO93 contributions
Mar 2022
This was a last minute add on to our trip to San Francisco, but it turned out to be one of our favorite things from the trip. We did the Escape from the Rock cruise. We cruised late afternoon for about 90 minutes. We had great views of the city, the Golden Gate bridge, and Alcatraz. The tour is narrated so you learn a bit while you cruise. We did the tour in mid-March. It was a nice 70 degree day, but the cruise was chilly. Bring layers and be prepared for the winds near the bay.
Written March 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bob Kramer
Ankeny, IA240 contributions
Nov 2021
This is one of those things we hadn't planned on, but were walking around Fisherman's Wharf, it was a beautiful afternoon, and we decided, what the heck? The boat was leaving in 10 min! Our luck.

Had a real nice 2 hr. trip around the bay, which included a pass under Golden Gate Bridge, around Alcatraz, and to the San Francisco / Oakland Bay Bridge. There is a small snack bar on board available for snacks and drinks (sorry, we didn't take part, so I cannot give details.) Restrooms onboard, and during the pre-launch safety speech you are given clear directions to safety vests. And yeah, passengers who felt the need to get up and walk around on the open deck topside were cautioned over the loudspeaker again and again. The crew took safety seriously, but there are always those people ...
Written August 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunshine65229286606
Thanks for sharing your experience!
Written August 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Siegbert H
1 contribution
We booked a trip with a ship to Alcatraz but got only a view on a warship.
Ticket people on pier 31 told us we have to go to Pier 33 (as stated on your ticket).
Pier 33 was closed and on Pier 35 ticketing people told us that we are right.
By the end we could not manage to go to Alcatraz and would like to get our money back.
Ingrid Hafenscherer and Jutta Huber
Written October 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunshine65229286606
Very sorry for the confusion, but we are at Pier 39. And we don't go to Alcatraz. Pier 33 is the pier that would take you there, it's called Alcatraz Landing. You came during Fleet Week and there were military vessels at Pier 35 and Pier 31. Again, we're sorry for the confusion but you'll have to reach out to Viator for the refund as they are the ones you booked through.
Written October 22, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Martha L
San Dimas, CA1 contribution
Jul 2022 • Family
Since we missed getting a tour of Alcatraz this was a good second best. We got to go around the island and under the holden gate bridge. The guide offered some entertainment at the top of the ship. BRING JACKETS with hoods. It gets very windy and was choppy for the 3:30 tour.
Written July 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Comanderkody
Northboro, MA83 contributions
May 2022
Could not book Alcatraz so took this boat tour instead. It is a 90 minute tour and half the time was spent circling Alcatraz Island. The audio included stories about the prison from guards and prisoners. Learned a lot. Wish it was better weather but that is San Francisco for you. Leaves from Pier 39 so was easy to get to using public transportation. We were able t take a cable car which made it special.
Written May 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunshine65229286606
Thanks for sharing! We always joke around that why would you want to walk around the island when you can sail right by it on one of our boats. Happy that we were there to show you the Island!
Written May 10, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sandy
Pennsylvania12 contributions
We missed the chance to do Alcatraz but then we so this option. We LOVED it! The tour took us out to Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, and along the coast. During this time, there was information being shared as we approached the different areas (the two bridges, Angel Island, Pier 39, etc). We also went VERY slowly around Alcatraz TWICE with lots facts and stories. Great way to spend 90 minutes in SF!
Written August 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 52

Straight to the Gate Access: San Francisco Escape from the Rock Cruise provided by Blue & Gold Fleet

Product Overview: Straight to the Gate Access: San Francisco Escape from the Rock Cruise

Prices From

$46

Number of Reviews

57

Number of Photos

107

Duration

90 minutes