San Francisco Tours
San Francisco Bay Cruise
4

San Francisco Bay Cruise

By Blue & Gold Fleet
About
Experience several of the San Francisco Bay’s most beloved landmarks on a memorable, time-saving cruise. See the Golden Gate, notorious former prison Alcatraz, San Francisco’s dazzling skyline, and what was once the Ellis Island of the west—the immigration checkpoint-turned-state park, Angel Island. Enjoy a pleasant outing on the water while listening to an informative audio tour.
from
$38.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 5-100, max of 8 per group
Duration: 1h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Audio guide: German, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, English, Italian, French, Spanish
More

Highlights
  • Cruise across the San Francisco Bay and see the area’s waterfront landmarks
  • Learn about Bay Area history with an informative audio tour
  • Enjoy food and drinks, available for purchase on board
  • Skip the box office line and go straight to the gate with your ticket

  • "Straight to the gate" access
What's not included
  • Food and drinks (available to purchase)
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)

Skip the box office line and go straight to the gate to board your boat at San Francisco’s Pier 39. Then, check out the barking sea lions and San Francisco’s historic waterfront as the cruise gets underway. Log on to your Wi-Fi-enabled personal device for an audio tour and learn about ‘The Rock,’ as Alcatraz was once known, and the infamous prisoners it once housed: Al Capone, Robert Stroud—AKA ‘The Birdman of Alcatraz’—and Frank Morris, one of three inmates to escape the island and never be found. Snap pictures of the West’s most iconic bridge as you journey beneath the Golden Gate Bridge, and admire the zig-zagging hills of Angel Island, the former checkpoint that processed hundreds of thousands of mostly Chinese immigrants. The island—the Bay’s largest—is now a state park and wildlife preserve popular with hikers and boaters. If desired, purchase food and drink on board. The tour ends once you've returned to shore.

Start:
  • Blue & Gold Fleet, Pier 41, San Francisco, CA 94133, USA
    PIER 39, The Embarcadero at Beach St. San Francisco, CA 94133
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5863P5

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children from 0 to 4 years old sail for free
    • Cruises may not operate during inclement weather. Check with ticket booth on day of sailing for schedule.
    • Multi-language audio tour available in nine languages (English, Spanish, Mandarin, Italian, French, Japanese, Korean, German and Taiwanese). Please bring your Wi-Fi enabled device to access the tour.
    • Times are subject to change without notice.
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5863P5

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Blue & Gold Fleet
      1,061
      San Francisco, California
      Joined in March 2009
    • keithamara
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Good tour, poor commentary
      We booked this tour using a Go-City pass. The tour was very good with great views although very windy to start with! Unfortunately the commentary could not be heard on the outside deck which was quite disappointing.
      Written June 8, 2024
    • ColoradoCoskier
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Ferry transportation
      Enjoyed our ferry ride to Sausalito in both directions. Discounted price for seniors. We sat at the bow of the boat while windy had the best views.
      Written March 4, 2024
    • Pumby
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Beware of threatening and agressive staff!
      Not quite sure what happened here or if the actual trip was any good. Travelling alone with my two young children, we were greeted at the ferry door by a very angry and threatening steward, screaming at us for rushing down the ramp to make sure we didn't miss it. If you aren't meant to do this, that is fine and we should be told but not in the aggressive and threatening manner we were subjected too. Squaring up to me and not nice. It upset my children a lot and marred our time in San Francisco! I didn't get the guys name but he was very tall and had dreadlocks, not a nice person at all. Made us all feel very uneasy. This needs addressing as it isn't acceptable.
      Written February 19, 2024
    • Troy S
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Perfect for those with limited sightseeing time
      Conveniently located at Pier 39 in Fishermen's Wharf, they are easy to find. We only had about 5 hours for sightseeing in SF this trip, so we rode the cable car, did the one hour bay cruise with the Blue and Gold fleet, and had some sourdough. The cruise enables you to get great views of the city from the water, and close up views of the Golden Gate Bridge (which you pass under) and Alcatraz in a tidy hour long cruise. It runs about $35 per person. Crew was friendly and the boat had plenty of outside and inside areas for all kinds of weather. The recorded narration was much better than expected with clips from historians, eye witness reminisces, and appropriate and classy music. It was just well done. We loved it and was perfect for the limited time we had.
      Written February 5, 2024
    • Maps11995952663
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Clean your boat
      Started too early. Should have started at 5:30 itt was totally dark at 7:00 30 minutes into the tour. Windows were scratched and filthy could not see out for pictures. Bathrooms were dirtier than your average porta John’s
      Written October 15, 2023
    • T0niL
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fun little side trip
      The ferry is nothing fancy but provided a great ride to Sausalito. Ferries were right on schedule and we were able to see everything we wanted to see and grab some lunch during the two hours between ferries.
      Written August 13, 2023
    • runway321
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Pleasant Boat Ride
      We had a great time on this boat. The tour was only 1 hour but very informative and comfortable. The boat does circle Alcatraz. We were able to see under the Golden Gate Bridge and the whole outline of San Francisco. The Bay Area if very scenic and beautiful. I would also recommend trying to book the Alcatraz tour early, we were not able to because it sold out.
      Written July 12, 2023
    • Seaside529136
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great trip around San Fran Bay
      Great trip around San Fransisco Bay. Easy to book, Very informative, comfortable and not ridiculously priced!
      Written July 9, 2023
    • 992nikitar
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Really relaxing with nice views of SF
      Beautiful tour! We had a great experience. :) Plenty of room on the boat to move around and enjoy 360 views of the skyline
      Written July 3, 2023
    • Carmen T
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Does not include tickets to see Alcatraz.
      The opportunities for pictures are nice and it was lovely to see the bridges and Alcatraz from afar. I think they should make it more clear that this does not include tickets to tour Alcatraz, it’s just a boat ride. We were really disappointed. Also, drinks on the boat were ridiculously overpriced. We paid $15 for a plastic cup of wine. The smell of exhaust was nauseating.
      Written May 30, 2023
    • Redfish101
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great day out
      We had a great trip to the golden gate going in and out of the fog and then around the island with great stories about the inmates along with sightseeing along the way with commentary. Bit of a mix up at the gate with tickets from TripAdvisor but they sorted it ou. All in all a very good trip
      Written April 23, 2023
    • P7139BGkingk
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Really unfriendly staff
      Really bad example for nasty unfriendly staff. You get screamed at when you enter the boat and when you leave the boat. They really don't care about customers at all. Absolutely horrible.
      Written April 14, 2023
    • H8094PFmarthah
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Boring tour
      The engine was very loud and you could not hear the commentary about the bridge. Not a very interesting tour.
      Written March 22, 2023
    • jewelmyst
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      What is advertised is what you get.
      What they advertise is what you get. No more no less. We were in town only for 4 hours and this was the best way to see and experience the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz up close in that amount of time. It was cold and very windy so bring a coat. Definitely go online and reserve your parking in advance at the Pier 39 parking garage. It saves a lot of headache. Great little souvenir shop at the entrance of Pier 39 as well.
      Written February 12, 2023
    • JSharel
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Golden Gate and Alcatraz
      The cruise itself was fine, price was great and enjoyed seeing the sites. The recorded tour audio skipped throughout the cruise and the course around Alcatraz did not match with the audio.
      Written January 29, 2023
    See all 1,061 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.0
    4.0 of 5 bubbles96 reviews
    Excellent
    45
    Very good
    35
    Average
    11
    Poor
    3
    Terrible
    2

    Paradise Lost
    Burnet, TX178 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Ok at best, an older ship whose inside seemed dirty and unkempt. The seats were falling apart in sections. They told us it was 90 minutes when we bought it, then they said 60 minutes before we got on, then it was maybe 45 minutes of actually being on the boat. Expensive crummy drinks available. It took you to a great spot in the bay, but I'm sure there are better options.
    Written March 14, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. To clear up a few things, we do offer a 90 minute tour on the Bay called Escape from the Rock. The one that you purchased was the 60 minute cruise. And I'd be curious to know what time you chose to see what the captain's log says in regards to run time. You are correct that our boats are a bit older, but they are maintained and inspected by the US Coast Guard. We apologize that we didn't wow you. Perhaps you'll give us another chance one day.
    Written March 29, 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    ruben r
    26 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    The cruise was ok...I was bummed because I had to sit at the very bottom area instead of being on the outside deck. Seemed unorganized we sat in line a long time and got mixed up with people on another time slot. I think all in all it was cool for the price.
    Written May 31, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, sorry that you didn't get a seat on the outside. Normally people move around as the weather be chilly. If you are ever back in the area we'd be more than happy to make it up to you.
    Written June 4, 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Bob Kramer
    Ankeny, IA331 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We took the Blue and Gold Fleet excursion from Fisherman's Wharf and had a great time. The weather was perfect, with the temp about 65 and blue skies, no wind. We chose to sit on the upper deck, thinking it would afford us the best views, and we weren't disappointed. (You can sit below in the covered area if rain / wind is in the area.) The tour first took us AROUND Alcatraz Island (Note: the excursion DOES NOT stop at Alcatraz.) The, we went south to the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge, passed underneath and then north to the Golden Gate Bridge. Again ... NO stops were made, although the ship slowed to a crawl for photo opportunities. There were plenty of safety measures in place, life preservers / jackets for all, and you could request a life jacket prior to departing if you wished. Plenty of warnings were made for those atop who were moving around against regulations as they tried to get just the perfect photo or "selfie." We highly recommend this excursion!

    Oh yeah, there is a small snack bar available for drinks / etc. while you enjoy the cruise!
    Written February 21, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for such a detailed, and great review of our San Francisco Bay Cruise. We appreciate you taking the time to showcase all the highlights. Hope to see you again!
    Written February 22, 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    MB101
    1 contribution
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2022 • Family
    I understand this wasn’t a “luxury” tour of the bay. I’ll start with the positives, recorded tour was informative and purchased group pictures turned out nice. Negatives of this experience, disgusting, rundown, filthy overall condition of the vessel! There were endless holes/cracks in the seats, dirty seating tables and filthy looking carpets! This company could upgrade/replace/deep clean it’s vessel at least once in what looks like over twenty years of running!!
    Written May 15, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. The vessel is a bit older, but passes all inspections put forth by the US Coast Guard, just for the record. Perhaps it is time to take a deeper look to make sure we're putting our best foot forward in terms of ascetic. Thank you for your review.
    Written June 4, 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    KhmerloveTravels
    Siem Reap, Cambodia83 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2023 • Family
    I'd been to San Francisco many times, but my husband hadn't, so I opted for this boat ride. It exceeded my expectations! The boat ride alone is worth the price, but then you get to see the bridge, Alcatraz, and the sea lions from new angles, and listen to the audio tour.

    We even showed up early and they let us onto the earlier ride.

    Be prepared for wind! We had our toddler with us and it felt like she could blow away at times! Sit on top of the boat though. You wouldn't get the same views on the lower deck.
    Written August 24, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Nicola_W_0108
    United Kingdom735 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2022 • Couples
    Used our Go City passes to try the Bay Cruise and were directed to be there 15 minutes prior. Due to some unfortunate delays involving public transport which couldn’t be avoided, we had to rush and became quite stressed doing so, worried we might miss the boat leaving. However we managed to arrive 10 minutes early and they didn’t start boarding passengers until 2 minutes before the sailing time! Time was being wasted by an official taking photos of every person/group of people getting on the boat, so this needlessly delayed the experience and meant we had stressed ourselves out rushing for no reason. As usual with tourist attractions, some other people were annoying by getting in the way/obscuring views etc during the boat trip. This aside, we had decent seats outdoors and the boat wasn’t too full which was good. We struggled to hear the commentary due to being outdoors and it seems several other reviewers had similar issues so perhaps the company can look at improving audio quality for this. It was a great experience to sail towards and then under the Golden Gate Bridge - definitely a memorable moment from our honeymoon!
    Written August 19, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Well Happy Nuptials! We apologize about the arriving 15 minutes prior to departure. That's more for your own comfort so you can be first in line. And with the Go City Pass you need to stop by the box office to get your boarding passes. Thanks for sharing your honeymoon with us!
    Written August 20, 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    ChrisCNanaimo
    Vancouver Island, Canada17 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    It seems that we had a choice to either be inside, where the narrative was audible most of the time but the views were obscured , or outside where we could see the sights but not hear any of the information over the loudspeakers.
    Way too many people packed on board this ship. I’ve done this cruise before, several years ago, and don’t remember being so very disappointed. I couldn’t wait to get back to the pier and disembark.
    Written July 24, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We're sad to hear that you had a disappointing time, and we would like to make it up to you. If you are ever back in San Francisco please reach out to us so that we can try again.
    Written July 26, 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Marcus H
    12 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2022 • Couples
    Took the 90min tour, we had a gentleman on the open top who was very informative, even when the recording on the tannoy carried on.
    The water was calm but the fog was a bit thick. This could not be helped due to the power of god. We did also the 60min tour the next day just to make sure we saw the Golden Gate Bridge.
    A very pleasant tour
    Written August 14, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Gerard G
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2023 • Family
    We purchased the package of the trip to Alcatraz and the harbor cruise. We wanted to do the harbor cruise first in order to fit it into our schedule and inquired at the booth at Fisherman's Wharf. Victoria was very helpful and talked to someone at Fog Tours to make that happen. We really appreciated her patience and determination to help us out.
    Written November 24, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Carl M
    Thibodaux, LA3 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2024 • Couples
    Good experience and views of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. But BEWARE of concessions stand. I purchased a bottle of water, a coke, and a small bag of peanuts. Cost $16.50. When I got a receipt, there was a bud light added to my purchase, $7. Employee shrugged and said that the price seemed high. Canceled purchase and was refunded. Correct price $9.50. Surprised employee working counter didn't catch incorrect price.
    Written April 28, 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 80

    San Francisco Bay Cruise provided by Blue & Gold Fleet

    All San Francisco HotelsSan Francisco Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San Francisco
    All things to do in San Francisco
    Day Trips in San Francisco
    RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars