Tours and Tickets

White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln provided by Adventure Bay Charters

White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln

White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln
4.5
Book in advance
from
$275.26
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Jul 10, 2020
A note from White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln
As a South Australia COVID Clean business, we reach all the health measures applied in our state and have hand sanitizer for customers to use.
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 7852P1
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Breakfast, morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea • Bottled water • Lunch
Exclusions
Alcohol & Merchandise available for purchase onboard • Park Access Fee of $39. Payable upon arrival in departure lounge. No exceptions. • $10 return transfer fee payable upon arrival in departure lounge. • Entry/Admission - Port Lincoln
Duration
12h
Departure details
Traveler pickup is offered.
$10 return transfer fee payable upon arrival in departure lounge. Transfers must be booked direct with Adventure Bay Charters.
2 S Quay Blvd, Port Lincoln SA 5606, Australia
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Inclusions
Breakfast, morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea • Bottled water • Lunch
Exclusions
Alcohol & Merchandise available for purchase onboard • Park Access Fee of $39. Payable upon arrival in departure lounge. No exceptions. • $10 return transfer fee payable upon arrival in departure lounge. • Entry/Admission - Port Lincoln
Departure details
Traveler pickup is offered.
$10 return transfer fee payable upon arrival in departure lounge. Transfers must be booked direct with Adventure Bay Charters.
2 S Quay Blvd, Port Lincoln SA 5606, Australia
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
12h
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
We suggest you bring: warm jacket (it can get cold out on the water or after a swim), swimsuit, a camera, sunglasses and sunscreen – we encourage you to be sun smart, towel
Not wheelchair accessible
Most travelers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    2 S Quay Blvd
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Adventure Bay Charters
    Stop: 12 hours - Admission excluded
    White Shark Tour To see a great white shark in the wild is truly a memorable thing. Adventure Bay Charters with the world’s first Aqua sub now makes this a reality for everyone. For the thrill seeker there is one thing they must add to their bucket list - Shark Cage Diving with Great Whites! As the creators of Australia’s first Advanced Eco-certified White Shark Tour and Shark Cage Diving experience, we offer visitors a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to view the legendary Great White Shark in its natural habitat. Adventure Bay Charters has set a standard in shark attraction that is the highest in sustainability and environmental credentials around the world. Our methods of attraction are the most sympathetic towards the people who live by, work on and recreationally use the waters of Port Lincoln. The use of music to attract the sharks to our vessel allows you the unique opportunity to rock out to the Great White Sharks’ preference of AC/DC or your most loved tunes whilst in the cage. Observers can upgrade to dive on the day for $175.00. Payable onboard once sharks have been sighted. Sub access now included in observer price. Upgrade includes: Mask, snorkel, wetsuit, gloves, hood, & Cage Access. Park Access Fee of $39 must be paid upon arrival in departure lounge prior to boarding the vessel. No exceptions.
    Read more
  • You'll end at
    2 S Quay Blvd
    2 S Quay Blvd, Port Lincoln SA 5606, Australia
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

4.5
105 reviews
Excellent
78
Very good
13
Average
2
Poor
3
Terrible
9

Suzanne R
3 contributions
Awesome!
Jun 2021 • Family
Great day out... Only one shark in passing; but plenty of food and a great crew who took care of us. Plenty of trevally swimming around us.
Written July 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adventurebaycharters
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad you had a great day with us. Regards Adventure Bay Charters team
Written July 7, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mez
Victoria, Australia2 contributions
Sharks, knowledgeable, memories!
Amazing!! Friendly to sharks, super friendly to us, great knowledge, experience and equipment!! Everything above expectations. I’m stoked I chose these guys and would definitely recommend and use them again! My daughter (5years old) also got included and gets to go home with amazing memories because of these guys. Thanks so much! Ps- beers are cold too, bonus point!
Written June 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adventurebaycharters
Hi there, Thanks for your 5 stars review! Watching animals in their own habitats are one of the best lessons for children! Glad you enjoy the trip. Looking forward to seeing you next time! Kind regards Adventure Bay Charters team
Written June 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steven E
9 contributions
Great crew and adventure
May 2021 • Solo
what an amazing crew with both energy and positivity throughout the trip. Although we didnt get to see any sharks the trip was still an adventure and fun because of the crew. so well done team and your efforts have not gone unnoticed and im looking forward to trying again in comming months all being well.
Written May 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adventurebaycharters
Hello Thank you for your 5 star review. We are glad that you still had a great day with us. Make sure to let us know when you’re looking at coming back, we would love to have you again! Kind regards Adventure Bay Charters Team
Written June 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marine TY
7 contributions
Terrible. Scam, they lied to us several times - marketer and crew deceived us with play of words.
May 2021 • Couples
Don't call yourself shark tour. It's just a boat trip! No bait license, no sharks! A few wandering fish and that's it. Just blue nothingnes.

On calling to enquire, manager told us we had a 75-80% chance of seeing a shark. On arriving at harbour, crew told us we had a 50% chance of seeing a shark. Crew told us they don't use bait because they choose to be 'natural and eco'. Lie: we later arrived in Ceduna visitors centre to be told Adventure Bay charters don't have the bait license so they try stick to other boats to leech off them.

Crew told us 'maybe at the end of the day if we don't see sharks we might throw in some bait'. Lie, they are not allowed to. Even if they wanted to, they could not put bait. We spent 12 hrs on a boat and saw maximum 15-20 fish in the glass box, then just Blue nothingness. My boyfriend spent over 1 hr freezing in the shark cage looking at blue nothing. Really disappointed. We called the manager a day or 2 later to challenge their 'marketing' . They told us it's 75-80% industry standard when in reality, they didn't even see a shark with client for months before us! Big scam, don't go with them! We wanted some compensation but manager told us there is absolutely nothing he can do for us when we called after the trip.

I could have spent $15-25 at an aqAquarium and seen better things! But we paid $389 to see nothing! And no refund, no vouchers. Not polite, rude on the phone. What kind of business is this? Just took my money 💸💰💸
Written May 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adventurebaycharters
Hi Marine Thank you for taking time to send us a review. I can understand that you may have been frustrated that you were not able to see sharks. As discussed over the phone, we encourage if there is anything you wish to chat about to send it over an email. Sharks are a wild animal and never guaranteed. The significantly low shark sightings has been across ALL industries. We did also inform you that between APRIL - JUNE it is USUALLY between a 70 - 80% chance on seeing sharks. Unfortunately, not this season. This is across all industries, not just us. There is no explanation as to why the sharks have not been around - which is what I told you when you booked. Upon booking, it is important to do your own research to know who you are booking with. We will do everything we can to assist you in that procedure also. I also spoke to the Visitor Centre who said that they heard you guys talking about this with customers, they were never involved. I have alerted them of what you said. In regards to your comment about our crew saying "we might throw some bait in" - That is just offensive to say things about our staff especially when it is not true. We do not appreciate this. I thought I would also let you know, no operators - even those with a bait and berley license saw sharks this day. You did speak to me on the phone and I did tell you, as discussed when you book that it is USUALLY 70% - 80% but all industries are significantly low at the moment. As of Wednesday 12/5, the sharks have been really active and back around - so this is not a scam. As you would know and were explained, if you get into the cage and see a shark you pay $175.00. We choose not to charge the FULL amount upfront because a voucher may not be worth anything for you to come back. So instead, we choose not to charge the full amount upfront - hence why you do not get refunded the minimum cost. We were actually very polite to you, unfortunately you came across rude and hung up on us even though I did prompt you to email us. Instead you decided to turn to social media which did not resolve anything. I can understand not that not seeing sharks can be frustrating, but this is a wildlife time - no guarantees and no operator in the world can guarantee this. We ask that you rate on us things we have control over, sharks is not one of them. I hope that one day you will be able to see a Great White Shark. Kind regards Adventure Bay Charters
Written May 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Leonie P
Adelaide, Australia14 contributions
Just Do It! Once-in-a-lifetime Experience
May 2021 • Solo
I went on a swim with sealions and white shark tour on consecutive days with Adventure Bay Charters and had the most incredible time!
The sealions were just as inquisitive and adorable as you see in the photos, dazzling us with their playful agility!
On our all-day shark tour we were lucky enough to have a 3.5m male great white making regular passes and generally hanging around our surface cage on the boat for most of the 5 or so hours we were at the Neptune Islands. As he was attracted not by bait, but by the music speaker noise vibrations, we got to see a full range of natural shark behaviour.
I felt 100% safe in the cage, even when the shark passed less than 30cm away multiple times. Being so close to this beautiful and powerful apex predator for an extended amount of time was a once-in-a-lifetime encounter that I'll never forget.
From the boat on our way out and back we were also shown sea eagles and fur seals with playful pups, on shoreline rocks. The seascapes and various islands were beautiful, especially at sunrise and sunset.
To cap off an epic day we then had 4 dolphins ride our boat's bow wave for a good 5 minutes or so just before we re-entered the harbour on our return - a magical end to a very special day!
The staff on both tours looked after us brilliantly - not only were they knowledgeable, helpful, safety-focussed and professional, but also friendly, caring and passionate about marine life and ocean eco-health. They clearly got just as much of a buzz out of the sea life interactions as we did, creating a great atmosphere of camaraderie in both our groups.
Both vessels were comfortable and well-equipped, with plenty of food, hot and cold drinks on offer.
If you're thinking of doing one or both these tours, do not hesitate to book! I was originally meant to do them 13 months ago, but the pandemic meant I had to postpone - Adventure Bay Charters sorted this out with a minimum of fuss.
I couldn't have been happier with both my experiences - thank you so much guys!
Written May 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adventurebaycharters
Hi Leonie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am glad that you were able to experience the Ultimate Marine Adventure Tour with us. What an amazing two days you had! We have loved sharing the experience with you and so glad that you were able to make some amazing memories. We can't wait to have you back with us as our crew really enjoyed your company! Kind regards Adventure Bay Charters team
Written May 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Placchester
Edinburgh, UK24 contributions
Great day out
Can’t compliment the crew enough on our trip, Kelsey and Gloria worked hard all day to look after everyone on board with a constant supply of food and drinks. Unfortunately we didn’t see a shark, but we knew this was possible when we paid our money. Dan, the skipper, stayed at the Neptune Islands as long as possible hoping we would see a shark, but it was not to be. The viewing sub was a bonus that my wife and I both enjoyed.
Would recommend Adventure Bay Charters.
Written May 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adventurebaycharters
Hello Thank you for your 5 star review. We are glad you had a great day with us onboard our White Shark Tour. Despite not seeing sharks, I am glad you had a great day with us. We hope to see you onboard with us again one day soon. Kind regards Dylan
Written May 10, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ann C
3 contributions
Boat Trip
May 2021 • Couples
We were booked on the white shark tour 1st May, unfortunately no sharks. It was a very long day but the crew on board were fantastic and it was very well catered for. The sub was great for observing underwater as my husband is a non swimmer.
I would like to make a suggestion as I would have liked to learn some more about the great white, perhaps a talk and screening on the shark especially when there are no sharks for the day. This could have broken the day up a bit as it did get a bit boring.
Written May 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adventurebaycharters
Hi Ann Thank you for your 4 star review - we appreciate the time you have taken to write this! I am glad you still had a great day despite no sharks. It is quite a weird time for us as we are usually in a peak period with see sharks, but unfortunately their sightings have been very minimal. I am glad your husband enjoyed our aqua sub, and was able to watch you in the cage. We will definitely take onboard your suggestion regarding shark information. We have a crew member who stands on the bow who does a briefing on the Neptune Islands and Great White Sharks. We would usually have some booklets etc on the boat, but the number of these have had to be cut down due to Covid restrictions. We can definitely look at putting a few more things on the tvs as well, we have had a few issues with the tvs which are getting looked at this week! Thank you again! Dylan
Written May 5, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jill636
Adelaide, Australia8 contributions
a great day was had by all
Apr 2021
even though we didn't get to see any sharks, it was a great experience. the crew were so friendly and helpful and the weather was wonderful. The shark cage with fixed air supply and he underwater submarine were great and if there had been any shark would have really captured their magnificence. There was an endless supply of food and drink and the day went swimmingly expect for the non appearance of the sharks we were lucky enough to have tag along dolphins of both the outgoing trip and also on our return
Written April 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adventurebaycharters
Hi Jill It was lovely meeting you. I am glad that you had a great day onboard the tour! Our team strive to deliver great service and it sounds like they have done just that. Thank you for choosing Adventure Bay Charters. Kind regards Dylan
Written April 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fran C
Adelaide, Australia2 contributions
Shark Tour / Boat Tour
Apr 2021
No Sharks - No voucher offered to 27 people on board as per other tours

Staff were fantastic though given they would often have to be explaining the reasons only music and a bit of whipping and rattling they are using to try and attract sharks

As per other charter companies that are using Burleigh and blood sharks are coming and I guess for $400 per person that's what we are all looking for

Food was fantastic and as stated previously the staff were great - maybe just call it a lovely full day boat tour because basically that's what it was
Written April 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew M
Hi Maria Thank you for your review. Upon booking, you would’ve seen/been advised that you pay only the observer cost to go onboard and if you were to see sharks and if you see sharks you pay the $175.00 onboard. In comparison to other operators, you pay the full amount upfront and then are offered a voucher (you do not pay the full amount with us until the day based on a successful day - this is written on our website and our office staff will advise this to you). We are a bait and burley free operation which we are proud to be, usually April is a peak time for seeing sharks. I hope that sometime soon you can come back and that the sharks are around for you to see. Kind regards Dylan
Written April 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

711ella
Adelaide, Australia20 contributions
Terrifying Experience - Air shut off at 16 meters/Equipment Malfunction
Jul 2020
Unfortunately I don’t have a positive review for Adventure Bay. In July 2020, my partner (a divemaster) and myself (a dive instructor) went aboard the Adventure Bay charter for the bottom cage experience. During our second dive at 16m depth, the air shut off completely due to an issue with the compressor. When the cage captain went to open the emergency air cylinder in the cage, nothing happened - as she had forgotten to open a switch during the pre-dive check. It was the scariest moment of our lives, and were only saved by the fact that we didn’t panic until the airflow resumed as normal. Once back on the boat I was completely panicked and crying, and the owner joked that I “must be happy to have [my partner] back on board alive”. This was tasteless and unprofessional.

Why am I only writing this now? Because originally I felt that after my correspondence with the company, there was nothing more I could do. However, since this event, I have had serious panic attacks underwater. I am a dive instructor with close to 800+ dives, and now I can’t do my job properly. This experience has tainted my passion and love for diving. It will be a challenge to get back to how I was before.

After further research, talking to fellow commercial and recreational divers, and reflecting on my experience, I strongly believe the surface supplied system implemented by Adventure Bay is unsafe and unfit for use. I urge you to consider this before booking with this company.

I would hate for anyone else to experience this fear - which is why I’m speaking out now. I wish I had done it sooner.
Written March 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew M
Hi everyone, Firstly, we acknowledge that Ella’s experience was our responsibility, secondly that our concern has always been for her safety and well-being, as it is for all our customers. Ella’s experience with us during a Bottom Cage Dive in July 2020, the end result was very low air and has put her under considerable post-event stress. During this dive, there was an equipment failure and human oversight resulting in a total of 6 seconds delay where there was a low air supply, at which point it was subsequently restored. Through our complaints process and in line with our customer service charter, we have used Ella’s knowledge and experience to improve our operation to prevent this from happening again. As a business and an individual we can only fix what we know and for what we didn’t know we ask to be judged by the way we act. The day following this incident, we improved our equipment and operation procedure immediately. A 6-page formal letter was sent back to Ella on the 24 July 2020 clearly stating in detail our process and improvements with our Bottom Cage operation and offering further support if needed. I am grateful for the support that this community has shown for Ella and Jake but respectfully request that if there is any comment on Adventure Bay Charters procedure that they are qualified and knowledgeable about the specifics of the dive in question. For further information about the procedures, customer service charter or complaints process, please visit our website!
Written March 16, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 103
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Adventure Bay Charters
JMills529
JMills529
00
Absolutely bloody fantastic!
We went on the sea lion tour just before the covid lockdown hit. We had a fantastic trip and could not recommend it
Getaway376164
Getaway376164
00
Excellent
Excellent staff! Excellent experience! Even in the winter, it's really cold, we still have a lot of fun!
Emma D
Emma D
00
Amazing experience, must do activity for any visitors
This tour was a fantastic experience and we had an amazing time. Seeing the workings of the aquaculture in the area
902taniah
902taniah
00
Amazing
This was one of the most incredible experiences I've ever had! The tour operators were very knowledgeable, helpful
perrys936
perrys936
00
Informative and fun
Great value way to get out on the water, appreciating the coast form a different angle and to try some local seafoo
ChekFamily
ChekFamily
00
Seafood Bay Cruise
Excellent afternoon on the Seafood Bay Cruise. Super friendly and knowledgeable staff who are clearly passionate ab
Blischke
Blischke
00
Cage Dive and Sea Lion Swim
Absolutely awesome 2 days on the water with the Team from Adventure Bay charters , looked after my son and kept him
NatePorter
NatePorter
00
Sea Lions were majestic sea puppies as expected
Oh man what a day, what a day!!! Started off with a vegan cappuccino at the shop which started it off on the right
Charliegirl51
Charliegirl51
00
A Great Afternoon on the Water
We had a lovely afternoon. We learnt a lot about the fishing industry and it was interesting visiting the different
sandracK9920BW
sandracK9920BW
00
Seafood Bay Cruise
A great couple of hours with Matt & Mel. Great info & seeing the seals made our day. Highly recommend the tour. Wor
tborgeest
tborgeest
00
Adventure bay charters
Myself and 15yr son done a swim with the seals on tuesday, loved the crew and experience so much, we booked a shark
Graciekatie
Graciekatie
00
Perfect Private Charter
Isn’t it funny how sometimes you know you are living the moment that you’ll never forget? I had this exact thought
keveldyer
keveldyer
00
Boston Bay Mother's Day Cruise
The cruise around Boston Bay took in sights including the marina, tuna farms and sealion colonies. We were able to
454eview
454eview
00
Unreal day!
Great day out with adventure bay charters! did swim with the sea lions crew were super pumped absolute legends.Prim
Niki B
Niki B
00
Very Informative
Great tour, our guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining (and patient as we were late!) Thanks Guys!
Frequently Asked Questions about White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln

White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln will start at 6:30 AM. Discover and book White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln on Tripadvisor

White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln price starts from $275.26. Discover and book White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln on Tripadvisor

White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln on Tripadvisor

White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln is hosted by Adventure Bay Charters. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Adventure Bay Charters on Tripadvisor. Discover and book White Shark Tour with Optional Cage Dive from Port Lincoln on Tripadvisor