Tours and Tickets
Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour
4.5
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour

By Local Roots Food Tours
Recommended by 92% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
As a region with a strong agricultural legacy, the greater Sacramento area produces some celebrated, farm-fresh products that foodies shouldn't miss. Enjoy some of the best cuisine the California capital has to offer on this gourmet walking tour. You can stop for several tastings from diverse menus, spot local landmarks along the city's original main street, and learn about Sacramento's development along the way.
from
$98.00
per adult
from
$98.00
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 7-100, max of 14 per group
Duration:
3h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:
Mobile
English

Highlights
  • Uncover Sacramento's food culture on this foodie-friendly tasting tour
  • Stop at several eateries for artisanal tastings, with vegetarian options
  • Enjoy a personal experience with this small-group tour, capped at 14 guests
  • Don't worry about extra spending, with food tasting and drinks included

  • Local taxes
  • Food tasting
  • Beverages
  • Local guide
  • Entry/Admission - Local Roots Food Tours
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Transportation to/from attractions


Departure details
  • Sacramento, Sacramento, California Please meet your tour guide **INSIDE** the Hyatt Regency Hotel at 1209 L Street in Sacramento. Your tour guide will be waiting INSIDE the hotel lobby right outside the entrance to Hyatt Regency's 1819 bar (directly across from public restrooms) It is towards the right after entering the hotel's front entrance. Please arrive 10 minutes prior to the tour start time. Public parking is available at the Hyatt Regency on 12th Street and L Street (entrance on 12th Street). It is the more expensive parking option but also the most convenient due to its proximity to the tour's starting location. If you don't mind walking a couple of blocks, we recommend parking at the public garage on the corner of J Street and 10th Street on Saturdays. Fee is $5.00 all day. Hyatt Regency Parking $5.25 1st hour $1.75 each additional 1/2 hour $20 maximum Capitol Garage: Weekday Rates (6 a.m. to 5 p.m.) $1.50 each half hour $18.00 daily maximum charge 10th & J Street: Weekend Rates - Saturday $5.00 daily maximum charge all day #Meeting Address 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA, 95814
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 11606P2

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum drinking age is 21 years
  • Dress code is smart casual
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

How much is Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour?
Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour price starts from $98.00. Discover and book Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour on Tripadvisor
What is the Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour cancellation policy?
Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour?
Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour is hosted by Local Roots Food Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Local Roots Food Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour on Tripadvisor
How much time do I need for Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour?
On average, this experience will take approximately 3h. Discover and book Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 11606P2

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Sacramento
    See departure details
  • 1
    Local Roots Food Tours
    Stop: 3 hours - Admission included
    Downtown Sacramento is experiencing a 21st century renaissance! Tour guests will be guided down Sacramento’s original main street while learning about the area’s rich history and architecture, from the mid-1800s through today.
    Read more
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

debbiebD3981SU
debbiebD3981SU
00
Priceless
I took the tour with Dawnie yesterday. It was just my two sons and myself and she put just as much into it as she w
GWyss
GWyss
00
A great tour of a fun city!
A wonderful mix of art, culture, and food. We loved our tour guide, who loved her city and wanted to share it. We
Mela731
Mela731
00
Great for a solo trip!
I was on a solo trip. It was a small group but perfect for my first trip to Sacramento! The food recommendations we
S678SZbrianh
S678SZbrianh
00
Amazing tour guide. Perfect excursion of culture and food.
Amazing tour. Walking seeing local art waiting small tasting offerings at multiple locations. For first time at Sac
elizabethpU3281BG
elizabethpU3281BG
00
Must take Food Tour while in Sacramento CA
Hands down the best part of this tour was our Guide CC! A close 2nd was Evelution Restaurant. Honestly the entire
233corib
233corib
00
Great experience
CC was very pleasant and informational. Her knowledge of the area was exceptional and the food was remarkable! I ca
Bitsky42
Bitsky42
00
Amazing Tour Guide
CC was incredible at touring us through midtown Sacramento. Her knowledge of history and the murals in the town mad
O1763UYjuliag
O1763UYjuliag
00
Great afternoon in Sac!
CiCi was a great tour guide. She really went out of her way to accommodate my special food needs and adapt to our p
Steve T
Steve T
00
Fun in Sacramento
Great experience CC was very knowledgeable had great personality and made the experience totally fun and totally wo
kathysP6028MT
kathysP6028MT
00
Fabulous
We had a FABULOUS time and REALLY enjoyed CC our guide 😊 She absolutely made the experience far exceed our expecta
latina3928
latina3928
00
Tour Guide Great. Not Impressed with Food
CC, the tour guide was great! She is a wealth of knowledge about the local area. Enjoyed seeing the murals and hear
Carol M
Carol M
00
Don't miss it.
You may not spend another three hours in Sacramento that are this much fun. C.C. was an amazing guide, the murals a
Erzengel
Erzengel
00
Great arts and foodie tour
My husband and I did the Midtown Arts tour on 2/20/22 with CC. We originally planned this to be our Valentine's Da
markandrandy
markandrandy
00
Simply the Best!
Our guide , CC, was outstanding. Her historical knowledge, outgoing personality, and choices of restaurants we stop
David B
David B
00
Learning about the history of Sacramento, the city we live in.
Learning about the history of the city we live in, open to questions and a fun afternoon! CC Was full of good infor
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
41 reviews
Excellent
35
Very good
3
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Kathryn H
2 contributions
May 2022
We came through Sacramento with a study away group of 18 university students eager to learn more about the local art scene and eat some great farm to fork food. Wow did local roots food tours exceed our expectations. From the get-go it was great communication, clear directions, and above and beyond delivery of experience and food. Despite being a group of 21 people with 18 unpredictable and unique college students, the tour went off without a hitch.

We went to three great places all of which blew our minds. The portions were more than generous, the walking was perfectly paced and distanced, and the information about murals, local restaurants, and agriculture was excellent.

The students we had with us counted this as one of the best experiences that we provided on the trip, and their favorite from our Sacramento stop. We look forward to using Local Roots tours again when we run the trip in coming years. Thank you local roots!
Written June 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Thank you for taking the time to review your Local Roots Food Tours tour. We're especially pleased that you enjoyed yourselves! What a wonderful opportunity your cross-country travels are offering students in this program. We'd love to be considered again for the next time you're in town. Thank you again for your great review! -- Dawnie
Written June 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

threeboyziowa
Sioux City, IA3 contributions
May 2022
Solid Tour. Excellent Guide (CC) and a fun family we met from Alabama! The "extra" part of the tour that highlighted building artwork (and I do not have an artistic bone in my body) was amazing. Highly recommend :-)
Written May 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Thank you for taking time to review your tour with us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed yourself and that, even with no "artistic bones" you found our mural amazing. We think it is pretty great too and CC, along with our other guides, really love showing off our city! Come and see us again soon. We've got lots of other tours and lots of other "extras!" Thank you again for your glowing review!
Written May 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kensing
Washington, DC6 contributions
Sep 2021
A very enjoyable tour, with lots of information about the Sacramento area and some great food stops! CC was knowledgeable and engaging, and her enthusiasm about Sacramento was infectious. The tour gave us a chance to see the downtown area in a way that helped us appreciate not only the history but also the city's current efforts. Well done.
Written September 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Thank you for taking the time to leave this fabulous review. I'm so glad CC was able to help you appreciate our fair city! There is so much to offer in Sacramento and we are proud to call the city home. Come and see us again soon; we've got lots more tours! Thank you!
Written September 27, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Arubafan123
USA438 contributions
May 2022
Tour was canceled the day after I booked and a day before the date of the food tour as there were not enough people who had signed up. That's totally understandable, I understand a company can't make money if too few people sign up. That's not the issue. The issue is their customer service.

Why I have the low rating is the snippy email I received when inquiring about my refund. The email stated "Customers will receive a full refund with 24 hours notice of cancellation.". That's not true.

8 days later when I was able to check my credit card account and see I didn't receive a refund I contacted them. I received a snippy email response, and the response claimed I had been told it could take up to two weeks for the credit to appear. I had never been told it would take up to two weeks to receive credit. Never mentioned in any email that I received.

I was criticized for asking about a credit 8 days later and wondering why I hadn't contacted them within a week of the cancellation. Below is the response I received.

"As I stated in my email to you at that time, it can take up to two weeks for the credit to appear on your cc statement. I also stated that you could contact me if you did not receive the credit within a week. This is the first I am hearing of any problem withe the refund. I can appreciate the time this is taking to resolve and thank you for your patience with it."

I have since received the credit (after I filed a complaint with my credit card). I would suggest this company have better customer service and not blame the customer for inquiring about their refund.
Written June 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Nancy -- Thank you for your interest in Local Roots Food Tours. We are so sorry that we were unable to accommodate you on the date you requested a tour and do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We did not intend for our email regarding the refund to be "snippy." It was our intention to give you the information about our policy. As stated your refund was requested on 5/22/22, within minutes of the cancellation, after our telephone and email correspondence. Upon our request, it it the credit card company that takes over and it is their policy that a refund can take up to two weeks. We ask guests to contact us again if they don't see the refund within 1 week, so that we can follow-up and make sure the refund is moving through the process. I did not hear anything from you at that time. On 5/30/22, I received a note from your credit card company that you were disputing the charges. The dispute request actually forced the refund process to stop ("5/31/22 @ 3:50am Customer disputed $88.00 charge to Visa.The cardholder has disputed this payment and it cannot be refunded right now.") I was not aware that customer generated disputes could cause this but now know for the future. When presented with the dispute, we immediately accepted and asked the refund to continue. It does appear that you have now been given a full refund. Again, I apologize for the email inquiries we sent to you regarding the refund. It was not our intention to place blame on you or anyone else, nor to be "snippy." It was our intention to get to the bottom of the problem and to get the refund back to you. We do pride ourselves on customer service both on our tours and within the booking/refund process. Thank you again for your interest in Local Roots Food Tours. We do hope we have the opportunity to meet you in person on one of our tours in the very near future. -- Dawnie
Written June 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

A Joe I
Las Vegas, NV396 contributions
Jun 2020
This was the 1st tour after the 3 months of quarantine and it was just the four of us plus our tour guide.
Stops
Ambrosia cafe for soup & sandwich
Allspicery for a gift of spice bags
Mayahuel for virgin cocktail, soup & tapas
Pizza Rock for pizza, salad & wine
Andy’s Candys for five treats
Temple coffee & tea for beverage
The masks were a pain and the hot humid temperatures didn’t help matters.
The tour guide was very informative, friendly but extremely paranoid of COVID. Sitting at separate tables at each stop which made this foodie tour quite different from all the others we’ve taken. Her distancing left us to just socialize with ourselves and shout questions over to her.
This is a great tour (we’ve now done it twice). However, I would advice you to wait till after this COVID thing because it was no where near as enjoyable as the first time we went on it.
Written June 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Thank you for taking the time to review your Local Roots Food Tours tour. We're so very glad you enjoyed yourselves despite the ongoing and constant threat of Covid-19. We'll make note of your comments regarding socialization between guests and guide. It's a brave new world out there and we're doing our best to adjust, as are the restaurants and stops we visit. In the future, we'll do our best to make everyone feels comfortable and safe while offering an informative and pleasant way to socialize. Thank you again for your review. Come back and visit us again soon!
Written August 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

126Annemie
San Diego, CA19 contributions
Jul 2020
We do a lot of food tours and this ranks in our top five. Not only was the quality of the food excellent, but our guide, Ciara/Seaira (not sure of the spelling!), is not only a “foodie”, but also a history major, and was informative, engaging, and absolutely wonderful. Got to learn about the city’s murals, Capitol grounds, local architecture, and Schwartznegger’s favorite eatery while governor. We left our three hours with her full of information, pizza, soup, tequila, panini, coffee, caramels, chocolates, and several baggies of spices. Can highly recommend!
Written July 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Thank you for taking the time to review your Local Roots Food Tours tour. We're so very glad you enjoyed yourselves! We think Cearra is pretty wonderful too and are so very glad we get to work with you. Come back and see us on another tour soon. We've got LOTS to show-off in Sacramento! Thank you again for your 5-star review!
Written August 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jmccullum9
1 contribution
Jan 2020
Cearra was an excellent tour guide. She has an extensive knowledge of Sacramento and Sacramento history. She was able to answer all of our questions. She made the tour super fun and brought the history of Sac to life. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking A) to try some delicious food B) looking to discover how the history of Sac has influenced the businesses, artwork, and restaurants today in Downtown Sac and C) wants to get out and move their body.
Written January 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Thank you for your review and for your recommendation of our tours! We think Cearra is one of the very best and are so pleased that she works with us! Come back and visit us again. Thank you.
Written January 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gloria R
2 contributions
Jun 2021 • Friends
CiCi was very informative and a fun tour guide. Unfortunately we had higher foodie expectations and came hungry. We based our booking on other reviews that showed much more food experiences than were offered to us.
Written June 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Thank you for taking the time to review your Local Roots Food Tours tour. While we are very pleased you found CiCi informative and fun (we think she is just the best!) we are sorry you found the food experiences lacking. We do try our very best but, as humans, we do sometimes miss our mark. Our tours and our relationships with our restaurants are important to us and on-time tour starts are important; we respect the time of all of our guests and guides. Late arrivals, such as yours, even when traffic is the culprit, will limit the number of stops and the amount of food you might receive on a tour. We would love the opportunity to have you as guests again on one of our other tours and improve our standing in your eyes. Thank you again for your review.
Written June 17, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TravelMo330
1 contribution
Our tour guide CC was awesome! My husband and I were running late and she waited for us. Turns out we were the only ones on the tour; probably because of the heat🌡🌞 but it turned out great. Our guide obviously loves her job and Sacto which made for a very informative tour. Lots of good information about how the city of Sac is trying to support businesses in the area. We will definitely return to a lot of the spots on the tour
Written July 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and, yes, our guides do love their jobs and this city! Come back and visit us again soon!
Written July 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MissJessie
Sacramento, CA9 contributions
Mar 2021 • Couples
Our tour guide CeCe was great! I learned so much about the town I live in, Sacramento. The food was great, everything we tried was amazing as well as the experience. I would recommend this tour for anyone looking to enjoy a day out with good food and history.
Written March 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DawnieA1
Thank you for taking the time to review your Local Roots Food Tours tour. We're especially happy that you enjoyed yourselves and learned a little something about our fair city! Also, first date, huh?! We've got several more tours if you two want to get to know each other a little more! :-) Thank you again!
Written March 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 41
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

Downtown Sacramento Historical Food Tour | CA