We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Best Seller
Select Date and Travelers
From
$55.29
Date
2 travelers
Options
Overview
Discover some of the best sites in Iceland on the the Golden Circle Tour, in the company of a professional guide who will tell you all you need to know about the area's history, culture and nature. Leave the city behind and get into the history of Iceland at Thingvellir National Park, witness the powerful beauty of a multi-tiered waterfall at Gullfoss and walk among bubbling geothermal pools at Geysir Geothermal Area.
Highlights
  • See Iceland’s volcanic scenery on a day trip from Reykjavik
  • Tick off top highlights on the Golden Circle
  • Stops include some of Iceland’s most photogenic spots
  • Avoid the hassle of driving in Iceland’s unpredictable weather
What to Expect
Meet a driver at your centrally located Reykjavik meeting spot, or at the cruise port, and then leave the city behind as you head into Iceland’s rugged, mountainous interior.
The first stop on the Golden Circle route is Thingvellir National Park, where Iceland held its first parliamentary assembly. Hear guide commentary about the site as you admire the pristine beauty, and peer into the Thingvellir Rift, two tectonic plates joined by a narrow valley.
Next, head to Gullfoss Waterfall, double-tiered cascades that send up spectacular mist and occasional rainbows.
Continue along the Golden Circle to an area simmering with volcanic activity, hot springs, pools, and steam vents. Keep your camera ready at Strokkur, a powerful waterspout that erupts 98 feet (30 meters) in the air. This Golden Circle tour concludes with drop-off at your original departure point.
Show More
Reviews (2,331)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveler rating
374
89
28
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
374
89
28
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gray line golden circle the bus national park tectonic plates meet gullfoss waterfall classic tour dee dee last stop excellent trip sense of humour free wifi amazing sights interesting information highly recommend this trip beautiful scenery dropped off
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 512 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Paid for pickup from cruise port. Tickets receieved did not specify the extra pickup, so called local Grayline. They told us we had to get to their location on our own. Don't pay extra for pickup, requested a refund and told no. Tour itself was...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank travelinDaveMn
GLI_CustomerService, Public Relations Manager at Gray Line Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you travelinDaveMn for your feedback. For some locations we offer a complimentary pickup and this is listed when you make your booking. Very sorry you were inconvenienced in any way. Glad you enjoyed the tour with us and the sites visited that are some...More

Reviewed yesterday

The sights were fantastic and the guide was witty, informative, and pleasant. We felt we got our money's worth from the 7 hour tour and it was the only way we could have seen the countryside. Must when visiting Reykjavik! Only hic-up was the bus...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Kalani H
Reviewed 2 days ago

The trip was perfect if you are in Reykjavik for a short time. You get a lot in return for the money you pay! The tour took around 7 hours, but time flies with these beautiful and breathtaking sights and a funny tour guide who...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank kalinapavlova
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We selected the afternoon Golden Circle Tour. In the 6 hours we were able to see a few highlights & get a sense of the unique landscape of Iceland. The guide gave a mist interesting history lesson which made me want to spend much more...More

Thank 473elaineo
Reviewed 5 days ago

Beautiful sights, really made the trip wonderful. I didn't make this a priority, there were other tours that in my opinion were better (snaefellsnes peninsula was probably the best!) but I had the time and this was a wonderful addition. However, the tour guide I...More

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Jasmine R
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Djarrka
August 18, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from James L | Reviewed this property |
about 50-60. More intimate tours are available for more $$
0
Votes
RogerKitty
August 11, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sheila F | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I have no idea. We were picked up from our hotel.
0
Votes
Key Details
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall: