We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Small Group Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier

Select Date and Travelers
2 travelers
    What to Expect
    Your ice caving adventure begins in Skaftafell National Park, where you‘ll meet your glacier guide and jump on one of the buses for a scenic 15 minute ride to Falljökull Glacier. During the ride you‘ll be able to see the impressive mountains that line up the southern edge of Europe‘s largest glacier, the Vatnajökull Glacier. Once there, your guide will assist you in gearing up and getting ready for your glacier hiking and ice caving adventure, providing you with crampons to walk on the ice as well as all necessary glacier gear.
    Your hike will start at the bottom of the glacier carved valley where your guide will explain the unique features of the fascinating glacier tongue and its surroundings. During your hike you will explore the lower part of the glacier visiting multiple, relatively small ice caves along the way with many great photo opportunities. After exploring all that the glacier has to offer, you will then head back to the bus which will take you back to Skaftafell National Park, concluding your adventure. 
    Show More
    Reviews (10)
    Filter reviews
    6 results
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Traveler rating
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews great adventure arctic adventures ice cave crampons glacier
    Selected filters
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 6 reviews
    Reviewed April 2, 2019

    Great adventure. We did the Glacier Ice Cave Tour and Glacier walk. Booked in advance and team was ready for us when we arrived. We drove from Vik as we had rented a car and stayed a couple days in that city. Really pay attention...More

    Date of experience: March 2019
    Thank Tigerfan0_0_12
    Reviewed October 1, 2018

    We scheduled this trip and had some challenges due to our inexperience with the island, locations and navigation. Arctic adventures was INCREDIBLY supportive of us to ensure we were able to take part and enjoy this event. Even though it's not 'high' season for ice...More

    Date of experience: September 2018
    1  Thank rebeccaw606
    Cátia F, Customer Support at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

    Dear Rebecca W, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review. We always strive to offer our customers the best service possible and we are really glad that you had a wonderful time with us. We hope that you choose...More

    Reviewed April 23, 2018

    We showed up for our ice caving tour and glacier walk only to pull into the parking lot and find an email sent an hour before saying that the trip had been cancelled due to high winds. While I totally understand this sometimes needs to...More

    Date of experience: March 2018
    4  Thank Lauren W
    Larissa W, Customer Service at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

    Dear Lauren, Thank you for sharing your experience. I am terribly disappointed to read of your experience and can only apologize for the inconvenience that was caused. It is true that we experienced a heavy workload this winter leading to some delays concerning refunds, and...More

    Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

    Our original tour leaving from the glacial lagoon was cancelled due to flooding. I called the customer support number and they rebooked us on a tour leaving from Skaftafel. Mike was our guide. He was incredibly informative, super personable and very funny, he was also...More

    Thank J1245TSbarbaram
    Mariana L, Customer Service at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

    Dear Barbara M, Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback, we really appreciate it! Occasionally, the weather in Iceland can be quite a challenge to work around. However, we always try our best to do for our customers, and it feels really...More

    Reviewed March 15, 2018

    We arrived at the meeting point on time, and was greeting with enthusiastic staff members. They measure our feet for the crampons and checked that our footwear had adequate ankle protection. We then embarked upon the bumpy ride towards the foot of the glacier where...More

    Date of experience: March 2018
    1  Thank ShuSheep
    Larissa W, Sales at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

    Hey ShuSheep, Thank you very much for your feedback on the tour! I am more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour. Safety is always our number one priority and our staff obviously did a great job to make your tour both fun...More

    View more reviews
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Small Group Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier staff and past visitors.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: