Tours and Tickets

Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town provided by Springbok Atlas Day Tours

Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town

Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town
4.5
Book in advance
from $79.43 per adult
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Jul 16, 2020
A note from Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town
* Guests are to bring along own face mask.
What you can expect during your visit
Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
What to expect
Meet your minibus outside your hotel in Cape Town’s city center and travel in air-conditioned comfort to the Mount Nelson Hotel for afternoon tea. The hotel was opened in the late 19th century, and named for an 18th-century naval hero, Admiral Horatio Nelson. Since its opening, the hotel has been known for its luxurious service. It’s in an enviable location at the base of Table Mountain, giving visitors wonderful views of the mountain. Upon arrival, make your way to the lounge of the Mount Nelson Hotel, which is set up for afternoon tea every day with a decadent buffet of finger sandwiches, fruit, cakes, pastries, empanadas and sweets like petit fours and éclairs that may look almost too good to eat. The beauty of the lounge and the view is complemented by the selection of loose leaf teas to choose from - including Darjeeling, Earl Grey and the South African favorite, Rooibos. Spend your afternoon enjoying the opulence of this luxury hotel and its unforgettable tea service, after which your host will escort you from the hotel lobby to your awaiting minibus for transfer back to your Cape Town hotel or elsewhere in the city.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2382NELSONSE5
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Hotel pickup and drop-off • Afternoon tea • Entry/Admission - Cape Town Central
Exclusions
Gratuities
Duration
2h 30m
Departure details
Traveler pickup is offered.
Should your Hotel not be listed, please contact us 48 hours prior so we can confirm if we would be able to pick up and drop off from your hotel.
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Inclusions
Hotel pickup and drop-off • Afternoon tea • Entry/Admission - Cape Town Central
Exclusions
Gratuities
Departure details
Traveler pickup is offered.
Should your Hotel not be listed, please contact us 48 hours prior so we can confirm if we would be able to pick up and drop off from your hotel.
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
2h 30m
Additional information
A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
A 10% gratuity will be charged for bookings of 6 guests and more
Not wheelchair accessible
surcharges will apply over certain periods ie... valentines day, etc....
guests will be contacted day before with collection times. Collection times may vary depending on number of pick ups.
Most travelers can participate
Cullinan Guided Journeys strictly follow the SA Government approved TBCSA Health and Safety COVID-19 Protocols. Should guests present COVID-19 symptoms, COVID testing and quarantine will be at their own cost. We recommend that you ensure that your guests take adequate personal travel insurance cover before departure from home.
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    Enjoy a decadent afternoon High Tea at the famous Mount Nelson!
    Read more
+

4.5
9 reviews
Excellent
8
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Wilma B
Durbanville, South Africa14 contributions
Horrible experience at Mount Nelson
We booked a table a week in advance for 5 pax on the terrace for high tea on Tuesday the 4th of Feb at 15h00. On arrival we were greeted by a very professional driver to park our vehicle.

As we made our way to the high tea salon we were very excited to taste and savour the famous Mount Nelson high tea selection, but we were very rudely informed by the hostess that they do not have a table on the terrace for us and that we have to make due with a 4 seater coffee table and that they will get a extra chair, as we waited (getting very uncomfortable) the hostess arrived with the extra chair.

We sat down but the men at the table had to sit either cross legged or open legged cramped into a very uncomfortable space. We decided to leave and go elsewhere.

To say the least I was shocked and so disappointed in way we were treated at the Mount Nelson. No apology, no table, no high tea.
Written February 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Storyteller778375
Good Afternoon Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our company offers Experience Day trips for the Mount Nelson Hotel High Tea inclusive of transport. We therefore presume that you have booked this High Tea directly with the Mount Nelson Hotel and that your feedback relates directly to the experience that you have had with the Mount Nelson Hotel? We will share your comments with Mount Nelson Hotel.
Written February 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David R
London, UK806 contributions
Best afternoon tea ever
Dec 2019 • Couples
My wife and I felt so lucky to have been bought this gift of afternoon tea at Belmont Mount Nelson.
What an amazing place, the hotel looks fantastic and is a very special place with a very interesting history.
The current Queen celebrated her 21st birthday here and it has welcomed presidents and high profile A Listers and Government officials for years.
The gardens are fantastic and spacious. The whole layout is tremendous.
We were welcomed and taken into the garden whilst we waited for our son & daughter in law and had a lovely glass of wine.
Then we were taken to a lovely spacious table overlooking the beautiful gardens where we ordered our teas or coffees etc and wines.
We were then bought an amazing selection of savouries etc which were all delicious. We were given plenty of time and had a few top ups of tea & coffee.
Then we were invited into the room just off the garden area where there was so many different pastries, chocolate and scrumptious variations of puddings and sweets. Amazing display. What a fabulous afternoon Tea (best ever for us) and in a most glorious surroundings. Elegant and stylish. A must do if in Capetown.
Written January 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Storyteller778375
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide with your valuable feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the experience.
Written January 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

heleeng2014
Soest, The Netherlands324 contributions
Amazing tea, nice terrasse, good pianist
We surprised my mother with a delicious afternoon tea. What fantastic experience was it!! Starting with nice bites, tea at your choice, fingersandwiches and scones, was already quite a filler. And then inside were 2 tables with only sweets. It was all delicious.
Great piano player!!
We’ll do this again.
Written December 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Storyteller778375
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time and provide us with your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the Experience.
Written December 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jennifervancliff
London, UK31 contributions
Afternoon Cake
Jan 2019
Afternoon tea was fully booked , however delightful staff showed us to a wonderful terrace with very comfortable chairs . We ordered cake of the day , chocolate ganache served with coulis fresh fruit and sour cream delicious . Spend a glorious hour or two. Very mixed dress code , We were in shorts others more formal.
Written February 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

1knowing1
St. Thomas291 contributions
Undeniably The Best Afternoon Tea in Cape Town
Sep 2018 • Friends
Before arriving into the city, I sent an email to reserve a space. I had to make a change so I sent another email and the staff was so gracious.

Once we arrived, the staff was so attentive and the service was over the top! The decor was absolutely beautiful! Which matched every gorgeous morsel that I placed in my mouth!

The teas were delicious and you could have as much as you could drink! The pastries were scrumptious and so plentiful!

The grounds outside were so tranquil and you were forced to stop, sit and breath! I really recommend that you have tea at this World reknowed location!
Written October 27, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

astonvillan
London, UK262 contributions
Leave space for the desserts!
Mar 2018 • Couples
This is a wonderful way to spend an afternoon in luxurious surroundings. There are a variety of sandwiches and snacks to eat with your tea (or other drink to your liking) followed by scones. You can order extra helpings at extra cost. However leave space for the dessert. There's multiple choices of cakes and other dessert offerings. The food was fantastic and the tea superb. Take a taxi to get there rather than a tour as it isn't far. You can walk from the centre of town too; it's just at the top end of Companys gardens. Indulge yourself and book a table. Book in advance as it's quite popular. In good weather you can sit outside on the terrace with views of the beautiful gardens.
Written April 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Springbok Atlas Day Tours
Aimeescott12
Aimeescott12
00
Wonderful.
Our curated wine experience was incredible. Our tour guide Roger ensured we learnt at each farm, tasted the best wi
asop3369
asop3369
00
Amazing
Great experience. I think we saw 4 of the big 5 (no leopards) and would definitely recommend. Room was lovely, spa,
michael_lB1269FU
michael_lB1269FU
00
Great trip to the Cape Peninsular
Very comfortable coach from the "hop on hop off" company. A very scenic drive and splendid comentry by "Mark" - ou
Tourist738221
Tourist738221
00
Overall, very good value
Excellent tour but very difficult with visit to Table Mountain as cable cars (although very quick) have such long q
caroline196260
caroline196260
00
Breathtaking!!
Attempted the cable car in January but winds too strong. We continued our trip with the half day tour and took in
SL_KU
SL_KU
00
Perfect day in Cape Town area.
Perfect day visiting Cape Town area. Highly recommended. Great guide. Comfortable couch and very rich information a
IrinaB128
IrinaB128
00
Amazing day around Cape Peninsula
The tour was exactly as described and, although packed, I didn’t feel rush at all during the stops. The tour compan
Fredjcluver
Fredjcluver
00
Tram Fun
Awesome way to get around the Franschhoek wine farms .... and not having to drink and drive. Friendly staff and lot
sj2260
sj2260
00
Average commercial tour
There is nothing particularly wrong with this tour—except being told there was no time to drive through Muizenberg—
NatalieBoulton1
NatalieBoulton1
00
Fantastic way to see Cape Town
We were met by our wonderful guide who took around lots of different places in cape town. We stopped at about 4 dif
Mutsnuts7
Mutsnuts7
00
Not the Big 5
3 times we have been to Aquila and have even stayed over and have never seen leopard and Cape buffalo , I was give
Kanami00
Kanami00
00
Do not pay in advance. Dishonest company.
I was hoping to do an overnight safari and made a reservation/ payments online. But with my air tickets, the day di
Rens C
Rens C
00
Wonderful
Our tourguide Norman would probably be the nicest guy in Cape Town. You could ask him anything about Cape Town. His
dorothym821
dorothym821
00
Big 5 overnight stay
We really enjoyed this place. The evening safari was great and I opted for the riding safari in the morning. The st
Tatolo M
Tatolo M
00
Marine world
Family learned a lot about marine life. Our children enjoyed seeing the vast marine life and walking in the ship.
Frequently Asked Questions about Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town

Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town will start at 2:00 PM. Discover and book Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town on Tripadvisor

Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town price starts from $79.61. Discover and book Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town on Tripadvisor

Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town cancellation policy: All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties. Discover and book Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town on Tripadvisor

Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town is hosted by Springbok Atlas Day Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Springbok Atlas Day Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town on Tripadvisor