Tours and Tickets

Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour provided by Gray Line Tours

Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour
1.5
Book in advance
from
$43.20
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
4h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
35
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
  • Duration:
    4h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Group size:
    35
  • Stroller accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
About
Take an afternoon sightseeing tour of Old Rio on foot, and get a feeling for the legends and history woven around the narrow streets and superb baroque buildings of downtown Rio de Janeiro. While you walk, your knowledgeable and entertaining guide will bring the city and its stories alive.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
Portuguese, English, Italian, French, Spanish
What to expect
  • After pickup from your Rio hotel, follow your local guide on this engrossing tour of Old Rio. Visit the Rio's most impressive church, Nossa Senhora de Cadelária, as well as the ornate São Bento Monastery to view its paintings and gilt carvings. Stop by Praça XV do Novembro, where Brazil's emperors were crowned in the 1800s and many other important historical events took place. View the Portuguese-style Paço Imperial (Imperial Palace), built for Brazil's rulers as a home and workplace in the 1700s. Enjoy engaging commentary from your local guide while you walk, and feel free to ask any questions about the history or culture of Brazil. Continue your tour with a stroll down Uruguaiana Street, which takes you to the Metropolitan Cathedral and Carioca Square. Your tour concludes here, and you are free to explore the area on your own or enjoy a ride back to your hotel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
Portuguese, English, Italian, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • After pickup from your Rio hotel, follow your local guide on this engrossing tour of Old Rio. Visit the Rio's most impressive church, Nossa Senhora de Cadelária, as well as the ornate São Bento Monastery to view its paintings and gilt carvings. Stop by Praça XV do Novembro, where Brazil's emperors were crowned in the 1800s and many other important historical events took place. View the Portuguese-style Paço Imperial (Imperial Palace), built for Brazil's rulers as a home and workplace in the 1700s. Enjoy engaging commentary from your local guide while you walk, and feel free to ask any questions about the history or culture of Brazil. Continue your tour with a stroll down Uruguaiana Street, which takes you to the Metropolitan Cathedral and Carioca Square. Your tour concludes here, and you are free to explore the area on your own or enjoy a ride back to your hotel.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2484_07
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • Walking tour of Rio de Janeiro
  • Hotel pickup and drop off to Most Hotels in São Conrado, Leblon, Ipanema and Copacabana
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
Duration
4h
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Roundtrip transfer available from most hotels located in Rio's South Zone. Please stay at the hotel lobby 10 minutes before pick up time.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
Inclusions
  • Walking tour of Rio de Janeiro
  • Hotel pickup and drop off to Most Hotels in São Conrado, Leblon, Ipanema and Copacabana
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Roundtrip transfer available from most hotels located in Rio's South Zone. Please stay at the hotel lobby 10 minutes before pick up time.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
4h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Jun 26, 2020
A note from Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour
Additional measures might be added to our list of procedures as we receive guidance from the local health and safety authorities and as more information becomes available. And some of these restrictions might be lifted at some point in the future if we are authorized to do so by local authorities
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Church of Our Lady of the Candelaria
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Sao Bento Monastery
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Maua Square
    Museu do Amanha
    Centro Cultural Banco do Brasil - CCBB Rio de Janeiro
    Praca Quinze de Novembro
    Paco Imperial
    Mercado Popular da Uruguaiana
    Tiradentes Palace
  • 3
    Confeitaria Colombo
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    The Metropolitan Cathedral of Saint Sebastian
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+

1.5
2 reviews
Excellent
0
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Benjamin
3 contributions
Aug 2019 • Solo
La visite n’a jamais eu lieu. Et je n’ai jamais été informé par le guide de son annulation. Après multiple messages, j’ai décidé d’appeler le jour même de la visite. C’est comme ça qu’il me dira que la visite a été annulé et qu’il l’avait mentionné à TripAdvisor parce que c'est avec eux que j’ai réservé. Pourtant ils avaient mes coordonnées parce qu’on s’était écrit une semaine avant la date de la visite. Aussi 4 jours avant la visite. De ma part, j’avais organisé mes visites de façon complémentaire. Mon guide privé les avait même contacté pour qu’il organise ma visite en tenant compte de leur itinéraire pour ne pas refaire les mêmes endroits. C’est dommage qu’ils n’ont pas pris le soins de m’aviser avant pour me permettre de faire autre chose. Pour moi, c’était une journée perdue car je ne pouvais plus rien organiser.
Faites attention avec ce voyagiste. Je ne le recommande pas.
Written August 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear bkm007, Thank you for your review! We apologize we don't have a french speaking representative to respond you. We apologize for any misunderstanding or any failure in our communications. Our communications by e-mail are intermediated by Viator's extranet, so we don't have your contact information as we don't receive them directly in our e-mail box. We did e-mail you that the tour was cancelled for that date due to a necessary minimum of 2 people to run the tour. We are sorry this you didn't have access to the e-mail or didnt receive that e-mail. The money was refunded for this purchase. Thank you. Pedro Malta on behalf of DIogo M.
Written September 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Carina E
71 contributions
Dec 2017 • Solo
När jag bokade turen informerades jag om att kontakta arrangören 48 timmar innan för att bestämma tid o plats för hämtning. Eftersom jag då skulle sitta på ett flygplan mejlade jag 72 timmar före och berättade att jag inte kunde kontakta dem 48 timmar före. Jag får då till svar att man måste komma upp i ett minimiantal för att kunna genomföra turen och ombeds igen att kontakta dem 48 timmar innan. Jag får ytterligare ett svar som talar om att man inte nått upp till minimiantalet och då ombeds jag kontakta arrangören 24 timmar innan för att kolla igen. Mejlar igen och blir då informerade om att turen är inställd. Dålig kundservice att jag som kund, som dessutom är på resande fot, skall sköta kontakterna med arrangören för att få reda på om turen blir av eller inte. Arrangören har e-postadress så det naturliga vore väl att dom mejlar kunden och informerar om läget! Den tur som jag sett fram emot blev alltså inte av.
Written December 10, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Carina E, I'm sorry we do not have a sweedish speaking agent to reply to you in your prefer language. We thank you for your feedback. unfortunatelly there are some tours that require a minimum of 2 to run. We apologize for the frustration and hope you accept our apologies. We thank you once again for the suggestion you have sent to our team via e-mail. thanks, best regards, Pedro Malta on behalf of Diogo M
Written January 22, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Gray Line Tours
tobie373
tobie373
00
Best guide!
Our guide Henri made this tour. So knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. He loves what he does and where he li
falgunimp
falgunimp
00
Awesome experience!
Favorite part was seeing the falls! Our guide Erica was great and full of energy we loved her and the jeep tour tea
GaryP272
GaryP272
00
Excellent tour of the Bay
Excellent boat tour of Guanabara Bay in a 16’ speed boat carrying 8 clients plus 3 crew. There was plenty of room
Heliflyr729
Heliflyr729
00
Great trip
My wife and I booked a tour to Christ the Redeemer, Sugarloaf Mtn, half day from Windsor Miramar. It turned out tha
Poojakaimal
Poojakaimal
00
Luis Wanderlei is the best tour guide
Luis Wanderlei was my tour guide and he was exceptional. Had full knowledge on the places we visited. A great commu
563janiquej
563janiquej
00
Best excursion ever!
This was the best experience ever! Louis was a awesome tour guide he was the best ever! I would recommend him if yo
ozgurbasmaci
ozgurbasmaci
00
Very good
It was a great tour for Rio de Jenario and special thanks to our guide Luis, he is a very kind and good man.
Michelle M
Michelle M
00
Not a Jeep Ride
We loved the jeep and our tour guide/driver was great. The only downside is that due to COVID, the jeeps can't go i
millit92
millit92
00
Awesome hike
Our jeep tour hike with Carlos was spectacular. They picked us up at our hotel on time and away we went. It was thr
millit92
millit92
00
An amazing full day in Rio!
We booked this tour through our Sheraton hotel, and we are so glad that we did. The Gray line tours picked us up on
Charles_PembrkPines
Charles_PembrkPines
00
Great way to know Rio in an afternoon.
My son and I were in Rio for a short 3 day visit and we decided to do the Gray Line Tour 1/2 day. The tour guide L
richj65
richj65
00
Amazing views
I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Rio de Janeiro. This was not my first helicopter tour but because the
Lingriffin1
Lingriffin1
00
Luis is amazing!
Luis was amazing! Very friendly and knowledgeable. We had such a good tour with him at the jardim botanica! He is a
Roam445153
Roam445153
00
Thank you Marco and Wanderlei!
We traveled to Brazil on a Wim during these unfortunate times and everything was planned last minute. Our hotel set
MattN308
MattN308
00
Fun Day
It was a pretty fun day, just very long. The boat was great and the bar was cheap with the exchange rate from USD.
Frequently Asked Questions about Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour will start at 1:00 PM. Discover and book Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour on Tripadvisor


Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour price starts from $43.45. Discover and book Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour on Tripadvisor

Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour on Tripadvisor