Tours and Tickets
Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk
5

Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk

By Lost Plate Xian Food Tours
Recommended by 98% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Once the last stop on the fabled Silk Road, the ancient city of Xi’an is a melting-pot of cultures—with a rich culinary tradition to match. On this insider’s food tour, leave navigation to your guide, who leads you through the winding streets of the Old City. Ride in style between food stops in your own private tuk-tuk, and enjoy a morning or evening tour to best suit your schedule. 
from
$69.00
per adult
from
$69.00
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 4-99, max of 10 per group
Duration:4h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:Mobile
English

Highlights
  • Take an off-the-beaten-track food tour of Old Xi'an in a tuk-tuk 
  • Discover hidden eateries frequented by locals
  • Choose between morning and evening tours for maximum flexibility
  • Taste unlimited samples at up to five food stops

  • Private transportation
  • 4-5 food stops
  • Dinner
  • Driver and local guide
  • Unlimited beer and soft drinks
  • Small-group tour (less than 10 people)
What's not included
  • Gratuities

Meet your guide in the heart of Xi’an, a vibrant, ancient city that once marked the end of the legendary Silk Road. Ride a tuk-tuj down winding lanes and picturesque alleys as you listen to the history of the city and hear about its diverse food traditions. Next, head to family-run eateries for a rare peek at the city's underground food scene. Locations vary, but you’ll be guaranteed unlimited bites at up to five different delicious food stops. Get a firsthand look at food preparation and learn about the families that have been making classic dishes like yangrou paomo (mutton stew with flatbread) for generations. You’ll have a chance to watch Xi’an’s famous noodles get hand-pulled to order. Finally, head to a local brewery to drink a fresh print of local brew, or, you’ve opted for a morning tour, sample a classic breakfast platter.

Departure details
  • Home Inn Xi'an Zhonglou West Main Street, No.259 Xidajie Street, 莲湖区 Xi'an, Shanxi, China, 710002 Meeting Location: Xi Hua Men Fire Station, located 1 city block north of the Bell Tower, just west of the intersection of Bei Da Jie Street and Xi Hua Men Street. General Directions: The fire station is a very easy landmark to recognize, just look for big red doors with numbers painted on them. It is located 1 city block north of the Bell and Drum towers at the intersection of Bei Da Jie Street and Xi Hua Men Street. The fire station is about 50 meters west of the intersection on Xi Hua Men Street. Show Your Taxi Driver: 你好,我想去西华门消防队门口。西华门与北大街十字。谢谢。 Subway Directions: Zhonglou (Bell Tower) Station services line 2. Follow signs to Exit A and then walk north to the intersection of Bei Da Jie and Xi Hua Men Streets. Turn left on Xi Hua Men Street for about 20 meters. Map: https://goo.gl/maps/qE5wkQkp5ar (requires a VPN in China) or https://j.map.baidu.com/WITvZ
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 7494P3

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • This tour is not vegetarian friendly, instead we recommend joining our tours in Beijing, Shanghai or Chengdu.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

What you can expect during your visit
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk?
How much is Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk?
Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk price starts from $69.00. Discover and book Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk on Tripadvisor
What is the Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk cancellation policy?
Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk?
Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk is hosted by Lost Plate Xian Food Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Lost Plate Xian Food Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 7494P3

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Home Inn Xi'an Zhonglou West Main Street
    No.259 Xidajie Street, 莲湖区 Xi'an, Shanxi, China, 710002
    Meeting Location: Xi Hua Men Fire Station, located 1 city block north of the Bell Tower, just west of the intersection of Bei Da Jie Street and Xi Hua Men Street. General Directions: The fire station is a very easy landmark to recognize, just look for big red doors with numbers painted on them. It is located 1 city block north of the Bell and Drum towers at the intersection of Bei Da Jie Street and Xi Hua Men Street. The fire station is about 50 meters west of the intersection on Xi Hua Men Street. Show Your Taxi Driver: 你好,我想去西华门消防队门口。西华门与北大街十字。谢谢。 Subway Directions: Zhonglou (Bell Tower) Station services line 2. Follow signs to Exit A and then walk north to the intersection of Bei Da Jie and Xi Hua Men Streets. Turn left on Xi Hua Men Street for about 20 meters. Map: https://goo.gl/maps/qE5wkQkp5ar (requires a VPN in China) or https://j.map.baidu.com/WITvZ
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
  • 1
    Muslim Quarter
    Stop: 4 hours
    See details
  • 2
    Near Wall Bar and Xian Brewery
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

JMBrooklyn
JMBrooklyn
00
A fun, memorable, and easy way to plan a Chinese vacation
What a memorable trip! I'm not usually one to book vacations with tour companies but Lost Plates has me a convert!
TheophaniaSeattle
TheophaniaSeattle
00
Perfect mix of sightseeing and eating
I am usually an independent traveler but in China, having a guide makes things so much easier! With Lost Plate you'
JoelS2143
JoelS2143
00
The best way to experience Xian
Amazing food at local, hidden restaurants that you probably wouldn't find yourself. Authentic, delicious food! Grea
Ajmy05
Ajmy05
00
Fun and food-filled tour around Xi’an.
This was our fifth Lost Plate Tour experience so we are clearly fans! It was a great introduction to Xian, both the
Tourist17104311848
Tourist17104311848
00
A gastronomically good morning!
We thoroughly enjoyed our morning tour. Our guide, Michelle, was attentive, knowledgeable, and fun! The tuk-tuk dr
Joshua C
Joshua C
00
Xi'an: all of the best bits, none of the fuss
This trip was an absolute highlight of my time in China. As a non-Chinese speaker, with a limited time to spend in
Chantal_Beijing
Chantal_Beijing
00
GET OFF THE BEATEN PATH THANKS TO THIS TERRIFIC TRIP
The distinctiveness of "Lost plates" is to combine a trip that's off the beaten path and extremely delicious local
thetravelingbroad
thetravelingbroad
00
Amazing Experience, Great Way to Travel During COVID
I signed up for Lost Plate's 4 - Day Xi'an trip, which included the "Evening Food Tour by Tuk Tuk" and the "Morning
GirlGreetsGlobee
GirlGreetsGlobee
00
Yum
Xi’an’s food is amazing. BiangBiang noodles and Peking Duck (Beijing) ate the best things I’ve eaten in China. Was
nikolinak805
nikolinak805
00
Eat like a local in Xi’an
Lost plate tours are great opportunities to taste some delicious and unique dishes that as foreigners we would neve
Nancy R
Nancy R
00
Stuffed with Exquisite Flavors and Experiences
Wonderful experience. We traveled through the alley ways of old Xi'an sampling the vast array of local cuisines.
calicupcake
calicupcake
00
Amazing adventure
This was the highlight of my trip to Xi’an. I’d hears about The Lost Plate tour through social media & was anxious
Birdslake
Birdslake
00
A Great Experience! Tasty too!
We took this tour a couple of weeks ago while on holiday, and highly recommend it. It is a must for any tourist int
BradHK852
BradHK852
00
Fantastic experience - don't miss this!
You'll taste the best local food on offer, go to places you'd never find on your own and have a homegrown guide who
BGSKY0812
BGSKY0812
00
One tour to rule them all
To say this is a food tour is a bit of an understatement, it is such an enlightening way of seeing how locals aroun
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
435 reviews
Excellent
415
Very good
14
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Veronique L
Italy71 contributions
Jul 2021
We had a great time and great food on our (private!) tour with Michelle. The highlight for us was definitely the bowl of biangbiangmian we had at our first stop. These tasty hand pulled noodles are so typical of Xi'an! We also enjoyed our stop at Mr. Liu's BBQ joint because we got to interact with him and his wife. The third stop for us was the least enjoyable, the dumplings were ok but we have lived in China for 14 years so this kind of food is nothing new for us. We then went to a small restaurant to eat a delicious chicken but at that point we were already full. We ended the tour in a brewery for a beer tasting.

In brief this is a great food tour but maybe we would have enjoyed to visit less places so we don't feel rushed to eat and to leave unfinished dishes behind. For example the dumpling place could be skipped and replaced with a dessert or some sweets from one of the stalls in the market. I think it would also be interesting to introduce a bit more of background about the history, the Muslim quarter and the special food sold in the stalls.

I would recommend Michelle though as she was knowledgeable, flexible and friendly. And we loved riding the tuk-tuk!
Written July 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hey verolebel, thanks so much for spending the evening with Michelle! We're so happy to hear you had a great private tour and loved the food. It can be difficult to finish all of the food with a smaller private tour - but our aim is always to introduce the most authentic foods that we love in Xian. Thanks again for joining us!!
Written August 9, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ThaiCookingRocks
Changchun, China774 contributions
Dec 2020
The food we got to eat was really wonderful. There was first hand pulled noodles and I have a fascination with them, as do others, and it was too short of a demonstration of the process. Even though in the group I was with, we all were friends, it was hard for all of us to all get the pictures and video we wanted. It is a tight spot, but there is such skills and history there that wasn't really talked about.

Then we went to a streetside bbq that was really tasty as well. The guide had more to say here in a general way and we got some background about the history and area, but it was very surface.

The third one was dumplings and they were good, but we sat in a large table in the back and was the least interactive. We didn't see them make anything, we didn't interact with the establishment and while the dumpling were good, and the soups interesting, it was the least enjoyable. Perhaps it was because enough time in China means the its really hard to make dumpling interesting because there was no interesting story. While BBQ is so common at least we learned more about the people and the old man and his wife where there part of the action. Here, we waited, and someone strolled by and dumped the food on the table and left.

The last food stop had a special chicken that was a delight! It was interesting decor, unlike the dumpling place that is sterile and dull. There wasn't much interaction with the staff but the food came quickly and the surroundings were great.

We had just come from two days of a tour with such a fabulous tour guide that was so knowledgable and so engaged with us that we even took her out to dinner one of our free nights, her and her sister. The tour guide for Lost Plate was fine, but she seemed she often had run out of things to say or to share. Some more knowledge about each stop would have been helpful.

I also chose this because of the tuk-tuks. Its a treat to go through the areas on them versus walking. It makes it able to cover more ground and see other areas. So the tuk-tuks are a real plus.
Written December 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi ThaiCookingRocks, thank you for joining us in Xian and for your detailed review, we really appreciate it! We're so happy you enjoyed your tour and all of the food - the chicken just can't be beat! We continue to do our best to improve and create an incredible experience for each and every guest and it was a pleasure hosting you. Come back and see us in another city soon!
Written May 26, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ailton007
Seattle, WA850 contributions
Jul 2022
Michelle our guide was great and organized this tour well. We stopped at 4 places and the "Near Wall" brewery last to try some local craft beer, but highlight was the food. Included lamb skewers, beef soup dumplings, fried Chinese style chicken, soups etc. Tuk-tuk rides and experiencing the Muslim quarter was fun. Afterwards, I walked to Bell and Drum Towers for some amazing night shots of these temples and walked some more in the Muslim quarter to soak it all in. We found a table everywhere and Michelle was quick to order and provided interesting historical context of the food origin. Also, am finally able to eat beef soup dumplings properly!
Written July 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Ailton007, thanks so much for joining our Xian evening food tour! It was such a pleasure hosting you, and we're glad to hear you loved the food. Come join us in another city soon!
Written September 15, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike Langford
10 contributions
Dec 2019
Interesting and at times exciting as we sped through the back streets of the inner city on Tuk Tuks, stopping off at a range of food outlets including homemade spices at a BBQ on the street and a noodle shop with locals. The range of food and a plethora of tastes, smell and sights made this an evening to remember. We didn't have a clue as to what to expect as our tour company just put it on to the itinerary. I think we were the first large group (eight pax) to do it. Usually it caters for singles or couples.
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi MLQCCP, thanks so much for coming along and experiencing the unexpected! The BBQ is so good right?! It was our pleasure to host you and your group and we're happy to hear you had a good time. Thanks again!
Written October 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

bjk127
Shenzhen, China60 contributions
First, it should be noted that this is NOT an all you can eat/drink affair, so I don’t even know why it says this. Very misleading. It’s certainly not as if I ever intended to do either, but I just find the advertising deceptive on this one. They will meet you and roll up with a tiny cooler with some local canned beers, but since you can’t drink in the first 3/4 restaurants, there’s really no time to consume them. Then, they take you to three local spots in the Muslim Quarter, and which you could easily find by yourself and save a heck of a lot of money. Our guide was sweet, which was the tour’s saving grace, but aside from that, I was highly disappointed by this tour. It’s just not worth the money at all.
Written March 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hey there bjk127, we're so sorry to see that you didn't appreciate your tour with us. We always take feedback seriously so we can improve our tours and our service, and it sounds like we can do a better job at some of this. With that said, perhaps you didn't get a chance to read our website since you were signed up by a friend. We have made it very clear in our website that we are unable to drink alcohol at some of our stops since they are Muslim restaurants. With that said, we do provide unlimited food and drinks along the way, and if you ever need more of anything we will provide that. If the cooler on the tuktuk gets low (which often happens), we stop to get more along the way. All of these things we happily provide on every tour. It's important for everyone to know that it will always be more expensive to join a tour rather than visit the restaurants on your own. We've spent years perfecting our routes, which means you don't need to do the research, you don't need to speak Chinese to know what to order, and you don't need to worry about finding the best spots in town (and the comment that you could find all of our restaurants on your own is simply untrue - we'd politely challenge you to do that even after taking this tour :-)). You also have tuktuk transportation for the night along with our guide who provides a huge level of insight into Xian and the food that you're eating. If you're on a low budget, joining a food tour won't be the best choice for you. With that said, we believe we provide a huge value compared to other food tours around the world. Our sincere apologies again that you didn't enjoy your experience. It's so rare that we get comments like this, but it helps us understand how we can improve for different types of guests.
Written March 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mark - 马凯
1 contribution
Jan 2020 • Family
We loved our food tour with Susan. The food was great. Our guide was very fun told many great stories. We ate so many things that we could not have found on our own and went to very authentic restaurants where the owners treated us like family. My wife and three teenage kids agree it was a highlight of our visit to Xian. We highly recommend the tour, and we will take another Lost Plate tour when we get to Shanghai.
Written January 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Alexandra E
New York City, NY6 contributions
Dec 2019 • Solo
This was by far and away the best food I had on my entire trip in China! Not only was the food outstanding but all the local places were so accommodating and inviting. Best soup dumplings in my life! And I now am obsessed with the biam biam noodles and I’m desperately trying to find them in New York. My only regret was not going on the tour as soon as I arrived in Xian because I couldn’t revisit the places before my journey home.
Written March 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello 88alexandrae, what a compliment! Thanks so much for deciding to join us, and even more for such a great review. Those dumplings are noodles are great right?! You'll just have to come back and visit us again in Xi'an to have them all over again. :-)
Written October 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TheophaniaSeattle
Seattle, WA396 contributions
Sep 2021
This was my first Lost Tour experience and I already booked a second. Excellent evening full of delicious food at spots we would never have found on our own. Our guide Michelle was fantastic and helped give us context around all of our food experiences. The noodles were my favorite but it's hard to choose. I just wish I had a couple of extra stomachs.
Written October 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Destination691136
2 contributions
Oct 2020 • Couples
The Best tour in my 3 years living in China. Great way to try local food in one of the most emblematics gastronomics places in China! the Best guide Michelle. You Will literarly eat history.
Written October 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello! We LOVE hosting people who live in China because it gives us a chance to prove how varied and deep local cuisine can go. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your tour with Michelle and thanks so much for your kind words. Come back and join us again in another city!
Written May 26, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lmdo
Melbourne, Australia21 contributions
This tour was such a pleasant surprise, as my first ever food tour. Rosemary our guide was great-she was funny, personable and informative. We visited four food stops and a local bar/microbrewery at the end. The food at each of the stops was excellent and included what I was after (biang biang noodles) too. There was no one highlight, food wise, because everything we had was great. Solid group of fellow participants too!
Written September 28, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello LinhDo, Thank you for your amazing review! We are so honored to be your first food tour and we hope we are not your last. : ) We are very glad to know that you had a great time with Rosemary. We are proud of her. She is a Xian local who knows everything in the Muslim Quarter. It was wonderful to try such a wide range of authentic local food in one evening isn't it? We hope you will enjoy more wonderful food tours in the future. We will be very happy to host you again in our other cities. We are not only in Xian, Chengdu, Beijing and Shanghai but also in Portland, the USA and Phnom Penh, Cambodia!
Written October 5, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 428

Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk | China