Tours and Tickets
Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari
4

Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari

By Amani Afrika
We have carefully put together this itinerary to include a Kilimanjaro Trek, Safari in Tarangire and Ngorongoro Crater. Kindly note that, if there will be an infant on this tour, she/he will be able to participate on the safari part only. Also, all the components of this itinerary are customizable to suit your personal preferences, interests and budget. Kilimanjaro Climb Lemosho is our favourite route up Mt Kilimanjaro. It is not crowded, offers stunning scenery and has a very high summit success rate. Unlike the popular Machame route which crosses at the Shira Plateau, Lemosho route traverses the whole plain from west to east through a gentle hike, it also rewards you with better views. Duration: 8 Days trekking; 6 and a half days ascending, 1 and a half days descending. 70 km/44 mi total; 48 km/30 mi to summit; 22 km/14 mi descend from summit, Elevation:  4,4505 m/14,780 ft net gain; 3,915 m/12,845 ft descend
from
$6,852.57
per adult
from
$6,852.57
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeFree cancellation

Duration:
12 days
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:
Mobile
English


  • Accommodation and meals as per itinerary
  • Transfer to/from Airport
  • Flying Doctor Air Ambulance cover in case of medical emergency
  • Mineral water all days on safari
  • All game viewing in a private comfortable 4x4 safari Land Cruiser fitted with pop-up roof
  • Service of an English-speaking driver guide for safari
  • Game drives on an exclusive basis with unlimited mileage
  • 18% VAT on park fees and game drives for safari, effective 1st July 2016
  • Transport to and from mountain gates for Kilimanjaro climb
  • Emergency oxygen cylinder(s)
  • Services of a professional English-speaking mountain guide & assistant guide
  • Services of a professional cook and all kitchen and dining utensils on Kilimanjaro
  • Enough porters for your luggage, food, water, sleeping tent and dining tent
  • Salaries, park fees, shelter and food for guides, cook and porters
  • Camping accommodation on the mountain and food based on three meals a day
  • All camping equipment (e.g. sleeping tent, mess tent, table, chairs, etc.
  • 1.5” thick foam mattress with waterproof cover designed for mountain excursion
  • Use of radios/phones to increase your safety
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Snacks
  • Bottled water
  • Coffee and/or Tea
What's not included
  • Tourist visas for Tanzania
  • Personal travel/medical insurance. (See more information here.
  • Any meals not specified in the itinerary
  • Trekking gears and winter sleeping bags for Kilimanjaro (see recommended list)
  • Portable toilet rental for Kilimanjaro climb (US$200 per 4-people group)
  • Optional activities or excursions not specified in the itinerary
  • All items of a personal nature e.g. telephone calls, internet, laundry services
  • Tips and gratuities for hotel/camp/lodge staff, driver guides
  • Alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks (unless complimentary at camps/lodges)
  • Any domestic flights and airport taxes
  • Any international flights and departure taxes
  • Applicable airport taxes, payable directly
  • Applicable tourism levies, payable directly at accommodations
  • Applicable government taxes, imposed after the date of quotation
  • Any other items not specified in this itinerary


Departure details
  • Location Name: Arusha, Tanzania
  • Arusha, Arusha, Arusha Region
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Infant seats available
  • Wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 104806P3

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

How much is Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari?
Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari price starts from $6,852.57. Discover and book Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari on Tripadvisor
What is the Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari cancellation policy?
Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari?
Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari is hosted by Amani Afrika. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Amani Afrika on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 104806P3

About the operator

This experience only has a few reviews, but you can read what other travelers have to say about the operator.

jemmah582
jemmah582
00
THE BEST SAFARI HOLIDAY EVER!
To the organiser: Thankyou so much to Vivian for organising such a fantastic trip and being so attentive to details
kaned2020
kaned2020
00
Book Through Amani Afrika!
If you’re a planning a trip to East Africa book through Amani Afrika, you won’t regret it. Vivian was fantastic rig
williamsz96
williamsz96
00
An Amazing Amani Afrika Honeymoon in Tanzania
We contacted Vivian at Amani Afrika just after our engagement for help with curating a honeymoon in Tanzania. My th
MantleMaris61
MantleMaris61
00
Awesome safari
I recently returned from a 16 day safari to Uganda,Rwanda,Kenya,and Tanzania.Vivian did an amazing job of making su
Sasha H
Sasha H
00
A trip of a lifetime!
We spent a month in Africa, and three weeks of the trip we booked through Amani Afrika. We spent a week in Uganda,
Diana R
Diana R
00
Unsurpassed service made our trip unforgettable
It took me days to find the right words to describe the service we received from Amani Afrika. Vivian tended to ev
ma826
ma826
00
Amazing safari and beach stay in Kenya
I can't say enough good things about Amani Afrika, Vivian and all the wonderful guides and amazing stays during our
KaylaG406
KaylaG406
00
WOW! AMAZING HONEYMOON BOOKED THROUGH AMANI
Vivian from Amani Afrika was a fantastic travel agent. She was recommended to us by friends as someone who was both
douglash30
douglash30
00
Gorilla Trekking and Great Migration on the Serengeti trip
We are just finishing up a 25 day tour of Gorilla Trekking and Great Migration on the Serengeti trip with Amani Afr
Alison E
Alison E
00
Perfect choice for a honeymoon safari
As someone who always meticulously plans all of our vacations, it was hard to give up control to someone else with
StephanieKrishnan
StephanieKrishnan
00
20 Year Wedding Anniversary
Vivian worked with us to put together the most memorable 20th Anniversary wedding trip. We wanted comfort and we go
NatPierr
NatPierr
00
Safari in Afrika and Amani just goes together
What can we add to all these wonderful reviews? There is no doubt about one thing: Amani really makes your trip spe
LisaCarlson
LisaCarlson
00
Amazing Amani Africa
A safari in northern Tanzania with Amani Africa was recommended to us by friends. Now we would like to recommend t
kentbei
kentbei
00
Incredible Adventure
My wife and I came back from Tanzania for several weeks. We still remember the incredible view there. We had a grea
Ee4477a
Ee4477a
00
African Safari
I have been meaning to write a review ever since I got back from my safari in August! Vivian was the most wonderful
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
4 reviews
Excellent
3
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Susan D
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions
Amani Afrika arranged a successful, highly enjoyable and professional trip for 3 adults recently, demonstrating why they are my tour operator of choice.
All staff were knowledgeable, cheerful, accommodating and responsive to our requirements right from the initial email contact (Thankyou, Nembris), through our Kilimanjaro climb (brilliant group led by Paul, Nas and the amazing chef, Joseph), then Zanzibar (where no request was too much trouble for Whitney) and finally our safari with Wonderful Wilson.
As well as their services to our group, the company clearly supports its own staff generously and also feeds some profits back into needy community projects.
I recommend Amani Afrika to any travellers wanting a wonderful experience in Tanzania.
Written January 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Michelle J
1 contribution
By far the best vacation I have ever been on! I booked Amani to plan my Kilimanjaro trek followed by a safari and stay in Zanzibar. The trip was in March 2021 for my 40th birthday and the team of professionals made it an experience to remember. From the helpful planning services of Vivian, to the amazing mountain guide, to the best safari experience, I can't speak highly enough of the experience I had. The entire team was supportive and felt like family through our whole experience. We planned this during Covid and the team was so helpful in answering questions and ensuring we were all safe.
Written June 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

JaneE09
Newcastle, Australia3 contributions
Couples
We booked a private tour with Amani Afrika last year and lets just say it was the best travel experience was have had. Our experience in dealing with Amani was amazing, they were very responsive and went above and beyond to provide us with options to allow us to tick off a number of items on our bucket list.
We booked a 3 week tour including a trip to Uganda to see the incredible mountain gorillas, a 9 day trek of Kilimanjaro and a 6 day safari of the Serengeti and Ngorongoro crater. First stop was the mountain gorillas which is a must do on anyone's list when visiting this part of Africa. Second stop was tackling Kilimanjaro, which was a challenging yet very rewarding experience. The crew was incredible and the reason we made it to the top! It was a conscious decision for us to spend our money with a local company and in particular one that looked after their crew. Amani not only made sure that our needs were being met but the needs of the crew - after all they are the ones that have the hardest job of all!
Last stop was our safari. The accommodation selection was amazing and our guide made sure we got the most out of our trip, taking us to all the top spots.
We would definitely recommend Amani Afrika to anyone! They have the local knowledge you need and source guides that really make the experience what it is. In addition to that they provide a substantial amount of support to their local community.
Thanks to everyone involved in our trip that made it an experience of a lifetime - we look forward to seeing you again.
Written April 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Yesim P
Abeokuta, Nigeria4 contributions
Family
The Amani tour was a complete disappointment for us. We paid a total of 14,000 USD for the 13-day tour covering Kenya and Tanzania, and the 6 days of the trip in Zanzibar was a nightmare.
The hotel allocated to us was in the middle of the village, an extremely old, neglected and dirty place. Although we bought an all-inclusive tour, we paid transportation and other expenses out of our pocket. We were not even allocated a guide or a vehicle. Vivien took a very reckless attitude, did not even return to messages or calls. We even went to the airport with our own means. Please do not choose this tour company, there are tour companies that provide much better conditions for the money you pay.
The comments written here are people Vivien knows and they are not really tourists. One is the local guide working with Vivien anyway. It was a very bad experience for us. It was the worst holiday of our lives.
Written January 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AmaniAfrika
Dear Mrs. Proctor, Thank you so much for providing us with your valuable feedback. We welcome any constructive comments and suggestions to help us improve our services. We trust that you have returned to Nigeria safely, and hope that you got some time to unwind after your 2-week holiday to Kenya and Tanzania. We are sorry to hear that you were displeased with our services, contrary to the accounts of your husband, the safari guides and the staff of the various accommodations where you stayed. We understand your frustration and displeasure due to the fact that Amani Afrika did not agree to pay for your extended holiday, after Kenya Airways delayed your return flight to Lagos for more than 36 hours, so you ended up having a couple of extra nights in East Africa. No one likes schedule changes that are imposed upon them while they are on holiday, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic, when such inconveniences have become commonplace. We can sympathize with you. But the flight was not booked through us, and such a change caused by Kenya Airways was not our fault. It is not true that you had purchased an “all-inclusive tour” for the Zanzibar portion of the trip. We outlined the specific inclusions and exclusions in the proposed itinerary, which were also stated on the service agreement that your husband signed when he booked the trip with us. In nowhere had we mentioned that you’d be provided with a guide and vehicle in Zanzibar, other than the transfers to get between the accommodations and the airport. The service agreement explicitly states that additional meals, drinks, transfers and activities in Zanzibar would be excluded. The “transportation and other expenses out of pocket” that you had to pay, were for the Covid tests that you took (which we were not made aware of as a condition for your return to Nigeria prior to your travels, yet duly organized on your behalf to minimize the disruptions you would otherwise experience while you were holidaying on the island), the Safari Blue tour and the diving trip your family decided to do afterwards. We never meant to misrepresent what we set out to provide you. If there were any misunderstandings, we sincerely apologize. And we can understand your disappointment in not being given another free upgrade with regard to your beach accommodation in Zanzibar, after being offered a gratuitous upgrade to a Presidential Suite by the gracious staff at the Park Hyatt Zanzibar hotel. But that is not a legitimate reason to coerce Amani Afrika into paying for the additional nights of hotel stay outside of our service agreement that your husband has requested us to book on your behalf. Amani Afrika is a specialist in providing customized travel experiences in East Africa to overseas travelers. We do not sell cookie-cutter itineraries, and always design personalized trips based on the client’s budget and preferences. Over weeks of consultation with your husband, we finally settled on a 14-day itinerary to Kenya and Tanzania over the Christmas and New Year’s holidays at a price of US$14,000 for your family of 3, to include either a 2-bedroom unit or a family suite with a separate sleeping area from the main bedroom for your 8-year-old daughter, for each of the 13 nights. That was after a few iterations to cut the price of the itinerary down, as per your husband’s request to “keep the costs reasonable” with “accommodation that is not roughing it so to speak”. Some travel agents, notably those that sell set itineraries or group tours, tend to only indicate the level of accommodations on the itinerary according to a pseudo star-rating system, without specifying which hotels the travelers will actually be staying at, until shortly before the trip or even when they travelers arrive, which is not how Amani Afrika works. We always present our prospective clients with an itinerary that details the accommodations suggested, with a whole page dedicated to each accommodation that is filled with descriptions, pictures and web links. Never in our communication with your husband had we ever tried to suggest that you had been booked at a 5-star resort for every single night of your family vacation here. The accommodations that we have reserved for you are also listed in the booking agreement that your husband signed back, along with information regarding the room category chosen and meal plans. Therefore, we find your argument of Amani Afrika not having booked you at a 5-star beach resort in Zanzibar an invalid one to warrant a compensation. There were never any complaints raised over the 2 nights you had already stayed at your sea-view beach villa. It was only after we had presented you with an invoice to settle the payment for the additional hotel nights requested that you and your husband called us in an effort to coerce us into paying the extra bills on your behalf. When we asked if you had wanted to move to an alternative accommodation, you expressly said no, that you’d prefer to stay where you were, but that Amani Afrika should take care of the bills. In the past, we have indeed upgraded some clients during their travels here out of our own accord, either as an expression of regret for hiccups they experienced or as a token of appreciation, because we had wanted to treat them. We have also offered to change accommodations for our clients who did not like where they were staying once they reached their hotel, on our account, when they asked us to do so politely. But threatening to post negative comments online is not a good motivating factor, and we are very sorry about that, for we do not condone this type of negative behaviour. Prior to confirming your booking with us, you and your husband got on a call with us one Sunday afternoon, to go over the different parts of the itinerary. You were given an opportunity to ask questions, and we were equally given an opportunity to answer your questions and clarify any confusions you might have regarding the travel arrangements. It was never our intention to misrepresent any parts of the trip we had proposed to provide you with. While it is true that you were quoted US$14,000 for your family holiday in East Africa, we should take into consideration the length of your trip and the inclusions of the itinerary, prior to making a judgment that you had been overcharged. We acknowledge that Tanzania is not a low-cost destination, with park fees in the Serengeti costing US$130 per person per night alone, before even factoring in accommodation or safari costs. Your trip package included a 2-bedroom unit or a family suite for each of the 13 nights, all the meals while on safari, park fees, transportation, guiding fees, activity fees as well as a flight from Serengeti to Zanzibar for 3 people. So it is not fair to say that you should expect to be accommodated at a US$1,000 per night resort in Zanzibar, when the safari part of your trip occupied a significantly bigger portion of the allocated budget. This was a point we had tried to explain to you on the phone while you were in Zanzibar. And we would be delighted for you to post your travel experience on your personal blog, Madam, as you have repeatedly said you would do, so you can share the beauty of East Africa with your audience. The only plea that we have, is that you try to represent your travel experiences authentically. Posting a photo of yourself next to a flamingo lake at Amboseli National Park on social media and tagging it as Lake Nakuru, and passing a visit to Esilalei Village near Lake Manyara in Tanzania as a trip to the famous Maasai Mara National Reserve in Kenya—neither of which were on the itinerary that we had duly executed for you—do not constitute good travel journalism. In fact, we do not think that it is ethical behaviour to be deceiving your audience. Such a practice is reminiscent of cultural (mis)appropriation, where the Maasai people of Esilalei Village in Tanzania were “taken for a ride” as if they were people from another village in Kenya. Even though we are all East Africans, with similarly coloured skin, we come from different backgrounds. There are over 100 tribes in Tanzania alone. The Maasai tribes at different villages have slightly different customs, especially since they are spread across two different countries, even though they share common roots. We do think it would be fairer and more respectful to the people at Esilaei Village in Tanzania who have opened their homes to you with open arms, opened their lives to you with open hearts, to at least get a nod of recognition, if not appreciation. You have a powerful platform, Madam, and with it, a powerful voice. We think it would be a marvelous deed if you were to put it to good use and appropriately portray the places you have traveled to in an authentic, positive, light, as we are sure your audience would prefer an honest depiction over a curated alternative reality. We would like to conclude this response by saying that instead of settling the bills towards your additional hotel stays, we will donate the funds to Lemugur Village, which is the Maasai community that Amani Afrika is a part of. On behalf of the villagers, we thank you for enabling this generous donation to go towards bettering their lives in Tanzania. If you would like to visit Lemugur Village on your next visit to Tanzania to meet the faces of those you have helped, you are very welcome. We wish you a very happy new year, Mrs. Proctor, and all the success with your life and travels!
Written January 9, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Private Guided Kilimanjaro Trek & Tanzania Safari | Arusha