Tours and Tickets
Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion
4.5

Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion

By Narwell
from
$175.00
per adult (price varies by group size)
from
$175.00
per adult (price varies by group size)

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 2-95
Duration: 7h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
German, English, French, Spanish


  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Driver/guide
  • Local guide
  • Hotel/port pickup
  • Hotel/port drop-off
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entry/Admission - Pacoche Wildlife Refuge
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch


Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Avenida Malecón, Av. Malecón, Manta, Ecuador
  • Airports:
  • Manta Airport, Manta Ecuador
  • Ports:
  • Manta
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 73100P1

  • Due to uneven surfaces, the second half of the trail at the rain-forest is not recommended for those with walking disabilities or using a wheelchair
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved (Depending on your physical shape, you could choose to do the complete trail or just half trail that is more suitable for seniors)
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

How much is Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion?
Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion price starts from $175.00. Discover and book Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion on Tripadvisor
What is the Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion cancellation policy?
Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion?
Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion is hosted by Narwell. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Narwell on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 73100P1

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Avenida Malecón
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See departure details
  • 1
    Ruta del Spondylus
    Stop: 50 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Centro de Formación Artesanal Pile
    Stop: 45 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    San Lorenzo
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Montecristi
    Stop: 90 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

Audrey C
Audrey C
00
"A Taste of Ecuador"
We recently returned from a cruise to South America with a port stop in Manta, Ecuador. Going on the "Taste of Ecu
Phil P
Phil P
00
TASTE OF EQUADOOR
Great way to experience Equadoor with only a day stop on our cruise. Gaby was such a great guide and her English wa
WAJean
WAJean
00
A taste of Ecuador
Maria was a great guide. We liked the small group of this tour. We enjoyed our tour. A good value the price. A full
WouterP44
WouterP44
00
Two week Galapagos adventure in style! Excellent
Last May, my parents and I decided to head to the Galapagos Islands. Discovering a desolated group of islands seeme
michaellR7394CS
michaellR7394CS
00
Need a tour in Manta? Look no further.
We visited the Manta region in January 2022, and had such a great time with Gabriel during our day-long excursion,
andrea13wb
andrea13wb
00
Fantastic experience on tour with Gabriel
Fantastic experience! Gabriel's knowledge of the area and sights was very detailed which I loved. We did a custom t
jafypacu62
jafypacu62
00
Tour of Cocoa Farm and Cocoa Processing Plant
Gabriel arranged for us a full day tour of a Cocoa plantation and factory that processes Cocoa. He organized the to
AKSolarBear
AKSolarBear
00
Excellent tour at a great price!
Had a wonderful tour in Manta, Ecuador. Jonathan was friendly, professional and highly knowledgeable, and took us t
Suprridr
Suprridr
00
Isle de la Plata tour
In November of 2019 we arrived in Manta, Equador on the Seabourn Odyssey. Gabriel of Narwell had arranged our tour
Z2179JYwendyw
Z2179JYwendyw
00
An Amazing Taste of Ecuador Tour
Worked with Gabriel to arrange a full day tour for several of us traveling on board the Volendam in January. The Tr
Zelda911
Zelda911
00
good tour in Manta Ecuador
This company does a good job ..I had a big internet group of about 60 people and Gabriel really helped me to get t
844patriziap
844patriziap
00
Amazing service on a professional and Eco travel level. Very much to recommend!
Me and a friend of mine were lucky to meet Gabriel on Galapagos while he was doing research for his agency. We got
276marilynn
276marilynn
00
Custom Half Day Custom Shore Excursion
I worked with Gabriel of Narwell Tours to create a custom Manta half day shore excursion. Gabriel was very easy to
jesterandboys
jesterandboys
00
Manta Custom Shore Excursion
Had a wonderful day with Narwell Tours in Manta. We were met at the cruise terminal by Gabrielle "Gabby" where we
Carolyn J
Carolyn J
00
Too late for the monkeys!
Narwell Tours led us on a shore excursion that featured a visit to the Pacoche Reserve and a Panama hat making demo
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
16 reviews
Excellent
11
Very good
3
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
2

Femke
1 contribution
Jul 2022 • Friends
Very well organised. We did the Isla de la Plata tour, visited Pile and Montecristi where the real 'Panama' hats are made and finished our trip with a hike in Ayampe called the 'Ruta del colibrí'. The guides were all very helpful and bilingual. We got to see whales, sea turtles, fish and lots of birds. Pile was a very unique experience. I liked that it wasn't too touristy: it's very small-scale and you get to talk to the families which makes it a really intimate and special experience. We had fun, learned a lot and took some amazing pictures. Gabriel is great at what he does and always puts the client first. Also good communication and very punctual. Highly recommend!
Written August 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Femke, this is what our company seeks with every tour, sharing these authentic experiences in untouched places. The village of Pile is one of our region's hidden gems. We are glad you enjoyed our tours. Thank you for your review!
Written January 2, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

4driano
Barcelona, Spain12 contributions
Oct 2013 • Solo
Great experience with Narwell ! I was totally new to this region of the world and couldn't have discovered by myself the treasures the Manabi region has to offer if it wasn't for Elsa, the lovely french guide and owner of Narwell that speaks fluently English...and off course spanish. During a 2 weeks holiday in this beautiful region I contracted Narwell's services a few times: We visited the archaeological site of Cerro Jaboncillo, went to the Bosque Humedo de Pacoche (jungle) to observe howler monkeys in their natural habitat (they are really cute), visited a small village where the typical Panama hats are originally handcrafted and even met the local Panama's most brilliant and gifted artisan (a true artist). I also went to Isla de la Plata, a trip 1 day also organized by Narwell to visit this beautiful island populated by blue-footed boobies (see the picture).
Elsa really know's the region, it's secrets and history and makes sure you enjoy your tour ! I warmly recommend Narwell to all of you who will spend time, even just a day in Manta. Great experience !
Written December 2, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JoanieBlonTA
Lafayette, LA98 contributions
Mar 2019
Our small group tour was the "Ancient and History Tour" offered on the Narwell website. Our pleasant and knowledgeable guide was Kimberly. We drove out into the countryside from the Port of Manta and explored the museum and workrooms at the archeological site of "Cerro Jaboncillo" which has pieces from the last indigenous culture of the area, the Manabi. We also got to see authentic Panama hats being woven by a family of craftspersons who have done this for generations and also a local candy maker who sells her treats. The museum offered handmade crafts, as well as hats, for sale on a limited basis. From there, we visited the museum and mausoleum dedicated to General Eloy Alfaro, leader of the Ecuadorian Revolution. After that, it was on to the hillside town of Montecristi, where we had free time to explore on our own and buy handicrafts, clothing, hammocks and more at the many reasonably priced shops that lined the main street. Prior to returning to the Port, we enjoyed a reasonably priced local Ecuadorian lunch (self pay in US dollars) at the seafood restaurant, FISH CERVECERIA located in Manta. The ceviche there was very good. Fish was also available. The price of our tour was $75 US per person, based on a group of 8, paid to the guide on the day of the tour.
Written August 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

sentosa
Co Antrim Northern Ireland105 contributions
Mar 2016 • Friends
We made our way to the Narwell pick up point we were directed onto a large coach where we were told we had to wait for other Narwell Tour Groups, we waited over 20 minutes for other groups to arrive.
We were then driven to meet our guide and driver.
This small bus was grubby, windows were filthy, my seat had gum on it and the air con was not sufficient for the bus.
Our guide, Denis, said he was not a regular guide, he just filled in when needed. He said that as we were behind schedule (!!!) the fish market would probably be finished. When we set off, despite telling him several times that we could not hear him at the back, he continued on without a microphone, so we had no idea what he was saying or talking about.
He was correct, fish market was nearly over, but we walked through and then looked at some boats under construction.
Next we drove to Montichristi, it was Palm Sunday and the town was very busy and there were a lot of tourists. After driving round, we left the main area of the town were taken to a museum and tourist shopping gallery where we had some free time to shop.
Getting back on the bus we were told we were going for lunch, 35 minutes later we stopped at a local restaurant. Restrooms were not clean, washbaisins were dirty , only cold water, no soap or anything to dry your hands on. No air conditioning here at all.
My cutlery was not washed properly and had old dried food on it. I don't think anyone ate much of their lunch.

Next stop a shop selling tagua products, after making purchases, the owner showed how a product was made.

Final stop was a stop in Rocafuerte famous for sweets, these were on display in glass cases, along with dozens of wasps crawllng all over the unwrapped sweets.

We were SO DISAPPOINTED not to have seen the making of Panama Hats which was on out Itinerary.

This was marketed as a Gourmet and Handicraft route of Manabia, apart from being shown the tagua "workshop", we did not experience a Handicraft and Gourmet Tour.

We would have been better taking the free shuttle to the Plaza Civica where we would have seen the making of the hats and enjoyed shopping in the hàndcraft market.

I did email Narwell, including the first line of the tour Itinerary
"Visit of a workshop where the Montecristi hats are finished (wrongly known as Panama hats), wide choice of hats for shopping"

They replied stating " the description of the tour was not correct and we haven’t noticed this before you tell us so, that is why we are updating the description"

and " we will take into account all your comments in order to improve this tour and make sure that it will not happen again."

I did ask for a partial refund but they declined, although they did offer to send "a compensation" but I have declined.
Written April 5, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear traveller, We really appreciate your comment in Tripadvisor, as it help us to improve our service. We are really sorry you did not enjoy your tour with us. As we already explain in the e-mails we sent to you, there were unexpected problems with transportation and the local government that were out of our control on this day. Yet, we did all that was in our hands to solve the problems and tried to make you feel comfortable. All our guides have a wide experience guiding, and are prepared to give an informative, interesting and genuine tour. Yet, some guides work more often than other depending on the amount of tour we have, which may be the case why Denis said he only guided occasionally. Concerning the part of the tour where you were supposed to see how Panama hats are made, we would like to sincerely apologize for that, and take all the responsibility, as that it is not included in the tour, and should not have been in the description. We have now updated the information in order that things be clear: to see the process of the Panama hats there will be the Panama hats road. Again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your day with us, but please be assured the quality of our customers experience is a real preoccupation and we will do our best to improve the service and make sure it will not happen again. Sincerely, The Narwell Team
Written April 8, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maynard La
10 contributions
Dec 2018 • Couples
In 2016 my wife and I did the cruise around South America and we took the Holland America arranged tour of Manta and Montecristi. This time (2018) we didn't book a ship's tour and met Gabriel Solorzano in the port. The latter tour of the fish market, Montecristi's Panama hat makers, and the "vegetable ivory" button factory were much better and less rushed than our previous experience. Needless to say, the cost was a fraction of that offered by the cruise line (in this case, Norwegian). Gabriel is just getting into the tour business, speaks great English and the day we were in port, he had three vans in motion. You can reach him at gabriel@narwelltours.com should you wish to make your own arrangements. I couldn't recommend him more highly.
Written February 26, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you so much for your review. We have 7 years experience in the market, but we recently opened a new product that is the last minute half day tour, for travelers without reservation. Gabriel is the new owner but has been working with the company since the beginning. We are so glad you liked our new half day tour, we are working to make it better for the next cruise ship season starting in August! We hope to see you again. Best Regards, The Narwell Team
Written April 15, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

woldridge
Lehigh Acres, FL44 contributions
Mar 2016 • Friends
We were delayed getting off the ship, then further delayed by Narwell Tours who had to move their buses at a request of the port authority. When we arrived at the port gate, we were place in a large bus (no explanation of why), and then our complete group of 15 were made to wait for other groups to arrive before moving us a short distance to a much smaller bus.

The smaller bus was old and had no microphone, so the back rows of the bus could not hear the guide.This was made even worse as the guide talked to the group while facing the driver, as the driver did not know where to go, and actually drove the wrong way on a one way road. The windows were foggy from age, the bus rattled with every bump we hit, and the air conditioner could not adequately cool the bus.

The name of this tour was Handicraft and Gastronomic Route of Manabí. We were suppose to go to a rum factory, but as it was Sunday, it was closed. A fish market and area where they build wooden boats was substituted. We wandered through the fish market and looked at some wooden boats. The guide was oblivious to the fact that people were seeking the shade of the boats and clearly were done with this spot after several minutes. I had to ask him to move on. I also told him, for the second time that we could not hear him.

The next stop was suppose to be where we could observe the making of Montecristi hats and shop for them. This ended up being a shopping stop only, with no one in sight that was making hats. There was no acknowledgement that we were going to miss this important part of Manta's claim to fame. Again, I told the guide I could not hear him. Others told me that I was not missing anything as the only time he talked was to answer questions, and then he talked directly to the person that asked the question, so most could not hear him.

Lunch was next, another disaster. On the drive to lunch one passenger started narrating what he was seeing in an effort to get the guide to talk. It did not work. The restaurant was outside and it was a very hot, humid day. There were no fans to cool things down. The staff were not prepared for us and we ended up moving the tables together and gathering enough chairs to be able to sit. The first place we set up was impossibly hot, so we repeated the whole process on the other side of the restaurant. Food was inconsistent - some good, some bad. There were not enough forks to go around, so many of us ate chicken (on the bone) with a spoon.

Next was another shopping stop,a tagua store. As we neared the end of shopping the guide asked if we would like to see how the nut is cut. This should have been first, and shopping second.

Last stop was to "taste the famous and traditional sweets of the region." This turned out to be a candy store that had wasps flying and landing all over the candy. We were offered a taste of one piece of candy that the guide said he would pay for.

I did all the work for this tour including getting the participants and collecting the money. I was given a price for a range of people, and we were at the top of that range of participants. One person got ill the morning of the tour. I paid for her, but asked the guide to check if payment was expected. He did not do this, or at least he did not say anything to me. By their cancellation policy only 15% is refundable if cancelled within 48 hours of the tour. Since payment was made at the time of the tour, how would they collect this if we had all decided to cancel? Since I did all the work, and was within the amount of participants required for the cost per person, this policy makes no sense to me at all. They were out nothing by her not going. They still needed the bus, the driver and the guide and they had done nothing on her behalf. Beware this policy, it is a rip-off. They did offer to reimburse her stating ,"However, due to the exceptional circumstances and to show you our good will, we will integrally refund the 16th person payment. So that we can send to you or to the direct beneficiary the funds (70 USD) by Western Union, please send to us the following information: bank account full information (bank, account number, IBAN etc.), address, phone number, passport ID." Seriously, who would send this information?

Manta is not an exciting port and there are few options for tours. I would recommend taking the free ship shuttle bus to the downtown area where you will not only see hats being made, but can shop for tagua products, taste local candy and eat local food - a much better deal.
Written March 31, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Mrs. Woldridge, Thank you very much for your review. As the new manager, I'm replying to old negative comments that we got in the past years, luckily they are just a few and all of them apparently happened the same day. This day we had to move all our groups in a big bus to another area so you could get to your individual bus, we had to do this because of the former tourism authorities in that time were disorganized and made us move at the very last minute. We are sorry if nobody explained the situation, that was the first thing that we had to do at that moment, but were shocked and trying to make everything work out, so you could start your tour. As you may see in our reviews since 2017, everything is running smoothly with the authorities, so we haven't had this kind of problems anymore. Certainly, this kind of reviews makes you work harder to fulfill the needs of our clients, and we appreciate your words. It's a pleasure to let you know, that we improved our services, taking all the necessary actions (changing tour itineraries, new vans, and buses, better communication, discounts, guide, etc). If you get around Manta, I hope you give us the opportunity to show you around and change your mind about Manta, there's plenty to see and discover. Thank you very much for your comment, I surely think all this feedback is great to grow as a company, I just hope that satisfied clients are equally encouraged to leave a review as the unsatisfied ones. Best wishes, Gabriel
Written April 5, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jill c
San Rafael, CA2 contributions
Feb 2019 • Friends
The morning began with an introduction of recent history of people in Peru. The first part of the tour was to an area called Shanti town. It was done very professionally by Gabriel Solorzano. Small group ( less than 4) and were able to meet and greet the people living on the hillside. It was a eye opening experience.
2nd part was a great lunch and exploitation of the church of San Francisco and walking tour of the old city.
Written March 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Brett H
Meriden, UK5 contributions
Mar 2018 • Couples
Our cruise ship had just one stop in Ecuador, so we wanted to make the most of it. There were a load of trips available from the ship, but none seemed to quite hit the spot. Found this tour on line, and it seemed to have all we wanted.

Our tour guide Gabriel took us to a fish market (where there was a small hand-building boat yard), and then to Pacoche forest park for a 2 km guided walk (mostly down hill), where we saw a couple of Howler monkeys, butterflies, and a huge tarantula. Then a drive to the sea, for good beach and cliff pictures. Then he took us on a scenic route to a historical museum where we he gave us a brief account of the Ecuadorian revolution. Then to some shops to see Panama hats etc, and then, because we said we wanted to buy some chocolate, we went to a supermarket in a shopping centre.
Finally to a local restaurant where we took his advice and had ceviche and plantain crisps and a cold lemonade.

We have travelled a lot, and this was one of the best tours that we have had. Gabriel was entertaining and instructive, and by the end of the tour, we felt we had indeed managed to see Ecuador in a day.
Written April 3, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Brett! I personally had the opportunity to guide you on this day, and it's amazing to hear that you were enjoying the experience just as I did. If you come back around Ecuador please let us know, best wishes!!
Written April 5, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jean M H
Sacramento, CA10 contributions
Jul 2016 • Friends
My sister and I were in Santa Marianita and Manta for a recent vacation. We spent two days with Narwell tours, one with Denis at the Manta fishmarket and continuing to a rainforest hike, and one with Elsa and Denis on the coffee road. Both days were great - Elsa worked with us in advance to tailor the schedule to our tastes and recommended a great hotel in Manta for us. She and Denis both got to know us and what were interested in very quickly and gave us extra time and energy to be sure we saw and did (and tasted!) everything we could in the short time we had.

While Manta was hit in April with a devastating earthquake, I am happy to say that the city is still beautiful and the Manabi region is filled with great people and wonderful things to see and do. If you're wondering if you should go, go! I'm not sure I've ever visited a country with so much natural beauty (we saw whales every day but one!), great food, and friendly people.
Written July 31, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PMSQUAREPANTS
New Castle, NH6 contributions
Dec 2013 • Couples
Fernando picked us up at the cruiseport as planned. Great guy, easy going, very knowledgable and fun. He took us to the museum at the National Park where we toured with the guide there. It was great to not be with a busload of people. Two busloads pulled in after us, and I was so grateful to have scheduled this private tour. We went on a hike then, on the grounds. We didn't see a ton of animals as we'd expected, but it was a relaxing walk. En route back to the ship we went to the beach which was as pretty as those I have seen in Hawaii. The water was wonderful and we stayed longer than expected, just swimming, talking, relaxing. Fernando had brought to snacks to eat. En route back to the ship, we toured several neighborhoods and he answered out questions about real estate, local culture, politics, the economy, etc. Driving there is tricky, and Fernando was very skilled. We felt safe, and we got to where we needed to be quickly. I imagine it would have taken a lot longer in a tour bus. Had I known then what I know now, I would have tweaked the itinerary to include the rain forest where there are lots of animals to see. I recommend Narwell tours.
Written December 23, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 13

Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion provided by Narwell

Product Overview: Manabi Diversity Route: Panama Hat Making and Forest Excursion

Prices From$195
Number of Reviews16
Number of Photos26
Duration420 minutes