Tours and Tickets

1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages provided by Manifa Travel

1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages

1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages
4.5
Book in advance
from
$49.00
per adult (price varies by group size)
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
9h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
36
Service animals allowed
Ticket type:
Mobile
  • Duration:
    9h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Group size:
    36
  • Service animals allowed
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
About
A full day tour to the Pak Ou Caves and Kuang Si Waterfalls. We depart Luang Prabang boat pier in the morning. Floating along the Mekong River, you will be in love with the beautiful landscape in Luang Prabang. Stop by a village "Ban Xang Hai" for tasting unique local rice whisky and rice wine. Afterward, exploring the mystery cave with local tour guide. Having buffet lunch at the restaurant overlooking the Mekong river. In the afternoon, we take a car to waterfalls and enjoy swimming in the cool water. At 5pm, we leave for the city. Stop by a Hmong village en route. We'll meet Hmong people wearing traditional cloths and see their small Hmong museum. Arrival at the city center or your hotel at 6:00. This tour is accompanied by an experienced English-speaking tour guide. Feel free to ask your guide as many questions as possible. The tour date is reschedulable until 7 pm day before. Please contact us by email or message or visit Manifa Travel office
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 172573P1
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • Enjoy a delicious buffet-style lunch at the restaurant overlooking the Mekong river. Savour the traditional Laos flavours and delight in the international style dishes. Vegetarian options available
  • Coffee and/or Tea
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Entry/Admission - Pak Ou Caves
  • Entry/Admission - Luang Prabang
  • Entry/Admission - Kuang Si Falls
Exclusions
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Soda/Pop
Duration
9h
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • • Your tour experience begins with a transportation service pick up from your accommodation at about 8:15-8:40 AM • Please fill in the name of your accommodation in "Special Requirements" field on booking. If your accommodation is not yet decided, please fill "not yet decided" in the field and notice us by the day before tour. • As this is a join in tour, please be patient in cases of unforeseen delays along the pick up route
  • Sakkaline Road, Sakkaline Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • This tour is not hard at all. But it's about 10 hours full day excursion including a long distance drive (60km). If old people and infants are in your group, please consider to choose our half day package or private package.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 36 travelers
Inclusions
  • Enjoy a delicious buffet-style lunch at the restaurant overlooking the Mekong river. Savour the traditional Laos flavours and delight in the international style dishes. Vegetarian options available
  • Coffee and/or Tea
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Entry/Admission - Pak Ou Caves
  • Entry/Admission - Luang Prabang
  • Entry/Admission - Kuang Si Falls
Exclusions
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Soda/Pop
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • • Your tour experience begins with a transportation service pick up from your accommodation at about 8:15-8:40 AM • Please fill in the name of your accommodation in "Special Requirements" field on booking. If your accommodation is not yet decided, please fill "not yet decided" in the field and notice us by the day before tour. • As this is a join in tour, please be patient in cases of unforeseen delays along the pick up route
  • Sakkaline Road, Sakkaline Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
9h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • This tour is not hard at all. But it's about 10 hours full day excursion including a long distance drive (60km). If old people and infants are in your group, please consider to choose our half day package or private package.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 36 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Dec 27, 2021
A note from 1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages
We limit the size of one group to maintain distance. Maximum one minivan passengers are 8 tourists (and one guide and one driver) Infection prevention will be taken throughout the tour.
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Sakkaline Road
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Ban Xang Hai
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Pak Ou Caves
    Stop: 40 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Manifa Elephant Camp
    Stop: 75 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 4
    Kuang Si Falls
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Popular mentions

4.5
62 reviews
Excellent
41
Very good
10
Average
6
Poor
1
Terrible
4

scard1
new york, ny2 contributions
Nov 2019
The tour was fine, but please be advised that the elephants in the "camp" where you will eat lunch are in chains. Supporting this tour means supporting animal cruelty. Respectable sanctuaries do not chain elephants to trees. Very sad, and unexpected. I also heard one of the hosts explaining at length that there was nothing inhumane about the elephants' treatment when one of the other customers expressed concern, which I'm sure he knew not to be the case.
Written October 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We do not use chains on our elephants during the day. (Except for the time elephant keeper consider it's necessary. for example, aggressive elephants during the mating season). The use of very long chains at night is practiced in almost all the elephant camps. (The only acceptable alternative is an enclosure.) The expert opinion is quoted below. 1. Elephant Conservation Center Why do our elephants have chains? Chains: This is a very common question amongst visitors. The ECC is set in a secondary forest bordering a lake. It is also bordering villagers’ fields, and the town of Sayaboury is not too distant. Our elephants are kept chained with a 45m long chain at night to let them feed at will and to prevent: Them escaping our land and wandering in to farmers’ fields where they could be wounded by owners and where they could destroy crops and goods; Them being stolen; Them being killed for their ivory and/or body parts; Them wounding visitors at the center or other elephants. While most elephants at the ECC are of the more ‘docile’ female gender (males are significantly more aggressive), all elephants have the potential to cause sudden and serious damage to people and property. At night, when chaining is used, it allows for roaming and feeding in their natural habitat. Their mahouts always make sure that there is plenty of food for them in the area where they are chained that night for their own safety, the safety of our neighbours, staff and, of course, our guests. For the rest of the day, elephants at ECC are not chained. 2. Elephant FAQ made by Germany official team as a Luang Prabang official project (EU Switch Asia Luang Prabang Handle with Care Project, full article available on our homepage) Is it important to use chains? Yes. But following strict guidelines. Elephants should never be chained nonstop throughout the night and day. The length of the chain is crucial and the animal should be properly tethered to avoid harming his feet. It is also essential to take into account where the elephants are chained: is it on a concrete floor? In the forest? It is important to remember that elephants have to walk for their physical and mental health. The Mahouts accompany the elephants during those walks. However there are also periods of the day and most of the night (elephants sleep only a few hours per night) when the Mahouts need to chain the elephants. Failing to do so may result in the elephants walking away and potentiality destroying farm crops, coming into conflict with humans or attacking other elephants. Elephants’ social structure is very important. However, most individual elephants in camps do not have acquaintances from that social structure and it happens that they attack each other. Unfortunately there are regular cases of elephants injuring or even killing other elephants. It may even happen in camps branded as sanctuaries where elephants are free to roam with no chains and have limited Mahout supervision. When the elephants are performing rides or any other interactions with humans, they may be chained before or after participating in these activities. This chaining is also important to avoid conflicts between elephants, especially in camps where there are a lot of elephants living with a mix of males and females Chains may also be used for veterinarian care. Many camps claiming the absence of chains may actually still use chains at night. Chains may also be used for male elephants during the musth period. An alternative to chains is the building of enclosures. Results may be mixed. For one, these enclosures are very expensive to build properly. Secondly, the space available for the elephants in a 6 by 4 meter enclosure (24 square meters) is inferior to a ten meter chain (31 square meters). Thirdly, if the elephant is chained in a forest, it can be moved from one place to another, allowing access to different types of food and interaction with other elephants. “In Asia there are few enclosures outside zoos that can securely contain adult elephants, so when individuals are not under the direct control of a mahout or keeper it is normal that they are restrained by chaining, which may be for long periods.” (Asian Captive Elephant Working Group) Some signs of good usage of chains include: long chains at night (some camps use 30 meter long chains) so that the elephant can move and access food. During the day: short period of chaining, the possibility to touch other elephants would also provide an opportunity to socialize. The chain should not be too tight whereby it should be able to move around the foot and no wound related to the chain is visible (iron may be preferred to ropes as it’s less abrasive). The area where the elephants are chained should not be concrete but natural soil and should always be clean from urine and faeces to avoid foot infection. ---------- I would like to point out one more problem with your writing. It's the word "Sanctuary". Many elephant camps casually use the name "Sanctuary" to attract tourists, but those elephant camps do not have the reality that the word "Sanctuary" represents. Sanctuary means a tract of land where wildlife can breed and take refuge. Elephants in all elephant camps in Laos and Thailand are not wild elephants, but domesticated elephants. These elephants cannot be treated in the same way as wild elephants and it is difficult to reintroduce them to the wild. Many experts are beginning to take issue with the fact that elephant camps are lying and posing to tourists while neglecting sustainable elephant tourism. Please read FAQ section on our elephant camp homepage. "Asian Captive Elephant Working Group" also has a great FAQ section on their homepage. A series of articles about elephant tourism on "skift.com" is also informative. Elephant camps in Luang Prabang, including ours, mostly have vast forests that can provide natural vegetation for the elephants, and the elephants spend a lot of time in the forests and rivers. Initiatives related to elephant welfare and sustainable tourism are also being implemented in Luang Prabang. It's a shame if our tour has led to misunderstanding and prejudice. Elephants are a cultural symbol of Laos and are amazing giants that live on the earth with us. We will improve the experience to make it more meaningful for our visitors. Yuki
Written October 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Malcolm H
Hoi An, Vietnam7 contributions
Feb 2020
Emailed night before to confirm pick up time . Picked up from hotel at stated time in relatively new air conditioned mini bus. Cold water bottles on hand. Guide gave potted history of area as we drove to falls. The falls looked as they do in the pictures, absolutely amazing. We were there in dry season but there was still enough water flowing to get those excellent pictures. We hiked right up to the top of the main falls. It was very steep in places with a mud track. Very few people at the top. Back down for more photos and a cool in one of the many pools. After 2 hours picked up from local market area and taken to elephant camp. We were a little worried about this stage of the trip and had nearly not booked because of this. The elephants appeared well looked after. There were no rides. You could feed one if you really felt you had to. Most of the elephants were actually down on the banks of Mekong lazily going in and out of the water. They were not chained and I did not see any of the handlers hit or mistreat the animals. Our lunch was of a buffet style with plenty of everything to suit most tastes. You could have as many servings as you wished. Alcoholic beverages were extra but relatively cheap. Next slow boat up and down Mekong just watching the world slide by. Called in at small bay for a swim, travelled down to the caves were all the small statues are and then glided back to Luang as the sun was setting. What and absolutely excellent finish to a brilliant day.
Written June 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Andrew S
Sheffield, UK713 contributions
Mar 2020 • Friends
We were collected from our hotel by our guide Mr Thin, and headed off to the boat we were traveling down the Mekong River in. What a beautiful place this is, along the way we stopped off for a whiskey tasting 55% proof.

Next we headed for the Pak Ou Caves, here there are two caves one at the bottom (a few steps) and one at the top (over 200 steps).
Both caves are interesting but if your not good on your legs the lower cave gives you everything you need.

Then on to our lunch destination with the Elephant’s by the river, a good choice of foods offered from soups to start and a buffet style for mains and something for everyone.

From here we boarded a bus down town to the Kuang Si waterfalls, because you can swim here I decided to have my swimwear on at the start of the day which was a bit warm, but there are changing room at the waterfalls, which we found out when we got there.

The waterfalls are spectacular, I have seen many but none quite like these. It was a Sunday and a public holiday the day we went but it wasn’t too overcrowded.

Don’t forget to see the sun bears and brown bears whilst here.

Then to a buffaloes farm for some buffalo ice cream, wow lovely and creamy.

Then to a local Hongh village, think they are the
Oldest tribes living in Laos.

Then home

Can’t thank our guide Mr Thin enough, he was lovely, really informative and really made the day special.
Written March 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

milliesmum2016
Christchurch, New Zealand1,809 contributions
Jan 2020
This is quite a comprehensive day out with a large variety of different activities, starting with an early morning boat trip up the Nam Khong to Pak Ou and the Buddha caves, visiting the whisky village along the way. After briefly being shown the whisky still process, we had had half and hour or so for a wander through the market. There is a monastery just off the main village square, where you can make a toilet stop but they are squat toilets. Leave a tip. The caves are ok but they were very crowded the day I was there, so not much fun, and really, while acknowledging the cultural and religious significance of the site, as just a visitor, I have to say I was a bit underwhelmed.
Lunch was at an elephant camp owned by Manifa Travel. Be aware that this is a riding camp. We were there for lunch - buffet style and fairly underwhelming. But after lunch the elephants happened past and we were invited to help them with their lunch, which was fun, while we waited for the van to come and take us on to Kuang Si and all it's attractions, via Luang Prabang.
The guide and driver were very accommodating and did their best to meet everyone's needs and requirements.
I didn't get to do the afternoon part of the tour to the waterfall, butterfly farm and bear sanctuary because I decided to get out when we got back to LP or I would have missed the booking I had in the evenning. So do just be aware that this is a really long, full day and it does get back to town in the earlyish evening rather than the afternoon - something to factor in when planning your days and activities.
I am reliably informed by other guests that the afternoon programme was worthwhile, more than that I cannot say!
Written March 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Clara R
Lisbon, Portugal6 contributions
Feb 2020
One of the best tours, it was really fantastic , start with Mekong cruise, stopped for pictures on beautiful place, and a very good lunch at the elephant sanctuary, an amazing place! In the afternoon the kuang Si falls were very good
Written February 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your day trip with us. It's great to hear you had a fantastic experience. Thank you for choosing Manifa Travel. I hope you have a great onward journey from Luang Prabang.
Written February 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

William W
1 contribution
Feb 2020 • Couples
Good day out. Lovely falls. Caves worth seeing but more a grotto not a walk through. Nice lunch stop by elephants
Written February 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

trestiana b
5 contributions
Jan 2020
I didn't buy this particular trip, I just hired a local guide to take me and two of my friends to those places. The Mekong cruise and the Kuang Si Waterfalls were absolutely outstanding!
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

rebeccacollins95
Basildon, UK9 contributions
It was an excellent day, packing loads in! I definitely recommend, however the place we stopped at for lunch (the elephant 'retirement' retreat, Manifa) did elephant rides. One family on our trip had booked a ride and we all had to wait for them to finish, which was frustrating as I disagree with elephant riding. One disappointing part of an otherwise fantastic day. I hope they change the lunch venue.
Written February 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking time to write a review here. We are pleased that you had an excellent time in our elephant camp. We hear too often about anti-elephant riding and It's a big problem for us that people from western countries do not want to ride an elephant. But the negative campaigns by animal rights activists are not true. A recent academic study looking at the stress indicator level (fecal glucocorticoid metabolite) in captive elephants conducted by researchers from the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Unit, Chiang Mai University, and National Elephant Institute Thailand showed that captive elephants interacting with mahouts and performing daily exercise through riding had lower stress levels than elephants in passive viewing camps. Elephants are far stronger than horses, and a chair on an elephant’s back with two people and a mahout weighs only 7 percent of an elephant total body weight, whereas a saddle and rider on a horse weighs more than 17 percent of its weight. A few kilometers of light walking daily in jungle promotes health. It's as same as human jogging. There are some excellent articles introducing the latest elephant tourism problem on "skift.com". Our company homepage also has a good elephant FAQ written by a professional team supported by EU and Laos officials. Please read them and find the mistakes and lies of Animal Rights Activists. I hope you have a great onward journey from Luang Prabang. Thank you Yuki
Written February 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jenpenten
Adelaide17 contributions
We LOVED this tour. Great experience, comfortable transport and a caring and experienced guide in Thin who was genuinely concerned for our comfort and enjoyment. We learned lots from him and he went out of his way to check in on us and give us a few pointers when we ran into him again at Ock Tok Pop a few days later. Highlight of the tour was the waterfalls and boat ride down the Mekong. Great observing the scenery.
Written February 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the tour and found our guides Mr. Thin to be informative and kind. Hopefully the rest of your time in Laos was as enjoyable as this tour. Thank you again for the lovely review.
Written February 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

blissin
Adelaide, Australia10 contributions
Jan 2020 • Friends
This was such a good day out - the bus driver and boat drivers were excellent and our guide - Mr Thin - really made it a special day out. The mekong and waterfalls are beautiful,though a bit cold for swimming at this time of year. Highly recommend taking the downstream option as the waterfalls were getting very busy in the afternoon as we left. Lunch was amazing, and we saw elephants hanging out on the banks of the mekong at the lunch place.
Highly recommend Mr Thin - friendly, knowledgeable and with excellent english. He also does private tours and can be contacted via thin-v @ hotmail . com
Written January 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review here. I'm pleased to here you had a good day out and found our tour guide Mr. Thin to be friendly and knowledgeable. We have 2 options for this tour. (1) is visiting waterfalls in the morning. As you mentioned, a bit cold for swimming in the morning on December to January. But less people in the morning and have a superb sunset cruise in the afternoon. (2) is cruising to caves in the morning. From the boat, you can see the daily morning life of locals along the river. It's ideal time to swim in the waterfall in the afternoon. But often many people. Thank you for recommending Manifa Travel, and I hope you have a wonderful onward journey from Luang Prabang.
Written February 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 42
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Manifa Travel
pijusuogintas
pijusuogintas
00
Superb place and incredible experience
We are Wander Spot Explore and we came to Manifa Elephant Camp and Lodge for couple days only but instead spent alm
judewk
judewk
00
Well planned activities
Nicely planned itinerary with just enough time for all the activities. Mr Pan Sengsarang took care of our group and
Johnnywu1992
Johnnywu1992
00
Very nice experience
I booked a kayaking+ guangxi fall tour with Manifa, it was an excellent experience. Mr Deang was my tour guide, he
josmt46601
josmt46601
00
Fantastic tour and guide Deng was fabulous!
I highly recommend! Deng our guide was great! We saw and experienced so many wonderful things and the waterfalls we
Bourgondier-van-nu
Bourgondier-van-nu
00
More detailed information would be usefull
Very nice trip, good service. In the morning the trip went by mini vanto the waterfall. In the afternoon, after lun
Jerome B
Jerome B
00
Very enjoyable
The cruise on the Mekong was very relaxing and a good chance to see life along the river. The caves were fascinati
Luke R
Luke R
00
A good day out.
My wife, son and I visited Luang Prabang in early February 2020. We took the opportunity to enjoy this short cruise
katesings1981
katesings1981
00
Great Tour Company and Value For Money
I did: Full Day Kuang Si Waterfalls, Hmong Village Afternoon: Mekong Sunset Cruise (Downstream), Pak Ou Caves, Whis
cp076
cp076
00
Highly recommend
This was one of the best tours I’ve done in the region. For the price, you can’t beat it. And the staff were excell
tszmaym
tszmaym
00
The tour was great!
The tour was great! Very informative. Able to complete the itinerary in a day. Mr Thin, the tour guide is very k
ashems13
ashems13
00
Thank you for making our trip great, Manifa!
We were those annoying tourists that decide to change plans at the last minute and Manifa were so helpful and accom
153dianas
153dianas
00
Comprehensive Luang Prabang day trip
Me and my husband did the Mekong Cruise, Cave, Waterfall, Whiskey Village and Hmong Village. Everything started at
djbewick
djbewick
00
Day trip
Arrived In Luang Prabang and the following day had booked a slow long boat trip to the caves followed by a trip to
joannesW1610UO
joannesW1610UO
00
Wonderful experience
Mr.Deng did a fantastic job showing us the sights around Luang Prabang. He was quite knowledgeable and we loved hea
steveisretired
steveisretired
00
Friendly people
The guides and company were friendly and genuinely wanted people to have a good time. The elephant ride was enjoya
Frequently Asked Questions about 1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages


1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages price starts from $49.00. Discover and book 1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages on Tripadvisor

1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book 1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages on Tripadvisor

1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages is hosted by Manifa Travel. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Manifa Travel on Tripadvisor. Discover and book 1 DAY Mekong Cruise to Pak Ou Caves. Kuang Si Waterfalls . Local Villages on Tripadvisor